BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Intercoastal Auto Carriers

Phone: (561) 526-6397

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wired transferred 150.00 to account to pick up car and they never showed up.
On Wednesday 2/19/14 contacted Intercoastal Auto Carrier to take my mother's car from Ct to Fl, They had us do a money transfer to *** bank in FL(we do have account numbers)Talked to ******* on Thursday he assured us everything was set for Friday the 21st with a 4:30 pickup. They never showed up and will not now answer any phone calls or return any messages.

Desired Settlement
Deposit money back 150.00

10/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I sent a **** deposit to them which has been cashed in order for them to transport a car from NH to SC for me. They failed to pickup car- no driver.
I sent a **** deposit to have Inter Coastal transport my car from NH to Sc. I had to send this via USPS priority mail and provide the tracking #. When I called on Friday prior to shipment, ******* no longer seemed engaged with talking to me and basically said, "yeah, you're all set for Monday (10/7/13) except pickup will be at 4:30pm" rather than 11am per agreed time in email. ******* originally told me they have drivers running that route daily and could pickup the car at my specified day & time. They work around the customer. After calling a couple of times and no show, I finally spoke to******** that night who said the driver was stuck at a weigh station due to being overweight and they had to send another truck to get some of the cars which were already unloaded. Then he said he didn't know when the driver would be able to get my car because the truck may not be unloaded till tomorrow. So he contradicted himself. I had to pry out of him a new time for pickup of my car. He seemed to throw out another day, saying Wednesday the 9th. I asked what time...he said 11am. I called twice and emailed to confirm that a truck would be picking up at that time. No one answered. I left voicemails then I had to block my number when calling to get ******* to answer. He acted like he had no clue who I was then "remembered" and gave some excuse that he couldn't get in touch with his driver. He had no idea what was going on and could not offer a resolution to the situation. No suggestions, no apologies, just acted like I was bothering him for asking. This was at 3pm today. After hanging up, I called him right back and told him that if my car doesn't get picked up today, that I would like to cancel my shipment with them. He said "whatever you want to do, if that's what you want." I asked if he would prefer I just cancel now if he doesn't think my car would get picked up. Again no straight answer. He just said if that's what you want with an attitude. I said okay, I am cancelling now then since you seem to be giving me the run around. ( due to his aloofness and at this point I had no faith in his word). I asked for my deposit back to which he said that he would send it to me. But then ******* said "well you shouldn't have chosen to do business with us if you felt that way about us." As if his lack of truck coordination, communication and integrity had nothing to do with making me doubt his word. He then hung up on me when I started to ask again for him to return my ****. I couldn't believe that he had treated me this way and wondered how many others have fallen victim to their scam. I just want my money back.

Desired Settlement
I want my **** deposit returned to me in the same time frame I had sent it to them. Via priority mail.

08/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Quoted $800 to ship a vehicle. Deposited $100 owed $700 COD. I found that shipper posted $750 COD. found out through broker friend. No return deposit.

This the email I was sent

Dear ******** *****,

Thank you for your interest in shipping your vehicle with Inter Coastal Auto Carriers. Our goal is your complete satisfaction.

The price to ship your 1998 Dodge Ram 1500 on Open carrier from New Hope, PA to Madison, MS is $800.

After getting the quote on 7/11/13 I contacted ***** of Inter Coastal Auto Carrier to reserve the spot for picking up my vehicle. The agreement was a deposit of $100 and $700 COD. After contacting ***** for 2 weeks with no response. I called another shipping broker who tells me he cannot post my vehicle on the board because Inter coastal still has it on the board. Problem was it was on the board for $750 COD. So i called ***** several times to resolve the issue with no answer. Inter coastal was going to have me pay $750 COD without my knowledge. So i call left messages for ***** and another associate named ******. So them i blocked my number and what do you know he picks up. I asked him to refund my deposit because he was trying to screw me on the COD. And i asked him to take my vehicle off the board. He hangs up the phone because
i caught them doing unethical business. I called right back and asked for my deposit in which he replies angrily "You want your deposit back huh well, ok I will give it to you", then he hangs up the phone again. I have contacted Inter Coastal to retrieve my deposit back and sent him an email 8/5/13 to get back my money. So i am sending this complaint.


$100 and $700 was

Desired Settlement
All I want is my $100 back and for Inter Coastal to not be able to do this to anyone else. That was a work vehicle that I need and they were negligent on their part of the deal. So now I am having to pay more money extra $100 for someone else to ship my vehicle because of their deception.

06/06/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle to be picked up not running but not conveyed to driver. Customer paid $200 brokers fee.Job refused at pickup site. Customer lost $200 deposit.
Customer requested pickup of vehicle in Kansas City for delivery to Texas. Customer paid $200 deposit for Carrier fee of $425. Understood that $225 (the balance) was to be paid at delivery site. When driver arrived at pickup site he became aware for first time that car was inoperable. He refused the job and said broker's fee was what he normally paid and that it was excessive for a Texas trip. Company's Shipping Order Form shows entire contract terms including the $425 Fee/Tariff which customer took as the full contract price. No other amount ($200 deposit) was shown. I sent a wire transfer through my bank directly to the company's bank account in Boca Raton in order to expedite the shipping. When the driver arrived (from New York en route to Texas) the driver said he could not put an inoperable car on the transport carrier without the proper equipment which he did not bring. He refused the job and left.

I asked for return of the $200 deposit. A month has passed and I have had no reply to my calls, emails or letter.

My first request for return was an email sent 2/27/14. I have copies of all correspondence.

Desired Settlement
This is the letter I sent to the company:
April 8, 2014


Chief Executive Officer
Inter Coastal Auto Carriers
6025 Boca Colony Dr., Suite 323
Boca Raton, FL XXXXX

Re: Request for Return of $200 Deposit/Broker's Fee

Dear Sir/Madam:

I began a transaction with your company on or about 2/10/14 to have a car picked up (here in Kansas City), transported and delivered to ****** ******** in Houston, Texas.
There was a lot of communication between me and Winston the company's office person about price, deposit and pickup date. I also spoke to another company person whose name is 'Nigel'. Promises were made for an expedited pickup for February 20 however the actual pickup date was February 27!
To expedite the pickup my $200 deposit was sent in good faith via a Bank of America wire transfer from my personal account to your bank, PNC, in Boca Raton.
When the driver arrived in Kansas City he said at no time had he received word from Inter Coastal that the car was "inoperable". He explained that his fee at the place of delivery would have been $425 if the car was operable. He said that his fee would be higher had he known that the car was inoperable. (His fee of $425 was higher than either I or ****** ******** had anticipated because we were told that the total price was $425 and ****** ******** would pay only $225 upon receipt of the car since the $200 deposit had been made.) Finally, the driver stated: "I am not taking this job", and he then left.
The next day I sent an email to Winston and to Nigel informing both of them that the job had been "refused" due to the fact that the transaction was fraught with misinformation/miscommunication. I asked for their help in getting my deposit back, or, in the alternative to give me the name of the contact person in Boca Raton who has the authority to return the funds. I have heard nothing from neither of them nor from the company. I can only assume that your office was not informed of the outcome of this order.
After being told that the job was refused I backtracked to your website and found that your company noted at www.jtracker.com/external/view/order7qid=aWN... that the car is "inoperable" and, that the total cost was $650, a price I had never been given.
Since the work was refused, I am requesting that you act in good faith and return my deposit of $200.

Your cooperation is appreciated.

Sincerely,
**** ********
1051 Laurel Avenue
Kansas City, KS XXXXX

cc: Florida Attorney General
Florida Better Business Bureau

06/02/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Intercoastal emailed me about delivery of my truck from Natchez MS to Milwaukee Wisc. They told me that i had to mail them 100.00 in the form of a money order, I mailed it and they stopped answering my emails and texts. They never had my truck picked up for delivery. They will not return my calls. I would like for them to return my money.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for my 100.00 back and i explained to them i was using my sister car,i would like to get reimbursed.

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The service we contracted for was not provided and our deposit has not been refunded.
After a number of phone discussions with a representative named Winston, on March 25,2014 we signed and faxed a Terms of Agreement form to ******* at Intercoastal. This was to secure a promised Florida pick-up date for our Subaru and subsequent delivery to Wisconsin where the balance would be paid upon delivery of the car. We also mailed a check for $100 to Intercoastal at the Boca Raton address.

On March 30th I emailed a request to ************************@yahoo.com asking for confirmation that the faxed forms and mailed check was received. On March 31st I received an email from ******* that said "This is a confirmation of receipt of the deposit, and all paperwork necessary to complete the reservation process. We will schedule you for 04/14/14."

On April 12, 13, and 14th we telephoned and emailed ******* and left messages. No one ever answered the phone or responded to our emails. The web site phone number for Intercoastal was not working either. April 14th came and went and no auto carrier arrived to transport our vehicle. We had to fly back to Wisconsin on 4/15 and with great difficulty and expense begin again to try to arrange the transportation of our car from Florida to Wisconsin. We were able to find a reputable carrier and arrange it.

We were scamed by ******* and by Intercoastal. Our deposit check was cashed and after that they were done with us. We have requested by email a refund of our deposit since the Terms of Agreement says "This fee is refundable only if the driver does not show up to pick up the vehicle". There has been no response.

We want our $100 deposit back since no driver ever showed. We want to warn other consumers that ******* and Intercoastal Auto Carriers is not a reputable business to deal with.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a refund of $100 which we deposited with Intercoastal to secure the promised pick-up and transport of our car on 04/14/14.

We would like to have an apology for the poor service, lack of communication, and extra problems and expense we had to incur.

04/14/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
this company is fake,they said they will transported my car from Wheaton,IL to St.petersburg,fl for $525 but they charged me more than the Deal.
On March 3rd 2014,the company name Intercoastal Auto carries, said they will transported my car from Wheaton,IL to St.petersburg,Fl for 525 dollars and, I took the deal, after that Winston, the person who contact me and ask me to deposit for 300 dollars and 225 dollars pay on Delivery,,after i made the Deposit of 300 dollars, they forward my infor to Montway auto carriers, they pick up my car I didnt see the Contract until I see it on the contract it still 525 COD instead of 225 dollars, i contacted Winston so so so many times but no one answer and no one call me back after i made that 300 deposit I contact ******* **** ********* they said that they only received the contract from Intercoastal auto carriers they dont know anything about 300 dollars that i deposit,they said I still own them 525 for transported, they have nothing to do with Intercoastal Auto Carriers they said that Intercoastal Auto carriers is a brooker, after that I was so mad because I got scammed by InterCoastal Auto Carriers for 300.00, and when they ask me to deposit make sure deposit cash only..after My car got Delivery i have to paid 525 instead of 225 like the Deal, I tried so so many time to contacted intercoast Auto Carriers company but the company and the address it seem it fake and it only have that website to fool people and scammed people by doing that they will transported your car but they dont transported they make you deposit for 300 and forward the infor to different company to transport and they dont take deposit upfront they only take money when the car is delivery..I hope BBB will help me find out is this company is real or something but they scammed me for 300 dollars, so the totally cost of 825 dollars instead of 525 dollars
and this is the account number they want me to deposit 300 dollars they account is real
InterCoastal auto carriers
acount name *** bank
account number XXXXXXXXXX
rounting number is XXXXXXXXX
I hope BBB will help me find this Person
the person I talk to is ******* or **** he used one phone number but different to talk to me
his cell number is XXX XXX XXXX
and the ******* auto carriers phone number is XXX XXX XXXX,I believe these two company were working together to scammed people..hopefully BBB will take action to avoid other people become another victim like me.. thank you sincerely *** ****

Desired Settlement
all I want is InterCoastal Auto carriers to refund 300 back to me, because I made the deposit to the account *** bank, acct# XXXXXXXXXX.

04/01/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bait and switch practices. Misrepresentation of cost for services.
I was needing to ship my car from NY to AR. ***** is the rep in NY that contacted me with a quote of $775 from Intercoastal Auto Carriers. I asked him to send me an email to state this price and told him I did not want the price to change after my car was shipped. He told me to wire $175 as a deposit to the PNC Bank account for ICAC and that would lock in my price and leave me with a balance of $600. Which I would pay C.O.D when I got my car in AR. I was in no hurry to get the car and I expressed this to him because I bought a car while I was waiting to ship mine from NY. Once my car was picked up I communicated strictly with the dispatcher that kept track of my car and coordinated the delivery with me. When the driver was two hours away they called to let me know the driver was close. I reiterated with the dispatcher that my cost upon delivery would be $600. He told me that they were planning to collect $800 from me and would not release my car unless I paid the full amount of $800. I let him know about my deposit and he said they had not gotten a deposit and they were contracted by ICAC to ship my car for $800. I emailed the dispatcher my contract and he emailed me his. The contracts were different and ICAC quoted me a lower price to ship my car than what they agreed to pay the contracted deliverer. I tried to call****** all day and he did not return my call until late that night after I had paid $800 to get my car. He tried to say there was a miscommunication issue but there is no miscommunication when the agreement was in writing. I asked him why my deposit was not applied to my total and he gave me the run around about needing to get approval from management to issue me a refund and he was extremely apologetic. He agreed to email me information on how to reach his manager but I never got that information and now none of my calls or emails are being returned. Once I looked at everything I realized they had no intention of applying my deposit towards my total cost. I basically ened up paying them $175 to arrange the pick up of my car, then another $800 to the actual shipping company. So in all I paid $975 when I was told my cost would be $775. I asked for a $200 refund and have not gotten any reply.

Desired Settlement
I would like a $200 refund for ***** misrepresenting my costs.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.