BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Direct Auto Carrier

(866) 806-8446 ext 551View Additional Phone Numbers19821 NW 2nd Ave # 135, Miami GardensFL 33169-3341http://directautocarrier.com

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Direct Auto Carrier is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Direct Auto Carrier's rating include:

  • 8 complaints filed against business
  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.
  • Failure to have a required competency license.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Direct Auto Carrier

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract stated service would cost $975. I made a $125 deposit before delivery & upon delivery I owed $850. When the driver arrived, he demanded $900
When I initially spoke with ****** ****** from Direct Auto Carriers in Miami, FL, he informed me that the contract I would sign would be certified by the DOT and the price would not change. The Contract stated service to deliver my vehicle from Florida to California would cost $975. He informed me he was not a broker and he owned his own trucks (which I later learned he lied about and he was a broker). He required a $125 deposit before delivery & upon delivery I owed $850. When the driver arrived, he demanded $900 or he would take the car back to Florida. I showed him a copy of the contract I signed and he informed me he didn't work for ****** ****** from Direct Auto Carriers but he worked for a different company and refused out give me my car unless I gave him $900.

Desired Settlement
I called Direct Auto Carriers many time and left messages and no one has returned my call. I am requested a FULL refund because as per the contract my car was supposed to be picked up on Jan 4 and wasn't picked up until Jan 7 and as per the contract the amount I owed upon delivery was $850 and the driver demanded i pay him $900 or he would take my car back to florida and I would have to pay more to "hundreds or dollars to get it back to California".

Business Response
We are looking into the details of ***** ******'s transport. If any refund is due, it will be credited.

05/30/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False information and lies to customers saying they will deliver a vehicle and charging money for they're service
****** the sales person charged my card and no service was provided

Desired Settlement
Refund

Business Response
Customer has been refunded.

05/26/2016Problems with Product / Service
12/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Potential False advertising and very poor customer service.
I used********************* because on their web page and while speaking to ***** was informed that they owned their own trucks for shipping vehicles. Turns out I dealt with a broker here in Colorado. The broker damaged the trunk and put a replacement part on the vehicle without disclosing this ocurred and then lied to my daughter about it when she accepted the vehicle. When I contacted ***** for customer support he did nothing except refer me back to the local broker to work it out on my own.

Desired Settlement
The part that the broker had put on my daughter's car trunk has a spoiler on it and we need to have it removed so the trunk has no spolier.

Business Response
Our CS rep will contact *** ******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No one has contacted me

Final Business Response
We reached out to *** ****** various times and left voicemails. We have a signed bill of lading from pick up and delivery. Any claim is to be made before accepting and signing off on the vehicle, however, we went ahead and released the deposit that was made back to *** ****** as a courtesy.

08/31/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Direct Auto Carrier was contracted to transport a car from Vermont to California. A deposit was made. A month later the vehicle has not arrived.
On June 15th a deposit was made for the transport of a Nissan Altima from Burlington Vermont to Walnut Creek California. The vehicle was supposed to be picked up on June 16th and would be delivered in ten days as promised by their agent James **********
On June 28th it became evident that the vehicle had not yet been picked up.
As of July 19 the vehicle has not been delivered.
Communication has been in one direction only.

Desired Settlement
As the errors in this transaction are the entire fault of their agents I request that 50% of the transport fee be covered by Direct Auto Carrier.

Business Response
A ******** service agent will be in contact with ***** ***** regarding his concerns

07/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
$125 deposit was taken even though the contractual agreement was broken by the company, and I never received the service. A refund has not been given.
Due to my location, my Father, Grandfather, and I all signed a contract saying that for a deposit of $125, my 2004 Chrysler Sebring Convertible would be picked up on 5/25/15 from IL in order to be shipped to MA. I needed the two of them to hold the car in my Grandfather's driveway until it got picked up, which is the only reason they were required to sign. My deposit and credit card info was also taken over the phone, which concerned me since there was no real receipt or electronic tracking.

It was not picked up on the 25th or 26th, yet the three of us were continually told to "just wait until tomorrow," or "they'll be there in an hour, I promise." After getting the feeling we were being scammed, I went online to read reviews about the company, to which I found several complaints that sounded similar to my experience.

Not wanting to be tricked, and also needing my car for work, I immediately called the company on the morning of 5/27/15 to CANCEL my order, and to request a REFUND of the $125 deposit I paid. ***** O'Connor, the sales rep, and *****, the ******** service rep, both tried to get me to keep my reservation, but I insisted and after about 30 minutes of threatening to sue, ***** finally told me he would submit a request for refund and cancel my auto pick up immediately. He told me that the request would be processed within 48 hours and the credit would post shortly.

After not seeing any progress, I called the company again and was put on hold. It is now 6/3/15 and no credit has been issued. I called the company this morning (6/3/15), and was told that I may not even get a refund because "the truck was on it's way to pick up the car when the order was cancelled." This indicates to me that *****, the sales rep, did NOT, in fact, submit the cancellation OR refund request until later, when he knew the truck would already be on it's way. This was done in order to ensure that my money would not be refunded to me. Upon asking about the refund request form date, it was, in fact, confirmed by *****, the ******** service rep, that *****, the sales rep did not request the refund until the ********* day, 5/28/15.

I was also told to call the company owner, ***, but given a false number that is out of service.

I have already had my car shipped by another company. I do not want anything except for my deposit of $125 back, but I will take legal action if it is not resolved shortly.

Desired Settlement
I want a complete refund for my deposit in the form of $125.

Business Response
Customer was refunded $125 deposit.

10/06/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company is trying to steal our companies name. Making fake websites, advertising on website such as ****************.com.
This company is unethically trying to steal our company name of **** ******** *****. They have made fake websites in our name to redirect our clients to their company under false names. They have used our name on the review site ****************.com, advertising as our company. They have contacted our customers from these website acting as they are with **** ******** *****. This has cause us to lose much business and with their horrible business ethics and how they treat customers it has in turn given us a bad reputation with potential clientele.

Desired Settlement
We request this company to remove our name and websites with our name. We do not want anything but customers to know what company they are really working with. We want them to be able to work with the actual company they are requesting. We do not want to find anymore websites or reviews with our name on them this company has used.

Business Response
We do not know who "Auto Shipping Group" is. We have not made any fake websites, nor do we come in contact with customers of "Auto Shipping Group". We are not sure why a complaint was made.

05/30/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Not a complaint concerning warranty. Contract is not being fulfilled. Almost a month later and company has failed to deliver. Refuses to communicate.
Almost a month later the contract is still not being fulfilled. Drivers sent out to pick up the vehicle make various claims as to why they refuse to pick it up. But my middleman states that the drivers are expecting the vehicle to run even though the contract clearly states It doesnt. None of the drivers operated a winch even though that too was part of the agreement. Company refuses to contact me or respond to my messages. I am seeking restitution for my contract deposit as well as costs associated with atoring the vehicle past my intended date due to failure of the conpany to fulfill the delivery and unwillingness to communicate with me in a timely manner.

Desired Settlement
100 dollars refund for the deposit on the contract. 500 dollars to cover continued storage and or another shipping service as this company has been unwilling to deliver or contact me in any timely manner.

Business Response
We have sent trucks to pick up customers vehicle on different occasions with no success. Contract states "Deposits are only refundable in the case that we do not send a truck to pick up the vehicle". No refund is due.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The purpose/terms of the deposit is neither defined in the contractual agreement nor on the business website. I inquired about the deposit on the first call to the business and the representative told me its refunded if they couldn't deliver the vehicle and assured me they could do it. Including the fact that the vehicle was not delivered, and that the drivers sent out didn't have a winch as per the original agreement, I feel this is all just bad business practice. Months after the original contract date, I was forced to contract another vehicle shipping service and they got the vehicle delivered within a week with no miscommunication. I still seek reimbursement for my 100 dollar deposit due to service on contract not being fulfilled, unwillingness to make contact with me regarding this issue, severe amount of time lost/spent while on military active duty, and additional associated storage costs of the vehicle during the time the vehicle was already supposed to be gone.


Business Response
The contractual agreement the ******** agreed and signed, states that our deposits are only refundable in the event, we do not dispatch and send a truck out to pick up. The reason for this is the diesel and additional expenses to send a truck out. In this customers case we sent more than one truck to.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have the contract I signed and it states no such terms of the deposit.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies, Automobile Shipping Brokers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/25/2012Business started: 07/02/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

As of June 3, 2016 BBB was unable to verify appropriate Moving and Storage licensing with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov) or The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (http://www.800helpfla.com). Both agencies are licensing authorities for Moving & Storage companies.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Eric Stevens (Manager)
Contact Information
Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies, Automobile Shipping Brokers

Industry Tips
Tips for your move or transporting your car

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Direct Auto Carrier

19821 NW 2nd Ave # 135

Miami Gardens, FL 33169-3341

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 19821 NW 2nd Ave # 135 

    Miami Gardens, FL 33169-3341(866) 806-8446 ext 551
    (954) 510-5324

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Direct Auto Carrier is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (954) 510-5324
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Transporters & Drive-Away Companies

Tips for your move or transporting your car
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

As of June 3, 2016 BBB was unable to verify appropriate Moving and Storage licensing with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov) or The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (http://www.800helpfla.com). Both agencies are licensing authorities for Moving & Storage companies.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.