BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/31/2007

WheelFire USA, Inc.

Phone: (866) 450-3473Fax: (954) 202-3002

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
02/12/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wheelfire has a guarantee that if wrong tires are sent, wheelfire will make good.
I ordered tires and rims from the company. When I revived them they ended up being 8 lugnut instead of the 10 lugnut the tires fit on. I contacted Joe and he told me that the car has to be a 6 cylindar because those are the tired they sent. I told him they weren't and proceeded to take pictures showing him. He contacted me back saying it's a 6 cylander,which it's not, and that too get the wheel package replaced I would need to send them back paying the shipping and also a 20 percent restocking fee. This is an issue because I was sent the wrong tires so I shouldn't be punished. If wheelfire had any questions about the number of lug nuts they should have asked. And they should also follow they warranty. I tried contacting *** again but he is more ignoring my emails. So while I wait for this to be resolved I don't have any tires on the car.

Desired Settlement
I would like the proper 10 lugnut tires sent out and not be forced to pay for shipping and restocking as,wheelfire,has a guarantee in place for these type of problems.

Business Response
This is a bogus complaint. The customer ordered through website. Picked out the wrong year for the vehicle therefore the wrong bolt pattern. It is clearly stated on our site if you order the wrong product we will refund everything minus 20 percent re stocking fee and shipping costs. We gave the customer an option to send the wheels back only charging the restocking fee. we waived the shipping costs and we waived the mounting and balancing fee.
Wheelfire tried to help this customer. The customer was in agreement and understood what they did. The customer even told us he ordered them for someone else and may have put the wrong info into the site. Instead of calling back to further resolve the issue, the customer decides to do a complaint to try and tarnish our reputation without any regard of wrong doing. Please delete this bogus complaint.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Well now not only does Wheelfire lie about their fitment guarantee, they also call their customers liars. Look, this isn't bogus. This also isn't a good way to do business. Look its simple, I ordered tires as instructed, I placed the proper information into the website, and I was sent the wrong tires. When I called Joe, he asked I send him pictures of the vehicle, which I did, and that should have been sufficient, he even said it would. But WheelFire is not willing to say they did any wrong, and they are 100% in the wrong. I don't need to tarnish your reputation, your doing plenty good as a business if this is the way you treat your customers. I will go ahead and file a fraud claim against the company for the charge, as that's what this is now, and I will also, unless this is resolved now, sue Wheel Fire in civil court, and they can pay all those costs on top of these.

Thank you.

Final Business Response
The customer put in this description on his order below,
Honda 1998 Accord All Models 4cyl. All 1998-2002 4 cylinder Honda's in every book that we use and every book that the industry uses comes up with the bolt pattern 4x114.3. We have been selling to 1998 Honda accord's for over 8 years and have not had one call telling us different. I would ask the customer to please check to see if the pattern has been altered. Some people do custom bolt pattern changes to a 5x114.3 to have a better selection to chose from on buying wheels. This could be the case. I am not saying that this customer altered the vehicle, Perhaps the owner before my customer had the car changed the bolt pattern to a 5x114.3. Also, I would have the customer call me with his Vin number on the Honda to verify the bolt pattern. He can also call Honda to verify this himself. With this being said if the customer wants to send the product back we have no problem with this. They have to send them back with there own shipping costs. The customer can contact me anytime he wants to. I have had to emails nor one call from the customer. We have very little issues with customers but when an issue does come up. we always resolve the issue. they can call me anytime from 930am till 630pm Monday-Friday.

10/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Without having any verification (they are a mail order company) they refuse to refund my payment and accept return of their wheels and tires.
I have been working through my credit card company ********* ******** to try to come to a resolution with this merchant. They first claimed that my order was a "special order." Not being able to validate that claim, they then claimed that because my wheels were mounted on tires, I was not entitled to a refund. That policy applies to customers purchasing wheels only (their terms and conditions). My receipt clearly shows that I purchased rims and tires. Finally they claimed that I drove on the wheels. They are a mail order company and have no way of knowing that I drove on the wheels. Documentation has been sent (and is available) as before attempting to return the wheels I took pictures that clearly show the tiny rubber "strings" that the manufacturer puts on the tread of the tire so that a consumer can be sure that they are in fact buying a new tire. As soon as a wheel is driven on, those strings come off. Those rubber splines are still present and my photographs and the wheels that I sent to them have them present. These wheels are new and have not been driven on. All terms and conditions for my refund have been met. They have refused delivery of my return and have denied my request for refund.

Desired Settlement
I would like my $2,782.00 refunded. They are welcome to have the wheels returned to them but this time it needs to be at their expense. I spent $400.00 sending them to them the first time and they refused delivery without even looking at the wheels.

Business Response
Wheelfire did go above and beyond to try and resolve this issue. We did do everything under our terms and conditions. The customer tried to return the product without an RMA (return merchandise authorition number). This is clearly stated on the terms and conditions on the website that any merchandise that is shipped back needs an RMA. With that being said,the customer also did not properly package the product which clearly caused damage to the merchandise. Unfortunately we can not return the customers funds. Wheelfire is a company built on customer service and has gone above and beyond in this industry to take care of all our customers. We regret we could not please this customer but the customer failed to follow our terms and conditions. The customer is in possession of the merchandise.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Over the past two months this merchant has used 3 different reasons why they would not authorize my return. None of them have been fair. I have done everything I can to try to get a refund, but if the merchant will not authorize the return, that is out of my control. The wheels were packaged using the same packaging that the wheels were shipped in. Since the merchant refused delivery (and the wheels were never unwrapped and inspected) it is impossible for the merchant to know whether or not the wheels were damaged during shipment. This is again another example of the tactics that they have been using from the start. I would be happy to forward the stream of ridiculous responses and excused that they have been giving for why they are failing to abide by their terms and conditions. As mentioned earlier, I have been working through my credit card company on this for 2 months now. I have never dealt with a company that has operated this way. With that said, THE WHEELS ARE IN NEW CONDITION. THEY HAVE NOT BEEN DRIVEN ON. THE WHEELS WERE NOT PUCHASED SEPERATE FROM THE TIRES. All of the reasons that they have given for not accepting the exchange have been false and have not been offerred in good faith. I have spent hours trying to get justice in this matter and this has now become a persuit based on principal as the time and expense ($400+ to have them reject the shipment for no just cause) has far outweighed the best outcome. This company has been dishonest and unethical and it is incredible that they could in clear conscience advertise with a big BBB logo on their main page. They have gone above and beyond to be deceptive and manipulative and have in my opinion stolen my money and stuck me with their merchandise. The fact that they would use the fact that they refused an uninspected delivery for a reason that they did not accept return is ludacris. Using their refusal to give me a return authorization number is even worse. It would be great for every dishonest business owner to be able to have just cause for not accepting returned merchandise based on their unwillingness to issue a return authorization number.

Final Business Response
Wheelfire has treated this customer and all of our customers with respect and integrity. Unfortunately in the world we live in there is customers who can say anything they want and make attempts to falsely discredit companies as they see fit. Wheelfire strongly takes false accusations seriously. This customer can not be satisfied. The customer did make an attempt to send back the merchandise without an RMA per our terms and conditions. We have those terms and conditions due to the fact that if every customer just did not like there order and had put them on there vehicle they could just send back merchandise anytime they wanted. That would put anyone out of business. With that being said, the customer failed to properly package the wheels and tires. Our warehouse manager immediately refused the merchandise due to NO RMA and did see there was significant damage due to improper packaging. Our BBB report speaks for itself. We have been in business for a very long time. We can't satisfy everyone although we certainly try our hardest.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again the merchant has wasted the time and energy of all parties involved. As they admit, they would not issue a return authorization. Why would a company employing fair business practices do that? They would need to have seen the wheels to know that they were driven on - which they were not. But they still would not authorize the return. How could they be acting in good faith under those circumstances? They conclude that the wheels were driven on and never issue the retun authorization, never get the wheels back and the customer is stuck with them. Doesn't seem like a fair business practice to me. I have the wheels as I received the returned merchandise. The claim that the wheels have significant damage IS A LIE. First of all, since the wheels were never unwrapped - that would be impossible to know. The fact that if the merchant had unwrapped them, they would not have been able to send them back as the UPS delivery person would not allow them to be returned (since they were unwrapped) makes that an OBVIOUS LIE. This claim is an OBVIOUS LIE and demonstrates the lengths that this merchant will go to to not honor their terms and conditions. I have pictures of the returned wheels as they were returned (still wrapped). I have pictures of the tred to verify the fact that the tires have not been driven on. I would be happy to furnish those pictures. It would seem blatently obvious that the "inspection" that could not have taken place due to Federal Expresses terms and conditions would clarify the integrity of this merchant. I think that claim should insult the intelligence of any reader. Whatever proof of the multiple lies included in the last merchants response I would be happy to disprove. The fact that the wheels were never inspected - UPS policy could confirm that. The wheels have NO DAMAGE WHATSOEVER - I have pictures of the wheels now. The fact that the wheels were never driven on, I can prove that. PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHAT I CAN SEND, WHERE TO SEND IT, I HAVE A LAUNDRY LIST OF PROOF THAT THIS MERCHANT IS DISHONEST, UNFAIR AND HAS NO RIGHT TO A BBB ENDORSEMENT.

09/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold the wrong tires for my car. The Load Index does not meet the required safe minimum for my make & model car.
I initiated an order for a wheel + tire package for my '08 Honda Accord V6 coupe on Wheelfire.com in March of 2013. I had some questions so I called the customer service phone number and was connected with a rep named **** *** was very helpful and over the course of a few days we finalized an order for the wheels I wanted and a set of 4 Continental Conti pro contact Gran Touring all season tires, size 235/40 R19. These Continental tires were not the original tires offered with the package. I chose to upgrade to a better tire and *** checked the inventory for tires that were in stock. We discussed what size I wanted in terms of ratio and whether or not I wanted summer or all season tires. At this point he knew what kind of car I had because that information was necessary to order the correct wheels so I assume he took it into account when looking for tires that would be appropriate for my application. After discussing several possibilities we settled on the Continentals. There was no discussion about the Load index or speed rating of the tires. Even if there was I would not have known what was required for my car. I trusted *** as the expert rep for Wheelfire.com and believed he was only recommending products that would be correct for my car. We finished the sale and I paid the full balance of $2379. $1216 of which was for the tires. I received the wheels and tires already mounted in early April 2013. I inspected everything for shipping damage and accuracy of the order then installed them on the car. Everything was fine accept the ride was very bouncy and very unstable over rough terrain. I had recently installed a new suspension and mistakenly thought it was the cause. After ruling out the suspension and realizing the tires were causing the unstable ride I figured I just needed to get used to them and maybe they were just not as good as I had hoped. Four months later (Aug) after routine maintenance at the local Honda dealership the mechanic told me the tires on the car were unsafe because they did not have the correct Load Index. They are rated 92H and my car requires 94V. He said that was the source of the bouncy ride. The tires were straining under the weight of the car. He also said tires with a rating below the OEM tires was cause for failure of my state's annual safety inspection. I contacted Continental for confirmation and they agreed the tires were unsafe on my car and strongly recommended immediate replacement. While load indexes and speed ratings are not commonly known to customers both Continental and the Honda dealership agreed that any authorized tire retailer would know to only sell and mount tires that meet or exceed the OEM requirements and that information is readily available to any retailer selling auto parts. I checked and ****** ************ and ********* all said they would never sell or mount a tire rated lower than the OEM and they would also decline a sale if a customer requests a tire rated lower than the OEM. Being fully aware that the period for exchanges had passed I contacted Wheelfire.com on Sept. 2 2013 by email explaining the situation and asking for their help to correct their mistake and get the correct tire. Continental also contacted Wheelfire.com on my behalf. Wheelfire.com responded to Continental telling them I specifically asked for the tire in question which is not true and that the refund/exchange period had expired and therefore they would not take any action. As of Sept 5th Wheelfire.com has not contacted me personally.

Detail of the Sale:
Date: 3/13/13
Rep: **
Total $2,379.00 paid on ****
Receipt lists the tires as 235/40/19 Continental Pro Contact 500 AAA

Desired Settlement
Wheelfire.com failed to sell me a set of tires that met the OEM requirements for my car. A standard policy for authorized tire retailers. At the time, I like most consumers was unaware of the meaning or importance of the load index and speed rating stamped on the sidewall and trusted Wheelfire.com to sell me tires that were compatible and safe for my car. I should not be stuck with tires that are unsafe on my car because I failed to check an arcane technical detail withing 7 days. I am hoping Wheelfire.com will do the right thing and honor it's "Fitment Guarantee" and send 4 of the same tire (Continental Pro Contact Gran Touring) with the correct OEM required 94V rating to my home at their expense. Upon receipt and after swapping out the tires on the car I will return the set I was originally sold, also at Wheelfire.com's expense. If the correct tire is not available to Wheelfire.com a credit to my visa for the amount paid for the tires ($1216) will be acceptable. Upon receipt of the credit and the purchase of the correct tire from another retailer I will be happy to return the tires in my possession at Wheelfire.com's expense.

Business' Initial Response
The customer did call in and place the order over the phone. Unfortunately our policy is for the customer to contact wheelfire if there is any discrepancy's within 7 days. However we go above and beyond the policy to help any of our customers. Wheelfire has the highest standard on solving any customer service issues. Unfortunately this customer tried to solve this issue on his own from the very beginning without contacting wheelfire. Wheelfire will go above and beyond to solve this issue.

08/06/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues
04/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I made a wheel and tire package purchase from Wheelfire. I received my package and I liked it very much. But unfortunately the wheels would have voided my warranty on my car because of the size of wheels. Wheelfire should add to there advertisement that getting wheels bigger than O.E. can void your warranty on the car. There sales staff should also state this to there customers. Something they should know. So I had to return the wheel and tire package to them. Then instead of getting all my money back, they take out a 20% restocking fee, in which I was not happy about. If I knew a head of time there would be a 20% restocking fee if I had to return the package, I most likely would not have made the purchase. This also should be quoted to the customer at the time of purchase.
Product_Or_Service: Foose WH F148 Outcast 20x8.5,Wheel Locks,Tires
Order_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Remaining amount withheld of $420.00.

Business Response
Wheelfire understands special circumstances that may arise during the ordering process, The customer Purchased AFTERMARKET wheels and tires. It is impossible for any company to know what warranty the customer has on the vehicle they purchased. It is solely up to the customer to know what warranty they have and do not have. As a company we have our own warranty's and terms and conditions posted on our website for customers to view. We shipped out a product that was a perfect fitment mounted and balanced. Once it ships we clearly state that there is a restocking and shipping costs back and fourth. We also charge mounting and balancing fees. We waved the mounting and balancing fees for the customer. Wheelfire is well within the right to charge these fees.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The sales associate did not state there is a restocking shipping cost to me if I decide to return the purchase.Probably would have not made the purchase if I knew so.

Final Business Response
The Customer ordered the product directly from the website. The customer had to check a box agreeing that they did read and accept our terms and conditions. In those terms and conditions that the customer agreed to are the charges applied if the customer sends the product back. Wheelfire did call the customer and upgraded them to a 20x8.5 wheel. Again, Wheelfire did not charge the customer a mounting and balancing fee to be helpful to the customer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is still no resolution.

10/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Terrible Customer service; they didn't seem to care about me after they had my money. Dodged all my calls and emails every time I attempted contact.
Order number XXXXX placed on 9/1/2014 for a set of 4 Niche Essen in silver, 20x10 with Toyo tires 245/35/20.

I was originally going to place my order through Ebay, which I completely regret not doing. Wheelfire.com treated me with some of the worst customer service I have experienced. About 2 days after I placed my order they had an employee call me and ask something about my fitment, he left an extension to call him at. After I spoke with him he told me to call him with any issues. Well, the day my wheels were supposed to arrive, (according to the man I spoke with because they had not yet provided me with a tracking number on my $1600+ order!), which was 7 days after the order, the wheels were no where to be found. I called up wheelfire; no answer. Tried giving them the benefit of the doubt and figured maybe they would come the next day; nope. I called back the next day a few times and finally got an answer from someone who was filling in for the original employee who was on vacation and NEVER NOTIFIED ME, and this guy had no clue about my order. Actually, he was making it seem like I never placed an order in the first place. After about 15 minutes on the phone I finally got him to admit that the wheels hadn't even shipped out yet and they didn't even have my wheels in their possession!!

This was when I really started getting mad. I called back a few days later to talk to the original employee. No answer multiple times. After a while I got someone on the phone somehow managed to FINALLY get a tracking number for me. It is now September 11, 2014 and I still have no received the wheels.

At this point I am completely fed up with the company. The next day I look at the tracking numbers and the wheels had not even been sent to Fedex yet! The wheels did not arrive until September 16, 2014; 8 days after they promised them to me.

I would not be as agitated if they were up front with me in the first place and told me the wheels were not in stock, that they had to source them, get them shipped to their facility, then ship them to me. They should NOT SELL WHEELS THEY DON'T HAVE IN STOCK!! Or they should at least put a stocking disclaimer.

I also took a video and pictures of my unboxing and 2 of the wheels were damaged; gouge on one and scratch on another wheel. I would attempt some sort of refund or replacement, however, this business is IMPOSSIBLE to get in touch with.

There are multiple emails I have sent that have not been responded to; I have left voicemails with clear messages and numbers to call me back and I get nothing in return.

All in all, this is a terrible company and I would NEVER recommend doing business with them on any scale.

Desired Settlement
I would like something to compensate for the damaged wheel.

Business Response
Wheelfire did contact the customer on September 2. within 24 hours to inform them of a non guarantied fitment issue. The customer did call back on September 3rd and requested that they were willing to take responsibility with the aggressive fitment. We also gave the customer a free Upgrade on there tires for free. the tires we gave them are more money but we did not charge them anymore. When the customer placed the order it states everywhere on the website that it can take up to 3-9 Business days for the customer to receive the order. We also email the customer after placing the order that it takes 3-9 business days. The customer received there order on the 9th business day. That is counting from first contact of the customer on September 3rd. Wheelfire does not ship out product that we cannot guaranty. They received there order on the 16th. Our business hours are Monday through friday 9:30AM to 7PM. We are closed on the weekends. I don't know why the customer is claiming that we don't pick up our phones. We have a full sales staff that answers every call. Unless they did try to call after hours or they did try to call there representative while he was on vacation. We did have someone answering his extension. We are willing to consed that not every call was answered on the representatives extension because he was on vacation but we tried to get to all of his calls. We are disappointed that the customer is upset when all we did was deliver the product in the allowed and stated times we advertise. The customer installed the product onto there vehicle and has been driving on them. Under our terms and conditions wheelfire asks to contact us with any issues within 24-48 hours and any product that is installed and driven on is considered used and therefor we can't help the customer. We have gone above and beyond on some circumstances. If the customer has pictures of the scratches before installing them we can help them. we cannot take the wheels back but we are willing to offer some money off. The pictures have to be clear and barley out of the packaging. We need to see the labels of the tires and the whole face of the wheel and pictures of the back of the wheel to determine that they are legitimate pictures PRE_ INSTALL. Wheelfire values every customer. We are disappointed that the customer chose this avenue rather then to just call us and figure this out. the customer states above he did not even try to call wheelfire. That is not right to not even give wheelfire a chance to help them. We lost business with this invalid complaint.

03/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 2/13/14, I placed an order. On 2/18 they called and said I had to order another set, charged me an upcharge of $75. on 2/28 still not shipped
on 2/13/14, I placed an order with wheelfire.com put in card info, security code, ect. Received a conformation ID and my status was "Verified". On 2/18, received a call from wheelfire.com stating that what I had ordered was not in stock and I would have to choose another style. I choose another style, was charged a $75 upcharge, re gave them my card info, security number ect, and was given a receipt (sale no. XXXXX) in the amount of $1538.99-reflecting the $75 upcharge. On 2/28, I call wheelfire.com and ask why my order hasn't shipped and they said they had to order them, that they didn't have them. On 3/5 wheelfire.com charged my card $1463.99, almost a whole month after my order, over drafting my account. I went to my bank to get a transaction history, and was never charged for the original amount just the upcharge, even though the receipt reflected that I had paid. I called wheelfire.com, spoke with customer service and told them to cancel the order, and refund the money that they did take out, and that I was under the understanding (as I put in all my card info and obtained a receipt) that I had paid for my entire order. whellfire customer service was very rude in handling my complaints, and offered no reason explaining why this happened.

Desired Settlement
Do NOT send out receipts, if a customer has not paid for the items. Put clearly, boldly and ensure the customer understands that you are not going to CHARGE the customer until the order is shipped, NOT when they place their order.

Business Response
I am sorry you feel this way. Wheelfire was in contact with you through out the process. It did take a little bit longer to get your order here from California due to the bad weather in the middle of the country. However, When the customer did switch the order our rep did tell the customer it would take 7-10 business days for them to receive the product. It also states this clearly on the website. The charge on the customers account was an authorization on the date of the original purchase. It is a soft hold on the customers account. Wheelfire only authorizes customers cards in case of the product not being in stock, that way we can refund the funds usually within minutes instead of days. The customer spent there personal money thinking there was an extra $1500 in there account while not paying attention to there account. This complaint is done out of frustration due to the customer not balancing there check book. Wheelfire should not be accountable for this. Wheelfire will do everything possible to satisfy the customer. We have gone above and beyond expectations on helping our customers. This complaint should be removed from the BBB.

04/30/2013Problems with Product / Service
02/25/2013Delivery Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Parts & Supplies - Custom Wheels/Rims, Wheels

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.