BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/23/2009

Competition Motors, Inc.

Phone: (561) 478-0590Fax: (561) 296-0732View Additional Phone Numbers4401 Annette St STE 1, West Palm BeachFL 33409-2600

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/23/2009

BBB has determined that Competition Motors, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Competition Motors, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/31/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

A loan proceed check was sent to Competition Motors on Feb 4, 2016, the check was cashed on Feb 9, 2016, the vehicle/title was never delivered.
On February 1, 2016 one of our members, who live in Illinois, agreed to purchase a 2013
Mercedes-Benz M Class from Competition Motors in West Palm Beach. The loan for the vehicle was funded and a loan proceed check in the amount of $27,895.00 was mailed to Competition Motors on February 4, 2016. The loan proceed check was cashed by Competition Motors on February
9, 2016. The vehicle was to be delivered from West Palm Beach to Illinois along with the title. To date the vehicle has not been delivered, nor has the title. Our numerous attempts to contact Competition Motors have gone unanswered and our messages have gone unreturned. At this point Competition Motors holds the proceeds from the loan, the vehicle, and the title.

Desired Settlement
We would like a reimbursement for the amount of our loan proceed check plus additional attorney
costs which are now being accrued.

Final Consumer Response
This complaint has been resolved. Lender has received a full refund of the loan proceed check plus attorney fees.

02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Gross misrepresentation to bank lender of product sold, which nullified deal, and refusal to refund deposit due to C.M negligence. High pressure tacti
The problems began on a smaller note at initial signing, 12-30-13, for the purchase of a 2004 Jeep Wrangler X. Application#XXXXXXXX-V-2. Contract#2998. Verbal discussion was with a 4000.00 deposit, 406 around a 17 percent interest, and I was told to come back later when approved paperwork was complete.At signing it became 27.9 percent, with a 5000.00 deposit, and an additional price increase. I really wanted vehicle, so in haste, agreed with terms, as my credit is poor.The "Approved" Contract, being financed through "Westlake Financial Services" was signed by all, and I immediately purchased the necessary insurance on vehicle, right there at office, and I took possession of vehicle, and was told that Westlake would be contacting me to verify purchase.
Westlake did call me, but not until 1-3-14, and asked questions regarding vehicle, including condition, model, options, and the like, which I answered. The person thanked me and said that I would receive my paperwork in the mail 15 or so days before due date of 2-01-14.A short time later my salesman, ****** called me all upset, and told me I need to call WL back and tell them that the Jeep was a "Columbia Edition" version, which is a Jeep approved trim package. He not only asked me to tell them that, but to tell them that it came with a hard top,which is not true,(the vehicle has a soft top) or the deal would not go through, due to a decreased value.He apparently, (and said as much) had submitted the vehicle with the hardtop and Columbia options to show a higher value than the vehicle was worth, which was never, ever revealed to me, and it is not stated in contract anywhere. I was charged for one! In fact, after i purchased the Jeep I enquired about a hardtop, and was told they would sell me one for around 2000.00

I did call Westlake back and explained the options vehicle had, but did not state that it was an official Columbia Edition, nor did I discuss with them that it ever had a hard top.
On 1-04-14 @1:16PM ***** ******** called my cell phone and left me a message to call him back. I did not have my cell with me and was in Miami at the time. He also called me with urgency on Sunday, 1-5-14 @1;50PM, stating that it was VERY important that I come in and sit down and talk! (About what, I wondered?) I returned his call at 3:51PM, after seeing his messages for first time, but no resps He called me back following day 1-6-14,@10:40 AM and ***** told me the deal did not go through.

I asked ***** how this was, as I was told by Bank that the paperwork was being sent out. He told me that wasn't true, and that I MUST come in and talk with them, which I did. He and *****, the owner of the company, then told me that since Westlake would not finance the deal as is, and now I had to come up with another 1500.00! This troubled me, as I had no idea whether or not Westlake had actually turned the deal down or not, especially after my interview confirming the purchase with them,and their statement that I would be receiving my paperwork shortly
I then considered my options, continuing in absolute and total fear of not receiving my 5000.00 refund back, should I try and back out, and told them I would consider the additional amount, but that I did not have it at that time. They had a new "potential"contract which they showed me, (I did not sign) with adjusted figures on it. It took me a while to process all of this as I was extremely upset over this whole ordeal.
Before leaving, ***** the owner stated that the regional rep for Westlake would be calling me, and that this was a big favor they were doing for me.
After I left, ***** called my cell and told me to state the new sales price to the WL rep , but to leave the part of the additional 1500.00 out of the discussion, that it was between him and me. He did however, infer that this person was aware of this additional amount, but that this was how the deal had to be done, if I wanted to keep the Jeep. Otherwise I would have to return it

Desired Settlement
I want my entire 5000.00 deposit returned to me, with any and all potential liabilities from Competition Motor's mishandling of this deal with Westlake Financial Services to be washed clean, as though it was never there.

I do not want to have to pay for anything to Westlake Financial that is associated with this deal, and any "real" or "supposed" contract with either company to become void immediately, without repercussion or negative report to any credit agency or financial institution. I want copies of release stating such.

I want an assurance in writing that the license plate that was requested to the DMV be expunged, without fee to me. I was told that my license would be suspended if did not come in and pay them for plate when it came in (at time of contract signing), so that is very important to me as well. Perhaps they never sent it in, I don't know.

Since this "non valid" or "approved" contract (has been the story that was told me anyway by ***** ** and ***** ** with Competition Motors), my trust in any of them is no longer there. What will make the next deal they want to write up any different than the prior one? So far, all it has amounted to is a bunch of misinformation. This saddens me greatly to have to say such things about anyone, but I need a resolution, because the emotional turmoil that this entire incident has brought to me and my family can not be understated. We are both physically and emotionally sick.

I have tried settling this with Competition Motors all day, and even spoken beginning at 9:23 AM to both ***** ** the owner and ***** (who is now out of the deal, it seems) to plead with them to sit down and rescind this deal, which they said they would do, but so far, they seem to think it not that important to put a conclusion to this issue with me, putting other things in front of us, showing a complete disregard for the incredible stress this has caused us. They seem to have been trying yet another deal with this Westlake Financial, different than the one they attempted to get me to go along with last evening.

I have, as of 4:21 Pm, been put off yet again, until tomorrow. Since my previous requests have been met with new "tricks and tactics", followed by one excuse after another, I have no choice but to attempt to get their attention in this manner, as I am afraid of them coming to my house in hostility, to repo my vehicle. I do not know the laws very well, but know that I cannot keep this vehicle, which they say is not mine, nor continue to enjoy the benefits of driving it, due to the unknown libel risks involved,(such as, who does the payoff go to, in the event of an accident?) or continue to insure it due to that fact, (insurance is expensive) nor can I continue to bear the anxiety that this has brought me and my family. It needs to go, but I feel that I must get my refund at the same time they receive the Jeep.
I explained to them that I was going to take this action to you earlier, but apparently, they are used to hearing this sort of thing from their customers, whom threaten to do so, and then do not.

I sincerely hope that this entire delay is simply an oversight on their part, and not a total disregard for the feelings of others, or an attempt to keep any moneys they have obtained from me, but based on the lack of transparency and seeming dishonesty, it leaves one to wonder. I am pleading for a solution. I am at my wits end, as this process up to this point has not allowed me to utilize my legal rights when considering purchasing a vehicle. I feel as though I am out on a limb, with no where to turn.

Please help!

Business Response
Mr. **** came in on 12/15/2013 on a wrangler, he asked about financing the vehicle. Pedro told him he should try his own bank because we only use a couple banks but not on a regular bases. Mr. **** did try he's bank and they wouldn't finance him because of his credit and for that much money, so Mr. **** ask us to try with Westlake Financial, after putting it in there system with a pre-approval we spot delivered the Wrangler . We then sent by mail to the main office in California all his paper work like proof of residence, bank statements, and application. Bank responded back due to his credit and expenses they couldn't loan him the total amount so either we lowered the price of vehicle or get more money down. The booking of the vehicle wasn't the issue, a add on package doesn't change the price $2000.00 dollars. When I got involved with Mr. ****, he told me he really wanted the vehicle so I called the regional rep. to find out why. The regional rep. said would find out and call me back; he returned the call and stated this is not uncommon, that after verifying the documents and doing the interview they had to change the rate and borrowing amount due to debt to loan on the individual. I told the bank rep. I didn't think that was far and what can we do to help Mr. ****; the rep said they did try to help Mr. **** by lowering his interest and the payment amount to save him money on the contract, which he did. I called Mr. **** and had him meet me at the office and I explained what the rep. said and did, and that this was out of my hands when you deal with outside banks; Mr. **** said he understood the position the bank put me in. I told Mr. **** I would bring the difference down from the $2000.00 to $1500.00, Mr. **** agreed to do that. So on 1-7-2014 I called the rep. back and told him to lock in the rate and the payment amount for Mr. ****. The next morning 1-8-2014 Mr. **** called and spoke with Pedro and told him that he didn't want to do the deal. When I got to the office I called Mr. **** back and he told me the same thing, I told him I would call Westlake and have them send the deal package with all his personal paper work and a release for him to have so he would not be responsible for any open loan in his name. I told Mr. **** that when I received the package that he could bring back the jeep at that time then he can pick up his refund and sign the release that the deal was terminated; he said that's fine and thanks for doing that. I received the paper work back from the bank on 1-8-2014; Mr. **** was called and told the paper work was in; he asked when I would be in the office on Thursday 1-9-2014 he was told I would be in around 3:00pm, he said okay see him then; Mr. **** came in and told me he really still wants the jeep; I told him what rep. did from the bank, I told him that I would only make the difference $950.00 to get him what he wants(the Jeep); but I wanted him to talk it over with his wife to make sure of his decision .if he doesn't want to do the deal that I would refund his money in full right then and there. Even after them having the jeep for days and putting on the extra miles. Mr. **** and his wife left and came back 30 minutes later and said he wanted it and put $950.00 dollars in cash in my hand; I handed it back to him and told him I wanted the bank rep. to come and do the paper work himself so there would be no more going back and forth; I called the rep. he said no problem he would be here with in 30 minutes, I told Mr. ****, then he said he wasn't comfortable and changed his mind again , said just give me back my deposit. So right then and there we wrote him a refund check and gave him the release which we got for him from the bank.
I never had a problem with any of my customers in all the years I've been in business like this, that's why putting a lending company in the mix is not what I like to do, that why we suggest using your own lenders. In this case we tried to help a customer get the vehicle he wanted even knowing he had bad credit; his own back wouldn't help. So then it put us in a bad situation, the final result was that Mr. **** was given his deposit back the same day he made his final decision on X-X-XXXX

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/30/2007Business started: 12/06/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL 33402-3715
(561) 355-2264

Florida Dept of Highway Safety/Motor Veh
(850) 617-2000

BBB records show a license number of 200619816 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is

Check License Status:

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of VI10065031 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Highway Safety/Motor Veh. Their web address is

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Sirucek (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Schwartz (Office Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
RTR Finance
Industry Tips
Buying A Used Car

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Competition Motors, Inc.

4401 Annette St STE 1

West Palm Beach, FL 33409-2600

To | From


1 Locations

  • 4401 Annette St STE 1 

    West Palm Beach, FL 33409-2600

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Competition Motors, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (561) 296-0728

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Buying A Used Car

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.