BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/26/1994

Earl Stewart Toyota North Palm Beach

Phone: (561) 844-3461Fax: (561) 658-0746View Additional Phone Numbers1215 N Federal Hwy., Lake ParkFL 33403

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/26/1994

BBB has determined that Earl Stewart Toyota North Palm Beach meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Earl Stewart Toyota North Palm Beach's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Earl Stewart Toyota North Palm Beach

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/24/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
08/17/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
TIRES FOR LIFE PROGRAM IS A RIPOFF, THEY ASK ME TO PAY $750.00 FOR TIRES, WHEN I BOUGHT THE TRUCK THEY TOLD ASURE ME THAT THE ARE FREE
THEY ASK ME TO PAY $750 FOR MY TIRES. WHEN I BOUGHT THE TRUCK THE SALES PERSON AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICES TOLD ME THAT HE TIRES ARE FREE IF I DO ALL THE MAINTENANCE WITH THEM, WELL PAST TWO YEAR AND MY TRUCK NEED TIRES, I NEVER MISS AN APPOITMENT,ALSO I CHECK WITH ANOTHER TIRE STORES AND THE SAME TIRES BF GOODRICH WITH WHITE LETTERS #
P275/65-R18 COST THE SAME AND EVEN CHEAPER. SO WHAT IS THE BENEFIT TO BRING THE CAR FOR TWO YEARS DOING ALL THE MAINTENANCE, OIL CHANGES IF AT THE END YOU WILL PAY MORE FOR THE TIRES. IF THEY SAID IN THE CONTRACT THAT I SIGN ON 04/14/2013 THAT EARL STEWART TOYOTA LIMITS THE REPLACEMET VALUE OF THE TIRE TO $700.00 PER SET ($175.00 PER TIRE)

Desired Settlement
NEED TO REPLACE THE TIRES FOR FREE BECAUSE ON OTHER TIRE STORES THE TIRES ONLY COST $700.00. I ONLY SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE JUST FOR ALIGMENT AND BALANCE OF THE TIRES ABOUT $250.00. IF I KNOW THIS FROM THE BEGINNING I NEVER BUY THIS CAR THERE.

Business Response
We sincerely regret the misunderstanding over our Tires for Life program. Earl Stewart Toyota caps the amount covered at $175 per tire ($700 total). The customers are also responsible for paying the labor to mount and balance the replacement tires. This is clearly explained at the time of sale and it is conspicuously itemized on the Tires for Life form signed by all customers at the time of vehicle delivery. Furthermore, these conditions are printed on all customer service invoices as well as being posted conspicuously on signage throughout the service department. The cost of Mr. ******'s replacement tires exceeded the cap. This was explained again at his service visit, but Mr. ****** found this to be unacceptable and declined to get the tires. I am including a copy of Mr. ******'s signed Tires for Life form.

05/08/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did no honor free tires for getting the car serviced by the dealer
While our 2006 Toyota Scion, purchased new from this dealer, still is going strong, we are unlikely to patronize this dealership again. The latest reason: We were totally scammed with a promise of "free tires for life" as long as we keep up routine servicing with this dealer. Although we garage our car and drive it very little-it only has 57,000 miles after all these years, we serviced it religiously every 5,000 miles since buying this car and have been very careful to keep the wheels aligned and tires rotated. O.K. the dealer replaced 2 of our four worn-out tires some time ago and told us to return when the tires are worn down to their standard--below 3/8th of one inch. All are. However today, despite the fact that the two rear tires were completely bald, the service rep totally changed this story. We don't qualify for new tires, we were told, because we failed to bring the car in for servicing every six months. We had chosen the 5,000 mile option instead of the time option because we drive the car so little. The rep also claimed that a wear pattern indicated that the tires were low on air. We put air in the tires about 6 months ago. At our last servicing, we specifically asked to have the tires rotated and checked. Never was a problem cited concerning maintenance of the tires. Today, the rep offered to do us a big favor and give us 2 free tires if we paid about $225 for the two other tires-only some $75 less than the cost of four significantly higher quality tires at Costco.

Desired Settlement
some type of adjustment to future service charges.

Business Response
Our Tires for Life program offers replacement tires to our customers at no charge when they wear down below 3/32nd of an inch. The only requirement is for the customer to perform 100% of Toyota's factory recommended maintenance at our service facility. This is made very clear to every customer and the terms are signed and initialed by every customer at delivery. The terms are also printed on every customer's service invoice. Toyota's factory service schedule calls for servicing the vehicle every 6 months or 5,000 miles - whichever occurs first. Toyota's service schedule does not have a mileage or time option. This was carefully explained to Mr. ****** when he purchased the vehicle, was documented on all of his service records, and explained personally to him when he asked to receive the free tires after he didn't meet the requirements of the program. We offered a compromise by paying for two tires and asking him to pay for the other two. Mr. ****** declined our offer to compromise. This offer is still available to Mr. ****** if he changes his mind.

We have included the Tires for Life form that is signed by all sales customers at time of purchase.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
For 9 years we brought the car in every 5,000. They services are car and replaced our tires about 4 years ago. Nobody said anything about coming in every six months. They honored our fist tire replacement even though we did not bring the care in every six months. We only drive the care 4,000 to 5,000 miles per year. It is not necessary to bring the car in every 6 months. The dealer is full of baloney. They are deceptive. Every time we brought the car in we asked about the condition of the tires. No rep said a thing.

Final Business Response
We apologize for not responding to the consumer rebuttal sooner - the email from the BBB was found today in a junk mail folder. We stand by our original response that ample advisement about the terms of the Tires for Life program was given to Mr. ******. We uploaded a copy of the form identical to the one signed by Mr. ****** when he purchased the vehicle. The terms are also printed on the bottom of our service invoices. Mr. ****** was also verbally advised on the terms by multiple **** ******* employees.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not want anything fro E.S. Toyota. I just want people to know the dealer is dishonest. We always brought our car in every 5,000 miles. They replaced the tires once. The second time the back tires were completely bald. The front tires had slightly more wear on the outside than the middle. We asked them at our previous servicing about the tires. They did say anything about the tires.
Then they screw us on the next 5,000 mile servicing.
We've been using the dealer for 30 years. That is the way they treat their loyal customers. We spent thousand of dollars on cars and service over the years. We will never do business with them.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1974Business started: 10/01/1974
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL 33402-3715
(561) 355-2264
http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=

Florida Dept of Highway Safety/Motor Veh
(850) 617-2000
http://www.flhsmv.gov/

BBB records show a license number of 200605201 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://pbctax.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail.aspx?p=200605201&a=1589304

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 200605208 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://pbctax.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail.aspx?p=200605208&a=1589305

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of MV11633 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=.

Check License Status: https://csapp.800helpfla.com/cspublicapp/businesssearch/businesssearch.aspx

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of VF1004560-1 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Highway Safety/Motor Veh. Their web address is http://www.flhsmv.gov/. The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2016.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Earl Stewart (Owner)Customer Contact: Mr. Stu Stewart (General Manager)Mr. Paul Nys (Service Director)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Stewart Toyota North Palm Beach, Stewart's Lake Park Toyota
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Buying A Used Car

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Earl Stewart Toyota North Palm Beach

1215 N Federal Hwy.

Lake Park, FL 33403

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1215 N Federal Hwy. 

    Lake Park, FL 33403(800) 378-5111
    (561) 844-3461

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Earl Stewart Toyota North Palm Beach is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 378-5111
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Buying a New Car
Buying A Used Car
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.