BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/23/2012

Domani Motor Cars, Inc.

Phone: (954) 428-5636Fax: (954) 428-8563View Additional Phone Numbers70 SW 10th St, Deerfield BeachFL 33441-5309

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/23/2012

BBB has determined that Domani Motor Cars, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Domani Motor Cars, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Domani Motor Cars, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 6 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
04/18/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 1999 Bentley Azure from this Dealership. It was advertised as being in Excellent condition. It turned out to have many defects.
The so called excellent condition car had several gauges that were not working. The heat indicator was on high in mild weather. The windows did not roll up and down without physically aiding them as they wobbled on the track I did not get an independent inspection because the salesman and owner told me they were a family business that had a steller reputation and I would be wasting my money on an inspection. Since I am in CA I did not see the car until it arrived. The driver told me it had a serious leak of oil, and as I inspected it I found all the defects that should have been disclosed. The car also ran rough and clearly was in need of mechanical work as well. At first I was told they would take the car back. then the CEO, ******* said no deal My further attempts to resolve this matter have been fruitless. They just hang up when I call. I have since found out that the CEO is now in Federal Prison stemming from previous Fraud convictions. Just Google domani motors and you can read about all the criminal matters that the management of the dealership have been involved in.

Desired Settlement
Please investigate and adjust their rating accordingly.

Business Response
The customer is a seasoned lawyer and understood perfectly the contracts when he was purchasing the vehicle. He was advised to have the vehicle inspected, yet he declined in writing. (document can be provided). The vehicle left our facility in good working order. I can not attest to what the customer did to the vehicle once it left our facility.

01/19/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased 2008 Mercedes CL63 at a cost of $37,000 with shipping. When I stated the Warranty at $7050 was too expensive, ***** offered to find another. He never did. Within 30 days of delivery, I spent $5200 in repairs. The vehicle had not been serviced.It had four unsafe tires;gas was leaking under the rear seat and there was a problem with the gears not shifting, and I could not drive the vehicle. When I contacted ***** ******, General Sales Manger, his response was, "Sorry you had problems with the Mercedes. I wish we could have a cristal ball to know whether a car will have a problem in the future, but we don't". Then, after failing to sale another vehicle for me, he held that vehicle hostage until I paid $3000 for "Repairs and expenses". ***** SOLD ME A LEMON AND HE KNOWS IT. He should accept responsibility and refund the cost of repairs.
Product_Or_Service: 2008 Mercedes CL 63

Desired Settlement
Refund my money. You sold me a LEMON, and have been very dishonest in your dealings.

Business Response
I had a previous dealing with the customer. I sold a Bentley for her and she was more than satisfied with the service she received. Two years later, she contacted me to purchase a newer Mercedes from the dealership. She initially did not want to trade-in her old Mercedes that she was presently driving. She purchased the newer Mercedes from me knowing that it did not come with any warranty after the purchase. She was also advised and signed paperwork (I can provide this paperwork as proof) that she had the right to have the vehicle inspected by anyone she liked, if needed. She refused to have the vehicle independently inspected. I offered and recommended to her to purchase a warranty to cover the vehicle in case of any future repair problems. She DECLINED, stating that a warranty was too expensive. I made the customer aware that I did not have a less expensive warranty than the one I presented to her. She continued to purchase the newer Mercedes from me. About a month later, after unsuccessfully trying to sell her old Mercedes on her own, she asked our dealership to help her sell it. It arrived in less than average condition, needing several repairs. I told the customer, that in order to properly sell the vehicle, she was going to have to pay to fix the items that needed repaired. She agreed. We helped her fix the items that needed repaired. Unfortunately, we were unable to sell her old Mercedes because she wanted more money than the car was really worth. She eventually picked it up her old Mercedes from us and paid us for the repairs made to the vehicle because she thought she could sell it better herself. She then complained that she had some issues with the newer Mercedes she purchased from us. I told her that I was sorry to hear that, but unfortunately, with any used vehicle, it will need repaired from time to time and without a warranty, which she chose not to purchase, she would be responsible for the total cost of the repair bill. It appears that the customer is upset that she chose not to purchase the warranty and now wants to hold us responsible for any and all repair bills. We presented her all the options possible at the time of sale to the customer and she made all the decisions from there. We can not be responsible for any repairs when a customer declines to purchase a warranty on the vehicle.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This response is not true. I am sending you documentation by US Mail to prove the following:
#1 The company contacted me about selling my Bentley. He said he could get me $25,000 to $30, 000 after commission and expenses. He sent me an email praising himself for getting me $23,450. When I questioned it, he said he misunderstood and would make it up by helping me in the future.
#2 The Mercedes was picked up by the transporter the day after the CL 63 was delivered. I did not insist on driving the car. There was no problem with the ignition! I was told paint work would cost about $700. I was charged $1590. There is a dent in my trunk lid which he knows nothing about. I was told that it was best to let him sell the SL 500 instead of trading it. And if I could make both payments for two months he would get it sold. After 101 days, he had not sold the SL 500 and was upset that I was having it picked up and returned to me. That's when I heard about the $2,955 ransom I had to pay in cash or bank wire before he would release my car.
#3 On the new car - the CL 63, I was offered a warranty for 36 months at a cost of $7950. He said he was looking at setting up an account with a company which would be less expensive. That never happened. Finally, on August28,2015 I purchased a warranty from the local Mercedes dealership. By then, I had spent over $5200 in repairs on a vehicle I had owned less than 30 days. I suggest you read the complaints in your own system and on the internet about this company and it's General Manager. We are NOT all making false claims!

Final Business Response
We did everything we could to accommodate the customer over the years of doing business with her. If she was so unhappy from our first business dealing, why would she return? She returned after we sold her Bentley because she was very pleased with our service. I recommended a warranty on the Mercedes she purchased but she refused stating it was too much money. However, in the end, she did purchase a warranty from someone else for a little less money than the one we offered her, but the one she did purchase, covers the vehicle 12k miles LESS THAN THE ONE I OFFERED HER.

The vehicle left our dealership with no mechanical problems. Unfortunately, nobody can predict when a vehicle will malfunction in the future. This is why we always recommend a warranty for any future problems.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I'm convinced this man is not going to tell the truth. He was always so nice when I talked to him (before the sale; before I rushed my purchase request to him on a Saturday afternoon in May as he said would help him win a big bonus).That's why I thought he had some concern about me as his customer. At my last response, I mailed you copies of his email messages, pictures of rotten tires on the car, bills from Mercedes Benz for repairs, etc. Please review the documents. I will not go quietly away until justice has been served. He can pay the cost of the repairs or buy the car back.

06/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
i really feel that i was discriminated against, as well as taken advantage of because salesman thought i was ignorant or not educated.

I recently purchase a car that i research the average price to be around $22,000. This car was $28,000, in which the salesman would not budge on price. he originally told me it would cost about $600 to get it shipped up to Michigan to me. When he found out i had another car that i need to sale, he offer to have it shipped down to him to sale on commission, which would pay of my car pay his commission, cover the cost of shipment of both cars and leave me a little extra. Well when it can time to do trans-action, ***** the salesman told me now that the price to ship the cars went up to $900. I investigated prices in my area, and found out that the going rate was $600. When told to ***** (the salesman), he just said well he was all set to go, so i said ok. This was a lie because i had to keep calling to get my car delivered and threaten to take car of it my self for the $600 before they brought my car up (over 2 wks Wait). After ***** received my car, he stated that it was a very nice car and that they would check it out completely because a lot people say they have a nice car, but it is not always true. Mind apparent check out good because he listed it $15,900, which was well above what we had discussed of $13,000, which is what we both reviewed as max. He told me that i had a very nice car (in which i knew). After 1 month ***** lowered to price to $14,900, which wa was ok to me, and another price reduction to $12,900 about 3-4 wks later. He had a cash buyer which was good. oh by the way, i did tell ***** that the only thing wrong with the car that i knew was that one of the tire senors needed replaced which was $200, but because they go out so frequently that i didn't replace it. Now ***** said that he had an interested buyer and that the buyer want to have a mechanic check it out, and i said ok because i always kept my car up, and i knew the only thing wrong with it was the tire sensor. ***** said that he had been in a sales meeting and that the y wanted to get it sold, and i did too! ***** calls me back now and states that he told told the man to make him an offer, and the man offered $9,000, in which ***** ok'd. I was shocked to day the least, and i Told ***** that i had text-ed him that no lower tha $11,900. and he was to get an ok from me befor proceeding. Well ***** just ignored this and said that their was a list of things wrong wit the car and that was the best he could do, Which was a straight out lie, because i asked him to provide me with the list, in which i never got. and i told ***** that i need a certain amount to a least break even, ***** said that my paper said $7,000 min. I told him that was just to pay off my car but not cover shipping, and his commission, in which he assured me he could get because i had a sell-able car. So i excepted the sell price then ***** wanted to pay off my car first and have me send him the title and after he got the title he would send me what was left. I said no way i sent him money for my car and had to wait over two wks to get my car and title, and because he already gave the buyer my car and i signed the bill of sell, he would not get the title until i got all my money. I then found out that ***** had added on an $842 advertisement fee in which i have text message from him to prove my statements to be true, so i refused to send title until he reversed that fee, in which he did.

Desired Settlement
i feel that because he misrepresented himself and the company and was not true to me and misleading that he should not have received his proper commission. Never have i heard of a salesmen giving over $3,000 discount with out budging and getting permission to do so. Plus he never provided my with the list that he said he had of things wrong with my car that his people did not find in preparing the sell.

Business Response
The complainant entered into a consignment agreement for Domani Motor Cars to sell his vehicle. The complainant read, reviewed, and signed the consignment agreement, which is very clear about any and all fees to be paid to Domani Motor Cars. (The signed consignment agreement by the complainant is on file at Domani Motor Cars) An offer was received on the complainant's vehicle. We presented the offer to the complainant, at which time he could accept or decline the offer, and he choose to accept it. The complainant was well aware, at the time of accepting the offer, how much money he would receive, as it was explained to him, as well as, it was clearly stated in his consignment agreement. The complainant agreed to the sale price and signed a bill of sale to sell us his vehicle for the agreed price. (The complainant signed bill of sale is on file at Domani Motor Cars). We have several signed documents from the complainant that clearly shows that he understood and agreed to this business transaction.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason a response from Domani Motors is 1st they gave a blanket answer without giving detail response to my individual complaints, in which Iam now re-guessing. 2nd I am requesting detailed documentations of all transaction including proof that my car was sold exactly for the amount that ***** stated, also the list of problems that he said he had that he never provided and why Domani Motor cars told me through ***** that after they went through the car and changed all the fluids in which he told me they customarily do to all cars and did to ours. ***** said they went through my car with a fine tooth comb to determine the best selling price, which came out to be 15,900. I again ask ***** are you sure the average price i seen was between 13,000 and 9,000. ***** assured me of his experience and ability that he really didn't think it would take 2 wks or a month at the most to sell my car. (just a reminder my wife was always present when talking with *****). I asked ***** about the contract again, specifically about him getting approval from us before a sell and that what expenses i needed to cover to make sure i had every thing covered. He assured me again that the contract was general in content but what we agree upon will be respected, he wanted to keep everyone happy. Also ***** told me on the phone after a month of no sell that he had just came out of a meeting and it was stated by someone i'm not clear who but it was determined that my car had been there too long and they wanted to get it sold and that was the first price reduction. Now to me that negated our contract agreement with Demani Motor because they determined from that statement alone that they where no longer representing my best interest but the interest of the company. 3rd the issue of change of price of the car delivery, ***** assured us that the price of transporting the BMW to michigan would be $600 to $700 at the most (he has been doing this for many yrs). now when we start talking about sending my mercedes down to him to sell and we get all set up, all of a sudden the price jumped up to $900/car, when ask why ***** said he didn't know why it must be the time of the season. This was my second red Flag. Also ***** was supposed to get my car to me right away, but it took me calling other car carriers that I found out the average price was actual $600 to $650. Only then did ***** press the carrier to get my car to me. So I also would like proof beyond a doubt that ***** did not make a side deal and get a kick - back from the carrier and actually paid $900/ car. I had to pay mine up front and ***** paid for the Mercedes when it got to flroida. Also why did ***** add on a $842 ad fee at the last moment that was never discussed at any other time except when on a 3 way call with a rep from my credit union, in which she thought he was up to no good as well. ***** told me that the price was solid and non negotiable when I bought my car from him and he said that the way I experience my buying with him is the same way he would sell my car. Now value and norms are the yard sticks that we as a society use to measure the propriety and morality of individuals and company or businesses, if the latter is not compatible with what we believe to be the proper ideas and conduct of the individuals and businesses then they will lose their aura of support. The discrepancy in which I have stated are real and not normal, I really feel discriminated against because of the color of my skin and the area that I live in. For him to ask me to release my title with out being paid in full is just unbelievable to me that he would try that. Sir I trust that you will fully investigate this situation, and I am requesting half of his commission back as well as any other wrong full charges. In a court of law this would be charges of (larceny by trickery). Again this behavior should not go unnoticed and should be dooly noted against Domani Motors and then this matter need not go any further. If not i will do everything in my power to exposes the business practices of Domani Motors, because in all changes, first the people must be made aware. Respectfully MR & Mrs *******

Final Business Response
The complainant agreed to sell us his vehicle at an agreed amount. No one forced the complainant to sell us his vehicle. As standard business practice, we require title to be present prior to payment to the seller.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
as stated before the company has not answered any of my concerns and seems to be avoiding the questions and proof of pricing that i requested. A company such as Domani motors should be able and willing to satisfy my request to insure legitimacy. And again, the only reason that i agreed to go ahead and sell the car was due to the fact that i did need to get it sold and also mainly because ***** had sold me my car for commission to the owner and he didn't budge on price nor did he treat me as equally as he did the person i purchase my car from or the person he sold my car to. I new that he was up to no good because of all the changing of prices and the (con)-versation he was trying to (con)-vence me was true. Some people you find out later that they lied to you, will others you can tell right as they are speaking to you. So no, i do not except Domani"s responce, and i would like to have the proof that i asked for as well as answers to questions asked. I really feel now that i have given me 13,000, for my car and charge me the 600 original for shipping each car, and ***** should only get half commission for poor salesmanship and misrepresentation of the dealer ship and most importantly punished for committing the crime of larceny by trickery.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/02/2007Business started: 11/21/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Highway Safety/Motor Veh
(850) 617-2000
http://www.flhsmv.gov/

Broward County Business Tax
Broward County Governmental Offices 115 S. Andrews Ave.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301-1818
(954) 357-7235
http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx

Florida Dept of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

BBB records show a license number of VI1024592 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Highway Safety/Motor Veh. Their web address is http://www.flhsmv.gov/.

BBB records show a license number of 332-3144 for this company, issued by Broward County Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx.

Check License Status: https://www.broward.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/36301

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of MV79653 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Agriculture & Consumer Services. The expiration date of this license is 12/09/2017.

Check License Status: https://csapp.800helpfla.com/cspublicapp/businesssearch/BusinessSearch.aspx

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2009, FL

Business Management
Principal: Mrs. Darlene Diak-Ghanem (President)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Buying A Used Car

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Domani Motor Cars, Inc.

70 SW 10th St

Deerfield Beach, FL 33441-5309

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 70 SW 10th St 

    Deerfield Beach, FL 33441-5309(954) 428-8818
    (954) 428-5636
    (866) 666-3362

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Domani Motor Cars, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (954) 428-8818
  • (866) 666-3362
  • (561) 716-5223

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (800) 495-0628
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

Buying a New Car
Buying A Used Car
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.