BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/31/2004

Chariots of Palm Beach, Inc.

Phone: (561) 640-1090Fax: (561) 640-1070

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
12/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After closing the deal with signed paperwork the dealer wanted to back out of the deal or get more money from us. And is now holding our title hostage
I had a closed deal with signed paperwork and paid in full. I left their facility with my new car. Within 1 hour they called and asked me to return the car or pay more money. I did neither. In my mind it was a closed deal paid in full. Now Chariots is not releasing me title to DMV and I had to get an extension on my temporary tag from DMV. Which required me to take time off of work and more money. And this temporary tag will expire soon and I still have no resolution. I have filed complaints with DMV, the states attorney and the BBB.

Desired Settlement
I want my title released.

Business Response
***** SAX CAPLAN
********* AT LAW
***** 200
**** ****** ***** ******* ** BOC.A ****** ******* XXXXX
TELEPHONE (XXX) XXX-XXXX DIRECT LINE(5611237-6886 FACSIMILE (5611994-4985 ANGELA PRUDENT), ESQ. **********@ssclawfirm.com


October 31, 2014
VIA FEDEX
BBB of Southeast Florida and the Caribbean
4411 Beacon Circle, Suite 4 West Palm Beach, FL XXXXX
Re: Chariots of Palm Beach, Inc./****** ******
Case Number: XXXXXXXX
Dear Sir or Madam:
Attached please find the Response of our client, Chariots of Palm beach, Inc., along with Exhibits A-C.
Our client's dealer file was previously delivered to you on October 8, 2014.
It is our hope that, upon your review of the matter in its entirety, you too will conclude that both Mr. ****** and his compatriot, ***** *** ******* are attempting to effectuate a fraud against both Chariots and the State of Florida Division of Motor Services, and that you will refer the matter to the appropriate criminal investigating agency.
If I can provide you with any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact
me.
Very truly yours,
SACHS SAX CAPLAN
1st,feidd plavea
Angela ********
AP/cbe Enclosures
cc: Client

****** ******
v.
CHARIOTS OF PALM BEACH
To: State of Florida Division of Motorist Services
Re: Complaint Number XXXXX
To: Better Business Bureau of Southeast Florida and the Carribean
Re: Case Number XXXXXXXX
DEALERSHIP CHARIOTS OF PALM BEACH
RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT OF ****** ******
1. On August 15, 2014, ***** *** ****** presented and sold to Chariots a 2013
Chevrolet Camaro Vehicle Identification Number 2G1FSIEW5D9232623 (hereinafter 'Vehicle Number One') for the sum of $27,000.00. On Chariot's Wholesale Purchase Order attached hereto as Exhibit "A", ***** *** Helton executed a Registration and Title Warranty for Vehicle Number One wherein Jerry Lee Helton affirmed the following;
"The Seller hereby states that this above identified vehicle sold to Chariots of Palm Beach Inc. has not sustained any frame damage and that the true mileage is as represented on the mileage from (sic) accompanying this transaction".
2 It was based on this affirmation that Chariots accepted Vehicle Number One for
purchase.

3. ***** *** ****** then requested that his sellers proceeds from the aforementioned sale of Vehicle Number One not be supplied to him in cash but, rather, should be applied "in trade" towards a 2013 Chevrolet Camaro ZLI Vehicle Identification Number 2G1FZ1EP9D9802420 (hereinafter referred to as 'Vehicle Number Two").
4. Acting in concert, Jerry Lee Helton and ****** ****** requested that Vehicle Number Two, the 2013 Chevrolet Camaro ZL1, be titled in ****** ******'s name as he (******) was "buying" the car from Helton.
5. It should be noted that in ******'s Division of Motorist Services Complaint Affidavit ****** states that he (******) "bought the car", Vehicle Number Two, from Helton and not from Chariots. See DHSMV Complaint attached hereto as Exhibit 413".
6. Immediately after Complainant ****** and Helton left Chariots with Vehicle Number Two, the Camaro ZLI, Chariots discovered that an accident was reported on 7/8/13 involving Vehicle Number One (which Helton deliberately and intentionally failed to disclose) and that in fact Vehicle Number One, the car having Vehicle Identification Number 2GIFSIEW5DXXXXXXX, that Helton sold to Chariots had sustained severe frame damage.
7. The severelrame damage that Vehicle Number One had previously sustained, had it been disclosed to Chariots, would have caused Chariots to reject Vehicle Number One as its value, if any was no greater than $5,000.00.


8. Helton, accompanied by Complainant ******, intentionally and deliberately misled Chariots by stating that Vehicle Number One had no frame damage which caused Chariots to pay Helton in excess of $20,000.00 more than the vehicle was worth.
9. Helton, accompanied by Complainant ******, intentionally converted the funds from the sale of Vehicle Number One, the damaged Camaro VlN 2G1FSJEW5DXXXXXXX, into Vehicle Number Two, the second undamaged Camaro, to sanitize those funds.
10. By insisting that Vehicle Number Two, the second undamaged Camaro, be titled directly into his name, Complainant ****** sought to hide from Chariots the true limited value of Vehicle Number One in order to fraudulently take possession of Vehicle Number Two which was a much more valuable vehicle.
11. Upon receiving notification of the frame damage to Vehicle Number One discussed above, Chariots notified Helton of its desire to reverse both of the transactions to restore all parties to their original financial positions.
12. On two separate occasions, Helton refused Chariots offers to reverse the transactions to restore all parties to their original financial positions.
13. Contrary to the Complaint that ****** filed with the BBB of Southeast Florida and the Caribbean attached hereto as Exhibit "C", Chariots never contacted ******.
14 By the orchestrated actions of ****** and Helton, Chariots has been defrauded
out of an estimated $22,000.00. Further, ****** took possessiOn of Chariots inventory, Vehicle Number -Two, under false pretenses.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Effectuate fraud! Orchestrated actions! That is the most ridiculous thing I've heard in a long time. Even from an attorney. ***** purchased vehicle 1 from a well known new and used car dealer. With a car fax report that stated no major damage or air bag deployment. I wanted vehicle 2 but couldn't come to terms with chariots and wrote vehicle 2 off. ***** who has been a good and honest hard working non fraudulent friend for over 12 years told me he no longer wanted vehicle 1 because he lived on a dirt road now and kept vehicle 1 in mint condition and hardly drove it. He was willing to take a small loss now rather than a larger one later. He asked me if I would pay him for the car for the amount that I had as my top dollar. I said yes. He told me he was going to chariots to see if the two of them could come to terms. He spent 5 hours down there and was never asked about any damage to the vehicle. They never ran a car fax report until we were gone. Sounds like incompetent employees to me? At first ***** was asked to dissolve deal or bring them more money on day of sale based upon car fax. It was after that chariots said that vehicle 1 had frame damage. Chariots is possibly violating fl statute 319.34. Dmv is citing chariots with a violation for not transferring title. legal representation has been sought by myself concerning title transfer. After complete review of all information it will be determined that chariots employees made a mistake and should absorb them. Please enter a negative mark on chariots BBB account so no more consumers are affected by them.

Final Business Response
To: Better Business Bureau of Southeast Florida and the Carribean
Re: Case Number XXXXXXXX


DEALERSHIP CHARIOTS OF PALM BEACH RESPONSE TO COMPLAINT OF ****** ******

1. On August 15,2014, **************** presented and sold to Chariots a 2013
Chevrolet Camara Vehicle Identification Number 2GIFSIEW5D9232623 (hereinafter "Vehicle Number One") for the sum of $27,000.00. On Chariot's Wholesale Purchase Order attached hereto as Exhibit "A", **************** executed a Registration and Title Warranty for Vehicle Number One wherein ***** *** ****** affirmed the following;
"The Seller hereby states that this above identified vehicle sold to Chariots of Palm Beach Inc. has not sustained any frame damage and that the true mileage is as represented on the mileage from sic accompanying this transaction".
2. It was based on this affirmation that Chariots accepted Vehicle Number One for
purchase.

3. **************** then requested that his sellers proceeds from the aforementioned sale of Vehicle Number One not be supplied to him in cash but, rather, should be applied "in trade" towards a 2013 Chevrolet Camara ZL1 Vehicle Identification Number ***************** (hereinafter referred to as "Vehicle Number Two").

4. Acting in concert, ********* ****** and ****** ****** requested that Vehicle Number Two, the 2013 Chevrolet Camara ZL 1, be titled in ****** ******'s name as he (******) was "buying" the car from ******.

5. It should be noted that in ******'s Division of Motorist Services Complaint Affidavit ****** states that he (******) "bought the car", Vehicle Number Two, from ****** and not from Chariots. See DHSMV Complaint attached hereto as Exhibit "B".

6. Immediately after Complainant ****** and ****** left Chariots with Vehicle
Number Two, the Camara ZL1, Chariots discovered that an accident was reported on 7/8/13 involving Vehicle Number One (which ****** deliberately and intentionally failed to disclose) and that in fact Vehicle Number One, the car having Vehicle Identification Number *********XXXXXXXX,that ****** sold
to Chariots had sustained severe frame damage.

7. The severe frame damage that Vehicle Number One had previously sustained, had it been disclosed to Chariots, would have caused Chariots to reject Vehicle Number One as its value, if any was no greater than $5,000.00.

8. ******, accompanied by Complainant ******, intentionally and deliberately misled Chariots by stating that Vehicle Number One had no frame damage which caused Chariots to pay ****** in excess of $20,000.00 more than the vehicle was worth.

9. ******, accompanied by Complainant ******, intentionally converted the funds from the sale of Vehicle Number One, the damaged Camara VIN
************XXXXX, into Vehicle Number Two, the second undamaged Camara, to sanitize those funds.

10. By insisting that Vehicle Number Two, the second undamaged Camaro, be titled directly into his name, Complainant ****** sought to hide from Chariots the true limited value of Vehicle Number One in order to fraudulently take possession of Vehicle Number Two which was a much more valuable vehicle.

11. Upon receiving notification of the frame damage to Vehicle Number One discussed above, Chariots notified ****** of its desire to reverse both of the transactions to restore all parties to their original financial positions.

12. On two separate occasions, ****** refused Chariots offers to reverse the transactions to restore all parties to their original financial positions.

13. Contrary to the Complaint that ****** filed with the BBB of Southeast Florida and the Caribbean attached hereto as Exhibit "C", Chariots never contacted ******.

14. By the orchestrated actions of ****** and ******, Chariots has been defrauded out of an estimated $22,000.00. Further, ****** took possession of Chariots inventory, Vehicle Number Two, under false pretenses.


We are in receipt of BBB's letter dated 11/25/14 re: the status of Chariots' Response to the Complaint by ****** ******.

Chariots of Palm Beach's Response to the Complaint was delivered to your office and received by your office on 11/3/14 via Fedex. Please refer to the tracking information below.

BBB of Southeast Florida & Caribbean
4411 Beacon Circle Suite 4
West Palm Beach, FL XXXXX
US


Tracking number: XXXXXXXXXXXX

Status: Delivered: 11/03/XXXX XX:XX AM Signed for By: ***********
Reference: XXXXX.02
Signed for by: ***********
Delivery location: West Palm Beach, FL
Delivered to: Receptionist/Front Desk
Service type: FedEx Standard Overnight
Packaging type: FedEx Envelope

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Legal representation has been Hired. Lawsuit has been filed against chariots of the palm beaches.

09/29/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Leasing Service, Auto Renting & Leasing, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.