BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/20/1992

Bev Smith Toyota

Phone: (772) 464-8440Fax: (772) 489-6690

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
02/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed a contract however they state it was never approved from bank and asked me to come back in to sign some forms.
I went in to look at some used cars found one I liked and negotiated the price. They couldn't get it to where i needed to be so I then left. The next day I receive a text message saying the finance manager can get my payment under $300. I went back to the dealership and of course that wasn't true but did agree on a $350.00 payment that included extended warranty, gap insurance and road hazard. I signed all the form including the contract. Several days later i receive a call from my salesman stating I need to come in and sign some papers. When I get their they doubled my interest and asked for some money down. Told him the most I can come up with is a $1000.00. He stated they could make that work. I get there two days later and know I'm told that I need $2500.00 down and my payment will go up to $369.00 for 72 months. I feel that they have taken advantage of me and lied to me from the being. This car is for my son who is so excited and now I might have to return the car which will break my sons heart. I have never in my life dealt with an issue like this.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that the first contract I signed is honored cause that is what we agreed on otherwise I would have never taken the car. I would have left and shopped around somewhere else.

Business Response
February 3, 2015
Better Business Bureau of Southeast Florida & Caribbean
Case # XXXXXXXX **** *******

Thank you for contacting us regarding Ms. *******'s sales concern with Bev ***** Toyota.
The dealer GM Assistant, Richard Sanchez contacted Ms. ******* and apologized for her inconvenience and any expenses that were incurred during the process of trying to purchase a vehicle from Bev ***** Toyota. It was explained to Ms. ******* that unfortunately the bank wanted to have the customer trade in her vehicle. Another bank would carry the loan with the additional vehicle; however, the interest rate would have been higher as Ms. ******* mentioned.
After reviewing the paperwork to see if he could assist in any way, Mr. Sanchez found that all paperwork was in compliance and there was nothing he could do to satisfy the lenders. He then called and spoke with Ms. ******* concerning the process and results. He then made a decision to reimburse Ms. ******* for her insurance that she had placed on the vehicle and to fill the tank on the car that she used to make the additional trips to the dealership.
Ms. ******* said that this was a fair resolution and that she was satisfied. Unfortunately, Bev ***** Toyota cannot comply with Ms. *******'s wishes that the original contract that she signed would be honored, as the bank will not cash this contract. Bev ***** is not a lender and relies on either banks or financial institutes to provide the loan to the customer.
All paperwork was in line and signed by Ms. *******, which did include a spot delivery disclosure.

In conclusion, I believe we parted on good terms and hope that in the future we can help Ms. ******* with her automotive needs.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When Mr. Sanchez contacted me he was going to be able to make the deal, due to me already receiving a confirmed loan from Capital One and stated he could have made it work and why he wasn't involved earlier. I told him I asked several times to speak with someone higher up and nobody would allow me to. Which forced me to move forward on buying a vehicle from Sunrise Ford who I have always purchased my cars and never had a problem. They honored my approval which I had from capital one I was in an out with a vehicle in no time and no games. This was my first time ever trying to purchase from Toyota and was just terrible service and I will never step back into there doors again. I let people know who are looking to purchase from Toyota to just stay away its nothing but games they play. I had returned the car as I was asked on a Friday due to me going out of town and I received a call the next day that they never received the car back in which they did. So they have no idea what's going on in there dealership. I do feel in all my troubles that I should receive my $1000.00 deposit back that I had to put down then I would be happy until then they Suck in my eyes.

Final Business Response
February 17, 2015
Better Business Bureau of Southeast Florida & Caribbean
Case # XXXXXXXX **** *******
Rebuttal response and 7 Attachments
******* ******** the Assistant GM, did try to override the call back from Capital One for the conditioning of the loan. Capital One, not Bev Smith Toyota, did want Ms. ******* to trade in her vehicle as there was an outstanding loan on it. Even though she had this loan in good standing, that is what Capital One wanted in order to finance the vehicle that she was purchasing. As stated in the previous response, *** ***** is not a loan facility, however, will do the best they can to try to insure that the customer is financed as stated in the original contract. As the bank or financial institute has the final call as to whether they will loan the money it is out of our hands until final approval. *** ***** Toyota felt that this purchase should have been approved; instead it was conditioned from the banks.
This contract was written with no down payment. (Please, see copies of contract and Buyers Order) Ms. ******* is asking in her rebuttal for $1000 back that she put down, however she put no money down. The bank actually wanted $3000 down and no open vehicle loans to approve the deal. Ms. ******* refused, as is her right. She was asked to return the vehicle and she did. The sales department did not advise the Finance Department that the car had been returned, so another call was made to Ms. ******* to ask her to return the car; however, of course she had already done this.
When Ms. ******* purchased the car, she signed a buyers order and contract. They both state that if the buyer signs these agreements that this gives the seller the right to cancel if the seller is unable to assign the contract within 30 days. It also states that if the buyer fails to return the vehicle within 48 hours after receipt of notice of cancellation, that the buyer agrees to pay the seller $75 per day from the date of cancellation until the vehicle is returned. The statement that Ms. ******* signed, clearly states that the contract is not final. Please, find enclosed the copy of this signed statement. Please, also find enclosed a copy of the (signed) Spot Delivery Disclosure.
I hope that this further explains that *** ***** did what they could to get the loan financed and that the call back from Capital One was the best option that we had. As Ms. ******* found financing at a different financial institute did not surprise us as she had a good history of vehicle loans with Ford Motor Credit. As a goodwill gesture to Ms. ******* *** ***** Toyota offered to fill her tank on the vehicle that she drove back and forth to the dealership with and to reimburse the insurance that she had to purchase for the vehicle she was purchasing for her son. This was something that she would have to do in order to have her son drive the vehicle.
In conclusion, *** ***** did what they could do to get the vehicle financed as called, however, had to unwind the deal as the figures were not satisfactory to Ms. *******.

08/07/2015Problems with Product / Service
04/07/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Will not stop sending me junk mail even after repeated requests
I have never purchased a vehicle from this dealer, but did my oil changed there some time ago. They have been sending multiple pieces of junk mail weekly to my box. I have called them, and they informed me they would remove my name. They did not. I complained on Angie's List, to which they responded that they removed my name. They did not. I received mail from them yesterday, and again today. I just sent them another email (my fourth) requesting them to stop harassing me with their mail. I need help in keeping this dealership from bullying consumers by forcing us to handle their junk mail constantly. Please make them stop.

Desired Settlement
I want NO MORE mail from Bev Smith Toyota, Bev Smith Kia, or any other business that begins with "Bev Smith!

Business Response
March 12, 2015
******* ****
Complaint Case #: XXXXXXXX
I want to apologize that Mr. **** has been getting unwanted mail from Bev Smith Toyota & Bev Smith Kia. Please, understand that when we receive a request from someone to not receive our promotional mail we do respect their wishes and place a "Do not contact" notice in their history in our system. Almost all of our promotional mail is handled by advertising and promotional companies, not at the dealership level. We forward your request to them and we have asked that they are diligent with completing this task. Sometimes those that request to not receive advertisements and promotional mail may continue to get mail as they may be in a certain zip code that the mail is focused on. That would mean that is not the name of the person necessarily, it is a mail drop and all residents of a number of zip codes receive this mail piece. We still push our promoters to be responsible and try to separate these requests.
Many people are surprised of the number of ways that they do get on "Mail Lists" but the following web site may help you to prevent it in the future.
Again, I apologize and hope that this correspondence has been helpful.

http://www.ag.nd.gov/brochures/FactSheet/JunkMail.pdf




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In spite of their promises, I continue to receive mailings from Bev ***** Toyota and Bev ***** Kia. I even called them again last week and requested all mailings stopped (spoke to "Raymond"). This company does, and will continue to do, whatever they want in spite of pleas from innocent people. I don't think they're going to listen to the BBB either.

Final Business Response
We apologize again for the mail you received after our last reply to the Better Business Bureau. I am certain that it was already part of a group mailing that we were unable to stop.
We do have two separate emails from Mr. ****, therefore it created two entrees into our system:
We have one email that we received from you on 10/1/2014 that included your home address asking to be removed from both KIA's and Toyota's mailing list. This email was sent from ************@yahoo.com.
Another one was sent to us on 10/22/2014 from the ******@yahoo.com address. This one was quite explicit about your wishes and it is noted within 25 minutes that this address also was disabled. But as I said before, mailing companies can pull from many different sources.
So that is why it was stated that you had 2 email addresses.
There was a third email from you on 2/25/2015 with another request.
So, again I apologize for you having received more mail to your address. We have contacted the mailing companies and they also stated they would continue to try to correct the problem.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Bev ***** has informed me on different occasions that I would not receive any more advertisements from their dealerships. I was receiving several pieces of junk mail per week. It has definitely slowed down. I have not received anything in one week, but am not convinced that there is a "fix" in place. Time will tell.

01/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Complaint description:
I approached the dealer looking for a 2015 Toyota RAV4 XLE that is All wheel drive with Black interior. As the sales person approached me. I advised him that I was not looking to shop unless they had the vehicle I wanted because I had driven from Miami to Orlando stopping by at all dealers looking for this one particular vehicle. The sales person informed me that he had to get some of my information down to start assisting me. I informed him again that if they do not have the vehicle I did not want to have them run any credit checks or anything on me and he informed me that he just needed my information. I provided him the information and a second person called Charlie approach us and informed us that he found the car and that he could deliver it in 4 days as it was in the port. I informed them that again I did not want to have my credit ran until I see the car and that I did not want to commit to anything as they could not even produce pictures or a vin number. The assured me that there was no commitment that all I had to do was sign and provide them $500 for them to place a pull on the vehicle and I quote Charlie that he said "we will give you your money back even if you do not like the shade of black the tires are" That been said I agreed to sign the document attached and provided them the $500. Next day I get a credit alert that my credit and my wife credit had taken a new credit inquiry. I called the sales person with no answer. Later in the afternoon I called the operator asking for someone that could answer to my question. No answer. I sent them an email. A day later I receive a call which I could not answer and receive a voicemail from the sales person informing me that they had to run my credit to hold on to the deal. That is where the trail of this email attached below begins. I said OK that is disappointing but OK I guess I get it at least I will have the car in the promised date. The 4 day mark came and no vehicle, I was then told "GREAT NEW I have a limit edition (more expensive model) coming Saturday". No car on Saturday and they would not send me pictures of what this model looked like. I asked for a refund and they made me struggle to get my refund. The general manager got involved an my ask was for them to leave me as I was before I entered the building. No credit inquiry on both my wife and my account as well as my money back. I was at that point refunded my money and was told by the general manager that he would take care of me but that it was late and someone was not answering the phone but that he knew he could get it fixed. A few more days passed and the general manager informed me that he found my vehicle and had it on the lot but that he was sick and that his new car manager will sell it to me at invoice price. I get sent pictures and it is again a limited edition with ASH interior, I informed them that I am not impressed as again they are pushing on me a vehicle that is not what I wanted however I was curious about the pricing and the new car manager started the conversation by saying the MSRP is XXXXX+ but for you the invoice price is XXXXX+. I respectfully declined his offer and again just asked that they leave me and my wife credit as it was. The new car manager proceeded to harass me on why I would not take the deal which was an awesome deal. I informed him that their is a bigger situation that he is not aware of so to please let his general manager handle it but he keep on and on asking and pestering so I let it lose and informed him of the situation and he informed me that this was their policy. could not deliver. The biggest defense that they have is that they cannot attest to what their sales person say but what is signed however I asked them to please put me in front or the sales person and Charlie and have them tell me to my face that they did not promise they had the car and that they would not take any actions on me until I was happy with the car. The other issue that I have is that till this day they have not been able to deliver the car that I signed for so..... why not return me everything that I signed or interacted with them. I just want any papers that they have from me back and everything to be as if I had never step foot in that dealer.


Respectfully,

****** *******

Desired Settlement
I did nask for a resolution for them.to either deliver what they promised or leave me as I was with no credit inquiries and return to me all documentation they acquired from me and my wife as if I had never stopped by that dealer.

Business Response
December 9, 2014

On November 2, 2014 Mr. *******, did come to the dealership to inquire about a 2015 Rav4. He was very specific that he wanted a 2015 Toyota Rav4 XLE AWD with a black interior or a Limited AWD Rav4 in Blizzard Pearl with graphite interior. As the dealer needed to pay a driver to pick up this vehicle and give up one of the Bev Smith Toyota's stock units, the dealership's policy was to pull credit and get a deposit from the customer to determine that they would be able to purchase the vehicle that they desired. This was an extremely difficult vehicle to obtain; however, Bev Smith Toyota was able to locate the XLE, however, it was sold before we could dealer trade.
The price of the vehicle had been discussed, agreed upon and Mr. ******* had also agreed and understood that a credit report had to be pulled before the dealer trade was consummated. Mr. ******* signed the credit application to allow his credit to be pulled. This cannot be reversed once a credit report has been pulled. It is a matter of record.
We explained to the customer that there may be differences in the vehicle as finding an exact match was difficult and a Limited Rav4 may be an option. Mr. ******* realized this, and although the dealer believed that they may be able to get close to what he wanted, a Limited 2015 Limited Rav4 was the closest to what he desired. Mr. ******* realized this and had agreed that his second option was to take the Limited. Charlie Lopez sent an email to the customer and left a message on the phone and told him that the Rav4 XLE AWD, that we had tried to get for him, was sold before we could purchase it and the nearest available unit was a Limited Rav4 AWD and we had it coming in from the other dealership. Mr. ******* had asked previously what the price was and he was told in that email that it would be $3,349.00 OTD difference and that any specials that may be running for Veterans Day would be honored. Mr. ******* then wanted to renegotiate for the car. The dealership would sell him the vehicle for the invoice, but no less as the customer wished.
When the vehicle came in, Mr. ******* did not take delivery of the vehicle, so therefore the car was not sold. Mr. *******'s deposit was refunded, however, the dealership cannot reverse or undo the fact that Mr. and Mrs. *******'s credit report was pulled.
In conclusion we are sorry that Mr. ******* is dissatisfied, however, there is nothing else the dealership can do to change the fact that his credit history was pulled through his approval for the purchase of a vehicle that initially was one of his choice, but was unacceptable to Mr. ******* in the end.

Sincerely,

***** ** ********
General Manager/VP

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Nothing but lies and twisted word and scenarios. I honestly cannot afford to spend more time on these liers. The only warning that I have for anyone else is make sure you have everything in email or writing since you cannot trust their word. I was event told from their management that they will no back up any word promises. I repeatly request them to have the sales people tell me to my face that they did not promise what they had indeed promise.

Final Business Response
January 7, 2015

Complaint #XXXXXXXX
Business Response to customer rebuttal:
Mr. ******* stated that he did not accept the response from Bev Smith Toyota and stated that he did not want to spend more time on this matter. He also states that he repeatedly has asked that we tell him to his face that they did not promise what they (Bev Smith Toyota) had indeed promised. We do not quite understand this statement, however, we would invite Mr. and Mrs. ******* to the dealership to go over this chain of events in regards to the attempted purchase of the 2015 Toyota Rav4. Please, make an appointment with ******* ******** the Assistant General Manager and at that time we will go over again that before we would consider to dealer trade for a vehicle we would have to have a credit report on the purchaser. This was agreed to by the *******'s and the credit application was signed by them on November 2, 2014. As explained before, this cannot be undone as it is a matter of record.
In conclusion, if the *******'s wish to see the signed copy of the credit application or wish to discuss in person anything to do with their experience at Bev Smith Toyota that we will be glad to address all the concerns.

Sincerely,

***** ** ********
General Manager/VP

06/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
100% OF ORIGIONAL MSRP, BUY BACK 100%.
OUR PREOWNED DEPARTMENT IS IN NEED OF 2005 SIENNA, etc. IMMEDIATELY. ...WHAT YOU PAID. 100% OF THE ORIGIONAL.
When we went they switched and said instead of $44,000 we may just give you $7,000 because you drove your car 7300 miles per year or 66,000 miles. (which is very low) but we need to deduct $28,000. car in excellent condition, low mileage, etc. so instead of charging me 48,000 - 44,000 deduction or $4,000 they said because I had actually driven the vehicle, I would have to pay $40,000 or a 1000% increase. Add is misrepresentation at best and completely false.
even the ad mailed to my house says Kelly Blue Book which values my car at $24,000 retail, 20,000 private party and $17,000 wholesale. they claim they do not use that KBB. that is only for consumers. just one misleading and misrepresentation after another. the worst is car sales practices.

Desired Settlement
100% OF ORIGIONAL MSRP, BUY BACK 100%.
OUR PREOWNED DEPARTMENT IS IN NEED OF 2005 SIENNA, etc. IMMEDIATELY. ...WHAT YOU PAID. 100% OF THE ORIGIONAL PRICE(I) PAID. AS IT SAID IN THE AD.
AS TO BUYING CAR, THEY GIVE YOU A PRICE AND GET YOU TO COMMIT AND THEN THEY RENEG WHEN YOU DO AGREE. IT IS THE WORST IN VEHICLE SELLING RACTICES. WHAT I MIGHT EXPECT FROM A USED CAR SALESMAN.
I HAVE DONE MY SERVICE AT BEV SMITH. I DID NOT REALIZE UNTIL TUESDAY HOW BAD THE SALES TACTICS WERE. I HAVE BEEN GETTING ADS FROM BEV SMITH AND EACH ONE IS MORE RIDICULOUS THAN THE OTHER. THEY ARE GIVING A GREAT CAR AND GREAT CAR COMPANY THAT WE HAVE LOVED A VERY BAD NAME.

Business Response
May 29, 2014

BBB of Southeast Florida & the Caribbean
Case # XXXXXXXX ****** *******

Bev Smith Toyota and Bev Smith Kia have used this same mailer to promote business for a few years with no negative feedback from our customers. All information as to how the promotion works is detailed on the face of the letter.
To begin with, the letter states that Bev Smith Toyota will give you 100% of the manufacture's original suggested retail base price when your vehicle was new. Mr. ******* has misquoted the ad. His base price on his 2005 Sienna was $35,295. The vehicle that he was interested in was a 2014 Toyota Limited Sienna that's list price was $48,744.
The trade vehicle is evaluated and as it states in the letter the only adjustments are made for mileage 10¢ to 55¢, depending on models and reconditioning. It was also stated in the ad quite clearly that "Obviously, your current vehicle must be in safe operating condition, with normal wear and tear, and free of paint and collision work." It was a nice vehicle, but not excellent as Mr. ******* proclaims.
Mr. *******'s deductions for the condition of his 2005 Sienna were $2000 for paint damage on the front bumper as it would need to be painted, $19,800 for mileage, $1500 for recondition in the service shop and $500 for detail. This would put him at $11,500 for his trade. That is considerably better than the Kelley Blue Book value that Mr. ******* is comparing this to.
Mr. ******* is accusing the dealership of false advertising; however, if he reads the ad he will find it to be very accurate. We will be willing to go over in detail again how we arrived at the trade in price.
Bev Smith Toyota stands by its advertising and its policies and hopes that Mr. ******* will read the ad again and I think that he will clearly see that our statements are accurate. Sometimes people do look at their trade as being perfect or in excellent condition, but even in Kelley's Blue Book that Mr. ******* values the opinion of, he will see that his vehicle is not worth what he believes it is to the dealer for resell. It states right on their site that only a very small percentage of vehicles (3%) are in the excellent condition.
We are sorry that Mr. ******* is upset and apologize for any miscommunication.

02/03/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was promised a second set of keys (key fob) on my XXXXX.00 suv that I bought and never received it. I called and talked to the sales manager.
The car salesman assured me that I would get a second set of keys. I talked to the sales manager several times and still do not have a secand set of keys. I purchased the car in October so their has been sufficient time foe them to get me a key.

Desired Settlement
I would like a second set of keys.

Business Response
BBB of Southeast Florida & the Caribbean
Case # XXXXXXXX ****** *******

When Mr. ******* first agreed to purchase the Toyota Rav4 there was nothing in writing that stated he was to receive a second key. Nor was there anything in writing in the paperwork that is on file. It is Bev Smith Toyota's policy that if we have a second set of keys for that vehicle, we would certainly pass these on to a customer. This particular vehicle was traded with only one key. There was one time that making an extra key was relatively inexpensive (less than $25). Now an extra key can run anywhere from $300-$600, depending on the vehicle. This particular vehicle utilizes a smart key. Within that key fob is a small valet key. So, this is not an inexpensive key.
Since there was some debate over whether or not the Used Car Manager at that time had indeed promised to the salesperson that he would pay for another key for Mr. ******* it was not done. If it is not in writing on the "We Owe" with a manager signature it is not part of the purchase. Both of the employees have since left this dealership.
With that being said, Bev Smith Toyota does have another Used Car Manager that felt, since he has come fresh into this situation, he has decided as a goodwill gesture he would provide one additional key and the labor cost to program the key fob for this customer for the 2012 Toyota Rav4. No additional promises will be made.
The Customer Relations Manager, *** ***, has contacted Mr. ******* and advised him of this. The key has been ordered and an appointment set.

Sincerely,

***** ** ********
General Manager/VP

11/25/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.