BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/29/2013

Bev Smith of Stuart, Inc.

Phone: (772) 283-1743Fax: (772) 781-1432

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
02/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MY HUSBAND & I PUT $200 DOWN ON A VEHICLE, BUT WE CHANGED OUR MINDS, AND NOW WE ARE HAVING A DIFFICULT TIME OBTAINING A REFUND FROM THE DEALERSHIP.
MY HUSBAND, ***** ******, LEFT A $200 DEPOSIT (CASH-HE WAS GIVEN A RECEIPT) FOR A 2015 KIA OPTIMA ON FRIDAY 11/20/15, AND WE DECIDED NOT TO PURCHASE THE VEHICLE, BECAUSE THE DEALERSHIP WAS CHARGING US DEALER FEES, AND REFUSED TO EXPLAIN WHAT THESE FEES WERE FOR. MY HUSBAND THEN WENT BACK TO THE DEALERSHIP ON TUESDAY 11/24/15 TO GET OUR MONEY BACK. HE WAS TOLD THAT THEY DIDN'T HAVE $200 CASH TO GIVE HIM. MO ASHLEY, A FINANCE EMPLOYEE THERE, GAVE MY HUSBAND A FORM TO FILL OUT, SO THAT A CHECK COULD BE ISSUED TO HIM. HE WAS THEN TOLD THAT THEY WOULD HAVE A CHECK READY FOR HIM BY FRIDAY 11/27/15. NO ONE EVERY CALLED MY HUSBAND TO GO PICK UP THE CHECK, SO HE DROVE UP TO STUART ON MONDAY 11/30/15. WHEN HE WENT IN ON THAT DAY, THE PEOPLE THERE ACTED LIKE THE CHECK WAS LOST. THEY THEN TOLD MY HUSBAND THAT THE FORT PIERCE OFFICE WOULD JUST MAIL THE CHECK TO HIM. ON FRIDAY 12/04/15, WE STILL HAD NOT RECEIVED THE CHECK, AND MY HUSBAND RECEIVED A PHONE CALL STATING THAT THE CHECK WOULD BE SEND TO US BY OVERNIGHT MAIL. AS OF TODAY, SUNDAY 12/06/15, WE HAVE NOT RECEIVED OUR CHECK!!! WE WERE CONSTANTLY LIED TO, AND WE DON'T APPRECIATE THAT WE GAVE A CASH DEPOSIT, AND THAT WE HAVE HAD TO WAIT OVER 2 WEEKS NOW TO GET OUR MONEY. MY HUSBAND WASTED HIS TIME, ENERGY, AND GAS ON TRYING TO GET OUR MONEY BACK!!! THERE IS NO REASON WHY WE SHOULD NOT BE ABLE TO GET OUR MONEY BACK. WE HAVE A RECEIPT OF OUR CASH PAYMENT DEPOSIT!!!

Desired Settlement
ALONG WITH THE $200 REFUND THAT IS DUE TO US, WE EXPECT SOME COMPENSATION FOR THE GAS THAT WE HAVE USED IN ATTEMPTING TO OBTAIN OUR REFUND. MY HUSBAND VISITED THE DEALERSHIP 2 TIMES, AND WASTED HIS TIME, ENERGY, AND GAS IN TRYING TO OBTAIN OUR REFUND.

Business Response
The customer's refund check in the amount of $200.00 was cut on 11/30/2015 and the check cleared on 12/9/2015. Bev Smith Kia apologized to the customer about all the confusion on why the check had taken so long. Management explained that the check was sent to the wrong address, and apologized for the error on their end. Bev Smith Kia is not going to offer any other compensation for gas as the customer willingly drove to the dealership without calling to confirm we had the refund check for them.

Consumer Response
MY HUSBAND ***** AND I DO NOT ACCEPT THE DEALERSHIP'S RESPONSE. THE DEALERSHIP LIED STATING THAT THEY SENT THE CHECK TO THE WRONG PLACE. MY IN-LAWS THAT LIVE IN IOWA WOULD HAVE RECEIVED THE CHECK, AS THE DEALERSHIP CLAIMS THAT THEY SENT THE CHECK TO IOWA. ALSO, WE SHOULD NOT HAVE HAD TO CALL THE DEALERSHIP ABOUT COMING TO PICK UP THE CHECK, WHEN IT WAS PROMISED TO US ON A CERTAIN DAY. IF WE WERE GIVEN A SET DATE TO PICK UP THE CHECK, THEN WHY SHOULD WE HAVE CALLED, AND THEN FOR MY HUSBAND TO GO BACK 3 DIFFERENT OCCASIONS, BECAUSE HE WAS GIVEN 3 DIFFERENT STORIES EACH TIME. I AM APPALLED THAT THE DEALERSHIP IS ABSOLUTELY LYING, AND TO JUST APOLOGIZE FOR LIES IS UNACCEPTABLE!!!!

Final Business Response
In response to the customer's rebuttal, I have attached a document for the customer's viewing. This document contains the date, and address where the check was sent out to. A check in the amount of $ 200.00 dollars was sent on 11/30/2015 to:
***** ******
116 ****** ***
*** *** ******** IA XXXXX

The check was cleared by the customer on 12/9/2016. Bev Smith Kia will mail out a gas card to the customer for the inconvenience stated in the complaint. Please let me know if you have any further questions in regards to this matter.


Sincerely,
Jill *********
Customer Relations Manager
Bev Smith KIA of Stuart
3131 SE Federal Hwy
Stuart, FL 34994
P: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Ext: 4137
*****@bevsmithkiaofstuart.com

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I ACCEPT THE RESOLUTION OF RECEIVING THE GAS CARD, BUT I DISAGREE WITH PART OF THE BUSINESS REBUTTAL STATEMENT. WE NEVER DENIED RECEIVING THE CHECK, BUT IT IS A BLATANT LIE THAT IT WAS SENT TO IOWA. THE IOWA ADDRESS IS WHAT WAS LISTED ON MY HUSBAND'S DRIVER'S LICENSE, AND HE PROVIDED THEM WITH OUR FLORIDA ADDRESS WHEN HE FIRST WENT INTO THE DEALERSHIP. THE DEALERSHIP SHOULD NEVER HAVE WRITTEN DOWN THE IOWA ADDRESS, AS MY HUSBAND AND I DON'T LIVE THERE. I DON'T KNOW WHY THE DEALERSHIP HAD MY HUSBAND'S OLD IOWA ADDRESS IN THEIR SYSTEM, BUT WHEN WE FINALLY RECEIVED OUR CHECK IT (AFTER SEVERAL TRIPS TO THE DEALERSHIP, BECAUSE WE WERE TOLD THAT THE CHECK WOULD BE READY) WAS SENT TO US AT OUR CORRECT ADDRESS 103 FAIRWAYS LANE, ROYAL PALM BEACH, FL XXXXX. AGAIN, IF THE CHECK WAS ORIGINALLY MAILED TO IOWA, WE WOULD HAVE KNOWN ABOUT IT, BECAUSE MY IN-LAWS LIVE AT THE ADDRESS THAT IS LISTED ON THE DOCUMENT THAT THE DEALERSHIP SENT TO THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU. THEY WOULD HAVE NOTIFIED US THAT THEY RECEIVED THE CHECK. WE ARE DISAPPOINTED THAT WE WERE JUST LIED TO 3-4 TIMES, AND THAT MY HUSBAND WAS INCONVENIENCED BECAUSE OF THESE LIES. WE GAVE A CASH DEPOSIT, AND I FEEL AS IF WE WERE TREATED VERY BADLY! IT IS ALSO VERY DISTURBING THAT NO ONE FROM MANAGEMENT HAS EVEN TRIED TO REACH OUT TO US TO PERSONALLY APOLOGIZE TO US!!!! POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. IT IS A SHAME, BECAUSE I OWN A KIA VEHICLE, AND I WILL NEVER GO BACK TO THIS DEALERSHIP FOR THE HORRIBLE TREATMENT THAT WE RECEIVED.

05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
purchased a 2012 KIA went in with an online quote of 12k car was sold purchased one 14konline I see my car offered at 11.989.00 same vin # and stock
I just purchased a 2012 KIA from BEV smith KIA in Stuart Fl. I went in with an online quote of 11,989.00 and test drove what I believed to be the car from the online quote then was advised it was not this was a higher car and that then the sales rep went and got a different one which matched the price so when I went in to talk numbers I was advised that one was already sold but they could get me in a new one which I did not want to pay. After sitting a while I was shown a car that just came in and was offered a lower price of 14,050.00 which was a little higher but I figured I was getting a good deal. Well come to find out the next day while online I see my car offered at 11.989.00 same vin # and stock number. I called the dealer and was given the run around and every excuse on the books. i was told I would be called back and of course no one got back to me. This is a difference of over 1,300.00 HELP HELP Please ! bait and switch to the max

Desired Settlement
a refund of the price difference.

Business Response
Mr. ******* ********(Sales Manager)from Bev Smith Kia of Stuart has taken care of the customers complaint. Customer is satisfied.

04/26/2016Advertising / Sales Issues
12/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased a kia soul on XX-XX-XXXX the whole entire process has been nothing but a nightmare.
i purchased the vehicle on XX-XX-XXXX signed contracts and left dealership. I received a call on XX-XX-XXXX from my previous loan company that the payment was late they never received the payoff from bev ***** per my trade in. I contacted the dealership and they were not nice nor helpful when i called them, only to find out that my paperwork was never submitted and they only noticed this because i called them about trades payoff, later they said they would call me back later. I received a call from ************ finance manager stated that now they needed an additional 1000.00 down and the interest would be 16% not 13.9%. I said that is not the deal we signed for he said the intial deal signed on XX-XX-XXXX wasnt valid anyways cause they spelt my first name wrong. I was beyond furious at this point and made him aware they honor rate and price or else i would call an attorney. So they did so until i got to dealership that night to sign new paperwork where i was greeted very rudely and was made to wait over an hour when i had a set time to come in and sign. At this point i was so fed up with there way of conducting business and unprofessional-ism i decided i would just leave and i would take my trade back and cancel this all. this is when sales guys started talking to me rudely as if i did something wrong and the finance manager was yelling at me in the parking lot. Bringing contracts to sign to parking lot with better deal on car and rate of 13.99. Come to find out they still never had the final approval on the car even while they were bring contracts to parking lot and yelling at me they had me a better deal. I then was contacted on XX-XX-XXXX stating the bank gave me a better rate the got the final approval i had to go back to dealership again to sign new paperwork again for the third time. At this point i have been receiving calls from previous auto loan stating my payment is due still. I asked ************ finance manager when was the payoff sent. He stated it was fed ex on Thursday 10-22-2015. Today is XX-XX-XXXX and previous auto loan has called my job 5 times today embarrassing me and causing me to get written up at work. Called stsve gordon and he stated he will get tracking number for me this was at 830 am today , never heard back from him .i called ally previos loan company and they finally had tracking number on file fed ex tracking # XXXXXXXXXXXX... i tracked it and it was just sent at 435pm today not last thursday. Since i stepped foot onto this dealership on XX-XX-XXXX it has been nothing but a complete nightmare with this dealership and i will make it my mission to let everyone know how i was treated and the way they do business. They *** and try and **** you for more money. The manager william called me and offered me a free tank of gas for my troubles. wow a $20 fill up for all this amount of stress and emotional distress and being treated like i did something wrong when the dealership continued time and time again dropping the ball and not doing any of their job correctly.

Desired Settlement
i would like to speak to the person in charge of this dealership. I feel that a $20 tank of gas is a slap in the face, after everything i have been put through with this dealership.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Jill Abramczyk-CRM
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@bevsmithkiaofstuart.com
We have been in touch with the customer to help resolve customers complaints. Customer is to contact the GM and set up a time where the customer can come in and meet with the GM to resolve customers concerns.

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Thanksgiving

Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was suppose to meet with the GM ******* *******, when i went to business i was greeted by another gentleman which was Richards assistant, never meet ******* ******* as promised. The man i meet with was very push and was not friendly in any matter. He didnt want to listen to my concerns nor did he care how i was treated by employees nor how they lied to me. I wish i had never got into business with this dealership. They continue to lie, They charged me 1958.00 for a service contract that was suppose to be given to me for free. now i have no service contract and 1958.00 being refund to loan company. after i still have to pay interest on that amount . this dealership also has over charged me way over 1000.00 for the purchase price of the car. I want those funds immediately refunded to me also. i will not stop filing compliants with every state agency until they resolve the issue of the 1958.00 and the 1000.00 i was over charged. those funds should be refunded directly to me the consumer

Final Business Response
The customer came in and met with the Finance Director in regards to his concerns and complaints. Due to the customer requesting to have his service contract cancelled which was his pre-paid maintenance, and gap insurance on his vehicle the appropriate person to handle these requests is the finance department. The pre-paid maintenance contract is not to be confused with the Tires and Batteries for Life Program. The customer would never have been given pre-paid maintenance, and gap insurance at no charge. Tires and Batteries for Life however is a free program given to all customers whom purchase a new vehicle from Bev ***** Kia. The customer did receive the Tires and Batteries for Life program at no charge. Customer was in no shape or form forced to cancel the above items, the customer requested to have these items cancelled. All items customer requested to be cancelled have been cancelled and there is no penalty to the customer. It is a 100% flat cancel.
Please see attachments showing the customers signed cancellation form.
The pre-paid maintenance, and gap insurance is sold through a separate company named Fidelity. Once a contract is cancelled the amount that is refunded goes back to the Lien holder, than that amount gets applied to the back end of the customers financing. The customer does not physically get a check in the amount of what the services cost. I have attached a second document showing this e-mail conversation between the customer and myself.
Bev ***** Kia of Stuart not only got the customer a better interest rate by working with the bank, but in turn dropped the customers payments $80.00 a month.
Bev ***** Kia of Stuart has already addressed the corrections that needed to be made with our contact information with the BBB.
Bev ***** Kia of Stuart also offered the customer a $50.00 gas card for trips the customer had to make back and forth to the dealership. The customer rudely declined and wanted $100.00.
To sum up the resolution that Bev ***** Kia of Stuart has provided: We have lowered the customers car payment 80 dollars a month, we have offered the customer compensation for gas, and we cancelled all the contracts the customer had requested to be cancelled. I have also attached a Spot Delivery Disclosure form that the customer signed. A spot delivery form states the terms and conditions upon purchasing a vehicle. This form is reviewed with the customer in finance and the customer signs this form agreeing to all the terms and conditions.
Bev ***** Kia of Stuart has nothing further to offer this customer, and has taken care of all the customers concerns.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will go ahead and start the process of filing complaints with state and federal agencies against this dealership. They are liars and ripping people off and I will make it my mission to make sure they are investigated fully. Also will make sure I let everyone I come into contact with know how I was treated and how they lied and steal peoples money. Nothing they say is true they just con people into things.

01/11/2016Billing / Collection Issues
11/09/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/01/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.