BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Southeast Florida & the Caribbean

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/19/2008

Arrigo Dodge Chrysler Jeep Sawgrass, Inc.

Phone: (954) 861-6200Fax: (954) 861-62015901 Madison Avenue, TamaracFL 33321

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/19/2008

BBB has determined that Arrigo Dodge Chrysler Jeep Sawgrass, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Arrigo Dodge Chrysler Jeep Sawgrass, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Arrigo Dodge Chrysler Jeep Sawgrass, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service18
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Reviews on Arrigo Dodge Chrysler Jeep Sawgrass, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (19)BBB Closure Definitions
06/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: He was RUDE!!!!! Just put a CD player in the truck.
On April 10, 2014 my mom and I went to trade our trucks in to Arrigo Sawgrass. This will be my 3rd Dodge Journey that she purchased from there and this will be my 2Nd Dodge Durango I purchased at Arrigo Sawgrass. She has been working with this guy they calls Lieutenant ***. My mom tells me I love working with Lieutenant *** since you had a bad experience with the last guy come with me to see him with me. Therefore, I did. I talks to *** and I tells him I want to get a 2014 Durango. Therefore, at this time he's working with the both of us (my mom and I). I tell *** I want to see the Durango. He brings my mom the Journey and we test drove that. In the Journey I tell him can I see the Durango. When we get back he never did. He went to West Palm Beach to get the Durango. I kept tell him I want to see the truck oh yeah its back in the back getting wash and cleaned up for you. At this time it's late. The next day I told my mom that the truck doesn't have a CD player. He told her if I go buy one he will pay me back for it. I don't think I should be doing this. So on April 18,2014 at 5:35pm I called *** and I explained to him I don't think that's fair that I have to go out and buy a CD player to put in my new truck (that my 2012 Durango had a CD player). *** tells me that he doesn't have to do anything for me he is doing it as a favor. I SAID WHAT???? So at this time my mom is on her phone trying to reach the service area to check to see if they sell CD player and install them. She get this guy named **** or **** (something like that) and he has her on old for at least 15 minutes so she hangs up and calls back the front desk and they tells her they are CLOSED!!!! WHAT KIND OF SERVICE ARRIGO IS DOING? My cousin purchased and 2013 Dodge Journey and I were about to refer someone else there will tell them to go somewhere else.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ***** General Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@arrigodcj.com
To whom it may concern,
we have spoken to the purchaser of the vehicle ******* ****** and she is fine with our offer of resolution. This case should be closed and you should contact them. Thank you any other questions- *** ****** GM of Arrigo Sawgrass- XXX-XXX-XXXX

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: ****** damaged my vehicle during service causing more of a heartache by not paying for my rental car expenses as they promised.
Email sent to the Service Dept. on April 14, 2014.

As discussed, please replace the center counsel that was damaged by your technician during my service visit on Saturday, April 12th. Additionally, I have discovered other damage on my emergency brake handle and the side panel on the driver's side.

As you already know, my Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara is in tip top shape and practically brand new. I worked very hard to afford this vehicle and still do by maintaining it in excellent condition.

I am attaching pictures of the damage we discussed and other damage I found while examining the cab area further. Please notify me once you receive the parts so that I can leave the vehicle at your service center. Although, this is an inconvenience to my already hectic schedule, I really want to take care of the problem ASAP.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *******-Service Mgr.
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************@arrigodcj.com
Our facility replaced the parts that were damaged on May 7,2014 and service manager verified with owner that all was fixed to his satisfaction. We also provided alternate transportation during this process, and Enterprise rent a car charged the owner for fuel and tolls he experienced while in possession of the rental- We are reimbursing him $45 for fuel and $5 for tolls today May 22, 2014.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: First of all, service is not the only issue here, I purchased a brand new car and have only been able to drive it 50 miles within the month I've had.
The entire sales procedure was crooked. They lied to banks in order to get me approved without a down payment when I specifically requested that we wait until I get money to put down. They ignored my response because they wanted nothing to do with me during the procedure. (they only wanted my boyfriend's input, since his credit is better than mine) total discrimination! Not only that, but they added money onto the new car payment without even warning me they were doing that! The payments were ridiculously high and I felt pressured to not even give my opinion when my boyfriend was signing everything. That's not even the worst part, we fell in love with the car, but when I was getting ready to drive it off of the lot, the engine light was on... this car is BRAND NEW with only 14 miles when I bought it, yet the salesman said "it's okay, it's a brand new car. Just bring it to service on Monday". So I did as told and the service department was even WORSE! They kept the car 2 days too long and didn't even have the courtesy to call me and let me know of the status. Instead I was asked to keep calling back because he "might forget". After calling so many times, the girls that answer the phone started telling me that the service rep was "in a meeting". I believed them, but when I finally went in person to pick up the car, I noticed that another woman answered the phone while I was standing in front of her, someone asked for my service rep, and the other lady yells at her, "no, remember he's in a meeting?!" yet he was standing right there!! Liars! After that experience, I was hoping I never had to deal with them again, that was until a few days later when the engine light came on again! They have had the car since then and do not return any of my messages! My first payment is due next week and I haven't even enjoyed the car. I even left a message with *** ****** the General Manager, several times and he never gets back to me. I'm fed up and am getting help to resolve this matter. Since they won't listen to me as the customer, they will have someone else to listen to.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@arrigodcj.com
we are working with Chrysler to resolve issue ABS light is on - the chrysler techinicians are working to resolve the issue- customer is in an enterprise rental car at no cost to them...They have called several times and we call when we have updates not everytime they call because there are no updates...***** ******* - our chrysler rep was here at store yesterday and is trying to get handled...*** ***** - General Manager

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/10/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3
07/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised assistance or support for products or services

Complaint: Lack of professionalism&broken promises for a month and for rental expenses adding up to 303.20 and repeatedly ignored and insulted by the manager.
Friday June 13th got there at 11:30 they guy Will said it was going to take a long time because they were busy
So I agree to pay a rental since I had an app for my daughter
He said he will give me a call back after they scanned the car to tell me what was wrong and to see if I wanted to go ahead with the repair
Left dealer at 12:30 / 1.pm

By 6.pm no one called me so I had to call back myself to find out that they have not even touch my car
He gave me the excuse that the power went off for two hours Again no one called me to advise me about this

When I talk to him he say that next day Saturday June 14th he was going to make sure they took my car first
I advise him that he need it to call me before 9:30 since I was going to be out of town otherwise I would it have to keep the rental and I was NOT going to pay for it
He agree and say no problem.

On the morning of the Saturday 14th he calls me by 10.am (too late) I was out of town (not my problem)
He explained to me what the problem was and told me it was going to cost me about 1400.00 dollars that I didn't have at the moment so I say no I'm not doing it
I will pick up my car when I get back and AGAIN said I'm not paying for this rental he said don worry about that we will take care of that

Sunday the 15th first thing in the morning I send someone to pick up the car (on father's day this person had to drive over there to get my car and return the rental)
But since no one advise us of anything he drove there and the only thing the person in the front said was "Sorry but I can give you the car you may come back when someone (Will) gets back tomorrow) FINE!! Another day that I have to keep this rental

As a single mom I had to look for this money to see if I was able to maybe fix the car and after doing the impossible I found the $$ so Monday I call back and give the OK to fix the car and again they said they were busy so car won't be ready until Tuesday 17th and I repeat myself and said I am not paying for this rental that I have try to return since Same Friday and again will tells me don't worry we take care of that but at the same time I get charged $107.85

I had no money in my account and they left me borrowing just to make ends meet this is unacceptable and no one should go through this situation. I have never filed a complaint so for me to write this is how far they drove me to make sure others know about the lack of service and customer service especially by the manager Pete *******.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** Doyle- GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@arrigodcj.com
To whom it may concern,

i have attached our response- we have set up a reimbursement with Enterprise and the customer should be getting a refund back. This answers the complaint and we respectfully request it be closed.Thank you....*** Doyle - General Manager

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
just by the reply email sent from Mr. *** Doyle
to Mr. Pete Marino shows how he doesn't even know who he works with, I am a single mom with a full time job and I do not have time for this so every line Mr. Pete Marino mark saying that I was lying is not true everything that is on that paper is true at the end I clarify I may be off on the dates, I sent this email to the GM and not even him has the courtesy to reply to my complain, this has been going for over a month I only wanted my money back for the rental something that should it be a courtesy from the dealership after I spend over $1500.00 dollars or at least keep the promises to your customers, this refund should it take no more than 2 days max 3 this was just refunded July 15th (took over a month),that shows the lack of professionalism and care to their customers not even an apology from Mr. Pete Marino after all he said to me on the phone "don't try me" plus being sarcastic with a costumer, this kind of situations should be addressed to the owners of this dealership and I will try my best to contact them, they're obviously successful people and employees like Mr. ******* can bring his business down.


***** T ******.

Final Business Response
I left a message on the customers cell phone to call me directly....On 7/21/2014 at 11 am....Thanks...*** Doyle- General Manager

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am a professional and have a very busy work schedule. I am also a full time single mom. I have spent enough time (6 weeks) chasing after these people for an apology. If Mr. Doyle would like to contact me, I prefer it to be in writing/email and in the form of an apology as that is all I am willing to accept at this point. I am not going to have an argument over the phone, as it seems that is all I've been getting the past 6 weeks trying to resolve this. I have a letter drafted to John and *** ****** and was given the addresses to reach them directly.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

07/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: I went in for an oil change & they said my car had a recall for a timing belt chain. They attempted to fix it & kept coming back with problem after problem. I had to take my car back over 6 times in a 3 month duration. The last time my car was in that shop they supposedly fixed the problem & my car cut completely off the next day. I had previously told them I needed a new battery & they ignored me & charged my for a fuel button that had absolutely nothing to do with the issue. They claimed that the fuel button was draining the battery but the next day my car still cut off. I got fed up & called corporate & took it to their shop in palm bch. When I left my car there my car was shaking & felt like it was going to cut off. They still have not figured out the problem & continue to ignore my calls.
Product_Or_Service: Car repair

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ***** GM
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@ARRIGODCJ.COM
I HAVE INCLUDED COPIES OF ALL REPAIRS- THE PROBLEM IS THE CUSTOMER HAD HER LAST 2 REPAIRS DONE AT WPB NOT SAWGRASS. WE SUGGEST SHE BRING IT TO SAWGRASS SO WE CAN RESOLVE .SHE ALSO HAS BEEN REIMBURSED BY HER WARRANTY COMPANY FOR SOME OF THE REPAIRS... I HAVE LEFT ALL DOCS IN FILE

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes, some of the charges were paid by geico but the work they did was not necessary. I still had to pay the difference of whatever geico did not cover. About palm beach office, they also gave me the run around and charged me for things that did not resolve my issue. They told me to wait until they received a call from Chrysler (which they never called me back on) after 2 weeks. I was finally able to contact the parts manager (****** ******** Who then started laughing & saying that Chrysler could not help them but they can find the problem. If that was the case why didn't they just fix it. I have since then took it to a more professional place called Delray Motors where they found the problem & repaired it for free with rental included. I have had to take my car to ARRIGO over 6 times in a short period of time. And the coming up with repairs that were not necessary & the one problem making my car worse.

Final Business Response
All of the repsirs not covered by Gieco were maintaince related items not related to the drivability claim. At both stores rentals were provided at no charge and diagnostic fees waived.We are glad she got her problem resolved for no charge from another dealer.We do not believe any refund is nessesary as she got it repaired for free and we did not charge her for the driveabilty portion - which was her complaint to BBB. Thanks ... *** ***** GM- Arrigo Sawgrass

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
That is not true! Many times they worked on the car. I had to pay for the rental & lost many days of work going back & forth with them. They only paid for one day & I had to pay the residual. About the geico payments, I had to cover whatever geico did not pay. So yes, I think I should be compensated for whatever I had to pay & time loss from work & also the stress they caused me!

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

06/20/2013Problems with Product / Service
05/15/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/12/2008Business started: 05/01/2008
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Broward County Business Tax
Broward County Governmental Offices 115 S. Andrews Ave.
Fort Lauderdale, FL33301-1818
(954) 357-7235
http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx

Florida Dept of Agriculture & Consumer Services
2005 Apalachee Pkwy
Tallahassee, FL32399-6500
(800) 435-7352

Florida Dept of Highway Safety/Motor Veh
(850) 617-2000
http://www.flhsmv.gov/

BBB records show a license number of 332-3415 for this company, issued by Broward County Business Tax. Their web address is http://www.broward.org/Pages/Welcome.aspx.

Check License Status: https://www.broward.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/67232?year=2014

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of MV1348 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Agriculture & Consumer Services. The expiration date of this license is 09/01/2015.

Check License Status: https://csapp.800helpfla.com/cspublicapp/businesssearch/BusinessSearch.aspx

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of VF1001055 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Highway Safety/Motor Veh. Their web address is http://www.flhsmv.gov/. The expiration date of this license is 12/31/2014.

Check License Status: http://www.flhsmv.gov/dmv/BUR Field Ops Address.pdf

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Arrigo (President)Mrs. Dawn Martino (Customer Relations Manager)
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Arrigo Dodge Chrysler Jeep
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Arrigo Dodge Chrysler Jeep Sawgrass, Inc.

5901 Madison Avenue

Tamarac, FL 33321

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5901 Madison Avenue 

    Tamarac, FL 33321(954) 861-6200

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Arrigo Dodge Chrysler Jeep Sawgrass, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.