BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/27/2012

Avante Group, Inc.

Phone: (954) 987-7180

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
04/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid rent in full for January 2015 for mother. Still waiting for refund.
My complaint is that my Mother, ***** L ******* rent was paid in full for January 2015 at Majestic Memory Care Center at 1200 ****** Street in Hollywood, FL. She was in and out of the hospital the entire month of January, 2015 and spent exactly 8 nights there. She passed away January 29, 2015. I have emailed and called Mike Booth, the director of Majestic and received one email on March 12th, 2015 that refund should be given to her estate with 2 weeks. Have emailed and called on several occasions with no response back other than the one above. I have the email chain for proof. I also have called ***** ******, the VP, D and have left two messages to date. According to the residential agreement, my mother's estate should have received this refund with 45 days of her passing *** it is April 7th, 2015. Please advise. Thank you, ******* *****

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund in the amount of $3296.66. I paid 4200.00 for month of January, 2015.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@avantegroup.com
The refund that was due was processed on Wednesday, April 8th and mailed overnight to her for delivery today. The refund amount calculations were sent to the consumer via email and the total amount of the refund was actually $1,925.81. The delay was due to my failure to process all the necessary paperwork and support documentation on a timely basis. I am very sorry for the delay and I have put a new policy in place so that this does not happen again.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received the refund and I was incorrect in the amount of the refund and accept your apology and appreciate your new policy for future refunds. The delay in refund has no bearing on the quality of care that my Mother received during her stay at Majestic Memory Care Center in Hollywood. Her room was clean, she was clean, bathed and had meals anytime she asked for them. She was looked after, loved and cared for by all the staff there. I would recommend this 'home' away from home to anyone. It's new, and colors and lighting are pleasant. The dining room and staff were professional and attentive. The activities that **** provided were wonderful. Thanks to all that worked there.

08/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My now late husband was at Avante St. Cloud, and he was maltreated (fell) and they also lost his property, among them, his dentures and pajamas.
My late husband was at Avante Group facility (1301 Kansas Ave., St. Cloud, FL). I regret having him go there (It was not our choice, the hospital had sent him there w/o our consent-that is another issue we have to handle separately.) While at the facility, my husband fell on several occasions and the bathrooms and other amenities was in poor and unsanitary conditions. It hurts my heart to go over this now. He was at the facility in 2015 for three weeks.

I am filing to have the value of his dentures and a pair of pajamas, which was lost and not recovered at Avante facility where he was a patient at their St. Cloud location.

After many months of grueling and agonizing efforts by me and my daughters, Avante wrote out a check for the dentures at a facility called Economy Dentures. This was not our choice and we were not consulted; in addition, this dental facility had many dentists who were discredited and some on the lists were not even allowed to practice (we discovered this from our online research). When we contacted Economy Dentures, despite trepidation on our part, we never got through. It did not matter however, because my husband was bedridden at home and needed a dentist to make a home visit.

The administrator we contacted took very long to reply to us after we notified him of my husband condition and when we explained that it would be better to write the check out in my name for my husband due to his inability to leave the home, (my husband was alive at the time and experienced additional pain and suffering with not having his dentures in place); they did not honor my request to have the check cancelled and to write a new check in my name. Instead, I was told by one of their vice presidents and another senior administrator to explain myself to them and was accused by them that I might do nefarious things with the check and not take care of my now late husband's dentures.

I explained that I wanted to have the value of my husband's check written in my name and that it was his property and he suffered enough under their hands and that they should not have me come out of pocket to pay for dentures as they demanded. Another drawback we later discovered after numerous calls, is that there are no dentists available to make home calls where we live in Kissimmee, Florida.

My husband has now passed **** advanced stage brain cancer. It has been quite a journey for my family and a lot of pain and suffering endured by my late husband.

I would like Avante to refund me the value of the dentures by rewriting the check they wrote out to Economy Dentures of Kissimmee and write a new check in my name to be reimbursed. I also seek the value of his pajamas, which was under $40.00. (my daughter has the receipt.)

Another important factor is that due to the long wait for a response from them (calls and emails), the check will soon expire; it is dated Dec. 7, 2015. I had sent an email request with the check details requesting them to cancel the check and rewrite me a new one in my name but they will not do it. Instead, they warned me that the check will soon expire and that I should purchase dentures for my husband, who is now deceased, and then they will reimburse me the amount of the check they wrote out for Economy Dentures, which was $718.00.

Please act on my behalf. I am very tired of all the back and forth and Avante's reluctance to reimburse me. Thank you.

( I will have to file a separate complaint about the facility and their treatment of my late husband while he was therehis falls but this will take more details I would have to gather.)

Desired Settlement
To have Avante at St. Cloud,Inc write a new check written in my name, I am the spouse of over 50 years to my late husband.) The check amount of the dentures they wrote out was $718 plus the pajamas. The refunded amount for the dentures was $718 but the value was more and the pain and suffering and time we invested was much more than that amount. I also seek the refund amount for the pair of pajamas, which was around $40.00.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Julie ******** Dir Risk M
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX x 223
Contact Email: ********@avantegroup.com
On 6/6/16 Julie Grindal, Corporate Director of Risk Management for Avante Group, Inc. left a voice mail message for Mrs. O'Reilly to return my call to discuss her concerns and reach a resolution. Avante Group, Inc. is not the management company for Avante at St. Cloud, Inc. but we are responding to the complaint as it was filed against Avante Group, Inc.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We did receive a response from a specialist in the Risk Management who identified herself as being with Avante Group. At this time, she listened as I voiced my complaint on behalf of my family and apologized to my mother and me. She said that she will then reach out to the people who are part of the complaint I filed at Avante at St. Cloud to hear their side. She also wanted to touch base with another family member of mine who also had bad encounters with Avante At St. Cloud staff in relation to my father's care and missing belongings. She promised to resolve the problem but at this time, we have not received our refund nor completion of a resolution.

Final Business Response
An agreement has been reached to the satisfaction of Ms. ********* which resolves the complaint.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I received a call last week from the contact in the risk management department (Ms. ******** of Avante Gp. and she said to expect express mail to my residence(which has to be signed in order to be handed to us). We are still awaiting the mail to arrive (today's date: 6/29/3016). Additionally, we were also advised that it would be an agreement that has to be notarized (which entails a trip to the bank-I do not drive, so I have to arrange for transportation- in order to get my reimbursement). I have not seen the details of the agreement yet as I await the documents by mail from Avante. Moreover, Avante at one point did propose that I agree to sign away my rights to fault them for "any and all" falls my husband experienced at their facility. However, I did remind them that this claim is for reimbursement for my late husband's lost property and not for any falls my husband suffered at their facility.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Assisted Living & Adult Family Homes, Nursing Homes

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.