BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1983

AAA Appliance Service, Inc.

Phone: (561) 689-8885Fax: (561) 689-9822

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
09/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AAA charged a different amount than advertised for a service call
A call was made in advance to find out what charges could be incurred. Was told a $75.00 service fee is charged but would be dropped if we accepted the estimate and repairs. No estimate was provided. The technician simply went to the washing machine and by pressing the on button reprogramed an error code and advised to use HR detergent. The call was less than 30 minutes there were no parts needed or installed. Charged $145.00 for half hour of labor and simply said was not charging the additional $75.00. I advised that was not what I had been told of the charges.

Desired Settlement
Abide by sales statement. The obvious assumption was that the minimum service charge would be $75.00 not billed at a rate of $290.00 an hour.
I called the store and was told the only thing they could do would be to credit me $20.00

Business Response
TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN, THIS PROBLEM WAS ALREADY RESOLVED WITH THE CUSTOMER. THANKS

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


04/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to provide the agreed ed upon customer service for repairs.
On 2-20 repair technician was in our home for a repair to our Samsung dryer model w02m54bq XXXXXXk. Technician informed that parts needed to be order (heat duct, belt and wheel-per invoice #XXXXXX). In addition a vent service was needed. The technician said we would receive a return call on Monday in regards to the cost of the parts and vent cleaning service. Parts were to be ordered for service on the following week 2-26. Parts were not received in time for service and we were told we would receive a return call when parts had arrived in order to schedule service. The vent service was scheduled only to find out that aaa will not service two story homes. A second company was contacted in order to provide the vent service. No return call was received when parts came in. We had to continue to call to check the status of parts. After several calls to the unfriendly phone attendant a service was scheduled which require me to take a day off of work to accommodate. The technician was scheduled to arrive around 11am on XX-XX-XX but indicated he would call when ho was on his way. The calm that was received was that the technician would not be coming as the incorrect part had been ordered. I called and spoke with the unfriendly phone operator who again informed me nothing could be done about the situation and that no one else would be able to help me. I asked to speak with a supervisor. Steve got on the line and I explained to him that I had to take time off of work for this service, we had waiting an extended amount of time for the parts to arrive and service needed to be done this weekend. Steve indicated the part was being sent via overnight service. Steve called me back on 03-06 and informed me that the parts were to be delivered Saturday morning and someone would be out on Saturday before 2pm to fix dryer. At 11am on Saturday morning we called the appliance repair service as we had not heard anything and was informed by the nasty girl that the parts were not in and no supervisor was working. She indicated our service was scheduled for Monday (never scheduled we us). In addition she hung up on us when we asked again to speak to a supervisor. We have paid for these services already up front and would now like to be refunded.

Desired Settlement
I want a full refund for services already paid $125 and compensation for time taken off work for services not provided.

Business Response
3-11-15
AFTER MUCH BACK AND FORTH, ON BOTH SIDES, WE DID REFUND THE CUSTOMERS $125.00 SERVICE CALL. UPON THE COSTUMERS REQUEST ON MONDAY (3/9/15), WE AGAIN SCHEDULED TO COMPLETE THE REPAIR ON THE DRYER. ON TUESDAY 3/10, WE COMPLETED THE SERVICE AND ALSO GAVE THE ******* A DISCOUNTED PRICE. ALL SERVICE HAS BEEN DONE AND COMPLETED. THANKS YOU

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The discount was for the fact that the parts used to repair dryer were found to be significantly lower via another seller. The inconvience of taking several days off of work was never addressed. In addition, while the statement from the repair company that the 125 refund was applied what they failed to inform was the the fee was then applied to the total bill again when service repair was finally completed.

Final Business Response
credit of $125.00 was already given, see copy of credit slip.. we also gave and additional discount of
$49.02, see copy of invoice. thanks

Final Consumer Response

12/16/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Way over charge for parts and labor
25 dollar part paid 280.00 total price
called office about price was told the first 75.00 was taken of the bill making 205.00 I think 75.00 for 5 min in my home is terrible. and 205.00 for a hours work is also terrible, I can go to a surgeon for that kind of money. I believe that they took advantage of a senior citizen in a big way

Desired Settlement
Lower price on a part that can be purchase on line for 25.00 a labor price that is a little bit more reasonable

Business Response
Since 1981 we have been providing reasonable appliance repairs across South Florida with over 100,000 satisfied customers. In this instance, we responded to the customer's residence and successfully repaired a broken refrigerator after having a part shipped to our office to complete the repair. We contacted the customer and explained that the cost of the job is estimated in-house based upon a national standard for parts and labor. Our van's GPS system indicated we spent over 2 hours on 2 separate trips to his residence. We were able to successfully settle this issue with our long time customer and look forward to servicing his household if the need should arise in the future.

03/23/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BAD SERVICE AND OVER CHARGES ME FOR SERVICE CALL.
AFTER SPEAKING WITH CARLA ABOUT DRYER REPAIR SHE QUOTED $55 SERVICE CALL, ON THE ARRIVAL THEY CHARGED $70 AND TOLD ME THEY WOULD GET BACK ASAP WITH A PART COST. i WAITED UNTIL THE FOLLOWING DAY AND CALLED THE COMPANY BACK AND THEY ADVISED HE DID NOT GET THE PRICE YET. WE HAVE CALLED MULTIPLE TIMES AND NO ANSWER MEANWHILE WE HAVE BEEN WITHOUT A DRYER WE ASKED FOR THE REFUND OF THE $15 AND NOTHING YET. bUT THEY HAD MY CREDIT CARD CHARGED BEFORE LEAVING MY HOME. NOT THE SERVICE I EXPECTED TO SAY THE LEAST. wON'T BE WAITING ANYMORE I AM CALLING A DIFFERENT COMPANY TODAY.

Desired Settlement
i WANT MY $15 REFUNDED.

Business Response
3-11-15

IN REF TO CASE#XXXXXXXX, CUSTOMER DRYER WAS FIXED ON 3-9-15 WITH A 100% SATISFACTION PER CUSTOMER. CREDIT OF $70.00 DOLLARS WAS APPLIED TO THE REPAIRS. THANKS

11/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
service man said i needed a new motop and pump for my dishwasher
i call aaa appliance to come look at my bosch dishwasher because there was water left at the bottom after the cycle was done ,repairman came on 10/23/14 he said a pumkinseed was the problem and it burnt out the motor and i need a new one the office will call on price to replace motor and pump . the repair man never took anything apart was there no more the 10 min . so that evening i thought that soundede funny a seed burn out the motor so iwent on u tube look up bosch dishwasher not pumping water out totaly they show you how to fix it by removing the screen and cleaning out the pump one srcew and i remove it to find some food oartlies in the pump clean it out and guess what the dishwasher is working geat i didnt need a new motot pump the service man was going to rip me off for something i didnt need . the next day aaa applaince call and gave me a price on a new motor and to install it was $365 .00 at that time is said ineed to speack with a supervisor i then spoke to a ****** saying he was the superivisor told him what happen and to come look for himself and bring me check back $75.00 sevice call rip off ***** say he need to speck to his repairman and would get back to that night that was friday XX-XX-XX im still waiting for his call

Desired Settlement
i want my $ 75.00 ck back for ripping me off and lieing

Business Response
ON 10-23-14 OUR TECHNICIAN WENT TO MR. DERENTIS HOME TO CHECK A BOSH DISWASHER. THE COMPLAINT WAS THAT IT WASN'T PUMPING OUT FAST ENOUGH.OUR TECH FOUND A SEED IN THE PUMP AND SHOWED IT TO MRS.DERENTIS,AS MR WAS NOT THERE. HE ADVISED HER THERE WAS A NOISE COMING FROM THE PUMP, AND HE RECOMMENDED ITS REPLACEMENT. WE DONOT ADVISE REPAIRING PARTS. WE SPOKE TO MR DERENTIS, AND MUTUALLY SETTLED THIS DISPUTE. THANKS

03/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After repeated attempts no resolution to proper. Increasingly rude service.
After repeated requests no resolution to problem. Increasingly rude service.

Desired Settlement
Refund of monies paid

Business Response
IN RESPONSE TO CLAIM# XXXXXXXX,
ON OCTOBER 19, 2013 MR. ***** CALLED FOR SERVICE ON HIS SAMSUNG REFRIGERATOR. OUR TECHNICIAN WENT OUT DIAGNOSED THE PROBLEM AND PROCEEDED TO ORDER THE PARTS BY MR. *****'S REQUEST.
BECAUSE OF THE BRAND OF THE REFRIGERATOR (SAMSUNG), IT TOOK SOME TIME TO GET THE PART.
AFTER PREVIOUSLY INSTALLING TWO DIFFECTIVE PARTS FROM THE FACTORY, FINNALLY ON
DECEMBER 12, 2013 OUR TECH RETURNED AND INSTALLED THE EVAPORATOR DUAL MOTOR ASSEMBLY.
A MONTH LATER (1-11-14) MR ***** CALLED SAYING THE REF. WAS NOT COOLING. MR. ***** WAS VERY RUDE USING PROFOUND LANGUAGE TO EVERY EMPLOYEE HE SPOKE TO, INCLUDING OUR SERVICE MANAGER, DEMANDING SAME DAY SERVICE.
AFTER 20 MIN OF THIS LANGUAGE, MY SERVICE MANAGER TOLD HIM HE WOULD TRY AND CALL ONE OF THE TECHS AND SEE IF WE CAN PROVIDE WARRANTY SERVICE ON A SATURDAY. THE MANAGER CALLED HIM BACK @ 1:05 PM TO SAY WE CAN GET A TECH OUT, BUT HE DID NOT ANSWER THE PHONE. ON MONDAY (1-13-14) THE SECRETARY CALLED MR ***** AGAIN @ 8:30 AM...MR.***** SAID "NOT A GOOD TIME I WILL CALL BACK."
AFTER MR *****'S BEHAVIOR WE ABSOLUTELY DO NOT WANT TO DO ANY KIND OF BUSINESS WITH HIM.
THANKS



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The part that they reference was defective and had to be discarded. The company has come with 3 defective parts and has wasted considerable amount of my time and patience.

Final Business Response
FEBRUARY 26, 2014

REF# XXXXXXXX

MR. ***** WITTINGLY THROUGH AWAY OUR PART KNOWING HE DID NOT INTENT TO PAY FOR IT. THEREFORE, WE CANNOT REFUND THE MONEY FOR THE PART. WE STILL NEED TO SEE THE INVOICE FROM THE OTHER COMPANY THAT ACCORDING TO HIM FIXED THE REFRIGERATOR. NO PARTS NO REFUND. THANKS

12/29/2015Problems with Product / Service
12/29/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair, Laundry Equipment, Washing Machines & Dryers - Service & Repair, Washing Machines & Dryers - Dealers, Refrigerators & Freezers - Supplies & Parts, Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair, Refrigerators & Freezers - Dealers, Microwave Ovens - Dealers, Appliances - Small - Supplies & Parts, Appliances - Small - Dealers, Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies, Appliances - Used, Appliances - Major - Dealers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.