BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Miranda Plumbing & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Phone: (772) 871-7945Fax: (772) 871-0863View Additional Phone Numbers750 NW Enterprise Drive Unit 100, Port St LucieFL 34986-2297http://www.mirandahomeservices.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Miranda Plumbing & Air Conditioning, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Miranda Plumbing & Air Conditioning, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Miranda Plumbing & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
07/28/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Work that should have taken 1.5 hours tops took the worker 3.5 hours & charged me $****** to replace 2-2.5' section of pipe & 2 elbows.
On June 1, 2015 at 2:30pm a South Martin Regional Utility employee from my local water company came to my home saying that my meter dial was spinning. He dug a pit and it filled up with water immediately. He then charged me $30.00 to turn the water off. My regular plumber was on 2 urgent calls, so I called ******* Plumbing and Air Conditioning which was the first number that populated when I googled plumbers in Hobe Sound, FL.

******* Plumbing and Air Conditioning said there is a $69.00 service charge and if they do the work it will be deducted. ******* Plumbing and Air Conditioning employee, Norbey, came out and arrived about 3:40pm and was still here when I left my residence at 7pm.

As Norbey began working he dug the hole wider and deeper and found that my water meter was pitched in a downward position and had too many elbow bends in the existing 3' pipe that had been
repaired three times before. He then quoted me a price of $******. I pleaded for a senior discount or any discounts, as that was a very high price considering I have had this repaired three times before and it never exceeded 100.00 each time. The price was then reduced it to $******. He cut away the old 3' pipe and put in 2 - 2.5' sections of pipe and 2 elbows (1 brass, 1 PVC). I provided one half of a concrete block and 1 12' x 12 which was used to brace up the meter and brace up the "L". Norbey then filled the pit back in with the dirt of which I have pictures of the before and after work.

June 3, 2015 my HOA maintenance foreman came by I explained the above and he gave an approximate charge for a repair of that nature not to exceed 150.00. Later that afternoon I spotted a licensed, insured plumbing company truck passing ** and I then explained the above and showed my pictures of the job and was given a quote of $135.00 with a 30 minute time frame for job completion.

With the information that I rec'd from 2 separate individuals in the same line of work I began calling ******* Plumbing and Air Conditioning on 6-3-15 to get my bill adjusted and the difference refunded.

6- 3-15 I called ******* Plumbing and Air Conditioning and spoke to Nicole and explained the above matter and she said she would tell ***, no one returned the call today.

On X-X-XX XX:XXam I called ******* Plumbing and Air Conditioning and spoke to Laura, who explained ***, the boss is in Miami all day today. I asked if I could speak to a manager and she said, "There was no manager." Then she said, "She was the manager of that department." I explained the above matter again and added that, Norbey took so long and wasn't in any hurry and that his boss, *** called him several times and each time he didn't talk in front of me, he went to the other side of the truck and talked. I did hear him say $******. I asked her if I was being charged by the time or job repair. She assured me they are in business 34 yrs and that I was not charged by the hour. She said she would take the message.

6-5-15 Friday 5:15pm I called ******* Plumbing and Air Conditioning again and got ***** who said she would send *** the information via email.
X-X-XX X:XXpm I called ******* Plumbing and Air Conditioning again and ****** said that *** left for the day and she would leave a message for him.
X-XX-XX No one has called me back from ******* Plumbing to date.
I am a single, female, senior citizen and the stress that this has caused me is immeasurable.

Desired Settlement
Adjustment and balance refunded.

Business Response
On June 1st at 2:45pm. Ms. **** called us out for a leak at her water meter we were already in the area and were on site at 3:40 to repair and completed at 7:21pm.
As you can listen to the recording she mentioned this has happed 3 times before our visit and that something needs to be done.
Norbey exposed the area 2'x3x2 (which took 45 min just to expose area) and found leak a 3/4 PVC 90
Found male 3/4 adapter glued to a check valve (incorrect) also had too many 90's.
We also found prior repairs (as client noted on phone call) done not to code and found out from client that this last repair was done not by a licensed plumber but by the water municipality for $135.00. We both know that it is illegal to contract without a license.
Norby explained why she's having this reoccurring problem and that he would correct this today.

Norbey Re-piped and removed the pitch and leveled with her cinder blocks. Please also note that it takes 45 min for the glue to dry properly before we can even turn water back on and confirm our work.
We do not charge by the hour-Norbey quoted UPFRONT the cost of this repair and only with her authorization (as signed for on her invoice) did we move forward with her repair.

Ms. **** has called to speak to *** and unfortunately he was overseeing a large project in Miami and has not reached her. He has left her a voice mail.
I have attached pictures, the recording of her service call and the before and after pictures of Norbey work.
I will offer a $50.00 repair discount but feel that Norbey did a great job with explaining and following all company standards.
I will not be ordered by a client to charge her the same fee as the worker who did it on the side while working for Martin County (and pocketed her money). I take offence, I am licensed and insured and will not be compared to the last guy who stole time from Martin County and who did her no service by doing it wrong.


06/02/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
called the company for an estimate for electrical work to be done tech arrived at my house and told me that there was a 69.99 service call for that he had to collect I told him I was not interested then he told me there was nothing he could do at that point I was obligated to pay.I called back the company headquarters which informed me of the same and informed me that would be taken off of any work I had performed at that point I had this rep refusing to do anything unless I paid the fee he proceeded to give me a price of the work which was much higher than other estimates the estimate I rec'd prior to him coming from another company was 240.00 he gave me an estimate of 374.00 I told him he was high he told me I could take off the 69.99 at that point I wanted him out of my house put the 69.99 on my amex and contacted amex to dispute the charges.this company on the next day advertised 49.99 off of work and use the same tactics on the phoneThis company should be stopped of misleading he public especially seniors

Desired Settlement
I want a refund and them stopped or disclosing this properly to the public!

Business Response
Please refer to attached recording of the phone call from *** 12th, which Ms. **** placed to our company "My Electrician" (not ******* Plumbing & Air Conditioning). She called off of our internet special line. This special allows us to drop service call if repairs are completed. Our internet specials change regularly it is all clearly stated upon scheduling appointments what our clients are to expect during our visit nothing is hidden.
As far as pricing goes I cannot speak of another companies prices. I can say any time you pull a dedicated circuit a permit with the municipality is required (Indian River County) and is included in our pricing. I have called Indian River County and no permit was pulled at this point.
Please see attached Proposal for work to be performed and note Ms. ****'s complaint states a mistruth on the price quoted. As you can see we quoted $355.30.

Our sales practices have no issues and request a review of these false allegations and for it to be removes with no negative reflection on My Electrician, Inc.
Thank you
**** *******
XXX-XXX-XXXX


12/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am a 71 year old woman and am being charged for services that I have requested be cancelled. I have called and emailed in attempt to cancel.
I am a 71 year old woman and am being charged for services that I have requested be cancelled. The company refuses to cancel a monthly service subscription that I have tried to cancel. I called and was told that I had to send an email. I sent an email a couple of months ago and get no response. However, the company keeps taking money from my checking account every month.

Desired Settlement
I requested cancellation two months ago. I want them to refund the charges and stop taking money from my checking account.

Business Response
Unfortunately we never received Mrs. ********'s email and she did not follow up to us with a phone call. I asked her to find the email she sent which should be dated and will list the email she sent it to but she declined to provide that. I did request a full refund along with an apology for any inconvenience this might have caused her.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Electrical Power Systems Maintenance, Auto Electric Equipment, Plumbers, Electricians

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/04/1993Business started: 12/04/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=

Port St. Lucie City Tax Collector
121 SW Port St. Lucie Blvd
Port Saint Lucie, FL 34984
(772) 871-5132
http://www.cityofpsl.com

BBB records show a license number of CFC1427227 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016. Certified Plumbing Contractor.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=5AF4E32D228630C5603317A7CF0E84DE

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CAC1815486 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2046.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=B2A65414AD3CD896105BAD10E9174696

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 2000001009 for this company, issued by Port St. Lucie City Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.cityofpsl.com. Business Tax.

Check License Status: https://www.stlucie.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/2000001009

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1991, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Don J. Miranda Jr. (President)Ms. Becky Klein (Office Manager)Mr. Micael Miranda (Vice President)Ms. Barbara Sykes (Office Administrator)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Electrical Power Systems Maintenance, Auto Electric Equipment, Plumbers, Electricians

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Miranda Plumbing & Air Conditioning, Inc.

750 NW Enterprise Drive Unit 100

Port St Lucie, FL 34986-2297

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • Miranda Sales & Service, Inc.

    750 NW Enterprise Drive Unit 100 

    Port St Lucie, FL 34986-2297(772) 878-3974
    (877) 762-7483
    (772) 871-7945

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Miranda Plumbing & Air Conditioning, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (772) 878-5123
  • (772) 878-3974
  • (877) 762-7483
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.