BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/30/2008

Kilbourne Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Phone: (561) 499-2319Fax: (561) 274-0563334 NE 3rd Avenue, Delray BeachFL 33445 Send email to Kilbourne Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/30/2008

BBB has determined that Kilbourne Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Kilbourne Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Kilbourne Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/17/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a 10 year parts warranty on a 2 yr. old a/c system. they did not cement the pvc pipe elbow and it leaked and caused my ceiling to fall down.
I received a service repair call immediately but never got a call from the owner or office manager to confirm they would pay. I have known this company for 20+ years and sent pictures, names of contractors to fix ceiling and paint same and never a contact back from the owner in 4 weeks with several emails and polite progress calls to them. Last Wednesday the office manager said she would have a call back to me - either way if warrantying or declining and the owner, **** ********* nor **** the manager ever returned a call.

Desired Settlement
I want to be refunded the drywall invoice for $700 and the painter's invoice for $600 for a total of $1,300.00

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Fern Parks
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@kilbourneac.com
October 22, 2014

***** *******
1613 Nanette Ct
Lake Worth, FL XXXXX
************@aol.com

Re: Home Damages
Installation date: August 31, 2012
Condensate leak date: September 16, 2014

Dear *****:
Based on our service technician's report, and his conversation with you, you admitted to going into your attic and stepping through the ceiling. This created more damage than the condensate leak would have caused. Per my conversation with Brad regarding the leak, it was caused by the existing condensate pipe sweating, due to water not being able to flow through the pipe like it is supposed to and due to algae build up in the line. This occurred due to the lack of routine maintenance having been performed.

You were advised on August 31, 2012 (the date of your install) to keep your maintenance agreement intact, you declined at that time. At least with our company.

********* Air Conditioning was never notified of the cost of repairs or received any proposals for the repairs before they were done. We also feel that this is not an installation problem. If it were, we would have known about it within a day or two of the installation.

********* Air Conditioning should not be held responsible for your damage. In addition, please note that on all of our invoices, in bold print, it clear states "Not responsible for damage due to water leaks." And "No warranty on water leak repairs." You signed our invoice at the time of installation.

Sincerely,

******* *********
President ********* AC

CC: BBB


Consumer Response
Thank you for contacting me regarding my complaint. I got home and had a response from the a/c company, ********* Heating & Air. They have sent the response to you per their email below . I did respond to them as shown below. After you read his response that it is not warranty and that I did not use them for service, you will understand my response. Bottom line, if he knew from day ONE that it was not what he called "warranty", why did he avoid my calls and never respond for over 30 days until your contact from the BBB? I find that puzzling. Also, the subcontractor I used for the drywall knows him from business and personal properties they neighbor so when I told him in the first email that I was going to us him and the painter, why did he not contact me then and say " I want to see the estimate or I am not paying or......I will pick the subcontractors? Seems once again, if he was sure from the beginning he was not warrantying it, why explain all his detail of the subs in the response to BBB. Sorry this experience happened to me and I will learn from it. Thank you.

***** *******


Original Message
From: ***** ******* <************@aol.com>
To: 'fern' <****@kilbourneac.com>
Sent: Wed, Oct 22, XXXX X:XX pm
Subject: RE: Home repairs

**** - Thank you for the long-awaited reply. It's a shame it took BBB to make you have the professionalism and courtesy to respond. Brad will certainly tell you it was piped badly and your tech. should not have tied-into existing (as I know it is sometimes common practice). And, as the contractor to do the install of a NEW a/c, your tech, per Brad, should have re-did the angle on the feed to the outside, he stated he would have. He also said the cement "wore off the elbow". My foot went through with a gentle touch due to the ceiling being saturated and it would have been removed due to water damage regardless. Anyhow, a bad reference goes much further than a good one and, even if you refused to honor your warranty a month ago, your delay in responding shows your lack of professionalism and ethics. Remember, what goes around comes around!!!

A copy of this is being furnished to the BBB as well!


Have a great day!

Sincerely,

***** *******
The Construction Bookkeeper

XXX-XXX-XXXX / XXX-XXX-XXXX cellular
************@aol.com

From: fern (mailto:****@kilbourneac.com)
Sent: Wednesday, October 22, XXXX XX:XX AM
To: ************@aol.com
Subject: Home repairs


*****

Attached is our response to your home repairs

BBB has been copied


****

Have a great day!


***** *******
THE CONSTRUCTION BOOKKEEPER
1613 Nanette Court
Lake Worth, FL XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX / cellular XXX-XXX-XXXX
************@aol.com

Final Business Response
see file attached


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In regards to *********'s response, first and once again, the ceiling was saturated in an approximate 4' x 4' area due to the dripping conduit elbow that was not cemented (which caused it to separate and leak). The drywall guys and anyone that knows of moisture and MOLD, will tell you that the entire wet area had to be removed to properly protect against MOLD. Second, I had maintenance with Smyth Air conditioning on a semi-annual visit. I did have the unit serviced when I turned the a/c back on in May 2014. The clog/leak occurred four months later.

I will not continue to go back and forth with ********* but I am not happy with his professional actions and how he contradicted himself with saying is was not part of warranty and then stating he was not happy that my repair work was performed without him selecting or reviewing contractors/quotes. Not to rehash the fact that he waited 5 weeks- until I contacted BBB to even have the courtesy of a reply from him or his office manager, Fern. I always thought of Mike ********* as a nice, honest person and contractor but now I know how he operates when there is a discrepancy in his work. I will discuss pursuing a legal civil process with legal council.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Duct & Duct Fittings, Heating & Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/30/2008Business started: 08/20/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL 33402-3715
(561) 355-2264
http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=

BBB records show a license number of 200523054 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.co.palm-beach.fl.us.

Check License Status: http://taxcollectorpbc.manatron.com/Tabs/BusinessTax/AccountDetail.aspx?p=200523054&a=1750939

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of CAC043934 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=80FB83070150FF56613C8CDE0AB6AE58

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Kilbourne (President)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Duct & Duct Fittings, Heating & Air Conditioning

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Kilbourne Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc.

334 NE 3rd Avenue

Delray Beach, FL 33445

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 334 NE 3rd Avenue 

    Delray Beach, FL 33445(561) 499-2319

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kilbourne Heating & Air Conditioning, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.