BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/31/2009

Engineered Air LLC

Phone: (954) 449-1600Fax: (954) 973-1883

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
09/09/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contract terms were 10 years warranty on parts; company claims that is not so despite plain written contract.
on 7/14/09, I purchased a **** air conditioning system from engineered air llc, for a cost of $7, 229.00, which after then applicable tax credits came to $5,129.00. The contract specified warranty as follows: Warranty period/years: Compressor 10; Cond. Coil 10; Parts 10; Labor 2. On July 17, 2009, I sent registration of sale to Lennox Redemption Center, **** box ***** **** ******* Mn XXXXX, per certified mail receipt XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX XXXX.
Commencing 6/28/14, Engineered air, has visited the premises five (5) times to remedy the problems with the system; Now 8/21/2014 they want an extra $1,000 in addition to the approx. $1,000 they have charged me so far because they claim there is no warranty on the parts.

Desired Settlement
I want them to keep their word and replace the defective part under warranty as in the contract.

Business Response
We have completed repairs on this ****** system today. Although the equipment was not registered with ****** to extend the warranty coverage on parts for 10 years, we have honored what we presented on our written contract from 2009. We appreciate our customers position in this manner and will continue to provide the service they expect.

10/15/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
House less than a year old. AC does not work properly.
We closed on the house on June 2014, since then we noticed that the AC does not work properly.

It does not cool the entire house sufficiently and when it does cool the house, it does so unevenly.

During the summer months AC would work 24/7 and never reach the desired temperature of 74.

Downstairs is way cooler than upstairs (2 story Home).

Between the 3 rooms upstairs, one gets cooled properly, one gets way too cold and the Master Bedroom gets way too hot.

Had their technician come to the home about 2 months ago and all he did is sell us some filters and made all kinds of excuses on why the AC was not working properly. Put the blame on everything but the **** unit they installed in our house.

Desired Settlement
Need to get the AC unit replaced with one that has enough capacity and works properly. Might have to get the duct work checked as well.

Business Response
The air conditioner at this property was started up into operation on May 15, 2014.
On September 8, 2014 we received a call for the AC not cooling in the master bedroom. This service call was scheduled between 12-4 pm. Technician arrived at 1:45 pm. Temperature in the master bedroom at 1:45 pm was 74 degrees which was noted on our work order and signed by the customer. Technician did find a dirty filter and advised customer. Customer purchased filters and we delivered them on September 10, 2014.
There were no other service requests to this address until December 3, 2014. Complaint was the AC in the master bedroom not cooling properly. Appointment was scheduled between 12-4 pm, technician arrived earlier than the scheduled time frame at 11:30 as he was in the area but no one answered the door. We called the customer at the phone number supplied to us. Customer stated the call was scheduled between 2-5 pm, we do not offer that window. We advised that the technician needed to be out of the area by 1:00 pm for other scheduled calls. We offered to reschedule but the customer became very irate and hung up. We have contacted the builder handling this new property. No further service requests have been scheduled or completed as of this date.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The Master Bedroom is way hotter than the rest of the house. Everything the technician cited as possible cause was corrected and the problem still persists. No one became irate and even if that was true, it would've been with cause due to your atrocious customer service reps.

Final Business Response
It should be noted that we presently have no direct contractual relationship with the customer. We provided air conditioning to this home under a contract with the builder. As stated previously, we have contacted the builder and await their response.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Famous run around. You blame the builder, the builder blames you. I will tell you what they told me. Regardless of who you are contracted with, YOU are the ones that are going to have to fix the AC.

Sure I can sue the builder, but then in turn they will sue you and they will claim, as they have been claiming, that this is YOUR RESPONSIBILITY.

You are responsible for the warranty service for the AC unit so stop flinging blame around and do what, as you so eloquently put, you are contractually obligated to do, which is to FIX THE PROBLEM.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Duct & Duct Fittings, Heating & Air Conditioning

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.