BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Air On Demand, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (305) 259-5669Fax: (305) 235-0344View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 973085, MiamiFL 33197-3085View Additional Email Addresseshttp://www.airondemandinc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Air On Demand, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Air On Demand, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

16 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Air On Demand, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 16
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 16 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
05/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company refuses to honor a service contract to repair our air conditioner. Company also refuses to reimburse us $778 we just paid to renew contract.
We have two service contracts with Air on Demand to maintain our air conditioners at our home and a rental property. We just renewed our home contract for $778. Routine maintainance was just done on the rental unit AC a few days ago. The unit is a Trane that this company installed, it is just 4 years old. Today, 4/14/16, the AC stopped working. This is the second or third time the AC has stopped working right after their tech did maintainance. I complained to someone named ******* who said she was the owner. She became irate at my complaint. I told her we would decide whether or not to renew the contract at the rental unit since we were unhappy with the service. She then told her technician to leave the unit without doing the repair, even thought the company is obliged by contract to do it. We then told her to refund us the $778 for the contract on our home that we had just renewed. She refused to either refund the money or do the work.

Desired Settlement
We want Air on Demand to refund us the $778 for the contract we had just renewed on our home since they are refusing to honor the other contract. We want an additional refund of the fee we had paid for the months left on the contract on the AC maintainance at our rental unit.

Business Response
On April 14th during a visit to this home owner's rental property our service technician made a recommendation for repair work. The homeowner's husband gave verbal approval to our technician to make the repairs.

Shortly after she called our offices to discuss the work and during the conversation she made the accusation that our technician was incorrect in his diagnosis and that he caused the problem.

we suggested if she had doubts in our technician and/or company that maybe she should get a second opinion. We pride ourselves in doing the right thing for our clients and not selling a repair that is not necessary. Which is why we made the suggestion of a second opinion for her own peace of mind.

At that point she became belligerent with me on the phone demanding that we make the repairs based on our "contract". I tried to explain that our "contract" is a maintenance program which covers routine maintenance on the a/c equipment twice per calendar year and we had already met that obligation through maintenance visits completed on 6/29/2015 and 4/6/2016. By being a member of the maintenance program she is also entitled to discounts on repairs, which we were honoring with this recommended repair.

She continued to be belligerent making threats to post bad reviews and call her lawyers because we were not honoring her contract. Not seeming to fully understand that she has does not have a "contract" that covers repairs.

At that point I offered to refund her the costs of the maintenance plans she had recently renewed at her personal home. Which has already been done, a copy of the letter and check are attached for your records.

We have been providing exceptional customer service to this homeowner for many years and see this event as an unfortunate case of misunderstanding.

08/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dishonest service man. Unapologetic owner.
My AC stopped blowing cold air. I called first company that could come out right a way. Service tech arrived in about an hour or so but it was raining. I suggested he come back but he said he would wait in his truck. After 15 to 20 minutes he knocked on the door. Took a picture of the inside unit then when out side but it was still lightly raining. I got us some umbrella's. He said he would put some coolant in but when he tried he said, "It's leaking right out and he would have to come back tomorrow morning." The next day he put in the coolant and die so that he could find the leak. I asked him why he could put in the coolant today but not yesterday and he said, " I was dealing with the elements and could not do the work then." I said. "What about the leak? you said it was leaking right out and now it's not. He then just repeated his statement about the elements. I had to pay $400.00 for his time the coolant and die. I had to call ****** at the office to schedule an appointment for the following week. When he returned he told me all that he had found and that it would be $1,600.00 to fix. I told him that I was going to have to have someone else look at it as I had just purchased the whole new system in 2009. I called Harper's Inc. and they found nothing wrong with the system except that it had been over charged. ********* tech said, " their man was either dishonest or didn't know what he was doing." The owner only wanted to read me notes that his guy wrote. Didn't seem to care that his man was trying to take money when nothing was wrong. Harper explained that the system was tripped by a power surge. I just don't want to see other's ripped off by this dishonest company.

Desired Settlement
I'd like my $400.00 back and maybe more if the overcharge damages my system.

Business Response
With regards to the complaint, when we first went to the customer's home we were unable to complete work due to the weather for safety reasons we can not have a technician working outside on a/c equipment when it is raining and lightning. We returned the following day when the weather was better.

Our technician did his diagnosis and found the a/c equipment low on refrigerant and following industry standards performed the necessary dye test to determine where the leak was.

During the follow up appointment our technician found where the refrigerant was leaking out and made recommendations for the repair and Mr. ********* was quoted $498.00 for the work to be completed. He said he would let us know if he wanted to do complete the recommended repairs.


A few days later he called our office stating that he had another company to his home and that they made a different diagnosis. We asked if we could review their diagnosis however he did not want to provide their reports to us for review.

We stand behind our technician and his findings and don't feel he missed diagnosed the problem.

We do strive for 100% customer satisfaction and based on that have already issued a courtesy refund to Mr. ********* for the original $400 he was charged.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/07/2004Business started: 10/23/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation
1940 N Monroe St
Tallahassee, FL 32399-6506
(850) 487-1395
https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=

Miami-Dade Tax Collector
140 W Flagler Street, 1st Flr
Miami, FL 33130
(305) 375-5452
http://www.miamidade.gov

BBB records show a license number of CAC1813404 for this company, issued by Florida Dept of Business & Professional Regulation. Their web address is https://www.myfloridalicense.com/wl11.asp?mode=0&SID=. The expiration date of this license is 08/31/2016.

Check License Status: https://www.myfloridalicense.com/LicenseDetail.asp?SID=&id=35BA240E50A043EEC1641A5E3A1C4B77

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 5150404 for this company, issued by Miami-Dade Tax Collector. Their web address is http://www.miamidade.gov.

Check License Status: https://www.miamidade.county-taxes.com/public/business tax/accounts/4932951

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2002, FL

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Shannon Blaylock (President)
Business Category

Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 10682 SW 186th St 

    Miami, FL 33157-6720(786) 573-8616

  • PO Box 973085 

    Miami, FL 33197-3085(305) 256-9126
    (305) 259-5661
    (305) 259-5669

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Air On Demand, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (305) 256-9126
  • (305) 259-5661
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.