BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/04/2013

Dataman Group, Inc.

Phone: (561) 451-9302Fax: (561) 451-1355View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 970123, Boca RatonFL 33497-0123

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/04/2013

BBB has determined that Dataman Group, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dataman Group, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Dataman Group, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
02/16/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I did NOT receive the quality Home owner leads I was promised by "*****" from Dataman Group.
I spoke with ******** Numerous times and he supposedly had been there for 20+ years. He's probably one of the founders or was just lying to get me to purchase the leads. I spent 5 days testing his leads and found many people to have already bought the product I was trying to sell. They were recently locked in to a contract as well. I've bought many lists targeting homeowners in the past. These leads had clearly been sold before for the same product. I was promised otherwise. Many of these people did NOT speak English which I specified was a big deal as well, since no ONE in my company speaks Spanish. *** into many renters, which does my company no good (also specified with Dave).WILL NOT USE AGAIN because of the misrepresentation/quality of leads.

Desired Settlement
ALL SALES ARE FINAL. I'm sure this business practices that. I understand a few leads here or there NOT being of quality but the overwhelming amount was astonishing enough for me to write my first bad review on a company. I have no further plans of working with this company because the guarantees I was given and did NOT receive.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****
Dave Tanenblatt from our office (who has been with Dataman Group for 25 years - his bio is on our website) spoke with ***** ****** on 1/22. Mr. ****** called our office requesting a list of 10,000 telephone numbers of New Homeowners in his area.

Dave explained that the New Homeowner list could never generate those numbers. He suggested a list of Homeowners in single family homes with children, which is the type of criteria that many security systems companies use in their telemarketing efforts.

Dave explained very clearly that our lists were compiled data and not Leads of any sort. We are also very clear that these lists (which are pretty inexpensive) are not exclusive in any way. We have no way of knowing who has already contracted for a security alarm company, although the fact that many people have suggests that the criteria of the prospect list was spot on.

There was never a mention of ethnicity or a request to omit non-English speaking households from the list. If there had been we would have explained that there is an additional cost for that type of data overlay and the list would never had been sold at the price it was.

Mr. ****** emailed a list of zip codes to Dave, who then emailed back a breakdown of the counts, by zip-code to Mr. ******. Mr. ****** called back and ordered on 1/23. The list was provided to him, in excel format, as requested on 1/23.

No further discussions. No complaints. No requests for additional names.

Total order was for 10,749 records at a cost of $537.45.

In our business, word of mouth referrals are key. We want satisfied customers. We stand by our product and pride ourselves on our customer service. Nowhere on our website do we have the expression "all sales are final". You can see that if you go to the FAQs page on our website:

We would be more than happy to speak with Mr. ****** regarding his concerns and provide replacement data. His success is our success.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Advertising Agencies & Counselors, Marketing Consultants, Telemarketing Services, Soliciting Organizations, Advertising - Direct Mail, Advertising - Outdoor

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/23/1988Business started: 01/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Palm Beach Tax Collector
PO Box 3715 301 N. Oliver Ave, 3rd Flr
West Palm Beach, FL 33402-3715
(561) 355-2264

BBB records show a license number of 199114530 for this company, issued by Palm Beach Tax Collector. Their web address is

Check License Status:

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: April 1985, FL

Contact Information
Principal: MRS. Dale Filhaber (President)
Business Category

Advertising Agencies & Counselors, Marketing Consultants, Telemarketing Services, Soliciting Organizations, Advertising - Direct Mail, Advertising - Outdoor


1 Locations

  • PO Box 970123 

    Boca Raton, FL 33497-0123

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Southeast Florida and the Caribbean. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dataman Group, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 771-3282

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Advertising Agencies & Counselors


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.