BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/26/2005

Blackburn Basement Systems

(800) 392-3389PO Box 367, MillerSD 57362-0367

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/26/2005

BBB has determined that Blackburn Basement Systems meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Blackburn Basement Systems' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Blackburn Basement Systems

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Did not performed work as agreed
We had Blackburn install the triple safe sump pump to prevent water damage to our basement in the case of heavy rains or power failure. The pump itself is great. In addition to the pump they were to install two discharge lines going to the opposite side of the house of the existing discharge line, bury the discharge line, and then connect it to the storm sewer in the rear of our lot.

We got a bid from them in ****, but did not have the work done. We decided in **** to have them come out and bid again because we were ready to have this installed. They said they still have the bid, they will just come out and do the work. We confirmed over the phone again what we would like. I called three days before to confirm if anything was needed from us. They asked that we clear the work area which we did.

On ******** they came and installed the pump. The workers were courteous and professional. I went over what I expected as it had been over a year since they came out and bid. The workers agreed. I was home for the entire install. I left them alone and told them to come talk to me if they had questions, needed anything, and periodically checked in with them. It was a full day of work and they left around 4:30. They showed me how the pump worked (unfortunately I didn't notice the single discharge line at that time) and said they had it connected to the sewer like agreed. I wrote a check for the full amount. I made the mistake of not doing a final walk through of the entire job with them here.

5 minutes after leaving, I noticed there was only one discharge line. I left a message immediately when I noticed and requested they call me back on Monday as it was nearly 5:00 on Friday. They called Monday morning and said because there was outside obstruction they could only do one. Keep in mind, I was present the entire time and never once did any of the workers mention that. After examining with my neighbor, we noticed they did not hook it up to the sewer like agreed. They hooked it up to a pipe that marks where the sewer line is, but does not do anywhere, which is going to create a huge marsh in the back of our lot and my neighbors' lots. Also, I already had one discharge line in place. If they knew they couldn't do a second one. There was no need for them to install a new one, but of course they still did and charged me for two.

I tried to correct the situation with ****** ********* the service manager. This is also who I called three days prior to make sure I didn't need to any prep work. He has turned the blame back on me for not watching his guys while they were here, not insisting on a final walkthrough on the entire job, and not 'doing my homework'. He is offering $*** back for the second line they did not install. He suggested hiring a third party to correct the mistake his guys made connecting to the sewer line, of course at my expense.

They are planning on sending someone out to look at the discharge line to see if a second one can be added as this was a major selling point for us going with Blackburn. ***** ******, the sales rep, made a huge deal out of the importance of this. They are trying to tell me that it isn't that important, eventhough I have a sales brouche they give out highlighting the importance of this feature. Again, I was home during this entire process and no one ever mentioned that a second line could not be installed. They are not offering to do anything about the sewer line.

Desired Settlement
Complete the job as promised. Add the second discharge line and connect the line to the storm sewer.

Business Response
Our installer was unable to install the second discharge line because there were obstacles in the way that were unforeseen at the time of the estimate. The amount of $*** is to be refunded, which includes roughly $** in materials and $** (1 hour) in labor. I feel the $*** should be more than sufficient. We are making a second trip back to search for any possible options we might have to install the second discharge line. This appointment was made long before I received this complaint. Discharging the line into the sewer was never on the contract, nor should it ever be attempted without permission from the city. This permission is rarely granted. We refuse to do this and we did not charge the customer to do this. We also may not be able to install the second discharge line so ultimate satisfaction for this customer may not be possible to achieve.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Waterproofing Contractors, Basement Waterproofing, Foundation Contractors, Basement - Contractors

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/11/2004Business started: 01/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1992, MN

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Breland (President)Mr. Steve Breland (Vice President) Kristin Johnson (Office Manager)
Business Category

Waterproofing Contractors, Basement Waterproofing, Foundation Contractors, Basement - Contractors

Products & Services

This company provides basement waterproofing, wall straightening and footing repairs.

Alternate Business Names
Blackburn Basement Repair, Blackburn Construction & Basement Repair

1 Locations

  • PO Box 367 

    Miller, SD 57362-0367(800) 392-3389

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Blackburn Basement Systems is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Waterproofing Contractors


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.