BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/11/2010

Bur-Mar Shoes

(605) 225-0620View Additional Phone Numbers3315 6th Ave SE # 49, AberdeenSD 57401-5543



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/11/2010

BBB has determined that Bur-Mar Shoes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bur-Mar Shoes' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bur-Mar Shoes

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
03/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order #*****, placed on *******, was neither fulfilled nor refunded, though I was charged immediately. Told refund would be here two weeks ago
Order #*****, placed on *******, was neither fulfilled nor refunded, though I was charged immediately. on ******, I was promised my order would be shipped, which never took place. I was ignored by the company when I questioned them. I contacted Bur Mars on *******, three years later, and was told a refund check would go out over the weekend. I heard and saw nothing, so I emailed them again and was told a check was written and sent out ****** to my address. I have yet to receive this, and now am being ignored again by the company in regards to the status of my refund. I want my money back from these ******. The following is my email exchange with them:
No response??

Sent from my ******

On ************, at 4:56 PM, ******** <***********************> wrote:

Hi, I hate to be a pest, but I still have not received the check, and it's been two weeks. I find it odd that it would take that long to get to me in the mail. Any ideas?

Thanks,
**********

Sent from my ******

On ***********, at 9:07 AM, Online Sales @ Bur-Mar's <*********************> wrote:

Good Morning *****, this indeed did go out for you. Wrote this over the
weekend and went in the mail Monday night.
Please give it a week as things have to go to sorting centers first in ************** and then move thru the chain from there.

Bur-mars Sales Team

-----Original Message-----
From: ******** mailto:***********************
Sent: Friday, ***************** 9:54 PM
To: Online Sales @ Bur-Mar's
Subject: Re: Order #*****

Hello. Wondering if the check indeed went out last weekend; I haven't seen
it come in the mail yet.

Thanks,

**********

Sent from my ******

On ************, at 10:02 AM, Online Sales @ Bur-Mar's
<*********************> wrote:



-----Original Message-----
From: Online Sales @ Bur-Mar's mailto:*********************
Sent: Friday, **************** 10:58 AM
To: '********'
Subject: RE: Order #*****

*****, Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. I am sure
this fell thru the system with changes in personel.
Again, our apologizes.

This check will go out over the weekend to address below.

Bur-Mars Sales Team

-----Original Message-----
From: ******** mailto:***********************
Sent: Friday, **************** 10:53 AM
To: Online Sales @ Bur-Mar's
Subject: Re: Order #*****

Yes, a refund check is acceptable. Please address it to:

**********
***************
******************

Thank you

Sent from my ******

On ************, at 9:50 AM, Online Sales @ Bur-Mar's
<*********************> wrote:

*****, I am just reading this and not sure what happened. After
this long we can not refund back to a credit card as this information
is purged after this long.

Would it be okay to send a refund by check to you?
What address would be a correct address?

Our staff has changed in this time period-so all I can do is
apologize for this error.

Bur-mars Sales Team

-----Original Message-----
From: ******** mailto:***********************
Sent: Friday, **************** 10:47 AM
To: Online Sales @ Bur-Mar's
Subject: Re: Order #*****

So, how about my refund? Does over two years later work for you, or
do you guys do this to all your customers? Never did receive the
shoes or my money back.

Sent from my ******

On ************, at 6:37 AM, ********** <***********************> wrote:

Hello-

I still have not received my order. If this hasn't even shipped
yet, I
would like to see what I can do about getting a refund. I ordered
this weeks ago and have received no status updates at all except the
one from
****** and I had to ask to get that. Please let me know what's going on.

Thank you,
**********

Sent from my ******

On May 9, 2012, at 10:03 AM, "Online Sales @ Bur-Mar's"
<*********************> wrote:

Hi *****, Watch for this to arrive for you next week. We
apologize we were out of the size but have this shipping this week for
you.

Yours Shoely,


The Online Sales Team
www.burmarshoes.com
http://*******.com/burm

Desired Settlement
I want the total amount of my purchase refunded immediately via certified check, or I will contact legal counsel

Business Response
We have sent a check to the customer via usps. Please see return information. We apologize that a refund was not issued before this and feel terrible that we missed issuing the return more promptly.



Label Number:
**********************

Terms info icon
Acceptance Cutoff: ********** 4:30 PM
Acceptance Time: ********** 4:48 PM
Scheduled Date: ********** 12:00 AM
Delivery Status: Departed USPS Facility
********** 00:00:00.0
Label Actions info icon
USPS TrackingShip AgainRequest A Refund
Need help
File an insurance claim
Return Address:
*************
BUR-MARS SHOES
**********************
***********************
*********************
Delivery Address:
***** ****
*************
***********************
Package:
Ship Date: ********
From: *****
Service:
Priority Mail(r) 3-Day
Flat Rate Envelope
USPS TrackingTM


05/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Returned ***** for a pair of ****** in late *** or early *** and have never received my ******* or a refund.
I bought the ***** at store and paid cash either end of *** or early ***. I decided they were to wide and was told I could send them back and exchange for some *******. I sent the receipt with them. I emailed her as to why I had not received them and on ****** she responded and said I would have them next week. I again emailed her and she responded on ****** and said they were delayed because if weather but I would have them shortly. I again emailed her and she responded on ******* and said they are due in next week and not before and on ******* I received another email saying next week. I stopped in the store mid ***** and she said next week. I do have the emails from her if you want me to email them to you.

Desired Settlement
I didn't mention they were a ***************** which I paid $******. All I ask is a refund.

11/26/2012Delivery Issues
10/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
10/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
05/27/2014Delivery Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Shoes - Retail, Handbags, Childrens & Infants Wear - Retail, Womens Apparel - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/03/2009Business started: 09/09/1979
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kathy Dosch (Owner/Manager)Mr. Allen Kulm (Owner)Mrs. Verna Kulm (Owner)
Business Category

Shoes - Retail, Handbags, Childrens & Infants Wear - Retail, Womens Apparel - Retail

Products & Services

This company provides a retail and online sales of shoes and boots for women, men and children. They also offer sales of women's and men's clothing, socks, handbags, accessories and gifts.

Alternate Business Names
Bur-Mar's Clothing, Shoes and Accessories

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bur-Mar Shoes

3315 6th Ave SE # 49

Aberdeen, SD 57401-5543

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3315 6th Ave SE # 49 

    Aberdeen, SD 57401-5543(605) 225-0620
    (888) 594-4139

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bur-Mar Shoes is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 594-4139
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Shoes - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.