BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/15/2004

Comfort King of Sioux Falls, Inc.

(605) 371-4540View Additional Phone Numbers4701 W Empire Pl, Sioux FallsSD 57106-6528



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/15/2004

BBB has determined that Comfort King of Sioux Falls, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Comfort King of Sioux Falls, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Comfort King of Sioux Falls, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
12/09/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Didn't disclose full information about financing through **********.
I was told that they would be filling something out to see if I was "pre-approved" for financing. The sales rep was then pushing me to sign. I refused to sign the contract and left. (this was on *******) Then I received an email from ********** on ******* about my account now being open. I called ** and cancelled this right away on *******. I will be following up with the credit bureau to ensure that this doesn't get reported on my credit score also.

Desired Settlement
To make sure that this doesn't affect my credit score since they didn't disclose the full truth. If not that then damages compensation, and assurance that this sales rep will no longer be employed there to make sure other people do not suffer as I have.

Business Response
What a giant waste of time.
This person wanted to find out if she qualified for financing to purchase a bed from us. She willingly filled out an online Credit Application through **********, then left the store without finalizing the purchase.
Any consumer who is not aware of the fact that when you fill out a CREDIT APPLICATION, you are in some way putting yourself in the System, well, needs to learn that particular lesson. Also, simply applying for credit through ********** does not significantly affect one's credit score.
And so, I am compelled, by the ever-vigilant BBB, to reply to this ridiculous complaint, in which this person is demanding that I terminate the employment of the employee, who has worked for this company for over 5 years in exemplary fashion. All because we spent our time trying to help her buy a new mattress, which she never did.
In Retail, we have to put up with a massive amount of whining from people who simply refuse to take responsibility for their OWN ACTIONS.; and this is merely one more shining example.
We will NOT be firing the employee who had the misfortune of trying to help this young lady.
I am unsure of exactly what the purpose of this complaint is, exactly. I did leave her a voicemail after receiving this in the mail, but of course she never returned the call, to my PERSONAL CELL #, because it is so much easier to try to indiscriminately damage a business' reputation by filling out an online complaint, even though the complaint itself is essentially pointless whining.
****** ****, I will be reporting YOU to the Better Customer Bureau.

08/20/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mattress did not meet expectations compared to floor model. Mattress is not at all what we paid for.
My husband and I purchased a mattress from comfort king in *************** in ************* for $*******. When selecting a mattress we were told the mattress we selected was the best and softest one they had. We were looking for a good mattress as we both have back problems. We gave the mattress the 30 day break in period and we were very unsatisfied with how we were sleeping and feeling in the morning. They then gave us some convoluted foam to place on top of the mattress. We then gave it another 30 days and were still not happy with it. They gave us suggestions as to how to rearrange the stuffing inside the mattress ourselves. We were still not happy with it. I went in there beginning of ***** and spoke with the floor manager about what we needed to do to get this mattress to feel like the floor model we laid on. He told me I was pretty much stuck with what we had unless I wanted to put more money into an already $******* mattress or he even offered to help me select a different mattress from the store. I sent my husband in the next day and he set up a time for them to come out to the house and adjust it. We left them a key to get into the house, as we both work during the day and cannot take time off, we had to kennel our dogs all day and they didn't even show up at all that day. They called the next day and asked if they could get into the house. My husband had to leave work because we don't like to leave a key outside the house. The manager on the phone said they were busy and acted like he didn't think we needed them to come out at all. I feel like we received poor customer service especially from the floor manager. He acted very annoyed with our complaints and did nothing to help us. I thought they had a lifetime comfort guarantee but this has not came through for us. This is the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever slept on and am not able to sleep on it anymore. After less than 6 months and spending over $******* for a new mattress that we thought would be good for our backs we are now looking at replacing it. We have given them several opportunities to make this mattress right by us and they have failed. We are very disappointed with this company and would like this mattress out of our house, and our money refunded!

Desired Settlement
We would like this mattress removed from our home and a total refund of $*******.

Business Response
This is a COMFORT issue. The customer received exactly the same style of mattress that they ordered in our showroom. We know this because we manufacture the mattresses on-site. The customer knows this because their mattress has a zipper, which gives them access to the inside of the mattress, so they can verify that all the correct materials are inside. There is Absolutely no way that they received a different mattress than what they picked out in the showroom.
We have already performed two comfort adjustments to their mattress for which they paid $*****, but which cost us over $*** in Labor and materials.
We will continue to work with customer to adjust the comfort of the mattress. However, comfort is relative, and purely a matter of opinion.
Our Comfort Guarantee EXPLICITLY STATES that there is no "Return Option". This is due to the nature of a mattress: Bedbugs, skin cells, dustmites, bodily fluids, odors, ect.
Their mattress is not defective in any way, and the customer makes no claim to that effect.
We will attempt to contact customer to resolve this issue without charging them any additional money.
Happy Customers are our goal.
Always has been.
Always will be.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are well aware there is a zipper on the mattress as we have had to take it apart several times. What about our labor? In our opinion if you spend good money thinking you're getting the best, you shouldn't have to take it apart yourselves after only 30 days of sleeping on it. I still do no believe the comfort level is the same as the one we laid on in the store. I do not want to continue working with this company because of how we have been treated. What about not showing up to adjust our mattress on the scheduled date? Good customer service? The rudeness of the floor manager? Also good customer service. Why would we want to return? We have been in the store several times and have received little help with our issue why would this time be any different? Because we complained to the right people? The help they offered was either fixing it ourselves, living with it, putting more money into and already expensive mattress, or buying a new one. We are tired of living in pain and would like it resolved and we do not believe the service at comfort king will be able to provide us with that.

07/23/2014Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mattresses, Pillows, Bedding

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/13/2004Business started: 01/01/1994
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 1995, IA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Larsen (President)
Business Category

Mattresses, Pillows, Bedding

Products & Services

This company sells mattresses, frames, headboards, bedding, sheets, pillows and mattress pads.

BBB Program Participation
Comfort King of Sioux Falls, Inc. participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Comfort King of Sioux Falls, Inc.

4701 W Empire Pl

Sioux Falls, SD 57106-6528

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4701 W Empire Pl 

    Sioux Falls, SD 57106-6528(605) 371-4540
    (888) 897-5337

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Comfort King of Sioux Falls, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 897-5337
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Mattresses

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.