BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Western Sky Financial, LLC

Phone: (605) 865-3311 (Disconnected)

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

141 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 51 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues17
Billing / Collection Issues61
Problems with Product / Service63
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints141

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (141)BBB Closure Definitions
06/11/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/11/2013Billing / Collection Issues
06/10/2013Billing / Collection Issues
06/10/2013Billing / Collection Issues
05/28/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3
09/16/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues
08/12/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/12/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/12/2013Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2
08/12/2013Billing / Collection Issues
05/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: I paid this loan off in full and they have not sent me a letter stating that.
I took out a loan with this company.I had to close my account at the bank because I had some fraudulent charges. A couple of months later they started the collections and I made arrangements with them and the collections agency that collected for western sky was saying the name of the original lender was ********* which in ***** they do no have a license to lend.But knowing I owed the debt any I made arrangements and paid it in full.When my final payment cleared I called the collection agency to get a paid in full letter and to this day I'm still waiting.These payday companies are good at selling your info after you have paid them off so they can try to collect again for the same debt.I know for a fact this debt was paid and now I call the number to the collection agency I paid off and guess what DISCONNECTED.what a surprise.All I have is my statement that shows I was making payments but ********/western sky should know the debt is paid.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

04/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: I have a 6 or 7 year loan i believe. So extensive that even after paying 3 years on this loan my interest is so outrageous i wont eve be half way paid
I have been making my payments as usual but the balance is not moving. And i am making a large monthly payment of $****** and a $****** loan wont be paid after 5 years. I need this interest rate to lower or something. This is ridiculous. I can continue the loan only if I have a lower rate the payment is higher than my mortgage and my balance on that is dropping faster than this loan

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

04/03/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Predatory Lender-Provided loan and then sold it to ********* has been electronically withdrawing $*** from my bank acct monthly.
************ through present this company electrobnically withdraws $*** from my account for a loan that was $****.

These lenders do not tell you about the high interest or the fact you are never able to repay the loan. It increases instead of decreases as a result of payment.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

02/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose key conditions of the offer

Complaint: Predatory lending and extreme high interest loan No disclosure of Upfront fee and paying the amount back twice.
**************** applied for Western Sky Finaancial Loan after two employment layoff and the household income suffering. Resorted to loan after seeing commercial and monthly installments versus every payday. I applied for $**** and guaranteed deposit in my account the next day after approval. After reviewing the payments and signing documents I was relieved. The next day I saw a deposit of $******* into my bank acount, not $****. I called and the representaive explained the $*** is the loan fee paid out of the proceeds upfront. Then I learned my balance is still $****. I paid ***** on ********, then ****** each month thereafter for 7 straight months. Then to pay the full account off I paid *******. The interest to date of payoff in *********** was over 200%.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

02/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: I obtained a loan 3 years ago, according to your website I've paid ** dollars towards the principal. You have made a killing, you have made ******.
I'm stopping payment with my bank and you will not be able to deduct payments any longer. If you try to bully me or threaten me with collections I will refer to my attorney ******* ******** located in ***********. I have made more than enough payments to pay the loan back. This is a crime.

Complaint Resolution: Company failed to respond to BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

Page 1 of 23
06/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: My complaint is about me trying to get this loan paid off and all the money they are charging and if it is not there today ******** then they tack on
********* I went to the credit Union to try to get this thing paid off. Now the payday loan or whatever it is called was taken out in **********. The credit union explained the Interest Rate and things. The loan amount is $*******. Now I called ********** to get a pay off amount. They said that the pay off is $********. Now one person said if it was overnighted then that would be the amount. Then the second time that I called some rep and a supervisor changed everything. They said that the amount of $******** is on for today. I told them the bank was overnighting the payment and they said no that would not secure the account that ******% interest will be charged tomorrow and I will owe more money until they receive. The credit union ****** the check to them. I had no idea that the payoff would be so much for a ******* loan and it is being paid early. That said that even if I gave them the information off the bank check it does not matter I will still be charged. They also said that someone may not be there to get the overnight package and I will still be charged. I told them that they are a rip off and I am not suppose to be penalized for paying off early. The credit union tried working with me but they do not do electronic transfers. These people wanted me to give them a check but the money was not in my account I wanted the credit union to give the check directly. I do not know how much more I will be charged all I know it is not fair. These people will not try to work with me at all.
The Loan ID: ********. The last time I called is a supervisor and another rep I was talking to that would not help.
They said to send the check to ****************.
**************************************** ****************.They have been taking money out of my account every month since *****************. The first amount was $******. In **************** the amount was $****** each month. The phone number I called is **************. The payment were taken out of my checking account each month.

Complaint Resolution: Company is out of business.

06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Invalid or false contract

Complaint: Took a loan from Western Sky which turned out to be a business not licensed in the State of ******* to lend money.
Took a loan from Western Sky which turned out to be a business not licensed in the State of ******* to lend money.******** Approved for a $******* loan but only received a deposit of $******* from Western Sky as they kept $****** for some fee. As of ******* I have paid a total of $*******. Update: On *******, ********* is now reporting this fraudulent loan to Equifax which is affecting my credit rating. I have attached documents which show interest and fees paid. Account #*******

Complaint Resolution: Company is out of business.

06/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Repaid loan in full, but turned over to collections after more than a year of zero balance No contact prior to a letter claimming $**** was still owed
I took out a loan for $****. After making one payment of $***, I included this account in a consolidation loan with *********************. I made six payments to them befor I was notified that this company was no longer in business. I contacted Western Sky and resumed payment with them. Now they claim I only made the first payment.

Complaint Resolution: Company is out of business.

06/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues
06/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Loans

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.