BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/25/2004

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/25/2004

BBB has determined that American Memorial Life Insurance Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised American Memorial Life Insurance Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service14
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 18

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)BBB Closure Definitions
06/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I made payment for 4 year and then I stop getting invoices from the ins. co. and then my mother pas away and I was told that my ins had laps








Policy # ********
I paid $******* and I had only 8 months on the policy, then I stop getting invoices from the ins. co. so I thought I was finish paying, so then my mother passed way and we call to settle and I was told that the policy had laps and they where not paying, I talk to ******* ***** at ************ and was told my statement where being retuned to them as RETURN TO SENDER NOT DELIVERABLE AS ADDRESS UNABLE TO FORWARD, I have lived at the same address for over 30years, same phone #, Ms. ***** said they try everything to get a hole to me, I ask if they sent a certified letter and she no that is not there policy, and they only sent one statement dated *********, also Ms ***** said they called the funeral home and advise them that they could not get a hole of me, but the funeral home is no call on record or letter as was stated that the sent to them(funeral home). I have a copy of the return envelop, but it\'s does not show my name in the window of the envelop. My brother and my sisters did this so we did not have to mess with this when my mother did pass away, but this was the worse time in our life, not only did my mother pass away but we had to fight with this company.
I paid every month for 4 years, this was for my mother I would have not missed payment, I only had 8 payment (so the company said).

Desired Settlement
we had to paid for my mother funeral and would like to be reimbursed the amount that we had to pay for the funeral $*******, the funeral home did give a discount of $******* if they could reimburse the funeral home also would be nice. Ms. ***** said they did everything to get a hole of me but it they would have sent a certified letter, we would not have this problem, and why because I would have paid the money I owed and the company would have to pay for my mother funeral.

Business Response
This is to acknowledge that we are in receipt of your correspondence from ********* *******. Assurant takes consumer feedback very seriously. We have fully reviewed this matter and a detailed response was mailed directly to the consumer on ***********. In order to protect consumer privacy, the consumer has been advised they have the option to share the response directly with you.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
INSURANCE COMPANY TAKES NO REPONBILITY FOR ANY OF THIS, THEY SENT ONLY ONE LETTER TO ME AND THEY DID NOT TRY TO CALL ME, (BUT I DID GET THIS LETTER WITH THIER EXPALINTION AS TO WHY THEY ARE NOT PAYING) AND I PAID FOR FOUR YEARS TOTAL OF $******* I HAVE EVERY PAY SUB.
FIRST INSURANCE SAID THEY CALLED THE FUNERAL HOME ABOUT THE RETURN MAIL AND NOW THE INSURANCE COMPANY IS SAYING THAT THEY FAX A LETTER TO THE FUNERAL HOME. WE HAVE ALSO FILED A CLAIM WITH THE STATE BOARD OF INSURANCE. THE INSURANCE COMPANY CONDUCTED A ADDRESS RESEARCH WITH THE FUNERAL HOME AND NOT THE POST OFFICE, WHICH THEY WOULD HAVE FOUND THAT IS WAS MY ADDRESS AND I HAD NOT MOVED, IF THE INSURANCE WOULD HAVE SENT A WSECOND REQUEST IN THE MAIL, I WOULD HAVE GOTTEN THAT ONE, NOT SURE WHAT PHONE NUMBER THE INSURANCE COMPANY HAS FOR US, BUT WE HAVE NOT MOVED AND WE HAVE HAD THE SAME NUMBER FOR 30YEARS.



Final Business Response
This is to acknowledge that we are in receipt of your correspondence from
********* *******. Assurant takes consumer feedback very seriously. We have
fully reviewed this matter and have contacted Ms.******* on ********** with a response. In order to protect consumer privacy, the
consumer has been advised they have the option to share the response directly
with you."

03/31/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This insurance company is taking unauthorized payments of $***** out of my checking account for the month of ******** and **********. I requested a STOP direct deposits but they took 2 more payment out within a week. First unauthorized payment was on *********. Second *********. The third ********...This caused an overdraft fee to my bank. I am on a restricted income of social security and this is putting a financial hardship to my daily living.

Desired Settlement
I want them to STOP taking money our of my account. I will repay this loan by direct mailing payment of $*****. I would also like them to refund two payments totaling $****** back into my checking account.

Business Response
This is to acknowledge that we are in receipt of your correspondence from ***** ********. Assurant takes consumer feedback very seriously. We have fully reviewed this matter and a detailed response was mailed directly to the consumer on **************. In order to protect consumer privacy, the consumer has been advised they have the option to share the response directly with you.

02/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My wife's father died on *****************. He had been paying over *********** dollars a month for 21 months on a funeral policy.
My wife's father died on *****************. He had been paying over *********** dollars a month for 23 months on a funeral policy. The law states that insurance policies are contestable if the insured dies within 24 months. He started paying on another policy at the same time. The other insurance company investigated and concluded that his death was not caused by a preexisting condition, so the policy was paid. His death certificate clearly states the cause of death, but American Memorial is not willing to pay what is owed. They kept saying that they didn't have the medical information needed to investigate the case, but it was given to them by family members on a number of occasions. They recently stated that they had the information but the doctors are not responding. It's obvious that they are making excuses, if someone besides a family member would talk to them then what we are complaining about would be obvious. policy #******** ****** ****** ********

Desired Settlement
$******

Business Response
We have received your inquiry for the claim on ****** ********** policy.
Mr. ******** completed an application for a full benefit underwritten life insurance product on ***************. The policy was issued based on Mr. ********** answers to the health questions on the application.
We were notified on **************** that Mr. ******** had passed away. Per the policy provisions, a policy is contestable if the insured dies within the first two policy years. As part of our routine review process, we asked for the next of kin to fill out a medical release form indicating any doctors or medical facilities seen by Mr. ******** prior to the date the application was completed. We have received the completed Physician/Health Care Facility Contact Information form and have sent a request for medical records to the named doctors/facilities requesting records for the time frame specified in the health question section of the application. According to the health questions Mr. ******** answered, the requested medical records time frame will go back to five years prior to signing the application for insurance. If the medical records disclose that Mr. ******** was not diagnosed with or treated for any condition listed on the application for insurance within the specified time periods, the full policy benefits will be paid. If evidence of diagnosis or treatment is found for these conditions in the noted time frame, the policy will be rescinded and a full refund of premium will be made. Our decision for payment of claim is not based on the immediate cause of death stated on the death certificate. Currently, we are awaiting records from the requested facilities and have not yet made a determination on payment of this claim. If you have further questions regarding this claim please contact our claims department at **************.

01/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased 2 final burial services from **** ** ***** in **************. on ********* & cancelled on *********. American Memorial refuses a refund.
My wife, & I purchased (2) final burial services from **** * ***** in **************. on *********. & after full review. Told ***** on ******** that we were cancelling that contract, & to re write a new one that we could live with. Per ***** this was done in ****, & the new contract was to start in ***. This was all well , & good except American Memorial didn't stop taking payments out of our checking acct. Now they will not refund that money, & are telling that we are 30-90 day's on our payments. All we want is our money back from **** thru **** & any, & all discrepancies from my credit reports. We have excellent credit, & want to keep it that way. So far ***** has not been able to control American Memorial.Your interest, help, & concern in this matter will be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much. Mr.,& Mr's ******* ******.

Desired Settlement
Replace all monies taken from our checking acct for ****, & *** for time that we had no contract with **** * *****, or American Memorial, & forwarded to ****, & **** plus the two payments that we have sent for those months. Also remove any,and all discrepancies posted to our credit reports by American Memorial. I would advise anyone to never get involved with American Memorial Life Insurance Co.for any time, or any reason. They are a very scam like company.

Business Response
We have received your correspondence regarding the policies for ******* and **** ******. These policies were originally issued with an effective date of *************** providing life insurance coverage under 10 year pay full benefit multi pay plans. We received notice on ***************** requesting to convert these policies from their original plan to five year pay flexible plans. We began processing of that request on that date and provided confirmation of the change on *****************. A requested change to an existing life insurance policy, such as a plan change, is processed as a conversion of the policy rather than as a request to cancel and re-write. Per policy provisions a cancel may be requested within 30 days of receiving the policy for a full refund. After that date such a request is handled as a surrender for the available cash value if the policy is revocable. At American Memorial Life Insurance Company we are committed to operating with the highest ethical standards and integrity and are dedicated to dealing honestly with our customers and providing them with quality products and services. Based on our review of the information provided and your requested resolution we have decided that in this situation it would be best to make an exception to our conversion process and change your policy effective dates to ***************** in correspondence with the date we processed your conversion request. To date, we have received enough funds to pay three premiums on each policy which, applied with the new effective dates, will bring your policies paid to *****************. It's possible in the meantime that you may receive a premium notice for payment due in ********, if so please disregard. Once we've completed the process to change your effective dates we will send confirmation and you will receive premium notices in ******** when your next premiums will be due.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would accept the above process that they purpose on ********, except I have already paid ****, and **** payments which they do not acknowledge in the above statement except that they want to forward the next payment to ****, and after ****, **** payments are verified the next payment should be due ********, and the total balance should read as a total with all payments received by American Memorial since ********** since we didn't have a contract, and they just kept taking payments with the only one returned to my bank was the one for *********. When I receive the proper paper work showing the corrections that I just stated. I also would like to stop receiving statements saying that I'm past due back to ****, and get this matter back in accordance with when the proper date that the next payment is due, and the correct total balance due. I want to that the BBB, and Amer. Memorial in trying to rectify the terrible problems that this situation has caused. Thanks again. *******, & **** ******

Final Business Response
To date we have received four premium payments for each policy or a total of $****** on ********* policy and a total of $****** for ****'s policy. With the new policy effective date of ***************** those funds pay for four months of premium beginning with the ******** premium then applying premiums for ********, *******, and ******** making the next premium due for each policy on **************. The most recent received premiums were received on ***************** which is included in the total listed above. No further premium is due until ************** and premium notices will be mailed 20 days prior to that date. Your request for a complete payment history has been received and will be sent to you once processed. A written confirmation of the policy change date and next premium due date was sent to you on *****************. If you have further questions after reviewing your confirmation and the payment history we are sending please contact customer care at **************.

11/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a burial insurance and I canceled it. I fax cancellation as they as me to do. They said my refund would be refunded sooner that way. I keep calling and they told me once it would be in the mail within the week, that has been 2 weeks ago. They said today they were still working on it. It is my money why won't they refund it. I can't believe they would be dishonest enough to keep it. I am ** years old and I need my $ ******. I need medicine! Can you help me persuade them to send me my money back? I need it a lot more than they do! Sincerely ***** ******
Product_Or_Service: Burial Ins.
Account_Number: ********

Desired Settlement
I have described above what I have tried to get my money back

Business Response
We have received your correspondence regarding Ms. ******** inquiry.

We received Ms. ******** completed request to cancel her policy and funeral prearrangement in our office on ****************. Her cancel request has been processed and a refund check in the amount of $****** was sent to Ms. ******** address of record on ****************. This represents a full refund of all premiums paid into the policy. We apologize for the delay in processing her refund and for any inconvenience it may have caused.

If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us at **************.

Page 1 of 4
12/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
REGARDS FRAUD TOWARDS MY BROTHER LIFE INS.POLICY, THEY GAVE THE(BENEFITS) TO THE WRONG PERSON.
I'M REPORTING THIS FRAUD REGARDS TO
Policy Number: ********
******** ******
*******************, *******, ********
Date of Birth : **********
Date of Death: ********** (as indicated in the Mexican death certificate)
MR.******** ****** DIE IN **** IN ******,
THE POLICY WAS NOT FULL PAID DUE THAT HE DIE AND THIS WOMAN FOUND HIS POLICY AND PAID THE REST TOOK THE FULL AMOUNT. INSURANCE GAVE THE CLAIM TO THE WRONG PERSON, ***** ***** ******* NOT A RELATIVE.AS INDICATE IN DEATH CERTIFICATE HE WAS SINGLE.

Desired Settlement
PAY BACK THE MONEY OF MY BROTHER LIFE INSURANCE POLICY.

Business Response
We have received your correspondence regarding the inquiry for a claim on ******** ******.
Mr. ********'s policy was originally written through ***************************************** and the claim was processed by them on ******************. The benefits were paid in accordance with the policy beneficiary designation.
American Memorial Life Insurance Company assumed the business of *********************** and began administering contracts as of *************. As the claim was processed according to the policy designation and this business was assumed by American Memorial Life after the date the claim was processed we are unable to offer any further assistance. If fraud was suspected in the claim of this life insurance then Ms. ****** should report her suspicions regarding the person named in her correspondence to the ***** Department of Insurance.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They are been dishonest, they are not telling the truth.In **** my brother filled the forms for Life Insurance.He said if one day something happen to him this is for you.

Final Business Response
In the state of *****, any person who knowingly presents a false or fraudulent claim for the payment of a loss is guilty of a crime and may be subject to fines and confinement in state prison. If an individual person is suspected of fraudulent activities they may be reported to the ***** Department of Insurance Fraud Unit by contacting them at ************** or by reporting to local law enforcement. Ms. ***** ****** has no relationship to this policy and American Memorial Life Insurance Company can offer no further assistance regarding the life insurance policy or claim in question.

09/12/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Companies, Insurance - Life

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/29/2003Business started: 01/01/1959
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 2004, SD

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tammy Schultz (President)
Business Category

Insurance Companies, Insurance - Life

Products & Services

This company underwrites life insurance and annuity products.

Industry Tips
Automobile Insurance
Fraudulent Health Insurance a Growing Problem
Scam Artists Even Target the Bereaved
Travel Insurance - Is it Necessary?
Will Your Auto Insurance Weather the Storm?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for American Memorial Life Insurance Company

440 Mt Rushmore Rd

Rapid City, SD 57701

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 440 Mt Rushmore Rd 

    Rapid City, SD 57701(605) 719-0999
    (800) 533-2220

  • PO Box 2730 

    Rapid City, SD 57709-2730

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, TheKansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*American Memorial Life Insurance Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (605) 719-0999
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.