BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Nebraska, South Dakota, The Kansas Plains and Southwest Iowa

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 09/23/2003

First National Credit Card

Find a Location

(605) 782-3301View Additional Phone Numbers500 E 60th St N, Sioux FallsSD 57104-0478 Send email to First National Credit Card

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 09/23/2003

BBB has determined that First National Credit Card meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised First National Credit Card's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 53 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

53 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 20 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues42
Problems with Product / Service10
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 53

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (53)BBB Closure Definitions
04/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got a credit card pre-approved application from these guys. I went online and put in my application number. They told me that they'd send me my card with information of what my credit line is.I have not received my credit card. Instead, they sent me a statement saying that I owed them $** for the year. I called and told them that I didn't receive my credit card, but that I did receive a credit card statement and that I owed them money. They said, "Don't worry, you will get your card soon."
Product_Or_Service: Credit Card
Account_Number: I don't know the acc

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

08/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues
07/28/2014Billing / Collection Issues
06/24/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/23/2014Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 10
04/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues
09/24/2013Billing / Collection Issues
12/10/2012Billing / Collection Issues
10/03/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Cards & Plans

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/12/2003Business started: 01/01/1934
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sherry Tunender (Compliance Officer)Mr. Frank Farrar
Business Category

Credit Cards & Plans

Products & Services

This company provides bank card services.

Alternate Business Names
Legacy Visa
BBB Program Participation
First National Credit Card participates in the BBB Identification Program and has agreed to use special procedures including arbitration, if necessary, to resolve disputes.
Industry Tips
Choosing a Credit Card for Your Business
Is Your Teen Ready for a Credit Card?
Online Credit Cards - Look Before you Click!
Use Caution with Gold and Platinum Card Offers
Whos Swiping Your Credit Card

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for First National Credit Card

500 E 60th St N

Sioux Falls, SD 57104-0478

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 500 E 60th St N 

    Sioux Falls, SD 57104-0478(888) 883-9824
    (605) 782-3301
    (605) 782-3390

  • PO Box 5097 

    Sioux Falls, SD 57117-5097

  • PO Box 5098 

    Sioux Falls, SD 57117-5098

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Nebraska, South Dakota, TheKansas Plains and Southwest Iowa. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*First National Credit Card is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 883-9824
  • (605) 782-3390
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on August 1, 2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00-5.99
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.