BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Snake River Region
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Schow's, Inc.?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Schow's, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (208) 436-3755 Fax: (208) 436-4650 323 E. 8th St., Rupert, ID 83350 http://www.westernstar-trucks.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides new and used sales of heavy trucks as well as service and parts for heavy trucks and autos.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Schow's, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Schow's, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Schow's, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 15, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1949 in ID Business incorporated: 03/06/1978 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Department of Motor Vehicles
120 State Street, Montpelier VT 05603-0001
http://www.aot.state.vt.us/dmv/dmvhp.htm

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donald Schow, Owner/President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald Schow, Owner/President
Business Category

TRUCK DEALERS TRUCK EQUIPMENT & PARTS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE TRUCK REPAIR & SERVICE

Service Area
Eastern Idaho

Additional Locations

  • 323 E. 8th St.

    Rupert, ID 83350

  • P.O. Box 94

    Rupert, ID 83350 (208) 436-3755

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Schows trucking center in Idaho falls have replaced a starter that was still under warranty. I was told that I would get a reimbursement of the starter and repair in a "couple of weeks." It has been over a year and I haven't heard from Schow's. I was told that the warranty claim would be refunded into my credit card account but things change over a year so Schows truck center told me a year later that they would send me a check and they claim they did and that I would receive it 4 business days later. 3 weeks later, I called them back and told them I did not receive the check. Then they told me that they canceled the check since no one cashed it in. (Seems suspicious). To this day, I have not received the warranty claim.It seems to me that they know commercial trucks are always on the move and have no time to deal with issues like this. I want to put a stop to this. Makes you think who else they do this to.

Desired Settlement: I want them to send the warranty claim they promised for the replacement of the starter.

Business Response:

We are writing in response to the complaint about our business submitted by a customer.  This issue has been resolved to the best of our knowledge.

 

According to our records we replaced a starter on the customer’s vehicle on December 13, 2011.  Almost a year later to the day on December 12, 2012, the vehicle came back to our shop with a warranty issue on the starter.  We replaced the starter and the customer paid for the repair pending warranty reimbursement from the vendor.  We discussed reimbursing the customer for the repair after warranty approval was authorized.

 

We agree with the customer that there was a delay in providing the reimbursement for the warranty repair.  In most circumstances with a warranty repair a 90 day period should be sufficient for our company to submit the warranty claim and for the vendor to receive the defective product and determine whether the product was defective.  The period for this warranty return, analysis and reimbursement to the customer exceeded this time frame and we apologize for the delay.

 

We disagree with the customer’s claim that it had been over a year since they had heard from our company.  As mentioned above the customer’s vehicle was in our shop in December 2012.  We issued a refund check on August 19, 2013.  This complaint was created on August 29, 2013 and the check cleared our bank on September 3, 2013. 

 

Nevertheless, we apologize to the customer for the delay in reimbursement and trust the matter has been resolved.  It is not our business practice for this to occur and we thank you for making us aware of this complaint. 

 

Please contact us with any questions regarding this matter.

 

Thanks,
Schow’s Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

Regards,

 

******* ******