BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Snake River Region
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Brady's?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells spas/hot tubs, beds, billiards, game tables, sun rooms, exercise equipment, water treatment & purification equipment, vacuums & sewing machines.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brady's meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brady's include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brady's
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 17, 2012 Business started: 09/01/1965 in ID Business started locally: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Brady, Owner
Business Category

SPAS & HOT TUBS - DEALERS VACUUM CLEANERS-HOUSEHOLD-DEALERS WATER TREATMENT EQUIPMENT, SERVICE & SUPPLIES BEDS-RETAIL BILLIARD EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES EXERCISE EQUIPMENT SEWING MACHINES-DEALERS


Additional Locations

  • 3309 Hwy. 30 West

    Pocatello, ID 83201 (208) 233-7607

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Bradys Hot tub services of Pocatello when I purchased a new home on ***** ****, I asked them if they could send someone out to service a hot tub and verify it's working/non working condition. The technician came out and said I needed to replace a motor of some sort and that would fix the hot tub. I went along with what this tech stated and purchased the part and set up a time for them to repair. After the job was done we took a look ourselves at the tub and noticed that the actual tub would not hold any water due to a large crack down the inside. If Bradys had done what I asked and notified me of the tub damage I would never have ordered useless parts to repair the motor of a broken tub- I had to have a crane service come to the house and remove the tub and take it to the landfill. I have tried repeatedly to contact Bradys over the last 2 years with no response either the manager is sick or not available. I feel as though unnecessary repairs where done on a broken tub and therefore I am not happily willing to pay for the service I am fine paying an initial charge for them to look at the tub but incorrect maintanance was performed

Desired Settlement: I do not think I am responsible for the charges Bradys is stating I'm responsible for

Business Response:

When our tech went out to assess the problem with the ****** spa on 03/14/2012 he found some broken parts that will break when a tub has froze. He replace the obvious parts to get the tub up and running which it was when he left. It is impossible to see all the plumbing as it is encased in foam to find hidden leaks. The tub needs to be pulled and taken to our shop where we put it up on blocks and start digging to find the leaks. We usually collect for the service call before we leave but Mrs ****** left before our tech was done. The parts totaled $88.96 with tax and labor was $170.00 for a total of $258.96. We have been the ones trying to get in touch with the ****** to collect for the service call since the initial repair. On 07/10/2013 Mr ****** went into our Pocatello store and *** ******* the manager worked out a settlement for the parts only and we wrote off the labor. I consider this complaint satisfied.

Thank You,
Steve Brady 


 

 


BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brady's was to repair a hot tub which was shutting off and on, and was leaking. The motor was under warranty,(purchased from Brady's). Immediately reasons began for why the warranty could not be honored: chemicals weren't kept balanced (untrue), bad bearings (motor had been working), bad seals, my failure to notice when the leaking began, etc. I was even told the motor had been sent to the manufacturer, who denied the warranty for the above reasons (all this in 1.5 wks) I kept notes of the conversations, and have recorded phone messages. I then took the motor to ****** Electric Pocatello, the authorized repair of ******** motors. He had not seen the motor before, the distributor had not seen it, nor had the manufacturer. Faulty wiring in the motor was found and the warranty was honored, and a new motor sent. My cost was $249.40 for ****** diagnosis, time, postage and new impeller and seals. What a hassle and time drain without my hot tub! Bradys made excuses, untrue claims, had no intention of honoring the valid warranty, and tried to charge me for a new motor and pump!

Desired Settlement: This is to notify the public of poor business practices and outright dishonesty of Brady's in Pocatello. Question what they tell you! After all this, I can't imagine Brady's could offer a reasonable settlement. If the BBB has any ideas, I'd like to hear them. Meanwhile, please publish this complaint so others will know.

Business Response:

I have attached a copy of the motor warranty policy. If you read item number 3 of the conditions of warranty it clearly states that the warranty does not cover motor failure due to pump seal failures. The reason is, pump seals will fail prematurely if the proper PH balance is not maintained. If you will notice in Mrs. ******’s complaint she states that she paid for new “seals” and there is only one seal in the motor and that is the pump seal so obviously it had failed and needed to be replaced.

 

We called Rick at ****** to see what they did and he told me that he could not find any record of a repair for ****** ******. It is possible that they put it under a different name.  Even though we sent it to our supplier in Salt Lake City and they denied the claim it is possible that ****** could have sent it in to any number of ** ***** suppliers and got it covered. ** ***** uses the same motors in hundreds of applications and if they got someone that didn’t know it came out of a spa they may have approved it without even looking at it. It is also possible that they just repaired or replaced it with a used one for the $249.40 she paid. Since Rick couldn’t find any record of the repair we just don’t know.  

 

As I’m sure you know it is a manufacturer’s warranty and we don’t control what they will or will not cover but it is to our advantage if they will cover it. We get a free motor and we get to make a profit on the other parts and labor so there is no reason why we would not want to have it covered.

 

I’m glad ****** got it taken care of and I hope this one does a better job for her.

 

Brad Brady
Brady's Inc.

Brad Brady

1445 E. Lincoln RD

Idaho Falls, ID 83401

208-522-6763

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9413527, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Regards,

****** ******

 

I just discovered that ***** Electric placed the motor repair order in my friend's name, ******* ******, although I paid the bill.  This was #*****, dated 12-14-12.  ****** repairman told us that he indeed told ** ***** that the motor was from a hot tub.  The motor was covered by warranty because ***** found a wiring problem inside the motor, which is a manufacturing defect.  ***** Electric is the local authorized repair for ** *****, yet Bradys did not have ****** look at my motor.  Brady's had their repairman, a college student, look at it.

Yes, I paid for a new seal,and also for a new pump.  I also paid labor for ****** repairman to look over the motor to determine the problem, make calls to the distributor in SLC, and to ** *****. thus the bill for $249.40 ($85 pump, $30 seal, $120 labor).  The repairman said the impeller was broken, which is unusual for a new pump, and he wondered whether Brady's had originally installed the pump incorrectly, because a broken impeller could have loosened the seal and caused leakage; nothing related to pH.  The replacement motor, from ** ******, is a new one (written on the receipt from ***** Electric).

Brady's told me that they had mailed my motor to ** *****, who looked it over and denied the warranty.  (This was in the 1.5week period after Brady's got the motor from me, thus there was not enough time for them to have shipped the motor to ** *****, have it analyzed and returned.  If they had, certainly ** ***** would have discovered the faulty wiring.).  All I got from Brady's, from day one, were different excuses for why they wouldn't honor the warranty.  When I would question one reason, they would then give another, on and on.  Contrary to Brady's claim that I hadn't kept my hot tub chemistry balanced (I did), the minerals deposited around the seal leak are calcium because we have hard water in Pocatello.  

I can supply a copy of my receipt from *****, if requested.  I'm still very unhappy with Brady's service in this matter.

Thank you,  ****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.