Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

D & J Small Engine Repair

Phone: (208) 362-2122 7479 Lemhi St., Boise, ID 83709 http://www.dandjsmallengine.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general and small engines repairs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that D & J Small Engine Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for D & J Small Engine Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on D & J Small Engine Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 24, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1980 in ID Business started locally: 01/01/1980 Business incorporated 03/06/2003 in ID
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David Haney, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Haney, Owner
Business Category

SMALL ENGINE REPAIR LAWN MOWERS-SHARPEN & REPAIR SAWS-SHARPEN & REPAIR

Products & Services

D & J Small Engine Repair sells the following brand(s): Toro, Husqvarna, Wright, RedMax, Briggs & Straton, Kohler, Kawasaki, Honda, BCS,

D & J Small Engine Repair offers the following product(s): Outdoor Power equipment, Generators, Lawnmowers, Tillers, Chainsaws, Trimmers, HUV's, Commercial & Consumer, Parts & Service

Method(s) of Payment
Cash , Visa, Master Card, AMEX, Discover, Finacing avalable
Alternate Business Names
D & J Small Engines, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

D & J Small Engine Repair has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 7479 Lemhi St.

    Boise, ID 83709 (208) 362-2122

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband dropped off **** trimmer to repair the trimmer line he also asked to fix leaking bulb and make sure it ran. When he called a few weeks later to ask if it was ready he was told that the part to fix the trimmer line was back ordered but he could not pic up trimmer as they had taken it apart, he was told by technician that when he replaced bulb the trimmer did not start so they rebuilt the carburetor when he said it ran fine when he dropped off he was told that they took it apart because he said to make sure it ran good and they did not think it ran good.They do not call with estimates when the scope of the work is beyond what customer requested, this is common in the many complaints they have online. I asked if we could work something out but was told we were 100%wrong and needed to pay in full for carburetor overhaul in order to get trimer back.The other many complaints are their dishonesty, same back order run around everyone else has, these are the rudest people I have ever dealt with and they lie which is common complaint all over internet about them.

Desired Settlement: I told them i would file complaint and was rudely told GO AHEAD, we will just write and letter and they will do nothing. my request is that BBB look at all the complaints online about this company, they are consistent, rude dishonest , lie and overcharge. Then see these are some complaints you have and review there rating, I also request that they refund half of the cost to overhaul the carburator as this is what i thought was reasonable and fair if there was a misunderstanding.

Business Response:

Yes*** ******** dropped off his trimmer for repair and told us that the trimmer head needed parts replaced and the primer was damaged. He also said that he wanted us to make sure the unit ran correctly. The Tech. found that the eyelets where bad in the head so he ordered them. He then replaced the primer and test ran the unit . It was hard to start and was not running at full speed so he rebuilt the carburetor at that time, after this unit ran well. He then waited for the parts to come in. We got a call from *** ******** he wanted to know what the status is. He was told that the carburetor had been rebuilt and we where waiting on the eyelets for the head he asked how much it was going to be and he was told that it was going to be just over $100.00 and he told us that he would just come and get the unit and buy a new head for it. So we invoiced the unit and called to let him know that it was ready for pick-up. We then got a call from his wife. She was of the understanding that we where only suppose to repair the head and replace the primer but she was not here when he checked the unit in and had not been involved in any of the calls until this time. We tried to explain to her what her husband had told us to do and that we only did what he asked. She did not want to hear any thing she just felt that we where taking advantage of her. She said that we need to do some thing. I asked her what she wanted us to do she had no offer. She just continued to say the same things over and over and seamed not to listen to what we tried to tell her. As far as  I know no one here did any thing that was rude to her. We where honest with her and only have done what was requested by her husband. Her husband has never said that there was a problem or come in to talk with us about any problem and he and the counter person are the two first talked. Our counter help wrights down only what they are told by the customer, and they try to make sure that customer are aware of what it may cost to repair there equipment. At this point I do not fell that we owe her any money back as we asked her and she never gave us any offer to work this out.

We are sorry that she feels this way but we have thousand of happy customers and we try very hard to make all of our customers happy.

5/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to have service done to my riding lawn mower. IT had flat when they came to pick it up mentioned it had small leak. They didn't service it week time as stated over phone. I called to see when it would be delivered and amount was more they quoted. I moved out house before its returned. I asked my property manager to check to see if it was returned she said it was but it was flat. She called arranged for it to be picked up. They would not return lawn mower until it was paid for including additional forty dollar charge to pick it up. I called after property manager was frustrated but got same response. They stated because it was fine in shop that it is my responsibility, I say stand behind your work you wouldn't had to make second trip if work was done correctly first time. The lawn mower hadn't been used the property was vacant. Terrible customer service was unwilling to resolve the matter after several attempts

Desired Settlement: Stand by your workmanship refund 40$ plus any additional cost for having pick up riding lawn mower as it wasn't fixed first time

Business Response: Yes we had this mower in for service and we did a service on it. We did check all of the tires and they all held air including the one that was flat when it came in. It sat outside for 4 days after the work was done and it was still holding air just fine. So it was returned. It was 2 weeks later that we got the call that it had a flat tire and we need to pick it up and repair the tire. Witch we did.  Payment is due upon completion of service and we have never worked with this property management company so payment was required at time of delivery or before.  All we did with the tire during the service was inflate it and it seamed to be holding air just fine, so we did not due anything more with it at that time. When we where call to pick-up the mower again the management company was told that there would be a charge for the pick-up and they said that that was fine. If we had done any thing to repair the tire the first time we would not have charged the pick-up fee on the second trip. But we only inflated it.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:* **** ******** *** ******** **** ** *** ******** ** ********* ** ********* ** *********

 

and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

It could have been two weeks later that was because the house was empty.  The property manager tried to resolve matter with them she didnt just say fine she was very disappointed with their service and lack willingness to work through situation. If you would like her contact info I can provide that

 

 

Business Response: If we had actually done a repair to the tire the first time we had the unit in we would have pick it back up at no charge. But all we did was inflate all of the tires and they all held air. We saw no problems with the tires and had not done any work on them. Our warranty is only on the work that we have done not on things that we have not done.

3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took in a pressure washer because it was not producing max pressure. A month ago it was working fine. Anyway I took it in because ****** recommended this place and said it was under warrenty. They charged me $37.50 and then told me that it had built up calcium and could not be fixed. I ask the owner of the business if he took the pressure washer apart and cleaned the calcium and he said no. "That I worked on engines for over 30 years and can tell what the problem is by my experience." I found out that he did not open the pump nor did any work on it. I suspect he just turned it on and hooked it up to a water line, and came up with the calcium issue. He probably does know something about his business, but to tell me that he can not scrape off calicum is a little hard to believe. He also told me that all pumps in the valley probably all have the same problems and there is nothing he can do to fix it. I paid $37.50 for him to turn it on and come up with this reason?? I want my money back and I want to report him as an unethical business man and unethical business practice. How does my pump work fine a month prior, and then all of a sudden have calcium buildup?

Desired Settlement: Return my $37.50 and report the company as an unethical business.

Business Response:

*** ***** was told that his pressure washer had calcified in side due to not using a Pump saver product. When the calcium deposits on the internal parts it cusses pitting and is not repairable. I have tried several different thing over the years to fix this problem with no success. I explained all of this to him on the phone. He only paid for the diagnostic time not repair time and he got his diagnoses.

The other point that I would like to bring up his the way he conducted him self when he came to pick-up the unit. He was very argumentative and rude to my counter help. There where other customer that witnessed his action and where up hauled with him. It took calling the police in order to get him to leave. He is one of the worst customers we have ever had.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The owner of the business did not address the issue. All he came up with was my attitude! My attitude changed when his secretary would not let me talk to the owner. She told me he went to lunch and she said she did not know when he was coming back. I said I need to talk to the owner because you are not answering my questions. I asked for the owner phone number and she refused to give it to me. This is customer service??

I checked the owners manual about the pressure washer and it did not say anything about calicifacation. All it talked about was putting a protective in the gas to perserve it throughout the winter.

Anyway, the owner still did not do anything on the machine. He even admitted he did nothing. All he said in the email was what he did in the past. Still, if my pressure washer was working a month prior fine. How can it change in a less than a month.

I still want my money back and I still want to tell the public that he is a unethical business owner.

 

Regards,

***** ***** 

 

 

Business Response:

His machine did have a diagnostic check run on it and that is what he paid for. He was not charged for any repairs. The charge he paid is the shop minimum charge and it is clearly posted. We will not give him a refund he paid for what he got and should have been charged a lot more for his bad attitude and behaver.

He asked for my personnel cell phone number and that is not ever given out to customer. I was gone to lunch when he came in and she did not know when I would be back. But he still continued with his ranting until she call the police and witch time he left quickly. His attitude was way over the top BAD he is one of the worst customer we have seen in years and we really do not want him to ever come back.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.  

 Again, the owner only talks about my attitude, he does not address his secretary's attitude, or his workmanship, (or lack of). This company will just rip you off. Will not work on anything. Will not address why my machine worked fine a month prior. Calciuim cannot mess up a machine in a month, this is not possible.

8/1/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Don't trust D&J Small Engines, especially if you're a woman. My wife took some mowers to them Monday 7/15/2013 to see if they were interested in trading two of them for some repairs on the third one. Dave at D&J off South Cole told my wife he was too busy and to just drop them off. He called with a quote of $150 to repair the one and wasn't interested in either of the others. My wife went to pick them up today, 7/17/2013 and Dave charged her $65. I was furious and went to talk with Dave about it. He basically told me that's the way it is,he needs to make money and he can't just look a stuff for free. I call it a con and I believe he's a crook. Any man of dignity that has an once of ethics in his blood would not have charged an unexpected woman for services not rendered.

Desired Settlement: Refund the $65 unfairly charged

Business Response:

We did a compleat diagnostic on each mower and the Toro was the one that the customer wanted repaired. We do charge $32.50 for diagnostics. In this case we only charged her for 2 of the 3 . We where willing to consider trade on the other 2 but they where in really bad shape and just not worth much. The customer oppted to pick them up and pay the diag. fee on them so we just charged her for 2 of them not all 3.

When her husband came in he felt like we should have done the work for no charge. I tried to explane to him that our Tech. come to work to make a living just like he goes to work to make a living and that they had 1.5 hours or more into checking out the 3 mowers. But he just insited that we had done nothing and that we where just ripping his wife off.

We have the miamum shop rate clealy posted at the counter and we have many customer that feel that we are more than fair.  

6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was having problem with my less than a year old Toro lawn mower starting. It was working fine one day and died in the middle of a job and not able to start back up. Discussed problem with Toro and after troubleshooting they recommended taking it to an "authorized Toro dealer" for the warrantee, which would be D & J Small Engines. It was 4 days later before they could pick it up. I went in and discussed the problem. A full week later I am notified that it is ready and would be delivered to my home on Tuesday 6/11/2013. I waited all day and no lawn mower. At 11:00 am I was told that it should be here anytime. At 1:30 pm I called and they said they did not have the lawn mower. Then they changed their mind and said that the paperwork was in the wrong pile and they could arrange for delivery the following Tuesday for they only delivery days was Tuesday. They were charging 40.00 for pickup and delivery. They kept hanging up on me and I would have to call back. I became very upset and my wife even madder. I told them I would come and pick it up. This was 4:50 pm . I borrowed a trailer from my neighbor to go get the lawn mower. Upon driving off the trailer, the lawn mower died and not able to start again. My wife called them and asked what they are going to do about not fixing the problems. They responded "what the hell do you want us to do about it. We have done all we can do". Taking off the engine cover it was discovered that the fuel pump was just lying in the top and lines not fully hooked up. The fuel line going to the fuel pump had a huge hole in it where it had chafed from the teeth on the wheel. I was lied to by this company and told that my carbonators was junked up and needed rehauling. I was told that I needed to add "stable all" in my gas every month or the gas will junk up the carburetors. I have never put anything but non ethanol gas in the machine and it is less than one year old. The carburetor is out of adjustment and just spews fuel out. (This is after I fixed the fuel line). My lawn mower is in worse shape now than when I started. I was charged $205.21 for all this destruction of my lawn mower and still have to take it to someone for repair. I was continuously lied to, and still have a nonworking machine.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund and my complaint filled with the BBB so that others are aware of the deceitful practices that D& J Small engines has done, warning the public to do bussiness elsewere.

Business Response: We picked up the mower on the 4 June and it was repaired on 6 June. We called to let the ******* know that there machine was repaired and that we could deliver it back to them on the 11 of June but thay needed to call and let us know if that would work for them. We never heard from them untill 1:00pm on the 11th and the deliveries where done for the day. We did start the mower and help them load it when they came to get it. We also only charged them $20.00 for the pick-up becuse they came and picked it up. It ran fine. The repairs have a 30 day waranty if they want us to we will gladly come and get there mower and make the repairs to the fuel system. The delivery problem is partily our fualt and partily there fualty. We are sorry for our part in that. We are also very willing to repair what ever we may have done incorrectly on there fuel system.