This business is not BBB accredited.

1st American Alarms

Phone: (208) 357-8066 8097 Cutthroat, Victor, ID 83455

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for 1st American Alarms include:

  • 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for 1st American Alarms include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 11

Additional Complaint Information

1st American Alarms has a pattern of complaints of misleading sales practices, a failure to respond to customer complaints and misrepresenting their business as another entity.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 1st American Alarms
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 2011 Business started: 10/18/2010
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Joel Jenkins
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Jenkins Enterprises, LLC Jenksco

Additional Locations


    8097 Cutthroat

    Victor, ID 83455 (208) 357-8066

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company deducted $99 dollars from my account in August or Sep 2013. They told me it was a computer error. Have called numerous of times to check on my refund. Told me in the mail, 2 weeks, should be there. No Refund. I would like my money back.My address at the time was **** **** *** ****** ** *****

Desired Settlement: refund for the $99 dollars.

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In October 2013, Joel Jenkins came to my home and asked about my ADT sign in my yard. He asked if I still had ADT and I told him I did and he said that he needed to update my sign to a lighted one from Protect America because they had just bought out ADT. He came in my home and took my monitor and put in a new one and said I was all set. He said through Protect America, my bill would drop down and to ignore my bills from ADT because they were no longer valid. After a couple of weeks, I got nervous and called ADT. They said what he told me was NOT correct and I still had a contract with them that I would need to pay or cancel (for a fee). They also told me that the monitor he took was mine that I paid $300 for and to get it back from him unless he plans to pay me for it. I called Joel and told him and he said that he would pay the cancellation fee and pay me $300 for my monitor. Then he dodged my calls for weeks. I had to use unlisted numbers and other people's phones just to get him to answer. And he'd always have an excuse as to why he couldn't come by and fix things but would repeatedly tell me that my check for the $283.98 cancellation and the $300 for my monitor was on the way from Texas and I should have it any day. It never came and never came. But I kept getting bills from Protect America that were way more than the $19 a month that he promised. When I asked him about that (after spending days trying to get him on the phone) he said that it was an error and he would pay the bills and pay out the rest of the $19/month until my contract with Protect America ran out in 12/2014 because of problems he had caused. He never came, no checks ever came. Finally in February, a man named **** came to my home on Joel's behalf and signed a piece of paper (attached) saying that I would be getting my $283.98 for the ADT cancellation, my $300 for my monitor and $19 a month to pay my monthly bill. But nothing ever happened. This past week, I finally told Joel that I'm going to file a complaint against him and he said not to because he was going to make sure I had my check by Tuesday, April 8th. I don't believe him. He's done nothing but deceive me since he first knocked at my door.

Desired Settlement: I want a check for $583.98 immediately. I want whatever I owe to Protect America to be paid by Joel or written off by the company. There was no contract and, even if there was, he lied to me to get it. That invalidates it completely. I want to be done with this man and this company once and for all.

2/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Home security monitoring contractor, 1st American Alarm, misused information provided for fraudulent account and debit card withdrawals and sold contract with false pretense. A Security monitoring agreement was forged and sold to a monitoring company Safe Home Security. A financing company, Time Payment Corp, was entrusted with payment collection without disclosing the details on the duration of the original agreement. On being found out, the contractor agreed to cancel all agreements in an attempt to get out of the agreement without disclosing the financial arrangements, which were not cancelled along with the monitoring agreement. The financing company is threatening to send for collection if the monthly payment is stopped. They demand full repayment of the amount they financed, even though they do not disclose the amount they financed. The consumer was ignorant of any financing arrangements until the contract was cancelled without disclosing the details on the financing 1st American Alarm received.

Desired Settlement: The desired settlement should free me of all contracts/subcontracts 1st American Alarms had made with other agencies or subsidiaries including Time Payment corp, who is demanding payment for a service which has been cancelled. The December 2013 payment was collected in spite of being served notice of cancellation of service. A refund of all extra payments collected from the time of cancellation of the original agreement is expected.

10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A while back, Joel Jenkins with First American Alarms came to our home and said he would like to save us money on our existing ADT contract and provide us with local service. We thought that sounded good and signed up with him. Then we had nothing but problems with ADT stating that we now had two contracts and, additionally, our service that Joel set up wasn't even working. Over time, ADT was able to fix things. Joel never helped us during that time. Then in April 2013, Joel comes to our door again, stating that he could save us money on our existing ADT contract. We were leery at first but Joel assured us that what had happened with him before was a misunderstanding and he never had a problem like that before and it wouldn't happen again. So we agreed to modify our existing ADT contract to be serviced by Joel Jenkins of 1st American Alarms. Turns out that not only does he not even work with ADT, he set us up with a brand new contract, serviced by Safe Home Security. He lied to us about what he was doing to make a sale and now we're stuck paying Safe Home Security and ADT. We can't cancel with ADT because we're in the middle of a contract. Then we find out from people in our area that he's not only done this to lots of people around here but actually faced legal charges because of it.

Desired Settlement: Joel scammed us. And we found out from other people in the area that not only has he done this scam all over town, but actually got in legal trouble over it not very long ago. We want the contract he set up cancelled. He lied to us when he set it up and that makes it invalid. I would also like a refund of what I paid. I thought he was modifying my existing ADT contract, not setting me up with a completely new and separate contract with no ability to cancel my ADT contract.

Business Response: Joel contacted Mr. ****** to let him know he would take care of this situation and that it was an oversight. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Joel contacted me to tell me he would take care of things right away and that it was an oversight. He also told me there is another Joel Jenkins who has been in trouble before and he's often confused with him. However, nothing has happened and both Safe Home Security and ADT show an active contract. Safe Home Security did tell me that they have fired Joel Jenkins and are pursuing criminial action against him. I do not consider this matter resolved.


*** ******



5/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: This man Named Joe Jenkins came to my door saying that he was a new local *** dealer in Idaho Falls and that I will have better service with him because he is local. He also stated that he was the new represenative for *** and even showed me his card. He said that we needed to sign a new contract because *** no longer went through *********** ******** they went through 1st American alarms. So then on 11-29-12 the old represenative from *** came to my door and told me that I have been scammed and to look on the internet because there was a t.v. broadcasting about him doing this to people everywhere. So then at that point I called the cops and proceeded to tell them what happened. So now I owe *** money because I was paying 1st American Alarms. Wow what a scam. I cannot beleive he did this I'm truly upset and want my money back so atleast I can pay *** back.

Desired Settlement: I want $400.00 repaid to me so I can pay *** 312.92. And I would like the rest to go for all the time and money and hassle I had to go through to get this matter resolved with *** and the real represenative and the cops and I had to send copies of everything to 1st American ALarms as well, because they had no idea what there employee was doing.

2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A man named Joel came to my home, I believe sometime in June 2012, and said something about *** security system accounts being switched to local providers and so on. Since then I have been billed from both *** and *********** **** each month. I tried calling this Jenksco company in August (??) and for three or four days straight had to just leave messages. I called *** to find out what was going on and they had no idea what I was talking about, and when they attempted to test my security system we found out that it's not even registering with ***! Finally, Joel called me back, which I thought would never happen, and said that many of their customers got switched over without *** being informed, and that he would take care of it for me and credit the payments I made to *** to my *********** account. Four months later, I'm still being billed by both companies and when I try calling this Joel guy again it goes directly to a full voice mail box. This scares me the most because inside one of the *** bills was a little flyer warning their customers about fraudulent "security companies" going door to door doing exactly what Joel did.

Desired Settlement: I want any contracts with 1st american alarms, jenksco, or time payment corp CANCELLED. I want to be able to continue my services with *** since I had zero problems with them, and I want ALL the money I paid to *********** **** REFUNDED!

1/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1st Amercian alarms sold me a security monitoring contract. they came to my home and said they bought my contract from ****** ********. which I finally found out months later that my contract was not bought. that 1st american alarms lied to me from the very beginnig. on set 17 they took $99. out of my account. then on the 25, they took out $41.99 and ******* took out $44.99.I called 1st american and tey said it took awhile for the old company to stop taking out the payment, that they would rememberce me the $99., plus the 44.99 . after almost 2 months of pone calls I finally received a check fromJoel Jenkins for $142.00. Then I started to get phone calls from security network because i changed my debt. card. come to find out my contract with them was never sold. Now I owe them 3 months of payments for $44.99 each. I contacted Timepayment corp. and told them I was canceling my debt so no more payments will be taken out. they said they have had several complaints and would stop the autopayments from coming out. I guess I'm not the only one this happened too.

Desired Settlement: I want the contract with them dissolved and a refund of 5 month of $44.99. $ they fraudulantly said they bought my contract from ******* network, who was my security company. I have been trying to get hold of 1st american alarms and no one will answer the phone. First they took out $99. out of my account on sept.17th. It took until nov. 16. to get that money back. I called them 15 times and was lied to each time.I now have to make up the last 5 months of payments to security net.

1/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July a sales representative from 1st American Alarm came to me and told me that *** was no longer going to be doing the billing for my security system, but that another company (*********** ****.) was going to be taking over and I needed to sign a new contract for that. In September I noticed that *** was still billing me, so I contacted 1st American Alarms and the man I talked to said he would take care of it and would be refunded in a couple of weeks. In October I found the same problem and again called. I was again told it would be taken care of. It happened again in November and when I went to call I tried to find the phone number from 1st American Alarm's website but the website was no longer available. I then called *** and was told that they knew nothing about what had happened, that nothing had changed on their end. I called *********** and they told me that they did, indeed have a legitimate contract for me. They are going to send me paperwork to fill out for fraudulent circumstances.

Desired Settlement: I was billed $40.99 in the months of August, September, October, and November. I would like to be refunded this money($163.96 total). I would also like to be released from any further obligations to ***********.