This business is not BBB accredited.

ARI, LLC

Phone: (208) 350-1008 Fax: (208) 455-7770 13788 Maravilla St., Caldwell, ID 83607 http://www.idahoari.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides roofing inspection/consulting services assisting homeowners with insurance claims.  The company acts as a intermediary assisting the homeowner in qualifying for insurance repair or re-roofing services.  ARI does not perform the roofing services, but provides subcontractors who have gone through their vetting process including verification of building permits, registration and licensing.    

BBB suggests you read and understand all conditions of the contract.  Get all information in writing including the roofing contractors information, warranty services provided, contact information  and verification of their contractors registration.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for ARI, LLC include:

  • 2 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on ARI, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 15, 2013 Business started: 04/06/2012 in UT Business started locally: 10/01/2012
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chuck Hall, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chuck Hall, Owner
Business Category

Roofing Contractors Roofing Service Consultants Home Inspection Service

Hours of Operation
Sunday through Saturday: 8AM-9PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Cards and Checks
Service Area
Treasure Valley & surrounding areas.
Products & Services

Do Your Research Check with friends, neighbors, or co-workers who’ve used a contractor If you can, take a look at the work done and ask about their experience. Look at sites you trust that post ratings and reviews Do people seem to have similar experiences, good or bad? You also can check out a contractor’s online reputation by searching for the company’s name with words like “scam,” “rip-off,” or “complaint.” Find out how long they’ve been in business Look for an established company whose record and reputation you can check out. Check for qualifications, like licensing Many states, but not all, require contractors to be licensed and/or bonded. Check with your local building department or consumer protection agency to find out about licensing requirements in your area. Licensing can range from simple registration to a detailed qualification process. If your state or locality has licensing laws, make sure the contractor’s license is current.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

ARI, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13788 Maravilla St.

    Caldwell, ID 83607 (208) 350-1008

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ****** from ARI came to our home 3 times asking to repair our roof, all 3 times we said no thank you. A year later we find out he got our information and filed a claim with our insurance company without us knowing and forged both of my husband and I's signatures. Our insurance company is looking into this further but has assured us this is a scam and it has happened before with ARI.

Desired Settlement: i just would like them to not be able to do this again...no money was given but just knowing they went to all that trouble to get out info is sicken

Business Response: ****** ****** did visit the ***** home at least 2 times, however the claims of forgery and filing a claim without knowledge of the homeowner are absurd and fabricated. The *****'s knowingly and willingly signed any documents, and knowingly and willingly made a phone call to open the insurance claim. An addition to the singing of documents, ***** made a phone call into the insurance call-center, and the call was recorded. Neither *** ******** voice or signature appears on any part of the *****'s insurance claim. An insurance claim cannot be filed by anyone other than the homeowner.

Claims by ***** that information was unknowingly obtained by **** ****** is false and misleading, and intended to slander Mr. Lawson and ARI. It is ridiculous to assert that ARI randomly "obtained" information from the *****'s. The *****'s provides the information themselves.

The *****'s insurance company is not "looking into" ARI. ARI has had zero incidences or claims of fraud, forgery, or scam. Be advised that any supposed "insurance representative" who claims ARI has been involved in a scam would be placing themselves in jeopardy of a lawsuit for slander, and subject to termination by their employer. ARI is a recognized vendor with several insurance companies, and has a perfect record of service and compliance with all major insurance companies. Upon request ARI can provide references and contacts of agents, adjusters, and supervisors from every major insurance company throughout treasure valley.

The *****'s claims are malicious, fabricated, and absurd. ARI categorically denies any and all accusations by the *****'s. Further false accusations and slander against ARI may require legal action.

-ARI

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
 
I have read ARI's message and do not agree.  Whatever document ARI has with our so called signatures on it, we have never seen or signed.  Those are not my nor my husband signatures, and we are willing to prove that!! And we have no knowledge of this phone call that ARI claims is recorded.  If there is such a call recorded, let's compare it to my husbands voice since they say it it my husband who called.  ARI should send you copies of this document with the forged signatures and my husband and I are willing to send in proof these are not our signatures.  Again what is this recording they say they have, speak to my husband and listen to the recording...it is not him! We don't understand why ARI is doing this to us.


Regards,

**** *****




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I also want to let you know that in my original complaint i said that ARI had done this before....here is my statement... Our insurance company is looking into this further but has assured us this is a scam and it has happened before with ARI. ..........i shouldn't have said it has happened before with ARI, but it has happened before, my agent looked it up on the internet and scams were going around our area...he didn't say they were ARI, just that they were happening...i didn't mean to mis-speak but i was angry.  i would like you to ask ARI for the documents that they are claiming we signed, the pic i sent you at the start of all this , is the only one i have and it is blurry.


Regards,

**** *****




Business Response: It's unclear what resolution the ****** are seeking from their complaint. The ******* question of “why ARI is doing this to us" is impossible to answer. ARI has not engaged the ****** in any way. When the ****** requested their contract be terminated, ARI complied immediately with no further discussion or contact. ARI has received no money, provided no service, and nothing profitable has been gained by the ******* false accusations.

In this business, we have to be picky about our customers. We have built many roofs before collecting a dime from homeowners, so if we cannot trust them, then we chance losing money. To explain a little further on how our business works, we have homeowners call in claims, we then help them get their roofs fully financed through their insurance companies (homeowners are responsible for their deductibles), the insurance companies make checks out to the HOMEOWNERS (NOT ARI), we may or may not have them sign it over to us before we start work, we build their roofs, make sure the homeowners are happy, and then we proceed with payments and collecting full replacement costs.

We have assisted over 600 insured homeowners in receiving compensation for storm damage, and having their roofs replaced. We have received zero reports or claims of fraud. Insurance checks are always dispersed to the insured homeowners, so it would make no sense for us to forge a signature, engage in fraud, or openly impersonate or deceive any homeowner and their insurance company, because it is illegal, unethical, and absolutely unprofitable.


Again, forgery would not benefit us in any way. Insurance companies do not put us as the main payee on checks, so forging signatures would NOT be profitable. In saying that, it would be pointless and idiotic for us to forge signatures.


The ****** have not been compromised in any way by ARI, and their contract has been terminated. The ******* insistence on pursuing this matter are of their own making. ARI did not forge the ******* signature. ARI did not open the ******* insurance claim. ARI did not receive any money, or perform any service.

Business Response: Unfortunately, that is true. There are scammers out there, but to point fingers at a reputable business will put the honest people out of business. We are a local, family owned business. We have been in the Treasure Valley for years, and this is the first time anyone has ever accused us of forgery. As we stated in our last response, it would not benefit us in ANY way. We are here to stay, so our reputation means everything to us.

We understand that our business may frighten some homeowners (because of all of the dishonest scammers out there), so that's why we give the option to do work on homes BEFORE we accept any money. That alone is enough to prove that we are ABSOLUTELY not a scam. We also welcome and encourage our homeowners to come to our office and meet our team members. Lastly, we do have references and could even go as far as asking insurance adjusters to verify their great working relationships with our company. We absolutely do not force (or forge) our customers to work with us. Again, we wouldn't profit from doing so.

We did what any reputable company would do, and we cancelled the ******* contract free and clear, even though we have a cancellation clause in our contract.

I will be attaching the contract in another response.

Business Response: When the ****** *equested their contract be terminated, ARI complied immediately with no further discussion or contact BEFORE BBB was ever involved. ARI has received NO money, provided NO service, and are not in contract with the *******. ARI did not forge any signatures.

In saying that, we called our salesman again to get clarification on this issue. He said that *** is the man living in the house. He claimed to be the ******* son-in-law who is in transition of buying the home. *** wanted a roof replacement, called "the dad", who I'm assuming is *** ****** to get permission, the dad verbally approved, so they went on to sign the contract. Our salesman did not forge anyone's signature. He wouldn't have even known which insurance company to file a claim with if he did not have an inside source tell him.

The claim and contract should not have been handled in the way that it was. It goes against our company's policy. The claim should NOT have been called in by *** (though he apparently had verbal consent, that's still not how we run our business). We do apologize for this inconvenience, and our salesman has been dealt with.

Frankly, we're thankful that this contract was cancelled and that the homeowner notified us. It was a learning lesson for the salesman, and we're thankful that we didn't give the ******* a free roof (which would have happened). Had we not been notified, we would have built the roof, the funds would have been sent directly to the *******, and since the contract was invalid, they could have kept the money leaving us thousands of dollars in the negative. This stupid mistake on our salesman's part would have really only had an affect on us.

We can assure you, that this will not be happening again.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I am done fighting about this...Jim is the same age as my husband so he is not our son in law, that's too funny...you have all the wrong info. I do not know how you got this sooooo messed up but i can assure you my husband and I never signed anything and never agreed to anything...our roof does not need fixed.  this was a scam on someones part i am sure of it.....those are not our signatures and clearly someone at ari allowed this to happening.  as for this recorded phone call, i would love to hear it and maybe then we will found out the truth. 

******** **** *****

8/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company rep for ARI told us he had taken care of the insurance claim last January, the damage to our house occurred in 2013! The storm damaged both out roof and our patio, It has taken them this long to take care of this claim. The owner of the company "*****" contacted us in March and said he hadn't been paid, we st down with him and went over every penny and every receipt, he claimed that the patio company had over charged us and that he would take care of it, he told us we would get $4,000.00 back even after he was paid his portion. We did not her from him for weeks, then he called and said he was having trouble dueling with our insurance company. I called them and found out "*****" had submitted a bill to them for $30,659.70!He was only owed according to him, $8,369.98! I feel that we have been drawn into an insurance scam. Why else would he tell us we were over charged by one contractor and claim that he could get the over charge amount back, pay himself, and then give us $4,000.00 ? Then submit a bill to the insurance company for $30,659.70?Now he has hired an attorney to collect $8,369.98 from us, claiming all sorts of misinformation. This has caused both my wife and myself much stress, we have a perfect credit score and have never had anything go to collection. This company has never presented an itemized invoice to us or our insurance company, just a hand written invoice for $30,659.70, according to his lawyers letter the roofing job cost $10,647.57, of which or insurance company paid $5,535.98 plus $129.75 for the permit.Why can be done about this roofing/insurance scam !

Desired Settlement: I believe ARI has been conducting shady business practices, ripping off home owners and insurance companies since the hail storm of Labor Day weekend 2013. I feel that they should be held accountable for their behavior. I do not feel we owe them one dime, they failed to produce a itemized invoice to the insurance company until free the claim was closed,, their rep, ***** ********** assured us that he had taken care of the claim in January of this year.

Business Response: The ************ were referred to ARI in response to hail damage to the roof of their residence. ***** **** ********* had paid for damage to the ************ patios and south facing roof slopes, but much of the roof had received damage. ARI inspected, met with a ***** **** ********* adjuster, and negotiated for the complete replacement of the roof system of the ************ residence. The ************ had already contracted with another company for the patio work, however, the front porch patio cover was not replaced. ARI agreed to have the work completed by ***** *****, a sub-contractor that specialized in steel patio coverings. ***** **** issued nearly $31,000 to the ************ to complete the replacement of all patio covers and the roof of the residence. ***** **** provided the ************ with a "scope of work" itemized estimate of approved repairs and the monetary distribution of all $30,659.70. The ************ contracted with ARI  to replace the front patio cover and the entire roof of the residence for approximately $13,905.96. This amount was approved by ***** ****, and the funds were sent to the ************. $10,647.57 was the approximate ***** **** estimate for re-roof of the residence only. The remaining $3,258.39 was for the replacement of the front patio, which was authorized as "bid item" by ***** ****. The ************ signed a contract with ARI that indicated all repairs and replacement would be completed for the exact cost of ***** **** estimates, and the insurance funds issued to the ************ would be used for that purpose. All agreed upon items that were contracted by the homeowners and ARI were completed to the ************ satisfaction. The ************ only issued to ARI $5,535.98 of the $30,659.70 in insurance money that they were issued by ***** ****.

ARI does not counsel homeowners on hiring contract work, or the handling insurance funds. That is the sole responsibility of the insured.  Chuck Hall had several conversations with the ************ about the money that was disbursed by ***** ****, and it appeared they had given the bulk of the funds (less $5,535.98) to their patio contractor. It is unclear exactly how ************ allocated the funds to the patio contractor, or whether they entertained estimates within the ***** **** estimate provides. There appeared to be improvements to the sunroom, and additional construction items completed by patio contractor that were outside of the scope of work and estimate provided and authorized by ***** ****. ARI did not hire the patio contractor, ARI did not pay the patio contractor. The ************ retained full control of insurance funds and their patio contract work.

It is unclear why the ************ would use a term like "scam", or make baseless claims about "ripping off homeowners and insurance companies." ARI completed the work it was contracted to do, the insurance company was notified of completion and invoiced. The ************ received the funds, and did not pay for the services they received. ***** ****s estimate was clear and specific. ARI's contract was clear and specific, and mirrored the ***** **** scope of work and estimate exactly, with only the addition of a **** ** ***** permit and front patio replacement (also contained in the ***** **** estimate).
 The ************ received over $30,000 in insurance money. It is an absurd claim to accuse ARI of a scam. A scam that includes completing contracted work, and not getting paid, seems like a poor scam. Perhaps it was ARI that was scammed.

ARI's attorney's have contacted the ************, in an attempt to collect a debt.

Business Response: The ************ were referred to ARI in response to hail damage to the roof of their residence. ***** **** ********* had paid for damage to the ************ patios and south facing roof slopes, but much of the roof had received damage. ARI inspected, met with a ***** **** ********* adjuster, and negotiated for the complete replacement of the roof system of the ************ residence. The ************ had already contracted with another company for the patio work, however, the front porch patio cover was not replaced. ARI agreed to have the work completed by ***** *****, a sub-contractor that specialized in steel patio coverings. ***** **** issued nearly $31,000 to the ************ to complete the replacement of all patio covers and the roof of the residence. ***** **** provided the ************ with a "scope of work" itemized estimate of approved repairs and the monetary distribution of all $30,659.70. The ************ contracted with ARI  to replace the front patio cover and the entire roof of the residence for approximately $13,905.96. This amount was approved by ***** ****, and the funds were sent to the ************. $10,647.57 was the approximate ***** **** estimate for re-roof of the residence only. The remaining $3,258.39 was for the replacement of the front patio, which was authorized as "bid item" by ***** ****. The ************ signed a contract with ARI that indicated all repairs and replacement would be completed for the exact cost of ***** **** estimates, and the insurance funds issued to the ************ would be used for that purpose. All agreed upon items that were contracted by the homeowners and ARI were completed to the ************ satisfaction. The ************ only issued to ARI $5,535.98 of the $30,659.70 in insurance money that they were issued by ***** ****.

ARI does not counsel homeowners on hiring contract work, or the handling insurance funds. That is the sole responsibility of the insured.  Chuck Hall had several conversations with the ************ about the money that was disbursed by ***** ****, and it appeared they had given the bulk of the funds (less $5,535.98) to their patio contractor. It is unclear exactly how ************ allocated the funds to the patio contractor, or whether they entertained estimates within the ***** **** estimate provides. There appeared to be improvements to the sunroom, and additional construction items completed by patio contractor that were outside of the scope of work and estimate provided and authorized by ***** ****. ARI did not hire the patio contractor, ARI did not pay the patio contractor. The ************ retained full control of insurance funds and their patio contract work.

It is unclear why the ************ would use a term like "scam", or make baseless claims about "ripping off homeowners and insurance companies." ARI completed the work it was contracted to do, the insurance company was notified of completion and invoiced. The ************ received the funds, and did not pay for the services they received. ***** ****s estimate was clear and specific. ARI's contract was clear and specific, and mirrored the ***** **** scope of work and estimate exactly, with only the addition of a **** ** ***** permit and front patio replacement (also contained in the ***** **** estimate).
 The ************ received over $30,000 in insurance money. It is an absurd claim to accuse ARI of a scam. A scam that includes completing contracted work, and not getting paid, seems like a poor scam. Perhaps it was ARI that was scammed.

ARI's attorney's have contacted the ************, in an attempt to collect a debt.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The fact that ARI did indeed contracted with an other patio company and a rain gutter contractor to preform work on my home without ever producing either a bid or a design or the color and choice of products for our approval is proof the *** **** is either unaware of the conduct of his employee, *****, or is just outright lying.
ARI produced a hand written invoice that was sent to our insurance company on Jan. 28 2014, that only says, 
"Roof replacement, $30,758.75 " 
there is no itemization for materials, labor, sub contracting for rain gutters or any other work. 
At no time has ARI ever provided us or our insurance company with an estimate or a detailed explanation for materials, labor, or work performed by the company they hired to replace the damaged cover over our entry way. 
Regards,

***** ********** 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

This is the first time I ever saw the invoice. I will point out that when ***** produced the agreement that I signed he told us he would handle all correspondence with the insurance company and that ARI would have the front cover replaced by a contractor they use, it was ***** that told me ARI was not happy with ******* *****, and that ARI (*****) would find another company.  He also handled the hiring of the rain gutter company. 
 The first patio company ***** hired sent out a rep. that never followed up on the project, it was two months before ***** found out the rep had quit the company taking all leads and our proposal with him.
 ***** then found another company, this one never asked us what color material or what design we wanted, I asked them specifically to show me. I came home to find a terribly designed cover up, mounted at the front with four inch tall brackets bolted directly through our roof, and the back mounted flush to our roof. Besides being ugly, was white, all  the rest of our trim is a cream color. The flush mounting at the rear would have created a snow dam. 
To his credit, ***** agreed it was unacceptable and immediately contacted the company and had the issue resolved.
However, I never saw a cost estimate or a design proposal.
I should mention that when ARIs crew removed the original cover they did not remove the lag bolts that were driven into the facia boards, they just ripped it down, splitting the facia boards on both sides of the entry way. 
***** was aware of this, in fact the rain gutter contractor meet him here and told him the work could not be completed until the damage was repaired. It took another 8 weeks for ***** to repair the damage, and replace the shingles damaged by the first cover mounting brackets.
***** did mention that he had tried to get ARIs crew to return to repair the damage, but that he was tired of their putting us off, so he did it himself, I must commend him,meh did a good job, by himself.
The Insurance company provided me with the only claim they ever received from ARI, I have provided a copy to Mr. Rice, ARI lawyer.
All it shows is a hand written note on a ARI invoice, billing them for the full amount of $30k plus dollars. 
That claim was denied. 
I suggest that if the insurance company had paid on that claim, ARI would have been over paid by some $20,000.00 and would not seek to return the over payment. I have asked for an explanation for this attempted over billing several times to no avail. This is what made me ask about insurance fraud. What other reason is there for submitting a bill for $20,000.00 more then you are owed? 
This has been a nightmare for us. From the time I agreed to have ARI handle the roof repair to the time our roof was finished was 10 months.
During that time I referred other customers to ARI and their jobs were completed within one month. 
We never saw a estimated cost, until today, ***** promised me he would handle everything. Obviously he did not. 
The last time we spoke with *****, in January of this year, he assured us the case had been handled and everything was fine. 
I want to make sure that ARI is paid what they are owed, but if ARIs failure to communicate with the insurance company and provide them with the correct information and a proper detailed claim results in ARIs being under paid, who is responsible? 
Respectfully
*** ********** 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The fact that ARI did indeed contracted with an other patio company and a rain gutter contractor to preform work on my home without ever producing either a bid or a design or the color and choice of products for our approval is proof the *** **** is either unaware of the conduct of his employee, *****, or is just outright lying.
ARI produced a hand written invoice that was sent to our insurance company on Jan. 28 2014, that only says, 
"Roof replacement, $30,758.75 " 
there is no itemization for materials, labor, sub contracting for rain gutters or any other work. 
At no time has ARI ever provided us or our insurance company with an estimate or a detailed explanation for materials, labor, or work performed by the company they hired to replace the damaged cover over our entry way. 
Regards,

***** ********** 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

This is the first time I ever saw the invoice. I will point out that when ***** produced the agreement that I signed he told us he would handle all correspondence with the insurance company and that ARI would have the front cover replaced by a contractor they use, it was ***** that told me ARI was not happy with ******* *****, and that ARI (*****) would find another company.  He also handled the hiring of the rain gutter company. 
 The first patio company ***** hired sent out a rep. that never followed up on the project, it was two months before ***** found out the rep had quit the company taking all leads and our proposal with him.
 ***** then found another company, this one never asked us what color material or what design we wanted, I asked them specifically to show me. I came home to find a terribly designed cover up, mounted at the front with four inch tall brackets bolted directly through our roof, and the back mounted flush to our roof. Besides being ugly, was white, all  the rest of our trim is a cream color. The flush mounting at the rear would have created a snow dam. 
To his credit, ***** agreed it was unacceptable and immediately contacted the company and had the issue resolved.
However, I never saw a cost estimate or a design proposal.
I should mention that when ARIs crew removed the original cover they did not remove the lag bolts that were driven into the facia boards, they just ripped it down, splitting the facia boards on both sides of the entry way. 
***** was aware of this, in fact the rain gutter contractor meet him here and told him the work could not be completed until the damage was repaired. It took another 8 weeks for ***** to repair the damage, and replace the shingles damaged by the first cover mounting brackets.
***** did mention that he had tried to get ARIs crew to return to repair the damage, but that he was tired of their putting us off, so he did it himself, I must commend him,meh did a good job, by himself.
The Insurance company provided me with the only claim they ever received from ARI, I have provided a copy to Mr. Rice, ARI lawyer.
All it shows is a hand written note on a ARI invoice, billing them for the full amount of $30k plus dollars. 
That claim was denied. 
I suggest that if the insurance company had paid on that claim, ARI would have been over paid by some $20,000.00 and would not seek to return the over payment. I have asked for an explanation for this attempted over billing several times to no avail. This is what made me ask about insurance fraud. What other reason is there for submitting a bill for $20,000.00 more then you are owed? 
This has been a nightmare for us. From the time I agreed to have ARI handle the roof repair to the time our roof was finished was 10 months.
During that time I referred other customers to ARI and their jobs were completed within one month. 
We never saw a estimated cost, until today, ***** promised me he would handle everything. Obviously he did not. 
The last time we spoke with *****, in January of this year, he assured us the case had been handled and everything was fine. 
I want to make sure that ARI is paid what they are owed, but if ARIs failure to communicate with the insurance company and provide them with the correct information and a proper detailed claim results in ARIs being under paid, who is responsible? 
Respectfully
*** ********** 

Business Response: I have attached all of the documentation for this case.


The first document attached if for ******* *****. This company was contracted by *** ********** himself before ARI was involved with this roof. Attached is the invoice sent from ******* ***** to *** ********** for a total of $13,721. *** ********** paid them a whopping $24,623.72 for unfinished and unsatisfactory work. ******* ***** began their work on the rear patio portions of this roof BEFORE ARI had begun any work on the home. This company was responsible for removing the gutters and caused all of the damage to the rear of the dwelling.


Second, I have attached ***** ******* invoice. This company WAS contracted by ARI to do work to the front patio of *** **********'s dwelling. Upon entering the job site, they quickly learned that the rear patio did not match the dwelling, and that the gutters were ripped out of the facia, resulting in a need of replacement. I have attached the bills that we paid to them as a subcontractor of ARI. Their bills totaled $2036 ($500-to remove non matching work done by ******* *****+ $1536-to correctly install the front patio).


Third, I have attached the bill from the gutter work that ARI subcontracted out to fix ******* *****s gutter problems on the rear of the house totaling $811.


Fourth, there is a detailed list of work needed to be done from the insurance company, which specifically outlines what they were willing to pay for each particular portion of the house. This itemized list was given to the homeowner directly from the insurance company, so the insured knew exactly what the insurance company was going to pay. ARI was also given a copy of these documents so we knew what we needed to pay our subcontractors for each specific job. Page 2 contains the amount that insurance company was willing to pay which totaled $31,159.70. On page 3, you can see that the insurance company has allotted $10,647.57 for ROOFING work only, not Patio. Page 3 shows money allotted to ALL patio work, front AND back @ $19,743.00.


Fifth, I have attached a copy of our invoice statement sent to the insurance company.

Sixth, I have attached the itemized invoice that we sent to the homeowner for work that ARI completed dated 1/28/2015 for the amount of $14,035.32 (-$5,535.98 which *** ********** originally paid to ARI). To clear up any confusion, there are differences between our subcontractors’ invoices and ours to the Hollenbecks. We do run a business, so if we charged customers our cost, there would be no profit in this for us.

By completing simple math based on the insurance documents, ARI was contracted for and completed the work for Roofing the house ($10647.57), plus patio replacement done improperly by ******* ***** ($2,436.00), Plus gutter replacement ($822.00), Plus a building permit required by the city of Eagle, Idaho ($129.75) for a grand total of $14035.32 for work being completed by ARI. This number is far off of the $5,535.98 that we have been paid so far by *** **********.

Because this matter is in the process of a lawsuit between *** ********** and ARI, we feel that a complaint with the BBB is unwarranted as the only reason for the complaint is that the homeowner does not wish to pay ARI the money that it is owed.


Business Response: I have attached all of the documentation for this case.


The first document attached if for ******* *****. This company was contracted by *** ********** himself before ARI was involved with this roof. Attached is the invoice sent from ******* ***** to *** ********** for a total of $13,721. *** ********** paid them a whopping $24,623.72 for unfinished and unsatisfactory work. ******* ***** began their work on the rear patio portions of this roof BEFORE ARI had begun any work on the home. This company was responsible for removing the gutters and caused all of the damage to the rear of the dwelling.


Second, I have attached ***** ******* invoice. This company WAS contracted by ARI to do work to the front patio of *** **********'s dwelling. Upon entering the job site, they quickly learned that the rear patio did not match the dwelling, and that the gutters were ripped out of the facia, resulting in a need of replacement. I have attached the bills that we paid to them as a subcontractor of ARI. Their bills totaled $2036 ($500-to remove non matching work done by ******* *****+ $1536-to correctly install the front patio).


Third, I have attached the bill from the gutter work that ARI subcontracted out to fix ******* *****s gutter problems on the rear of the house totaling $811.


Fourth, there is a detailed list of work needed to be done from the insurance company, which specifically outlines what they were willing to pay for each particular portion of the house. This itemized list was given to the homeowner directly from the insurance company, so the insured knew exactly what the insurance company was going to pay. ARI was also given a copy of these documents so we knew what we needed to pay our subcontractors for each specific job. Page 2 contains the amount that insurance company was willing to pay which totaled $31,159.70. On page 3, you can see that the insurance company has allotted $10,647.57 for ROOFING work only, not Patio. Page 3 shows money allotted to ALL patio work, front AND back @ $19,743.00.


Fifth, I have attached a copy of our invoice statement sent to the insurance company.

Sixth, I have attached the itemized invoice that we sent to the homeowner for work that ARI completed dated 1/28/2015 for the amount of $14,035.32 (-$5,535.98 which *** ********** originally paid to ARI). To clear up any confusion, there are differences between our subcontractors’ invoices and ours to the Hollenbecks. We do run a business, so if we charged customers our cost, there would be no profit in this for us.

By completing simple math based on the insurance documents, ARI was contracted for and completed the work for Roofing the house ($10647.57), plus patio replacement done improperly by ******* ***** ($2,436.00), Plus gutter replacement ($822.00), Plus a building permit required by the city of Eagle, Idaho ($129.75) for a grand total of $14035.32 for work being completed by ARI. This number is far off of the $5,535.98 that we have been paid so far by *** **********.

Because this matter is in the process of a lawsuit between *** ********** and ARI, we feel that a complaint with the BBB is unwarranted as the only reason for the complaint is that the homeowner does not wish to pay ARI the money that it is owed.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

No papers have been served as of yet. The damage done to the fascia was not in the back of the house but was in the front where ARIs crew removed the front patio cover. ******* ***** work was inspected by the ***** **** ******** and was signed off. ******* ***** not paid what ARI is claiming, however they did have to submit extensive engineering plans to bring the patio to code as the original patio had been built by Patios Unlimited under previously existing codes and was in violation of setback laws.
I have all copies of the permits and plans. 
ARI first submitted a claim to our insurance company for over $30,000.00, plus the permit fee. The insurance company paid the permit fee but denied the rest. We, my wife and myself, had never seen a bill from ARI till we requested one after we received a letter from *** ****. 
The last time we spoke with *** **** he was convinced that ******* ***** had "ripped" us (my wife and me) off as he (*** ****) was going to contact ******* ***** about it. 
The poor business practices of ARI are solely to blame for the mess we now are dealing with.
i have two questions for *** ****.
1. If ***** **** had errniously not realized that ARI was over billing for $30,000,00 plus dollars and had actually paid ARI that erroneous amount, does *** **** really believe *** **** would have made any effort to repay the ill gained monies? 
2. If the State Attorney Generals Office of Consumer Affairs were to audit *** ***** and ARIs insurance claims for the past five years would that audit discover that this is an isolated mistake? 



Regards,
***** ********** 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

No papers have been served as of yet. The damage done to the fascia was not in the back of the house but was in the front where ARIs crew removed the front patio cover. ******* ***** work was inspected by the ***** **** ******** and was signed off. ******* ***** not paid what ARI is claiming, however they did have to submit extensive engineering plans to bring the patio to code as the original patio had been built by Patios Unlimited under previously existing codes and was in violation of setback laws.
I have all copies of the permits and plans. 
ARI first submitted a claim to our insurance company for over $30,000.00, plus the permit fee. The insurance company paid the permit fee but denied the rest. We, my wife and myself, had never seen a bill from ARI till we requested one after we received a letter from *** ****. 
The last time we spoke with *** **** he was convinced that ******* ***** had "ripped" us (my wife and me) off as he (*** ****) was going to contact ******* ***** about it. 
The poor business practices of ARI are solely to blame for the mess we now are dealing with.
i have two questions for *** ****.
1. If ***** **** had errniously not realized that ARI was over billing for $30,000,00 plus dollars and had actually paid ARI that erroneous amount, does *** **** really believe *** **** would have made any effort to repay the ill gained monies? 
2. If the State Attorney Generals Office of Consumer Affairs were to audit *** ***** and ARIs insurance claims for the past five years would that audit discover that this is an isolated mistake? 



Regards,
***** ********** 

Business Response: As we have previously stated, *** ********** is in the process of a lawsuit with ARI. This fact alone is not grounds for a complaint against our business.

All of the patio work that was completed by ARI’s subcontractor was done AFTER ******* ***** had supposedly finished their work. They “finished” the patio with non matching colors which the homeowner was not satisfied with. We had to have our subcontractor remove and replace all that was unsatisfactory.

The engineering plans *** ********** is referring to were not included in the original insurance documents that I have previously attached. That being said, the money that the Hollenbecks paid to ******* ***** for any additional work was supposed to go towards all pre-approved work on the insurance documents. Any additional work that was paid to ******* ***** came directly out of the funds for the rest of the insurance estimate. 

ARI is not responsible for recouping those funds from the insurance company, because we did not do work outside of the original scope. Our services were already pre-approved and funds were paid to the homeowner by the insurance company.

*** ********** should have requested any additional funds through the insurance company in order to make his house up to current code, and pay ******* ***** with the money allotted for that specific work; not the money that was already assigned to go elsewhere.

ARI did submit the proper paperwork to the insurance company. The insurance company released ALL funds to the homeowner for work that was pre-approved and in the itemized insurance documents. The homeowners paid ******* ***** more than was allotted in those insurance documents.

ARI is not billing *** ********** for the entire amount on the insurance documents ($30,659.70) as you can plainly see in our invoice to the insured. We want to get paid for the work that we completed.

At the basis of this complaint and issue is that *** ********** grossly overpaid one company and did not pay ARI for the services rendered by ARI.

Again, ARI is not billing the Hollenbecks for work we did not complete. We do deserve to get paid for the services that we provided and have detailed documentation for. It is not our responsibility to try and recover funds that were errantly paid to another company as they do not work for us. The homeowner signed a contract with ARI and is therefore responsible to pay ARI for the work that we performed.

As for *** **********’s claim that we billed them for an erroneous amount of $30,000, look on the documents provided from the insurance company. ARI billed StateFarm for the amount of $30,659.70. We billed them this amount so they would release all pre-approved funds to the homeowner. All pre-approved work had been completed, so we sent in a Certificate of Completion along with an invoice for completed services. It was up to the homeowner to disperse those funds properly, which he did not.

ARI is only trying to recover money for the work that we performed. Filing a complaint with the BBB is this homeowner’s way of trying to defer payment to ARI for the services that were rendered and billed to *** ********** by ARI. Also, claiming that ARI has done this in the past is not only false and unnecessary slander, but irrelevant to this issue.

Business Response: As we have previously stated, *** ********** is in the process of a lawsuit with ARI. This fact alone is not grounds for a complaint against our business.

All of the patio work that was completed by ARI’s subcontractor was done AFTER ******* ***** had supposedly finished their work. They “finished” the patio with non matching colors which the homeowner was not satisfied with. We had to have our subcontractor remove and replace all that was unsatisfactory.

The engineering plans *** ********** is referring to were not included in the original insurance documents that I have previously attached. That being said, the money that the Hollenbecks paid to ******* ***** for any additional work was supposed to go towards all pre-approved work on the insurance documents. Any additional work that was paid to ******* ***** came directly out of the funds for the rest of the insurance estimate. 

ARI is not responsible for recouping those funds from the insurance company, because we did not do work outside of the original scope. Our services were already pre-approved and funds were paid to the homeowner by the insurance company.

*** ********** should have requested any additional funds through the insurance company in order to make his house up to current code, and pay ******* ***** with the money allotted for that specific work; not the money that was already assigned to go elsewhere.

ARI did submit the proper paperwork to the insurance company. The insurance company released ALL funds to the homeowner for work that was pre-approved and in the itemized insurance documents. The homeowners paid ******* ***** more than was allotted in those insurance documents.

ARI is not billing *** ********** for the entire amount on the insurance documents ($30,659.70) as you can plainly see in our invoice to the insured. We want to get paid for the work that we completed.

At the basis of this complaint and issue is that *** ********** grossly overpaid one company and did not pay ARI for the services rendered by ARI.

Again, ARI is not billing the Hollenbecks for work we did not complete. We do deserve to get paid for the services that we provided and have detailed documentation for. It is not our responsibility to try and recover funds that were errantly paid to another company as they do not work for us. The homeowner signed a contract with ARI and is therefore responsible to pay ARI for the work that we performed.

As for *** **********’s claim that we billed them for an erroneous amount of $30,000, look on the documents provided from the insurance company. ARI billed StateFarm for the amount of $30,659.70. We billed them this amount so they would release all pre-approved funds to the homeowner. All pre-approved work had been completed, so we sent in a Certificate of Completion along with an invoice for completed services. It was up to the homeowner to disperse those funds properly, which he did not.

ARI is only trying to recover money for the work that we performed. Filing a complaint with the BBB is this homeowner’s way of trying to defer payment to ARI for the services that were rendered and billed to *** ********** by ARI. Also, claiming that ARI has done this in the past is not only false and unnecessary slander, but irrelevant to this issue.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


We want nothing more than for this issue to be settled, we have been in contact with our insurance company through out this process. They have still not received an itemized statement from ARI accounting for labor and materials. 
Because of this they have no choice other than to close the claim, but if ARI were to provide one by the end of this month they can reopen the claim and may still be able to make funds available to ARI. 
 Time is running out, all ARI has to provide is a detailed statement. This should be simple, but so far every statement the insurance company has received has been incomplete. 
 ******* ***** has nothing to do with ARIs claim, there is no lawsuit pending between ARI and us, and we have no intention of starting one. I contacted ***** ***** to deal with ARIs lawyer *** **** but only as a negotiator as *** ***** deals with insurance law, but only to protect us. 
 Sincerely 
*** ********** 
  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.


We want nothing more than for this issue to be settled, we have been in contact with our insurance company through out this process. They have still not received an itemized statement from ARI accounting for labor and materials. 
Because of this they have no choice other than to close the claim, but if ARI were to provide one by the end of this month they can reopen the claim and may still be able to make funds available to ARI. 
 Time is running out, all ARI has to provide is a detailed statement. This should be simple, but so far every statement the insurance company has received has been incomplete. 
 ******* ***** has nothing to do with ARIs claim, there is no lawsuit pending between ARI and us, and we have no intention of starting one. I contacted ***** ***** to deal with ARIs lawyer *** **** but only as a negotiator as *** ***** deals with insurance law, but only to protect us. 
 Sincerely 
*** ********** 
  

7/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

9 Customer Reviews on ARI, LLC
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart