Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

H.D. Power Systems, Inc

Phone: (208) 949-1121 Fax: (208) 350-6565 8651 W. Westmark St., Boise, ID 83704

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company sells generators, air compressors and pumps.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that H.D. Power Systems, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for H.D. Power Systems, Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on H.D. Power Systems, Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 04, 2009 Business started: 01/23/2009 in ID Business incorporated 01/23/2009 in ID
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Tony La Petina, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tony La Petina, President
Business Category


Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday: 9AM-5PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Card, Check
Refund and Exchange Policy
1 Year full warrenty
Service Area
Treasure Valley
Alternate Business Names
Heavy Duty Power Systems, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

H.D. Power Systems, Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8651 W. Westmark St.

    Boise, ID 83704 (208) 949-1121

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 11/16/2013 a truck pulled in my driveway. It had some hd power equipment in the back of it. the men explained that it was demo equipment that had only been used in show and offered it to me at what seamed to be a discount price @ the time because they showed me pricing at 15,000 dollars . I did not ask these men to come to my home to sell me anything. I wrote a check for $5960.00 and unloaded the items in to my shop. later that evening I found the same items on craigslist, and for basically the full value of what I had just paid. I decided to cancel and return my order. I will provide copies of the receipt and cancelation request I faxed to them on 11/17/2013,& 11/18/2013,& 11/24/2013. I also called them repeatedly until I got someone to answer on 11/18/2013 and explained that I would like a refund and they need to refund my money and come back for there equipment. I made sure that before I hung up she had agreed to do so. since then I have gotten one message on my answering machine, which I could not understand the return number for and nothing else. I have checked the Washington state laws on this door to door sale, and as I understand it I have with in three business days to give written notice of my return or cancelation under the (cool down period) law pertaining to door to door sales. the seller must return my money and has 10 business days to recover their merchandise. still no one has come to retrieve items or refund my money. It had got to the point that the last message I left them I finally said (out of frustration) just send someone here with a check and i'll return their items. I have not used anything that was purchased here and all items are in exact condition as they were when they were purchased.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back. if the law allows them to still recover their merchandise, I'll help them load it. if not then I'll keep it. I have made ample request and attempt to cancel door to door sale, and I need my money back now please. ****** *********

Business Response:

My response regarding this situation has been delayed due to the fact that this resolution is still pending on behalf of customer. However, in the meantime, we have agreed to refund customer and retrieve merchandise at customers request. If you have any further questions or would like to follow up on this transaction, please feel free at anytime to contact me.

10/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: A man showed up at my door and told me that he had a load of equipment that his company had in the area for display and demo, he also told me that his boss to sell it and only charge the price of the diesel generator I paid with my Credit card and have been looking for this company I have not been able to talk with anyone there. Through checking all of the equipment is way over priced and I know I was sold a bill of goods. This I feel is very underhanded and dishonest sales. I also have found out that others in the area was told the same untruths about the equipment. I would like them to come and pick the equipment back up and credit back the $6,460.00 dollars and it should cost me nothing they can pick up the equipment right where they dropped it off. that is after I have proof from my card company that they have credited the above amount back. (No restocking fee or other hidden charges).

Desired Settlement: credit the amount charged back to my credit card.

Business Response:

I am writing in regards to a customer by the name of, **** ** *****. I understand that *** ***** claims to have tried to contact my company in regards to this sale, and claims there was no response. I ***** ****** am the only one here in the office, and can assure you that if he had called, or left a message regarding this matter, I would have returned his call promptly to resolve this issue. Being that I did not receive a call, nor a voicemail, that would explain why he didn't speak with anyone. I also understand that he would like to return the merchandise that he purchased on 6/19/2013 for the full amount, and for it be refunded prior to pickup. Policy entails that I can only refund a demoed purchase within 7 days of purchase date. He is now asking for a refund in total of 3 months later. So I cannot make any exceptions, because of this timeline, his skepticism and opinions. Had *** ***** called in the contractual 7 days time limit, I would have had no problem in refunding his equipment purchase in full. *** ***** also states that the equipment was overpriced. He received 5 pieces if equipment that total a little over $15,000 MSRP for $6,460. Reason being is that it is demoed and we cannot resale it, so along with his package demo deal, comes with a full one year warranty as well. So I believe he was not underhanded and in fact got a great deal, with quality equipment, and full warranty. thank you for your time regarding this issue.


Best Regards,

**** ****** ********** *******

H.D. Power Systems, Inc.

5/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Two guys show up in a truck at your house with a truck load of over priced power equipment selling it a cut rate prices. After completing some research on this Company they have done this all over areas and have duped others, they don't even have service centers for this type of equipment in any areas. Pay with a credit card to protect yourself from this type of unethical business transactions. They have real small print about some 20% restocking fees, this was not reviewed or mentioned at any point in the transaction.

Desired Settlement: Total Refund since I paid with my credit card. They can come pick up the equipment at no charge to me or to them and all is well.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,


This issue was resolved immediately. We refunded his credit card in full, and customer was satified. *** ****** **** ** ******* **** ** ***** **** ****** ***

** *** ** *** **** ******** **** **** ****** ******* **** ** **** ** ******* ***** **** ***** **** ****** ********** ******* **** ********* ***

1/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their sales tactics are deceptive. They come in with an inflated "retail" pricing sheet on their generators, air compressors and other items that they claim have been demoed in the area and they cannot send the merchandise back to Idaho. After further investigation we are unable to find any retail establishments that sell these items at the prices on the sheet. We can find the exact same items in our area (and the US) on craigslist with the same story.After contacting them for a refund they informed us of a 20% restocking fee which we were not informed of prior to the sale. We would consider this to be a door-to-door sale because they came to our home. They are becoming increasingly harder to talk to on the phone and it is becoming more apparent that they do not want to deal with us.

Desired Settlement: We would like to see a full refund with no restocking fee and for them to come pick up their merchandise.

Business Response: I am writing in regards to a complaint that was written by *** ***** ******. This matter has been
resolved in accordance with the contract provision.