Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roto Rooter Plumbing & Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Roto Rooter Plumbing & Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 09, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1988 in ID Business under new ownership as of: 03/07/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Division of Building Safety
1090 E Watertower St., Meridian ID 83642
Phone Number: (208) 334-3950

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chris Sainsbury, General Manager Mrs. Meghan Sainsbury, Business Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Sainsbury, General Manager
Principal: Mrs. Meghan Sainsbury, Business Manager
Business Category


Service Area
Eastern Oregon & Southwest Idaho
Alternate Business Names
Red Barn Plumbing LLC

Additional Locations

  • 2280 E. Commercial St.

    Meridian, ID 83642 (208) 562-8040

  • PO Box 16616

    Boise, ID 83715


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: TO ALL CONCERNED I had Roto Rotter install a Septic Tank Riser at my home. The Riser was installed below grade instead of at grade level, approx. 2in. low. An employee of Roto Rooter came to my home, he removed the lid of the riser, and we discovered that the riser was not sitting over the hole in the septic tank where the old septic tank lid had been removed, leaving a portion of the open hole in the septic tank unprotected, exposed to the dirt surrounding the riser .. The employee of Roto Rooter verified that the work preformed by Roto Rooter was sub par and needed to be repaired. The employee that did the job initially is no longer in Roto Rooter's employ... Fired I assume. I had paid $ 829.00 for this job. No small amount of money! The employee said he would return the following day and dig up the riser and place a new riser in the proper position and at the proper elevation. The following day "chris the owner" showed up instead of his employee. "chris the owner" did not want to fix the improperly placed riser his employee had installed, even after "chris the owner" ADMITTED that the job was done improperly! He offered me $135 to go away. Remember I paid $829.00!! I obviously refused his 'BRIBE' as this sub par job will cause me more troubles as time goes on. ROTO ROOTER IS FULL OF WHAT THEY PUMP !!!!!!!!!!!!! I will have the riser redone by a competent company who takes pride in doing a job right the first time, a company that has a concern for customer satisfaction as well as return customers, not a company that does a job half- ***** and walks away!! I will then be forced to sue Roto Rooter and "chris the owner" in small claims court , not what I expected when I hired Roto Rooter!! Do not walk away from this company..... RUN !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: Install Septic tank riser properly!

Business Response:  The customer did not pay $829.00 for a riser installation.  He paid $829.00 for a complete service of his septic system including electronic location of the tank, hand digging 2.75 feet deep to expose the lid, pumping and disposal of the waste, and then finally a riser and lid installation.  There were no "bribes" offered for anyone to "go away".  The extra drama and misrepresentations in the customer's statement illustrates why a simple refund would have been the most fitting solution to resolve the issue.  The customer was completely unwilling to discuss the possibility of a refund for the riser and lid installation.  He became very angry when I suggested that a refund would be the best solution and would not allow me to explain why.  Instead he hollered and swore at me to get off his property multiple times as I walked to my vehicle.  When I arrived back to my office our dispatcher informed me that this same customer called and proceeded to use profanity in a very angry tone demanding to speak with the owner of the business.  He also related to the dispatcher that the two idiots they sent tried to bribe him with a hundred dollar bill.  There are numerous factors that can allow for a dissatisfied customer to become even more offended and critical of a contractor's work through the course of a repair involving sod cutting, dirt removal, and setting a septic riser/lid at perfect elevation, tilt, and appearance in relationship to their carefully manicured yard.  Authorizing a pair of employees to disturb this man's lawn a second time and expecting them to meet his precise expectations was not realistic, based on his comments and attitude.  His grass depression around the septic area appeared to be affected by other factors aside from the September 2014 riser installation.  The septic tank is not level and shows signs of settling.  I will take responsibility for my technician's less than perfect riser and lid installation, but I can't be responsible for another contractor's septic tank installation and 22 years of natural soil settling around the septic tank. I am very willing to offer a full refund for the lid, riser, and installation labor on this portion of the service to close this matter, but I am not comfortable with the false accusations and misrepresentations which have been written by this customer to question my character and the competency of my business.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference ** ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is true. I paid $829.50 for a service that was half done right and half that was not. The simple refund ***** is proposing is 68% of what I paid Roto Rooter and ***** . I paid $365.00. $230.00 just for Roto Rooter to dig the hole, $135.00 for the riser and lid.   Why would I take $250?  I guess this is a "Simple Refund"The main issue was and still is the improperly installed riser that is not setting over the hole in the septic tank. It is off center and  allows dirt to fall into the tank. An issue that ***** agreed will need repair when he was at my home. The riser itself is 2" below grade, which has absolutely nothing to due with a septic tank that may or may not have settled 22 yrs. ago? So many excuses after the bill was paid. Where's the pride in workmanship?***** ask me several times what would it take to make me happy?I replied several times that all I wanted was Roto Rooter and ***** to repair and replace this the riser.That is all, Do the job you were hire to do. That is all I ask. Nothing more, nothing less. Something you would expect from a company that has been in business as long as Roto Rooter.This is when I was offered a portion of my money instead of ***** doing the right thing and doing the repair.No "false accusations and misrepresentations" Just the truth! 

Business Response: It appears that this customer has agreed to a $250.00 refund through our corporate office.  The check will be mailed out within 48 hours.    

6/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We found that there was a leak under our house, and water was pooling in the crawl space, so we contacted roto rooter through their website to come help us figure out what was going on, requesting their advertised "free estimate". The plumber that came out said that the problem came from roots growing through our pipes, so he blasted high pressure water into the main clean out and said that should fix it. He was here less than half an hour and charged $200. Nothing changed so we contacted them again and they said someone would be out to give the free estimate we originally requested. They looked and said that it was still roots and gave an estimate for over $500 to run a snake in to clean them out. I didn't trust them after the last time, so I had a handy family member help me take a look. We found that one of the pipes under the house didn't have a cap, and that was the source of the leak. We also found that a regular sludge clog was causing the backup. We ran a snake through, and capped the open pipe, and the problem is now 100% fixed. This business is lying to scam money out of me, and that is not acceptable.

Desired Settlement: Roto rooter was unable to find the simple fix that took me half a day to fix. That made it sound way worse than it was in an attempt to scam over $700 out of me for a repair that cost less than $20 and took 3-4 hours. A refund is the only acceptable outcome after this scam. I have the names of all plumbers involved, receipts with written notes claiming a non existent problem, and I'm considering taking this to the local media if we don't work out a refund for this scam.

Business Response: Our technician arrived at the property and assessed the situation as follows:  The crawl space was flooded with sewage due to a blockage in the main sewer line combined with deteriorated drain lines that were not sealed correctly inside of the crawl space area.  Our technician recommended a professional restoration service be contracted to extract waste and sanitize the crawl space so a thorough and complete diagnostic and repair process could be completed on the plumbing system without having someone crawl through unsanitary conditions.  Cost for such a service was an immediate concern to the customer.  The main sewer line was temporarily unplugged for a charge of $200.00 in hope that the customer could at minimum have a functioning toilet without adding to the mess in the crawl space with each flush, while he took a day or two to consult with family members on acquiring funds for the permanent repairs that were without question going to have to be made.  Within a day or two the customer contacted our dispatch center requesting the "free estimate" for repairs on the system.  Two of our technicians returned to the job site and found that the crawl space mess had not been dealt with at all.  Again, an emphasis was made by our technicians that the crawl space had to be cleaned before our company would proceed with any further diagnostics and repair work.  Again, the customer expressed concerns about not being able to afford professional services to complete the work.  Our technicians left the premises and did not charge for the 2nd visit.  The customer never contacted us beyond the 2nd visit with any complaints, updates, nor request for additional service.  This complaint from the customer through the BBB website obviously states that repairs were made by the customer and a family member at some later date.    

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
My initial contact with roto rooter was the request for the free estimate, in my second contact I pointed out to them that they never completed my initial request. That is why they sent out the two technicians for the second visit. Why would I need a free estimate AFTER already having someone out to look? 
Also, they did not clear the line at all, there was absolutely no change between the time they arrived and the time they left, or any point thereafter. The technician simply asked if the toilet flushed, which it did even before they came out, so that's not a measure of anything. In all of this backtracking and attempts to charge for unnecessary services, they missed the ONLY problem which was a missing drain cap on an unused portion of the pipe. It was very obvious, and with a little looking (even without clearing the water) I was able to get pictures of it. The reason I'm displeased is because not only did they not do anything that a reasonable person could consider a service, they also tried to tell me that I needed certain repairs which were completely unnecessary and egregious. Replace the whole system over a missing cap? Are you kidding me? This is an absolute and obvious scam, that will be apparent to any rational person after seeing the facts. And until this is resolved I will continue to tell everyone I can about this scam so they don't get taken advantage of. Cost was not my concern, efficiency was. If you need to replace the entire sewer system under the house and out to the alley just to fix a problem caused by one missing cap, then you are grossly incompetent at the very least!

******* *****

Business Response: I don't consider a plumbing problem in a crawl space that requires two people and 4 hours of labor a simple repair.  Perhaps 20 minutes or less for 1 person would be better classified as a simple repair.  Your report does a nice job justifying our position as a professional service provider so thank you for that.  I am also waiting for a response explaining how the sewage mess in the crawl space was handled in order for you to safely enter the area.  Did you have the sewer line camera inspected to determine how thorough of a service was performed to prevent recurrences in the future?  Also a response as to why our company would have been expected to diagnose and repair on the 1st or 2nd visit without you taking responsibility for creating a sanitary and safe work area as our technicians explained in detail two different times?    

9/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Roto Rooter Plumbing & Services
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)