Download


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Drake Mechanical provides plumbing, drain cleaning, central vacuum, heating and air conditioning services, from faucets to furnaces and drains to air conditioners and toilets we can handle all of your home or businesses plumbing, heating and air conditioning needs.  Drake Mechanical can also handle all of your water softener, water filtration and water heater needs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Drake Mechanical, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Drake Mechanical, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

9 Customer Reviews on Drake Mechanical, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 8
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 9

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 03, 1996 Business started: 07/01/1978 in ID Business started locally: 07/01/1978 Business incorporated 07/20/1978 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Division of Building Safety
1090 E Watertower St., Meridian ID 83642
http://www.dbs.idaho.gov
Phone Number: (208) 334-3950
jrayne@dbs.idaho.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nick Drake, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nick Drake, President
Business Category

Plumbers Heating & Air Conditioning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heat Pumps Heating Contractors

Hours of Operation
24/7/365 Emergency Service
Refund and Exchange Policy
Plumbing Warranty
Drake Mechanical has a 100% satisfaction Guarantee associated with all the work they do.  New parts and installations have a 1 year guarantee associated with them from the date of installation.  

Air Condition and Heating Warranty
Drake Mechanical has a 100% satisfaction guarantee and a True 1 Year Test drive on all Bryant Heating and Air Conditioning Equipment, if you are not 100% satisfied with your new York Heating and Air Conditioning equipment in the first year they will buy it back.  Warranty is Manufacturers warranty.
Service Area
Boise Idaho and the surrounding area.
Additional Information

Se Habla


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Drake Mechanical, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5551 W Gowen Rd

    Boise, ID 83709 (208) 362-6200 (208) 231-1060

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My experience with Drake Mechanical in Boise Idaho began on Monday, December 21, 2015 when I called their publicly listed number from their website to ask for a quote on a service that I was considering for my home. I wanted them to quote a price to have a gas line run for a gas clothes dryer, as well as to price two future gas lines for a gas range and a gas fireplace. I called that Monday morning and asked the receptionist if there was someone who could give me a ballpark quote over the phone. She told me that wasn’t possible, but offered to have a service technician come to my home the next day to provide a detailed quote. I had hoped to avoid that to save time, but agreed to have someone come out for a detailed quote so that our estimate would be more accurate. There was no mention of a charge for the estimate during this phone call and I perceived it to be a service that carried no charge. Tuesday, December 22, 2015 I received a call as expected from the receptionist just after 12:00pm asking if I was available for the service technician to come to our home to perform our estimate. Although I had another commitment that I had to attend to, my wife was home so I told the receptionist that they could give the estimate to my wife. The service technician arrived at our home and my wife proceeded to show him what we were asking for. She tells me that he spent about 30 minutes there, mostly waiting for a phone call back from his office. After receiving a phone call back he wrote out a nonsensical and confusing quote and handed it to my wife with a $39.00 service charge shown at the bottom and asked for payment. This gave my wife the impression that I had agreed to pay for the estimate earlier, which I had not. Not only did they charge us $39.00 for a service that I perceived to be free of charge, but they double charged it to her card. Upon hearing that they had charged my wife without me there I was furious. It looked to me as if because I was not there that they had taken advantage of my wife financially. I checked their website to be sure I hadn’t missed something, but they have no pricing listed there and no mention of a charge for estimates either. We cooled down over the Christmas holiday and proceeded to call them on the phone again on Tuesday, December 29, 2015 to ask that both $39.00 charges to my wife’s credit card be refunded. Drake Mechanical agreed to refund the second $39.00 overcharge, but refused to refund the $39.00 that they deceptively charged us for the estimate in the first place. The representative told us that they had a new receptionist who sometimes forgets to tell people that there is a charge associated with their estimates, and thus would not refund our payment. We explained that we were willing to take further action to receive a refund, and they again refused. Drake Mechanical had three chances to disclose that the estimate would cost us $39.00 before it was completed in two phone calls and at the time that the service technician arrived at our home. They omitted the information in a deceptive act to charge us after the fact for a service that I perceived as having no charge. I would not have allowed them to perform the estimate if they had disclosed that there was a charge associated with it ahead of time. There are dozens of other plumbing, mechanical, and HVAC contractors in the Treasure Valley licensed to install gas piping who would have gladly given us a no cost estimate for the service and therefore no reason for me to pay to get an estimate. Drake mechanical violated Section 5 of the Federal Trade Commission Act by using an Unfair or Deceptive Act or Practice in conducting business with us. The Federal Trade Commission Act reads as follows: Section 5: Unfair or Deceptive Acts or Practices Deceptive Acts or Practices An act or practice is deceptive where • A representation, omission, or practice misleads or is likely to mislead the customer • A consumer’s interpretation of the representation, omission, or practice is considered reasonable under the circumstances; and • The misleading representation, omission, or practice is material Drake Mechanical misleadingly omitted the fact that their estimate would cost us $39.00 three different times, in two phone calls and at the time of the estimate. A consumer has a reasonable expectation for such a cost to be voluntarily disclosed before the service in rendered, which is why their omission caused me to interpret the estimate as being free of charge. Their misleading omission became material upon Drake Mechanical charging my unknowing wife $39.00 for the service completing the criteria set by the FTC to define this act as deceptive under the law.

Desired Settlement: . In order for this issue to be satisfactorily resolved, I will need Drake Mechanical to provide a paper check in the amount of $39.00 as a refund of the amount that we were deceptively charged for the estimate that they provided us on December 22, 2015. This will be in addition to the $39.00 paper check that they already agreed to issue because they charged us $39.00 twice for a total of $78.00. This shall be mailed to the same address as the overcharge refund that we have provided. Upon receipt of both $39.00 checks I will consider the issue satisfactorily resolved and will close the case with the Better Business Bureau. Should they continue to refuse us a refund, I will continue to pursue further action against them as allowed by law.

Business Response:

*********** *** ******* *******

My name is Nick Drake; I am the President of Drake Mechanical.  I was out last week for some time off for the holidays so until I got your message from the BBB I was unaware of any of the goings on with this project or us giving you an estimate.  I have now made the connection as **** called me and I sized the piping changes he wanted and put the price together for him as gas piping is not something that you can just put in a flat rate book pricing system as every application is different.  I want to offer my sincere apologies for you getting not charged once but twice.  We have sat down with the tech that was onsite and gone over the credit card app in further detail to make sure he understands how to use it correctly moving forward.  As far as you not being told about the $39.00 I listened to the phone conversation between you and ****** this morning and you are 100% correct.  ****** did not give you that information on the phone.  It is our company policy that unless we are quoting a whole furnace and ac change out where a salesman goes out rather than a service technician that we always charge the $39.00 as our basic service fee to get a tech onsite to properly diagnose the problem and then give you a proposal for the work that is to be performed prior to doing any work.  As far as **** charging you the fee he is doing as he is instructed to on every service call he goes out on.  I have also had a long discussion with both of our receptionists and dispatcher and made sure that moving forward we don’t forget to tell each customer about our service fee.  As for the website I have never posted rates for anything on there so I know that you would not find it on there.  We are sending out a check to your address today and as I said before I sincerely apologize for the double charge and miscommunication.  That should never have happened but unfortunately we are all human and do make mistakes.  The pricing **** gave you for the gas piping I am assuming as I was not there that he believed that he was to give you a price for all of the piping that you wanted to do in the future not just the one run and a manifold.  When he gave me footages and BTU loads I based the pricing off all of the piping that needed performed.  I am sorry that we are losing you as a customer but I do want to make it as right as I can and get you refunded and offer my best explanation of what happened.  If there is ever a chance to earn your business back, I would certainly appreciate the opportunity as my family has been taking care of peoples plumbing and heating since 1909 and what you experienced is not the way my family has ever or will ever do business. 

 

Sincerely,

Nick Drake

 

President

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to c******** ** ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Thank you for your help in this matter. I will contact Mr. Drake after this to thank him for his personal attention to our issue.

******** *********** *** ******* ******

1/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sister's husband died a couple years ago and I try to keep an eye out for her well being. Her kitchen sink drain started leaking this past Dec. 23rd at a time I was out of state. She picked this Drake company out of the phone book to hire for her repair. My complaint stems from the fact that they took advantage of a 70 year old person who does not have the mental capacity to under stand what a price quote even is or what it says. Yeah- not the company's problem, but the company should have the moral integrity to refrain from charging 198.00 dollars to replace 1.00 dollar worth of pipe in a 15 minute or less job. They had already charged her $39.00 to show up and look at the job plus $5.00 for a gas surcharge ( at a time that gas was the lowest price in the last 5 years). This company needs to be looked at for this type of customer bilking. Oh--- they did give her a 5% discount--- after an over charge of at least $175.00. 50 to 60 dollars for this job would be more then fair. I request a refund settlement of 150 to 175 dollars. Her total bill was $231.00. To replace $1.00 worth of pipe. (probably used a piece of scrap pipe lying in the bottom of his truck) Sincerely Jay Cresto

Desired Settlement: Company check to ***** *****, sent to me at my address.

Business Response: After speaking with the customer’s brother, reviewing the invoice, speaking with our person who originally took this call, and speaking with the technician who went out on the call, this is our response to the complaint received from the customer’s brother: When a call for service comes into our business our call takers follow a certain script, and ask certain questions, that is how we obtain needed customer information, determine the nature of their problem, and time frame of the call. All customers are informed of the $39 service fee we charge to send a technician to the jobsite, assess the situation, and give the customer pricing. They are also informed that we collect payment at time of service. All of this is done before we send a technician out. Upon his arrival the technician will determine what repairs will need to be made and how much they will cost. The technician will then obtain an authorization signature from the customer before he does any work at all. This signature guarantees that the customer has had explained to them the repairs needed and the exact cost of those repairs. If the customer does not like the price, the diagnosis, or the technician, we then politely leave and move on to the next job. The customer is not obligated to us for the repairs at this point. This also provides the customer an opportunity to discuss the price, affordability, and other possible repair options all before any work is done. Once the needed signature is obtained we then complete the repairs as discussed and collect payment. It is not our place to make any determinations as to whether the customer is of sound mind. We will assume that if the customer knows they have a problem, finds us in the yellow pages or on the internet, calls us for service, shows the technician the problem, signs the paperwork and writes us a check, that they are of sound mind. We also have many elderly customers and certainly would never use a person’s age to determine soundness of mind. We are in the business of providing a service to our customers, we are not a retail business where the customer can return a product to the store for a refund if they have post buyer’s remorse or find it cheaper a week later on ******* It would be difficult for us to return a person’s plumbing issue, or in this case a leak, and give them their money back. That is why we explain cost before we do the work. In this case all of the procedures we have in place were followed, the technician had the needed signatures, completed the work and collected payment all several weeks before any complaint was made. This customer was charged exactly the same price we would charge any other customer in our service area, and given a seniors discount. We also have financing options we provide for customers who request. Again we would never use a person’s age to make any determinations as to their financial status. We would assume that if they give us an authorization signature, and write us a check that they have the needed funds. We completely reserve the right to determine what prices we will charge for our services. The customer reserves the right to refuse our services if they so choose. In this instance we will not reduce the charges for our services beyond the senior discount we already gave. We also reserve the right to offer a senior discount to our elderly customers and what that discount will be. It is unfortunate that this customer, or at least her brother, feels that they were taken advantage of. However, we stand behind our pricing and the system we have in place to take care of our customers 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. And after looking into this situation, I could not find where we violated any of our procedures or pricing guide, or that we treated this customer unfairly.



****** ********* ******* ******* ***** ********** ************ ********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I just wanted to point out to the BBB that their way of doing repairs, to me, makes it very easy to over charge folks that don't understand what they are being told.  

******** *** ******

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had Drake come out to fix a gas fireplace that wasn't working. They said they fixed the problem and left and approximately four hours later I left to go to the store and came back to smell a gas leak. I called them and told them there was a problem and it took over two hours for the on-call person to call me back, at no point did they ever tell me to ventilate my house or turn off the gas or how to turn off the gas. I figured that out on my own, after my one-year-old daughter was exposed to a gas leak for over four hours. They came and said they repaired the gas leak the next morning, about an hour later I could still smell gas I called them and complained and was told a manager would call me this was on a Saturday. Nobody called. The following Thursday my husband called them and again they said a repairman out for the third time. The fireplace was not fixed our gas was turned off again and the repairman stated they would call the next day with a solution. No one called us back is been four days. I have called them several times and requested a refund I am told someone will call me back and no one returns my calls. I cannot believe that they cannot take a gas leak that they caused seriously, they will not refund our money or return our calls. I want a refund so I can get my fireplace fixed and I want to know what laws if any were broken by causing a gas leak and not fixing it this seems incredibly dangerous and it doesn't seem like anybody cares.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the money that we spent and I would like to know what they plan on doing for the future if they cause a gas leak if it could potentially harm somebody.

Business Response: In regards to your concerns and question about the service for your gas fireplace, I have spoken to both
technicians that had responded to your calls. The following is an account from the technicians for your calls:
January 24, 2014, ***** received the call regarding the fireplace igniter not working and found that the gas
was not turned on. ***** turned on the gas to the fireplace, he inspected the equipment, adjusted the pilot
light and replaced the igniter. ***** verified operations of the equipment and collected the cost of the service
call of $145.00.
January 25, 2014, you contacted our office regarding a possible gas leak. Drake dispatched the first available
technician to your home. The technician, ****, leak tested the gas line and found the gas valve fitting leaking.
The technician tightened this valve and leak tested the line again. There was no leak detected after the
technician tightened the fitting. There was no charge on this service call.
January 30, 2014,' ***** went to your house again and spoke with **** ******** ***** then tightened all of
the fittings and leak tested lines and fittings. ***** did not locate any leaks, but did detect a gas smell. *****
then recommended replacing the gas valve to prevent any future problems. ***** turned off your gas and gave
a price to replace the valve of approximately $300.00. There was no change on this service call as well. ****
********told the technician that this price was a little high, and he would let him know if he wanted to
proceed.
February 3, 2014, I received your voicemail regarding all of the problems and troubleshooting. I was out of the
office sick the 4th and the s" of February. I now have a chance to respond to your complaint. The original
adjustment fee and igniter cost had nothing to do with the subsequent gas leak or smell. The technicians were
unable to locate a leak after all leak tests were done, and a possible solution was offered on January 30th. At
that time, no decision was made for the recommended repair.
****** we are unable to refund your money for the original call, as this covered the cost of the igniter and the
labor to install it. We would like the chance to remedy this for you by replacing the valve and offering you a
free 1 year service agreement.
Please let me know how you want to proceed.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The second tech that came out DID say there was a gas leak! He DID NOT fix it.the original repair DID NOT fix the problem so what is the point of the repair and I was there was ***** told **** that the igniter was not the problem so we essentially paid for a service we didn't need. On top of that ***** NEVER quoted us a price. As far as being sick on the 4th and 5th I also called in JANUARY and was also never called back. Bottom line we didn't have a gas leak you came out and now we have a leak and a still broken fireplace. You did not fix ANYTHING.

 

I am so unsatisfied with this entire situation! I do not accept any of this!

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

Business Response: **** ****** Yes, I agree with you that before Drake arrived on site you did not have a noticeable gas leak in your
fireplace, because your gas was turned off, and not running in the supply line that feeds your fireplace. As my
letter stated, ***** turned on your gas when he arrived January 24th. On this inspection and troubleshoot, he
did find the igniter defective and replaced it.
On the zs". when my technician **** was on site responding to your gas leak, and as stated in my
letter, he located a gas leak on the valve and tightened the valve and performed another leak test. (also see
your service ***** *****, where he lists the diagnosis, indicating a leak, and repair),
On the so". ***** has indicated to me, that yes, he gave your husband a verbal quote to repair the
valve, and ***** has also assured me that he did not mention that the igniter did not need to be changed out.
My technician closed your file out after your husband stated that the proposed amount was too high.
My technician left your house with the gas supply line turned off to your fire place.
As for any other communications you might have had with Drake after the so". as I stated in my letter,
while I was in the office briefly, I received your message, and addressed it the next day when I was actually
feeling well enough to be at work.
You have only been invoiced and have paid for the initial service call and the replacement igniter of
$145.00. The igniter itself has a warranty along with the labor warranty to install.
I am sorry that you believe that Drake caused your gas leak, and we have offered to install the
recommend valve and along with offering you a 1-year heating service agreement.
The only thing I have left to offer is to send a technician to reinstall your faulty igniter and refund you the cost
of the part.
Regardless of your complaint that Drake caused your leak, which I strongly disagree with this
assumption, you will ultimately need to replace your existing leaking valve, and we have proposed to do so,
not only while on site, but in my prior letter to you.
In reviewing your complaint and responses with the owners, we have determined that we are able to
refund you the labor only portion of your original invoice and that you keep the igniter in place and use.
Our accounting office will send you a refund check for the labor on 94359.

Consumer Response:

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

We will accept the refund of the labor hours and I will accept that with the BBB.  My biggest upset was how no one seemed to care. I did contact the gas company and we do still have a leak. I will have them repair it so we can hopefully use our fireplace in the future.

Regards,

 ***** *******

 

 

 

9/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

9 Customer Reviews on Drake Mechanical, Inc.
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart