Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?
Download Download Download Download


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Drake Mechanical provides plumbing, drain cleaning, central vacuum, heating and air conditioning services, from faucets to furnaces and drains to air conditioners and toilets we can handle all of your home or businesses plumbing, heating and air conditioning needs.  Drake Mechanical can also handle all of your water softener, water filtration and water heater needs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Drake Mechanical, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Drake Mechanical, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

26 Customer Reviews on Drake Mechanical, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 24
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 26

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 03, 1996 Business started: 07/01/1978 in ID Business started locally: 07/01/1978 Business incorporated 07/20/1978 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Division of Building Safety
1090 E Watertower St., Meridian ID 83642
www.dbs.idaho.gov
Phone Number: (208) 334-3950
jrayne@dbs.idaho.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Nick Drake, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Nick Drake, President
Business Category

PLUMBING CONTRACTORS HEATING & AIR CONDITIONING AIR CONDITIONING REPAIR AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - RESIDENTIAL AIR CONDITIONING & HEATING CONTRACTORS - COMMERCIAL AIR CONDITIONING CONTRACTORS & SYSTEMS HEAT PUMPS HEATING CONTRACTORS

Products & Services

Drake Mechanical, Inc. sells the following brand(s): American Standard, Beam Central Vacuum, Bryant, Carrier, Kohler, Moen, Price Phister, Rheem, Trane, York

Drake Mechanical, Inc. offers the following product(s): Air Conditioners, Central Vacuums, Faucets, Furnaces, Kitchen Faucets, Lavatories, Shower Valves, Showers, Sinks, Tankless Water Heaters, Toilets, Water Filtration, Water Heaters, Water Softeners

Hours of Operation
24/7/365 Emergency Service
Refund and Exchange Policy
Plumbing Warranty
Drake Mechanical has a 100% satisfaction Guarantee associated with all the work they do.  New parts and installations have a 1 year guarantee associated with them from the date of installation.  

Air Condition and Heating Warranty
Drake Mechanical has a 100% satisfaction guarantee and a True 1 Year Test drive on all Bryant Heating and Air Conditioning Equipment, if you are not 100% satisfied with your new York Heating and Air Conditioning equipment in the first year they will buy it back.  Warranty is Manufacturers warranty.
Service Area
Boise Idaho and the surrounding area.
Additional Information

Se Habla


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Drake Mechanical, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5551 W Gowen Rd

    Boise, ID 83709 (208) 362-6200 (208) 231-1060

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sister's husband died a couple years ago and I try to keep an eye out for her well being. Her kitchen sink drain started leaking this past Dec. 23rd at a time I was out of state. She picked this Drake company out of the phone book to hire for her repair. My complaint stems from the fact that they took advantage of a 70 year old person who does not have the mental capacity to under stand what a price quote even is or what it says. Yeah- not the company's problem, but the company should have the moral integrity to refrain from charging 198.00 dollars to replace 1.00 dollar worth of pipe in a 15 minute or less job. They had already charged her $39.00 to show up and look at the job plus $5.00 for a gas surcharge ( at a time that gas was the lowest price in the last 5 years). This company needs to be looked at for this type of customer bilking. Oh--- they did give her a 5% discount--- after an over charge of at least $175.00. 50 to 60 dollars for this job would be more then fair. I request a refund settlement of 150 to 175 dollars. Her total bill was $231.00. To replace $1.00 worth of pipe. (probably used a piece of scrap pipe lying in the bottom of his truck) Sincerely Jay Cresto

Desired Settlement: Company check to ***** *****, sent to me at my address.

Business Response: After speaking with the customer’s brother, reviewing the invoice, speaking with our person who originally took this call, and speaking with the technician who went out on the call, this is our response to the complaint received from the customer’s brother: When a call for service comes into our business our call takers follow a certain script, and ask certain questions, that is how we obtain needed customer information, determine the nature of their problem, and time frame of the call. All customers are informed of the $39 service fee we charge to send a technician to the jobsite, assess the situation, and give the customer pricing. They are also informed that we collect payment at time of service. All of this is done before we send a technician out. Upon his arrival the technician will determine what repairs will need to be made and how much they will cost. The technician will then obtain an authorization signature from the customer before he does any work at all. This signature guarantees that the customer has had explained to them the repairs needed and the exact cost of those repairs. If the customer does not like the price, the diagnosis, or the technician, we then politely leave and move on to the next job. The customer is not obligated to us for the repairs at this point. This also provides the customer an opportunity to discuss the price, affordability, and other possible repair options all before any work is done. Once the needed signature is obtained we then complete the repairs as discussed and collect payment. It is not our place to make any determinations as to whether the customer is of sound mind. We will assume that if the customer knows they have a problem, finds us in the yellow pages or on the internet, calls us for service, shows the technician the problem, signs the paperwork and writes us a check, that they are of sound mind. We also have many elderly customers and certainly would never use a person’s age to determine soundness of mind. We are in the business of providing a service to our customers, we are not a retail business where the customer can return a product to the store for a refund if they have post buyer’s remorse or find it cheaper a week later on ******* It would be difficult for us to return a person’s plumbing issue, or in this case a leak, and give them their money back. That is why we explain cost before we do the work. In this case all of the procedures we have in place were followed, the technician had the needed signatures, completed the work and collected payment all several weeks before any complaint was made. This customer was charged exactly the same price we would charge any other customer in our service area, and given a seniors discount. We also have financing options we provide for customers who request. Again we would never use a person’s age to make any determinations as to their financial status. We would assume that if they give us an authorization signature, and write us a check that they have the needed funds. We completely reserve the right to determine what prices we will charge for our services. The customer reserves the right to refuse our services if they so choose. In this instance we will not reduce the charges for our services beyond the senior discount we already gave. We also reserve the right to offer a senior discount to our elderly customers and what that discount will be. It is unfortunate that this customer, or at least her brother, feels that they were taken advantage of. However, we stand behind our pricing and the system we have in place to take care of our customers 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. And after looking into this situation, I could not find where we violated any of our procedures or pricing guide, or that we treated this customer unfairly.



****** ********* ******* ******* ***** ********** ************ ********************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I just wanted to point out to the BBB that their way of doing repairs, to me, makes it very easy to over charge folks that don't understand what they are being told.  

******** *** ******

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had Drake come out to fix a gas fireplace that wasn't working. They said they fixed the problem and left and approximately four hours later I left to go to the store and came back to smell a gas leak. I called them and told them there was a problem and it took over two hours for the on-call person to call me back, at no point did they ever tell me to ventilate my house or turn off the gas or how to turn off the gas. I figured that out on my own, after my one-year-old daughter was exposed to a gas leak for over four hours. They came and said they repaired the gas leak the next morning, about an hour later I could still smell gas I called them and complained and was told a manager would call me this was on a Saturday. Nobody called. The following Thursday my husband called them and again they said a repairman out for the third time. The fireplace was not fixed our gas was turned off again and the repairman stated they would call the next day with a solution. No one called us back is been four days. I have called them several times and requested a refund I am told someone will call me back and no one returns my calls. I cannot believe that they cannot take a gas leak that they caused seriously, they will not refund our money or return our calls. I want a refund so I can get my fireplace fixed and I want to know what laws if any were broken by causing a gas leak and not fixing it this seems incredibly dangerous and it doesn't seem like anybody cares.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the money that we spent and I would like to know what they plan on doing for the future if they cause a gas leak if it could potentially harm somebody.

Business Response: In regards to your concerns and question about the service for your gas fireplace, I have spoken to both
technicians that had responded to your calls. The following is an account from the technicians for your calls:
January 24, 2014, ***** received the call regarding the fireplace igniter not working and found that the gas
was not turned on. ***** turned on the gas to the fireplace, he inspected the equipment, adjusted the pilot
light and replaced the igniter. ***** verified operations of the equipment and collected the cost of the service
call of $145.00.
January 25, 2014, you contacted our office regarding a possible gas leak. Drake dispatched the first available
technician to your home. The technician, ****, leak tested the gas line and found the gas valve fitting leaking.
The technician tightened this valve and leak tested the line again. There was no leak detected after the
technician tightened the fitting. There was no charge on this service call.
January 30, 2014,' ***** went to your house again and spoke with **** ******** ***** then tightened all of
the fittings and leak tested lines and fittings. ***** did not locate any leaks, but did detect a gas smell. *****
then recommended replacing the gas valve to prevent any future problems. ***** turned off your gas and gave
a price to replace the valve of approximately $300.00. There was no change on this service call as well. ****
********told the technician that this price was a little high, and he would let him know if he wanted to
proceed.
February 3, 2014, I received your voicemail regarding all of the problems and troubleshooting. I was out of the
office sick the 4th and the s" of February. I now have a chance to respond to your complaint. The original
adjustment fee and igniter cost had nothing to do with the subsequent gas leak or smell. The technicians were
unable to locate a leak after all leak tests were done, and a possible solution was offered on January 30th. At
that time, no decision was made for the recommended repair.
****** we are unable to refund your money for the original call, as this covered the cost of the igniter and the
labor to install it. We would like the chance to remedy this for you by replacing the valve and offering you a
free 1 year service agreement.
Please let me know how you want to proceed.

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The second tech that came out DID say there was a gas leak! He DID NOT fix it.the original repair DID NOT fix the problem so what is the point of the repair and I was there was ***** told **** that the igniter was not the problem so we essentially paid for a service we didn't need. On top of that ***** NEVER quoted us a price. As far as being sick on the 4th and 5th I also called in JANUARY and was also never called back. Bottom line we didn't have a gas leak you came out and now we have a leak and a still broken fireplace. You did not fix ANYTHING.

 

I am so unsatisfied with this entire situation! I do not accept any of this!

Regards,

***** *******

 

 

Business Response: **** ****** Yes, I agree with you that before Drake arrived on site you did not have a noticeable gas leak in your
fireplace, because your gas was turned off, and not running in the supply line that feeds your fireplace. As my
letter stated, ***** turned on your gas when he arrived January 24th. On this inspection and troubleshoot, he
did find the igniter defective and replaced it.
On the zs". when my technician **** was on site responding to your gas leak, and as stated in my
letter, he located a gas leak on the valve and tightened the valve and performed another leak test. (also see
your service ***** *****, where he lists the diagnosis, indicating a leak, and repair),
On the so". ***** has indicated to me, that yes, he gave your husband a verbal quote to repair the
valve, and ***** has also assured me that he did not mention that the igniter did not need to be changed out.
My technician closed your file out after your husband stated that the proposed amount was too high.
My technician left your house with the gas supply line turned off to your fire place.
As for any other communications you might have had with Drake after the so". as I stated in my letter,
while I was in the office briefly, I received your message, and addressed it the next day when I was actually
feeling well enough to be at work.
You have only been invoiced and have paid for the initial service call and the replacement igniter of
$145.00. The igniter itself has a warranty along with the labor warranty to install.
I am sorry that you believe that Drake caused your gas leak, and we have offered to install the
recommend valve and along with offering you a 1-year heating service agreement.
The only thing I have left to offer is to send a technician to reinstall your faulty igniter and refund you the cost
of the part.
Regardless of your complaint that Drake caused your leak, which I strongly disagree with this
assumption, you will ultimately need to replace your existing leaking valve, and we have proposed to do so,
not only while on site, but in my prior letter to you.
In reviewing your complaint and responses with the owners, we have determined that we are able to
refund you the labor only portion of your original invoice and that you keep the igniter in place and use.
Our accounting office will send you a refund check for the labor on 94359.

Consumer Response:

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

We will accept the refund of the labor hours and I will accept that with the BBB.  My biggest upset was how no one seemed to care. I did contact the gas company and we do still have a leak. I will have them repair it so we can hopefully use our fireplace in the future.

Regards,

 ***** *******

 

 

 

9/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Drake Mechanical on ********* ***** *** **** to put in a service call for my home heater. It was an answering service. I specifically said I did not want an after-hours service call, because I didn't want the expense. I told her it was not an emergency and to just have a Drake Mechanical service tech call me on Monday morning. My wife received a call Monday morning and the tech said he would be there at 3PM. When he finally arrived at 5:30PM, I showed him the condensate trap on the heater that was cracked and leaking. He freaked out and said "You said it was your water heater! I'm not a water heater guy. I will call you in a heater guy." Still not wanting to pay after-hours charges, "I said, well I don't want to pay for an after-hours service call. First of all, you are 2.5 hours late, which isn't my fault. Secondly, your answering service obviously wrote down 'water heater' rather than 'heater'. That also isn't my fault and you might want to train them." The service tech then said he would call his service manager and insure I wouldn't get charged after-hours prices. Finally, at 7:30, the on-call service tech showed up (telling me that his manager told him not to charge me after-hours prices)...after driving from Parma on a previous call. That also is not my fault. I showed him the cracked condensate trap and where it was leaking. He took cell phone pictures of the part and told me he would pick it up in the morning and replace it in about 15 minutes. The next morning he showed up and replaced the part, which he said was about $33.00. He then proceeded to write my wife a bill for $193.92, which she naively signed and wrote a check for.Disgruntled about a $160 labor charge for 15 minutes of work on something I had already diagnosed the cause of is a gross over-charge in my opinion. I mean...that is $640/hour. When I called to complain, the service manager said he had 2 hours of after-hours charge built into the bill...and that they actually under-charged me. Well, I had repeatedly established that I did not want after-hours service. Is business so bad that you have to screw your customers into paying extra? I will never do business with Drake Mechanical again.

Desired Settlement: Drake Mechanical says one thing and does another when it comes to billing. Their service manager is obviously not in touch with his techs in the field.  Requesting Refund

Business Response:

The original call came in through our service stating water coming out of heating unit, it's been like this for a month. **** our Administrative Assistant called and talked to **** ********, ****** wife Monday morning. **** informed Iana that her water heater was leaking; she was informed that we would send out a Plumber and the appointment was set up for after 3:00pm. (Here at Drake Mechanical we do not set up exact times). When our Plumber arrived and found that it was the Furnace, he called the on-call heating Technician who showed up on his way back from his last call of the day in Parma. Upon arrival he found the condensate trap cracked as the customer stated, as it was after hours and all the wholesale houses were closed. The Technician told them he would pick up the part in the morning and come back and make the repair. Upon arrival he gave the price to repair to ****, in which time she signed the service ticket giving authorization to proceed with work. The repair was made and Jody signed the service ticket accepting the work performed and wrote out a check. We charged no After Hour Charges.

When **** left a message on my voicemail, I called him back at 8:00am the next morning. I tried to explain our policies that we are a Flat Rate company he didn’t want to hear it. I then tried to explain the fact I had two hours labor plus materials and that was a fair price along with the fact his wife had ok'd the work and price. His response was **** You Guy’s and I'm going to Slander Your Name all over the Internet then hung up.

We always try and work with customers that are upset. But the price that was given was fare and in line with industry standards. When a customer explodes and uses profanity and hangs up, it is very hard to reason with them.

Service Manager

Drake Mechanical

PLUMBING ' HEATING - BOILER WORK

2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 6th Drakes Heating and Cooling came out to the home we are renting to look at our furnace. It turned out that the furnace needed to be re-placed so they contacted my Land Lord and got approval to replace it. After replacing the furnace on a Friday, we kept noticing a weird smell in the house the next day we all had headaches and actually ended up leaving to go to our cabin for the weekend and on Sunday when I arrived home it was apparent that the house was filling up with gas all weekend, I called Drake they came out and found that they did not screw one of the bolts tight enough and it caused a gas leak in the house. After they fixed it we waited to re-enter the home for a few hours but kept noticing that the fan to the furnace was always blowing. I thought it was something that was supposed to be like that but when my bill for December hit my power bill had doubled. I then called Drake again and when they came out they had said the unit was wired wrong and it was definitely the reason why are power bill doubled the fan was running constant. I called there office approx. a week later mind you this is right after Christmas so we had been dealing with furnace problems for over a month and I asked for a reimbursement for our power bill for that month due to there error. I never got a call back and I tried to get a hold of the manager 4 times and was always sent to his voice mail or left a message with the receptionist. I feel that the service we were given not only was poor and could have killed us with the gas leak but also cost us an additional $74 dollars during Christmas that was unnecessary.

Desired Settlement: I would like a reimbursement of $74 for the over usage on my power bill.

Business Response: Here at Drake Mechanical we always try and work with our customers at the time of any issues. Our policy is to work with the property owner directly on any service request. We only contact the renters for access in performing the work. We always strive to do the best quality of work but on occasion we are human and do make a mistake. The furnace was installed on November 9"' 2012. The gas leak in question was at a compression fitting on the furnace and at the time of installation using excepted leak Search standards, no leak was found. As soon as we heard about this issue we responded and fixed the problem. The Blower not shutting off was due to a short in the low voltage wiring on the back of the thermostat, in which we had to rewire the thermostat. This was fixed on the 18th of December. We would have responded sooner if we
had been notified sooner.
Being the Service Manager l did try and call ***** the renter back, in what turned out to be phone tag. We pulled a permit on this furnace on 11/9/2012 as of 2f12f2013 the City of Eagle shows this job as Final inspection Failed-Not at Home; they have not been able to Contact anyone. What we needed was a copy of her electric bill to verify the additional charges. Now that we have that information we will be happy to refund the $74 dollars in question.
Drake Mechanical