Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

2 Thumbs Up Plumbing & Remodeling, LLC.

Phone: (208) 891-1104 PO Box 170379, Boise, ID 83717

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company provides plumbing services, bathroom and kitchen remodeling.  The company services water heaters, water softners and drain cleaning.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 2 Thumbs Up Plumbing & Remodeling, LLC. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 2 Thumbs Up Plumbing & Remodeling, LLC.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2010 Business started: 08/19/2008 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Division of Building Safety
1090 E Watertower St., Meridian ID 83642
Phone Number: (208) 334-3950

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Joseph Corcoran, Managing Contractor
Business Category


Products & Services

2 Thumbs Up Plumbing & Remodeling, LLC. sells the following brand(s): All Major Brands installed

2 Thumbs Up Plumbing & Remodeling, LLC. offers the following product(s): All Major Products Installed

Method(s) of Payment
All Credit/Debit cards
Valid Checks
Invoice for Payment
Service Area
Boise, Eagle, Meridian, Mountain Home

Additional Locations


    PO Box 170379

    Boise, ID 83717 (208) 891-1104

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2 Thumbs Up Plumbing installed a new toliet for me the end of May 2011. With the recent cold temps, our waste line froze, & it was discovered that the toliet that was installed was done improperly. It was leaking slowly which was not evident to us, until the waste line frooze. If it were not for the recent cold temperatures, I am told the the we may not have discovered this for many years. We videotaped the issue discovered and contacted them. They came out & indicated that we should not worry that they would submit it to insurance, and they would take care of it. They then told the insurance that we refused needed repairs when they did the work, which is not true, and we signed nothing to that affect. They will not either fix the problem nor allow the insurance company to pay. (We have a claim number, and have spoken to the insurance company). They also indicated that we had purchased the collar, major part in question, which I have receipts showing that I didn't. The toliet leak resulted in damage and mold to the subfloor and primary flooring. Currently, after removing the toliet, my entire house smells of mold. It has been verified by other professionals that it was not installed properly. Washers were placed under the toliet so it would rock, and the bolts to secure the toliet were in thick putty and not wood as they should have been. The rusty washers and mold verify that this is not a recent leak. The subfloor and flooring need to be removed and replaced to eliminate the mold, and the toliet re-installed properly to code. This occurred 5 days ago, and due the the health issue with the mold, I can no longer wait to get this remediated. I am now going to have to hire another licensed professional to replace the subfloor and flooring, remediate the mold, and install the toliet properly. I want to be reimbursed by the company or their insurance for the cost of the repair.

Desired Settlement: Cost to fix all damages and cost to reinstall the toliet.

Business Response:

Thank you ****** for allowing us to make a response to the complaint filed *******, ID *******.

We are sorry the homeowner had a poor experience– what she described is certainly not up to the standards we have here at 2 Thumbs Up Plumbing and Remodeling. This is an extremely rare situation. We take all business transactions seriously.

Yes at the end May 2011, the homeowner had originally called us to repair a toilet. Upon arriving the toilet was already removed and a new one was purchased. The homeowner did not indicate who removed the toilet. During the install process we informed the homeowner that the closet collar for the toilet needed to be replaced. The homeowner did not want us to replace it at the time, and this was noted on the paperwork/contract. We installed the toilet and the homeowner did not have any problems or questions with our work. The homeowner declined to have any further work done on the toilet. Fast forward nearly 2 years to today’s complaint... The area has been experiencing extremely cold temperatures and many homes are seeing freezing and busting pipes. The homeowner was experiencing a blockage in the waste line for the same toilet that was replaced nearly 2 years ago. We were contacted by the homeowner regarding this and went to the home. The toilet was again already removed by others to fix the blockage. During that process others had indicated to the homeowner that the closet collar was broken and that leaking waste water had frozen causing the blockage. The homeowner wanted to have this submitted thru our insurance as a claim, so we provided the homeowner with all contact information for them to file a claim. Our company does warranty our work and products purchased for 1 year, but the homeowner supplied all material and did not want us to replace the bad collar. This was all noted on the paperwork/contract that the homeowner signed at the time (see attached contract/invoice #****). The homeowner indicated that they had video footage/photos of this issue and our insurance company asked for supporting evidence of such items but they were never presented. (Please see the attached response from *******, claim #**********.) We take this matter very serious and are sorry the home owner is having these issues. This is why we have business insurance no matter how unusual the situation is. The toilet was installed to code. During install, spacers/shims (washers per the homeowner), were necessary to allow the toilet to sit level on the bathroom floor. The home and plumbing are both over 100 years old. Plumbers putty is an approved (and sometimes better) method for setting a toilet, verses a wax ring. The putty allows for better sealing on uneven surfaces, i.e. 100 year old floors. The bolts were attached to the original closet collar at the time, but it is impossible to say how, when or if this failed as we were not responsible for the most current removal of the toilet.

Again we are sorry the homeowner had such a bad experience, but home maintenance is not always an easy job. 2 Thumbs Up Plumbing completed the contract authorized and accepted by the homeowner in May of 2011. The homeowner submitted this to our insurance, but due to the fact that the homeowner did not want us to replace the closet collar at the time and that we only warranty labor and purchased material for 1 year, the claim was denied. We are not willing to cover the cost to fix any damages and reinstall the toilet as the homeowner has requested. Work was performed to all city codes and standards and contracts were completed.


*** ********

Owner, 2 Thumbs Up Plumbing and Remodeling Services

Mr. ********,

It is our understanding that on January 21, 2013, you discovered a water
leak from the pipes connected to your bathroom. You believe that the water
leakage is a result of an improper install completed by my Insured in May

As a part of our investigation, our responsibility is to investigate the
claim and determine whether our insured is legally liable for your property
damage. Our liability determination is based on whether there is evidence
to support that our insured failed to properly perform work and/or repairs
without causing damage to your property.

No evidence has been presented that proves any negligence on our insured.
If you have additional information that would assist with our
investigation, please forward it to my attention. Based upon the
information obtained by way of our investigation, we have come to the
conclusion that although the incident was unfortunate, the insured bears no
liability for your property damage. Therefore, we must respectfully deny
this claim at this time.

Our right to deny liability is not limited to the reasons set forth above,
but shall include any additional grounds for denial that may be discovered
at a later date. Should you have additional information you feel may change
our liability position, please feel free to submit this new information for
our consideration. ***** ********* ******** will review any new information
presented and respond to you in writing within a reasonable period of time.

The State of Idaho Statute of Limitations for property damage is three
years and will run on, 1/21/2016. Unless this matter can be concluded by
settlement prior to that date, a lawsuit must be filed no later that time
to comply with the statutory requirements. If this case is not settled by
1/21/2016 or a lawsuit has not been filed to protect the statute, you will
be barred from recovery for your bodily injury resulting from this

***** ********* ***** ********* ******** ********** ****** ********* ************** ******* ********** ****** **** ************ * ****** **** ************ * *** ***** ****** ************************

Consumer Response:

Issue #1: They must have forgotten since it they did the work in May 2011, but 2 thumbs up plumbing did all of the work, to include the removal and disposal of the original toliet and sink in question, as noted on the receipt.  We had purchased the new figures, and I have receipts that the toliet, X- Thick Wax Seal, and sink, facet, but all work was done by 2 Thumbs Up.  On a side note: If they only installed the toliet and sink, with their hourly rate, it took over 6 hours to install the toliet on the first day, and an additional 2.25 hours the next day to install the sink at a cost of $608.48.


Issue #2: His insurance company, *******, after 3 requests did not even come to the house to look at the damge that was done, so I would say that their investigation was not a thorough one.  We have documented all of the conversions, and who we spoke to, as well as their email denying the claim. 

We do have video footage of the issues with the installation that were discovered. 

Issue #3: I have a report from the city, and the notes from their investigation indicating that the installation was not done per UPC.  Two city inspectors, **** ***********, and ***** ******, came to the house to investigate the issue, when we discovered that a permit was required for the installation of the new figures, which 2 Thumbs Up failed to get to perform the work.  Those were forwarded on 1/28 to the BBB.  I have attached an additional copy.  These investigation notes are accessible to anyone who would like to see them through the Boise City online permit system, under our address. 

2 Thumbs Up Plumbing was issued a Notice of Violation by the city on 1/28/13.  A copy of the letter sent to them by the city of Boise is attached.




Business Response:

Thank you Nicole for allowing us to make a follow up response to the complaint filed*******, ID *******, revised *******.

Regarding Issue #1 from the homeowner; As stated on the contract the toilet was only installed, not removed by 2 Thumbs Up Plumbing. We train our service technicians to record in detail all work performed. The contract is a carbon copy contract where we keep the original and provide the homeowner with the copy for their records. No mention of pulling the toilet was recorded and to the technician’s memory, the toilet was already removed when he arrived. We have included a copy of this original contract again. As for the charges on the contract, additional work was performed. As noted on the contract, a toilet was installed and further work was done on the bathroom sink, which is not part of the homeowner’s original complaint about the frozen waste line from the toilet.

Regarding Issue #2 from the homeowner; This is an issue between the homeowner‘s claim and the insurance company. We provided in our first response to this complaint, the statement from the insurance company explaining why they were denying the claim at that time. This issue is up to the homeowner to pursue.

Regarding Issue #3 from the homeowner; During the time of the installation of the toilet back in May of 2011, 2 Thumbs Up was not aware that a permit had to be pulled to install a toilet fixture. After the frozen waste line was discovered by others, the homeowner did have Boise City Inspectors out to look at the situation. After that 2 Thumbs Up was issued a Warning Violation for not pulling a permit. We took this communication very seriously. To help train and educate our service technicians to follow city codes we contacted **** **********, the ***** ******** *** ********** ********* for Boise City. Attached is a copy of his response regarding the warning. As noted in his response, everyone; homeowner, handyman, contractor,…; is responsible for pulling a permit to install a plumbing fixture (with the noted exception). This was the only reason 2 Thumbs Up was issued a warning; not pulling a permit to install the toilet per the UPC.

Again we are sorry the homeowner is having these issues. Our response to the initial complaint remains the same, 2 Thumbs Up Plumbing is not willing to cover the cost to fix any damages and reinstall the toilet as the homeowner has requested.


*** ********

Owner, 2 Thumbs Up Plumbing and Remodeling Services

Consumer Response:

I guess we will have to go to court.    *** , the listed owners husband, a licensed, bonded plumber was hired to remove the existing sink and toilet.  And install new fixtures that we purchased.  There was nothing wrong with the older ones just 2 gallons per flush and a sink style I did not like.  ***, his wife ***, and their child even had to come to my house one night later that week  when the sink drain was leaking into the lower cabinet.

They received a warning from the city because this was the first time they had been caught, and had no prior offenses.  They only have to pay a double permit fee When I hire a plumberif he needs I permit I expect him to get one.   Other contractors that I have had do various work have.  We did not remove the fixtures prior to their arrival and their receipts are not great detail as it doesnt indicate that he installed the sink on day 2 only that he had issues with the first one, and he had us get a different sink that night, and returnedit install that on day 2.   We also paid them to dispose of the fixtures that they removed which is on the receipt.  

The insurance company indicated that they were not covering it and never came to see the damage .  We waited all day for inspector to show, and he never came.  Later we were told that another ofice told them not  to  we have documentation of who we talked to and when.   We told them if they want evidence they need to come to our residence, they choose not to come but simply deny the claim.

I believe that they are hopeful that we will just go away but I cant stand a business that will not stand behind their work and willl actually lie about the work that they performed.   I doubt this will be the last complaint that you get for them.