Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Vanguard Pest Control

Additional Locations

Phone: (208) 288-5609 650 N Ralstin St Ste 102, Meridian, ID 83642 http://vanguardpestcontrol.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Vanguard Pest Control meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Vanguard Pest Control include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Vanguard Pest Control
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 13, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2002 Business started locally: 01/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Agriculture, Dept. of
2270 Old Penitentiary Rd, Boise ID 83712
http://www.agri.idaho.gov
Phone Number: (208) 332-8500

Business Management
Mr. Travis Donaldson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Travis Donaldson, Owner
Business Category

Pest Control Services


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Vanguard Pest Control has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 104 E Fairview Ave Pmb 274

    Meridian, ID 83642

  • 650 N Ralstin St Ste 102

    Meridian, ID 83642

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up with Vanguard last year. The first service went fine. I told them that I needed to be home on the 1st service . They came back and I had a bill on my door. I called them back and told them they had to come back. For the 2nd time I told them that I had to be home when they came because I have a dog and I didnt want spraying around my dog. The last time once again I came home and there was I bill on my door. The bill had been there for awhile because I was out of out of town. I called them and they told me that It was to late and they was not going to call some one back out. I told them that I told them that I dint want them here when I wasnt home. The lady at the business told me that she saw the notes stating that I didnt want them here. She also told me it was to late for a revisit. This was back in march and april time period. At this time I told them that I no longer wanted the service. I was under the understanding my account was at zero and did not here again from them. No mail no nothing. Then I recieved a bill from a collection agency. I called and talked to the person who did my first job but he would not help me

Desired Settlement: Either eliminate the bill or come back and complete the job as agreed upon.

Business Response: We have already responded to this complaint in another forum.  We regret the miscommunication with this customer.  His accusations are simply untrue.  We would never tell a customer it is "too late for a revisit."  He was chronically late with his payments, and that is why he was sent to collections.  We have closed his account.  We called and sent notices for 4 months before turning it over to the collection agency.  The customer ignored those notices until the collection agency contacted him.  In the name of customer service and goodwill, we will contact the collection agency and have his account closed with them.  We wish *** ********* well.  It should be noted that we service thousands of customers every month and *** ********* is the first BBB complaint all year.  We strive to provide excellent service and regret we were unable to meet *** *********** expectations.

Consumer Response: Hello, I was late on the payment in Dec. My I called the rep at the business and paid it in Jan. The service in March is in question. I did contact the business and requested a new service. The reason why was because they did not honor the agreement that was established after the first visit. The business did not address this because it was noted on my account as told to me by the service rep at the office. This is not different what I explained to them before this started. Like I said before I told them that I had to be home when they came. I told them that all the way thru our business dealings. I paid the collection b4 the 30 day because I didnt want a bad mark on my credit. So they have been compensated for not fulfilling our arrangement. My payment history was not chronic when one payment was late and the last payment was a misunderstanding. They did not send me one notice until the collection got a hold of me. I thought my account was closed. I to him saying my account was closed. Also to the comment of my account being closed how could I owe money on a closed account. The entire issue was the lack of communication by the technicians to not follow the instructions that I gave them over and over again.  I paid the bill because It was going to go on my credit report. The goal was to either get a refund or at least come back and complete the service as agreed upon. I paid the bill because It was going to go on my credit report. The goal was to either get a refund or at least come back and complete the service as agreed upon.

12/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A vanguard sales man was treating houses in my area and approached me while i was in my garage and asked me why we have not signed up for pest control yet because all of our neighbors have already, i was however interested in the service anyways i expressed this to the salesman but explained to him i did not want to sign up for a yearly service contract he said he would do a treatment to see if we saw a difference in pests and had me sign paperwork that he said was just for one service and to show pricing and times of future service if i was happy with the initial service, while the service was on time and seemed to be good We never saw a real difference in any pest levels and still had ant problems in the usual areas we decided it made no difference in pest levels. so when i got a call the next month about services i explained that we did not request future services then a few months later we got another call i explained that we didn't want service then i received another call from very rude office manager that stated we signed a contract, I explained that the Salesman said it was a trial service and would not be a yearly contract at any point which is what the salesman assured me, I asked that we quit getting phone calls now i have received an invoice for 100.00 early cancellation fee that was never once mentioned for a ending a service. especially a service that i didn't even want or know that i was signed up for. It was a very Bait and switch by both the salesman and company. The salesman told me that the discounted service for 65 dollars was all i would be charged ever and that i would never be in a contract from accepting this one service but had to have me fill out the paperwork anyways. This was a very deceptive move.

Desired Settlement: I want my account closed no further phone calls and this 100.00 early cancellation fee removed from any invoice and with a final invoice showing 0 balance due either emailed of mailed to my address nothing more

Business Response: We are sorry ***** misunderstood the service agreement.  We try to make it simple and clear.  He signed the agreement and initialed in three (3) separate places that he understood the contract.  We don't practice "bait and switch" tactics ever.  The particular salesman who sold ***** the service sold hundreds of other accounts this year.  *****'s is the first complaint we've had.  In the name of customer service we will waive the cancellation fee that he agreed to.  We hope ***** has a Merry Christmas.

5/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A door-to-door salesman for the firm rang our bell. We did not answer. He then pounded so hard on the door that we woke a napping child in an upstairs bedroom and knocked an item off of a shelf in the room adjacent to the door. So I answered. He told he was with Vanguard Pest Control, that all of my neighbors were signed up with him and wanted to know why we hadn't signed up. Lie aside, I told him we already had a pest control company (*** ******* **** *******) and that he didn't belong on my property. Rather than leaving, he stayed around to ask me who our pest control company is. I told him it was none of his business and closed the front door.

Desired Settlement: I expect the owner of this company to contact me, with an apology for the behavior of his employee which included entering my property without my consent and for being a nuisance while on my property. I also expect a guarantee from the owner that no one in his employ will enter my property without my consent again.

Business Response:

I am very sorry for the bad experience *** ******** had with one of our sales reps.  Having kids of my own, I know how frustrating it is when one of them is awoken during nap time.  Please forgive us.  If *** ******** would like to discuss further, he can reach me directly on my cell phone at ************.  I would also be happy to have the sales rep come out and apologize in person if *** ******** would like. 

Sincerely,

 

****** *********Owner, Vanguard Pest Control


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Vanguard Pest Control
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart