BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides pest control services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Barrier Lawn and Pest Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Barrier Lawn and Pest Inc include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Barrier Lawn and Pest Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

12 Customer Reviews on Barrier Lawn and Pest Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 11
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 12

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 30, 2007 Business started: 03/31/2006 in ID Business started locally: 03/31/2006 Business incorporated 02/23/2007 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Agriculture, Dept. of
2270 Old Penitentiary Rd, Boise ID 83712
http://www.agri.idaho.gov
Phone Number: (208) 332-8500

Idaho Office of the Secretary of State
700 W. Jefferson 203, P.O. Box 83720, Boise ID 83720-0080
http://www.idsos.state.id.us/
Fax Number: 208-334-2282

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kirk A Dean, Secretary Mr. Mike A Dean, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kirk A Dean, Secretary
Principal: Mr. Mike A Dean, President
Business Category

Pest Control Services Exterminating and Pest Control Services (NAICS: 561710)

Method(s) of Payment
We accept all major credit cards
Service Area
This company services Boise, Eagle, Emmett, Meridian, Kuna, Nampa, Middleton, Star, & Caldwell, Idaho.
Alternate Business Names
Barrier Pest Control

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Barrier Lawn and Pest Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business did not notify me that I was on their program. I was with **** *****. **** ***** called and asked if I needed pest service in Jan. and Feb. I declined their services during those months due to weather (snow and rain). Barrier did call just a week or so ago to see if they could come out to do some spraying. I told them I was not interested in their service. Then, yesterday (3/5/16), I received a statement saying I owed them for a service on Jan. 29, 2016. I never consented to that service....and never saw them at my house to preform the service. Nothing was left on the lawn or door knob either. I rarely leave my residence, so I was quite surprised with the bill of $77.00. My daughter, **** *******, called them on 3/5/16 to see what and why this had come to me. They said they would call her back. That didn't happen that day. They may try sometime this week. I just wanted to let you be aware of this...it feels to me like elder abuse. I am looking forward to hearing what they will tell my daughter when they call her back. Maybe they will resolve this. If not, my complaint is serious and stands that their dealings are not good!

Desired Settlement: Since I could only choose one resolution above, the one chosen is my first choice. My other choice would of course be that Barrier never provide services with/for me ever again. I don't need 2 pest control services!!!!!

Business Response:
Hello,


I am writing this in response to a complaint that we received last week concerning **** ******** at
***** ****** ***** in Wilder. Is my understanding that she is disputing the charges because of three
reasons:


1. That "this business did not notify me that I was on their program." and....
2. That "I never consented to that service." and....
3. "....and never saw them at my house."


I will endeavor to quickly respond to these items.


1. Our company was contacted in July 2013 to do pest control services at this address.
We contracted to do quarterly pest control service, that is, to do a pest maintenance service every
three months. We have continued to do quarterly service at this address from July 8, 2013, until
March 7th, 2016, when **** called to cancel (for a total of 10 services, invoices can be provided
upon request). They have been great customers, paying promptly after every service rendered,
including their most recent payment received on 9/22/15 for services rendered on 9/15/15. Frankly,
I don't understand the complaint that they were unaware that we were providing services for them
regularly.
I argue that they were well aware of the services we were doing, as evidenced by their prompt
payments and long service history.
2. This is just a reiteration of the above response, with one additional caveat. When each regular
service treatment comes due for service, we ALWAYS call, text, and email the customer at least one
day before their scheduled treatment to let them know we are coming. We most certainly did in this
case as well, the voice call service notification was received at 9:18AM on 1/27/16, and the text
and email notifications were sent at

9:16AM the same day. During our March 7th conversation, **** confirmed the phone number on the
account as being correct.
3. Though I can't speak to the complaint that our technician wasn't seen at the house, I know he
performed the service. We are obliged by the state of Idaho to make comprehensive records of all
our chemical applications, and our technician did in this circumstance (records available, upon
request). He completed the service at 11:18 AM on 1/29/16, and made his chemical records that
indicate he performed a standard quarterly service.


In spite of the fact that I don't feel a discount should be awarded in this case, I would be
willing to settle for half of the amount owed, or $38.5, to show my appreciation for previous
patronage, and to give evidence of my own personal feeling of good will to **** and *****.


If you have any questions, please call me directly on my cell phone at (208) 249-9666. Regards,
Kirk D***
Owner
Barrier Pest Control
(208) 249-9666

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  My husband died March 14 2015.  There were many things to contend with in his passing.  Bills come, I pay them.  My husband, *****, left without me knowing his passwords, so...I never got Barriers' emails, his phone was given to a grandson, it was the phone that did texting, I do not text,so never got their texts,  and the phone's answering machine gives me many problems..(I'm 87 and try my best) I've lost some messages.  So from the last bill I paid in Sept. 2015,  I figured we had Barrier no longer.  I got another pest control, totally unaware that Barrier goes and assumes they have my business without any personal verbal "go ahead" from me since all was going to my deceased husband's things.  I did always like the young man that they sent out, but I found a business that didn't cost me as much.  I appreciate the deduction, and I would pay that to them, but,  I do see that they run on assumptions...when they have a lapse of communications drop from one year to the next they think it's alright to go ahead with another year.  I really think they should have spoken to me... the new head of the house. at least to see if all was okay, instead of just beginning up the new year without a response to their emails, to their text, or their phone message.   (My computer was down from the 15th of March til now.  My son-in-laws fixed it for me today.  So the delay.)  Hope it gets to you in time.

Sincerely,

**** ********

Business Response:

Under the circumstances, Barrier Pest will let Ms. ******** off the hook.

 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** ******** p.s.  That was nice of Barriar.   However I did send them the $38.50  since nothing came for so long.  Anyway, thanks BBB for being the go between for me. 

1/13/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid amount owed to Barrier Pest Control, check cashed 12/7 still being report to collections as of 1/6/2016, charge is accruing interest, they have not followed through with their requirements in reporting amount paid, collection agency indicated they are supposed to report this payment to them they have NOT

Business Response: We weren't aware that the amount received wasn't reported to the collection agency, when we became aware, we reported it the same day, the 6th of January 2016.

Barrier Pest Control

8/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am in no contract with Barrier to spray my house. When I canceled the services a lady called me and told me that I was under contract and that I would either have to pay an early termination fee or continue through the remainder of the contract. I told her that I was under no contract and she said she would have to look into it. The next day she called back and asked me if I wanted her to send me a copy of the contract. Again, I told her I was not under contract. I asked if the copy she had has my signature on it. Her response was no, but that doesn't matter. At that point the lady from Barrier started to harras me over the phone and tell me that I "am not a man of his word." She continued to be nasty until I finally just hung up on her. When the door to door salesman came to my house and tried to sell me on this, I was very clear through the entire process that I would not sign a contract. At no point did I ever entertain that or accept any terms for our transaction. I am very frustrated that not only do I have a lady calling me and harassing me, I continue to get emails and show a $50 balance from this company. I need to resolve this so they will quit calling and remove that balance so it doesn't go to collections.

Desired Settlement: I want the $50 dollar early termination removed and the business to discontinue any contact with me. I also feel that this issue should be published to warn others who may think about doing business with them.

Business Response: I spoke with Cary today and resolved his concerns, we deleted the cancellation fee, and he is happy! Let me know if there's anything else I need to do!

**** ****
Barrier Pest Control

7/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

12 Customer Reviews on Barrier Lawn and Pest Inc
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart