Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Action Motor Sports, Inc.

Phone: (208) 522-3050 Fax: (208) 529-0239 View Additional Phone Numbers 1355 E Lincoln Rd, Idaho Falls, ID 83401 http://www.actionmotor.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides motor sport vehicles including ATVs, Dirt Bikes, Boats, Street Bikes, Watercrafts, and Snowmobiles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Action Motor Sports, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Action Motor Sports, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Action Motor Sports, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 13, 1995 Business started: 08/01/1989 in ID Business incorporated 08/09/1989 in ID
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kris Wright, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kris Wright, President
Business Category

Motorcycles - Dealers Snowmobiles All-Terrain Vehicles - ATVs Boat Dealers Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Action Motor Sports Motorcycle Mall

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Action Motor Sports, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1355 E Lincoln Rd

    Idaho Falls, ID 83401 (208) 529-3410 (208) 522-3050

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Action Motors sold us a 2014 RZR 900 4 seater UTV along with their in-house 4 year Protection Plus extended warranty. They did not complete any sort of vehicle inspection prior to selling us the written warranty; we were unaware an inspection had not been completed at the time of purchase. The motor failed and they are unable to provide any accurate information or explanation as to why the motor failed. They are claiming the motor is not covered under warranty without legitimate reasoning or explanation as to why it is not covered. They have changed their story multiple times and have lied about facts of the case which we can show in our email conversations and pictures sent to us by Action Motors personnel. They have filed a false report and will not provide us with any of the documents, reports and information we have requested to show why they are not covering the motor under warranty. We believe that they are in breach of the implied warranty of merchantability as they can not provide any information showing the vehicle was in good working condition when the warranty was sold to us at the time of sale. They noted that their was a hole in the air filter, but cannot show that the air filter was in good condition when sold to us. They have verbally told us no sort of inspection was conducted prior to selling us the written warranty. They cannot show any reasoning for why the motor failed, yet are not covering the motor under warranty. Also, their customer service has been absolutely horrible. We have left multiple messages to the general manager and have never once received a call back. Any communication between Action Motors and myself has been because I initiated conversations. They have rudely hung up on myself and also accused us of tampering with the vehicle before bringing it in on warranty for which we have plenty of evidence showing otherwise. The vehicle has been with them for over 2 months without any resolution. Aside from the motor repairs, we had two other issues that we asked them to look at to which we have received no feedback or information about these issues to date.

Desired Settlement: We would like the motor to be covered under warranty and repaired to be in good working condition. We would like the other issues we asked about to be addressed as well.

Business Response:

   This letter is to explain the reason for the denial of ***** ********* claim.
  ***** requested warranty for a claim that was not a defect, it was misuse of the unit. Warranty only covers defects in workmanship or materials The cause of the engine failure is it ingested water.
   The next segment is a copy of the explaination sent to *****. ( Also as a courtesy we feel some explanation is due. The entire vehicle doesn’t have to be submerged for hydro lock to occur. it can happen in as little as 4 inches of water. when it occurs water from the unit or one next to it splashes water into the area of the air intake. water is then drawn into the combustion chamber by the vacuum created by the engine intending to draw fuel and air into the combustion chamber. As the piston rotates and the combustion chamber draws just a few ounces of water in it The water wont compress like the air fuel mixture does after the valves close to ignite and produce power. Instead the piston stops short of top dead center because the water fills the space. Inertia continues and the weakest link is the connecting rod between the piston and crankshaft. The rod bends and then breaks. To the best of my knowledge that is the only way to bend a connecting rod.  I'm positive whom ever was operating the RZR had no malicious intent or even thought it was possible to hydro lock the motor. Unfortunately it is actually pretty easy to do in very little water.)
 Based on my 20 plus years of service management experience the engine damage was a direct result of ingestion of water.. ***** was not operating the unit at the time of the failure, Her Son ****** was, and in my opinion She didn't get the whole story behind the failure. We have since agreed to cover all of the bill to repair except $2000.00 which ***** has agreed to pay. This is a good will gesture because none of the damage would be a liability for Action Motor Sports. The facts are plain. The air filter clearly has been completely soaked with water. the oil in the filter was dark colored and the crankcase had new oil up to the full level. Which would not be the case when the engine has a catastrophic failure to the point of the connecting rod breaking and making a hole in the crankcase. With ***** agreeing to the financial terms of the repair it was my assumption She would retract her grievance with the BBB. Not sure if this has happened or not.
  Next ***** speaks of a pre delivery inspection. We only do and are required to do inspections on new units by the manufacturers. We perform a visual inspection during the negociation and sales process. The customer drives the unit and would determine at that time if there were any glaring defects. The unit was purchased with 136 miles (if my memory serves me correctly) and returned for repair at 832 miles. If there were any preexisting conditions such as engine damage it would not have taken nearly 700 miles to manifest it.  
  ***** is also complaining of the length of time to repair. her Son ****** was informed within several days of drop off of the the condition and warranty denial. They wouldn’t give repair authorization thus the long duration for repair. 
  ***** also states we have filed false reports and lied to her. That is completely false and in my opinion these are deflaminatory statements.
  Putting these issues aside the General Manager was considerably more generous than I would have been and handled this issue in a honest, caring and diplomatic way.  
  The unit is repaired as of yesterday. An email was sent to ***** as to its completion. We also addressed her other issues and they were covered under warranty.  
  Hopefully this information will shed some light on this issue.
                                                                         **** ******                                                                        ******* *******
                                                                       Action Motor Sports
                                                                       ************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am in agreement that through General Manager, Jo M******* we were able to reach an agreement regarding repairs to our Razor.  However, I do not agree with Ivan’s statement that he provided to you and the course of events that played out over a 3 month period.   While trying to get some resolution and explanation as to the actual damage and warranty coverage, Ivan hung up on Dillon during one of many phone calls Dillon made to Action Motor Sports.  We had been accused of misuse of this Razor, adding a fuel controller as well as adding new oil to the unit before delivery to Action Motor Sports.  Yet pictures taken of our engine DO NOT show new oil, but burnt oil with shrapnel parts.  Ivan himself states that these Razors can hydrolock in as little as 4 inches of water or due to water being injested into the engine.  At the time our Razor supposedly hydrolocked, it was being driven on pavement in dry conditions.  NO WATER AROUND IT.   We did not abuse this Razor and had purchased the warranty in good faith.  We had many times asked for a written work order outlining parts and labor yet received nothing until Jo and I talked directly and came to a repair agreement.   We had asked for this so we knew what repairs were needed and the potential cost involved.  Yet we received nothing in the way of continued communication.  Dillon made many attempts at resolution and received no phone calls back.  How can repairs be resolved when we did not hear from Action Motor.   Ivan is convinced that we abused, misused and put this Razor through extreme water conditions.  NONE OF WHICH HAPPENED.    If it had not been for Jo M******* and Kelly a service tech with Action Motor Sports I firmly believe that our Razor would still be sitting there unrepaired.  While talking with Kelly at the time we picked up the Razor, Ivan interjected and said you people hydrolocked that Razor and that is the bottom line.  I’m done dealing with you people.  He is an absolute embarrassment for this Polaris Dealer and is the rudest person I have ever dealt with.   I have owned and ridden Polaris ATV’s for over 25 years and have never had a unit hydrolock due to water.  Yes, the Razor has been repaired.  No it was not covered under the warranty I had purchased and the explanation that Ivan gave to the BBB is more information than we have ever received.    I will go on record that I DO NOT AGREE with Ivan’s statement regarding misuse of this Razor and I certainly do not appreciate how my son and I were treated by him.   I am sure that Polaris Industries would not support a statement by a dealer saying that their Razors can hydrolock in as little as 4 inches of water since they promote these vehicles for use in snow, water, mud, dirt and other extreme conditions.  This certainly does not support what the Polaris commercials tout these UTV’s to be used for.   I did agree with Jo M******* to pay $2000 towards the repairs and appreciate his contribution towards coming to a resolution.  However I still feel that it should have been covered under warranty as we did nothing to cause this supposed hydrolocking.   I will go on record that yes our Razor has been repaired under the agreement that Jo and I made.  I will also go on record that I do not agree with Ivan’s statement he provided to you.   Your assistance in this matter is what prompted communication from Action so that a resolution could be reached.   For this I thank you.     


Regards,

***** ********





Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Action Motor Sports, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart