Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Scott's Lawn Service

Phone: (208) 853-6970 Fax: (208) 344-2021 4647 W Fenton, Garden City, ID 83714 http://www.scottslawnservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers lawn services, tree and shrub care, and pest control services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Scott's Lawn Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Scott's Lawn Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Scott's Lawn Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 10, 2004 Business started: 04/12/2002 in ID Business started locally: 04/12/2002 Business incorporated 02/11/2009 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Agriculture, Dept. of
2270 Old Penitentiary Rd, Boise ID 83712
www.agri.idaho.gov
Phone Number: (208) 332-8500

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Steve Fisher, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Fisher, Owner
Business Category

LAWN MAINTENANCE


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Scott's Lawn Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4647 W Fenton

    Garden City, ID 83714 (208) 853-6970

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Prepaid for trees/shrubs spraying in Dec. 2014, ad for the prepay was for the spraying and insect/pest control. Prepaying early included both services. When contacted by Scotts Lawn Service to schedule service, was told that insect/pest control would not be done. Said the ad was for "full" Service only. This was not stated clearly on the ad that was mailed to me when I prepaid. Was told that they were "sorry" for not properly advertising the services.

Desired Settlement: Company should clearly state what services are to be done then complete the service as advertised. Instead of a "sorry," or "we apologize if we misled you." Just do what you stated you would do! Previous service has been good, but don't plan on using them again when given this type of treatment for a returning customer.

Business Response: After reviewing ******* concern, he is correct that our pre-pay offering does not clarify whether they are a "full program" customer or not.  We will certainly honor what the advertisement piece states and will clarify the verbiage for the future.  I called ***** and left a message to let him know what I would like to do and looking forward to the return call.  I did discuss the situation with our front office as they were following company policy but there is the occasion when we make the mistake and need to follow through. 

***** **** **** ****** ************ * ****** ************ * **** ***********************

Business Response: After reviewing ******* concern, he is correct that our pre-pay offering does not clarify whether they are a "full program" customer or not.  We will certainly honor what the advertisement piece states and will clarify the verbiage for the future.  I called ***** and left a message to let him know what I would like to do and looking forward to the return call.  I did discuss the situation with our front office as they were following company policy but there is the occasion when we make the mistake and need to follow through. 

***** **** **** ****** ************ * ****** ************ * **** ***********************

4/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charging for services that we never asked for. We had them spray our trees last year but now we have some body else. I thought we were just for 2014 he says it goes year to year regardless weather i sign up or not. I disagree i have been in business 34 years and we never do work unless customer gives approval first. Statement for $ 67.45 Do you no what my rights are.

Desired Settlement: For them to stay off my property. I don't think its a good idea to spray trees twice for the same thing. What problems will i have with my trees now. They didn't care when i called them all they wanted was there money.

Business Response: I talked to *** **** about how our program, and most other lawn care companies, programs work and agreed to write his application that was done off. He owes us $00.00. Customers do not ever sign a contract and it is explained to them that services do continue from year to year unless they notify us. That is the same practice for all lawn fertilization companies and it does state that on all invoices. He is happy with the resolution.

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Scotts has serviced my rental property for five + years - never had a problem. However, In April of 2014 I had a credit of $218.25 (I always prepaid). They serviced my rental property for pre-emergent and insect control on 4/7/14 at a cost of $76.86. This would have brought my credit down to $141.39. I sold my home in rental home and called Scotts and talked to Don. I asked him to cancel all services and send me a refund. Although I have called the company on several occasions to request my refund I have been told that "the owner has to issue a check". I think waiting for 7 or 8 months is ample time to receive a refund.

Desired Settlement: Want a refund of $141.39.

Business Response:  sent the refund out

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a full summer package of lawn and tree service from Scotts Lawn Service, for *******, in February 2013. I had to move to a new residence in August, so I could not receive the remaining applications. I inquired about a refund for the unused applications, and was told by the office manager that I could do that. I have made two requests, and each time was told my request would be forwarded to the manager. I have never received the refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the refund for the applications I could not receive.

Business Response: I would be happy to refund the amount left over to the card that it was pre paid with , but the expiration date is expired so i am not able to. Have the customer call me and update the information and I will apply it back to the card right away. It usually takes about 72 hrs. once I apply it to the card for it to process.**** **** **** ** ** ************ *** *** *** *****

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Started using this company for lawncare have payed over 200.00 dollars so far had still have weeds growing all over my front and backyard.

Desired Settlement: to pay back what i payed in yard still looks the same as it did before they started

Business Response:

 

We just called this customer before this complaint and tried to explain we would come out at no charge and take care of his weeds. The last contact he made with us was over a month ago so we were not aware he was having problems. The person he spoke with in July was *** and we have notes in his account. When *** tried to call him back today he said you have lost your chance to make it right and hung up on him before we could let him know we would be out tomorrow at no charge. We would like the opportunity to improve the health of his lawn and I am willing to work for the rest of this season at no charge to do that. Could you ask *** **** if tomorrow will work for him as he will not take our calls , myself and my production manager will be glad to meet him to resolve this issue.

 

 

Lary Gaythwaite

 

Owner/ Manager

 

208-853-6970 office

208-850-5636 cell

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

I just wanted to let you know i received that bill in the mail from them after he already it was taken care of on tuesday 08/27/2013,can you please check with them that it was taken care of it was for 42.00 dollars.Thank you

Regards,

***** ****

 

 

Business Response:

The bill was taken care of the statement probably just crossed in the mail