Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Scott's Lawn Service?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers lawn services, tree and shrub care, and pest control services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Scott's Lawn Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Scott's Lawn Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Scott's Lawn Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 10, 2004 Business started: 04/12/2002 in ID Business started locally: 04/12/2002 Business incorporated: 02/11/2009 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Agriculture, Dept. of
2270 Old Penitentiary Rd, Boise ID 83712
www.agri.idaho.gov
Phone Number: (208) 332-8500

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Steve Fisher, Owner Mr. Lary Gaythwaite, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Fisher, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Lary Gaythwaite, Manager
Business Category

LAWN MAINTENANCE


Additional Locations

  • 4647 W Fenton

    Garden City, ID 83714 (208) 853-6970

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Scotts has serviced my rental property for five + years - never had a problem. However, In April of 2014 I had a credit of $218.25 (I always prepaid). They serviced my rental property for pre-emergent and insect control on 4/7/14 at a cost of $76.86. This would have brought my credit down to $141.39. I sold my home in rental home and called Scotts and talked to Don. I asked him to cancel all services and send me a refund. Although I have called the company on several occasions to request my refund I have been told that "the owner has to issue a check". I think waiting for 7 or 8 months is ample time to receive a refund.

Desired Settlement: Want a refund of $141.39.

Business Response:  sent the refund out

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a full summer package of lawn and tree service from Scotts Lawn Service, for *******, in February 2013. I had to move to a new residence in August, so I could not receive the remaining applications. I inquired about a refund for the unused applications, and was told by the office manager that I could do that. I have made two requests, and each time was told my request would be forwarded to the manager. I have never received the refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the refund for the applications I could not receive.

Business Response: I would be happy to refund the amount left over to the card that it was pre paid with , but the expiration date is expired so i am not able to. Have the customer call me and update the information and I will apply it back to the card right away. It usually takes about 72 hrs. once I apply it to the card for it to process.**** **** **** ** ** ************ *** *** *** *****

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Started using this company for lawncare have payed over 200.00 dollars so far had still have weeds growing all over my front and backyard.

Desired Settlement: to pay back what i payed in yard still looks the same as it did before they started

Business Response:

 

We just called this customer before this complaint and tried to explain we would come out at no charge and take care of his weeds. The last contact he made with us was over a month ago so we were not aware he was having problems. The person he spoke with in July was *** and we have notes in his account. When *** tried to call him back today he said you have lost your chance to make it right and hung up on him before we could let him know we would be out tomorrow at no charge. We would like the opportunity to improve the health of his lawn and I am willing to work for the rest of this season at no charge to do that. Could you ask *** **** if tomorrow will work for him as he will not take our calls , myself and my production manager will be glad to meet him to resolve this issue.

 

 

Lary Gaythwaite

 

Owner/ Manager

 

208-853-6970 office

208-850-5636 cell

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

I just wanted to let you know i received that bill in the mail from them after he already it was taken care of on tuesday 08/27/2013,can you please check with them that it was taken care of it was for 42.00 dollars.Thank you

Regards,

***** ****

 

 

Business Response:

The bill was taken care of the statement probably just crossed in the mail

 

 

9/5/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I hired Scott's Lawn Service to care for our yard with the guarantee that our lawn would be greener, thicker and weed free. My husband works overseas and wanted to make things just a little easier on me for the summer. The situation turned out to be far from what we'd hoped for. The first treatment did kill some weeds, we were dandilion free for a couple weeks, but I started to notice that the lawn was dying in spots. I thought nothing of it and spot watered the areas. The second treatment made the situation worse and so I called to let them know that the things they promised were not happening. My lawn was dying in many areas, weeds were continuing to take over and I noticed no thickening. I called and spoke to our rep, *****, and he was extremely rude and disrespectful. He treated me as an idiot who had never had a lawn before and turned every problem around to make it my issue. He would not take any responsibility and my frustration level rose. I humored his disrespect and agreed to try his "ideas/solutions", none of which worked. On the morning of June 22nd I called to cancel and get a refund for the services. I was ok with paying for the first treatment since it did kill a few weeds, but that I wanted a refund for the rest, (we had pre-paid for the season). I was told that since services were rendered, regardless of my satisfaction, I would not be getting the refund for the first 2 treatments. After canceling, Scott's sent out their service memeber yet again and they treated my lawn, resulting in even more dead/burnt grass patches. After many phone calls and much frustration, I was able to get a hold of ***** to make sure I would not be charged for the 3rd service since I had canceled before they came out. I recieved a check in the mail for the amount of $162.75, $41.85 short. After another phone call, they agreed to send out the remainder. ****** the office manager, was wonderful and very helpful. She has been easy to work with, where as ***** has been nothing but rude.

Desired Settlement: I have received a check for $162.75 thus far, and according to Scott's, reimbursment for the third treatment is on it's way, but I would like a refund for all but the first treatment, totaling $306.90, which ultimately means I'd like to see another check in the mail for $102.30. And maybe even an apology for the disrespect I received from our representative, ******

Business Response: We contacted our customer, and we have resolved this complaint with the customer.

4/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service