Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Green LawnCare and Landscape

Phone: (208) 376-4967 Fax: (208) 321-0581 View Additional Phone Numbers P.O. Box 4181, Boise, ID 83711 http://www.greenlawncareinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Green LawnCare and Landscape meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Green LawnCare and Landscape include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Green LawnCare and Landscape
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 03, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated 08/08/2001 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Agriculture, Dept. of
2270 Old Penitentiary Rd, Boise ID 83712
http://www.agri.idaho.gov
Phone Number: (208) 332-8500

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sarah Soto, Office Manager Mr. Gary Banse, President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sarah Soto, Office Manager
Business Category

Lawn Maintenance Landscape Contractors


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Green LawnCare and Landscape has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • P.O. Box 4181

    Boise, ID 83711

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I first contacted **** ***** regarding a re-do for the slope in my back yard on 7/8/14. We had several meetings where I was clear in that I needed to have the weed barrier removed and replaced so that the drip line system could be fully examined and fixed wherever necessary. That was a large part of the expense and the MOST important part of the job. We reached an agreement and I signed his quote for $5623.32 on 7/31/14. **** represented himself as a landscape designer and a responsible businessman.Job completed in 3 days. Most plants too small and MUCH too sparse for area to be covered. **** was here the last day and hand watered some of the plants as several were obviously dying.It is now 4 mos later and it appears that most of the plants inc an expensive Hinoki tree are all dead. Apparent the drip lines were not working. Plant charges NOT itemized in final bill and his EXTRA charges totaled about $2000.00 for which I have no explanation. I requested specific flowers which could have been purchased prior to the job, but were not and he bought replacements that I do not want. No effort made to supply my request. Job was not completed in a professional manner, nor was there ANY attempt to check it out or even find out if the drip lines were working as promised. I am extremely unhappy at the entire project and lack of professionalism on the part of this owner of Green Lawn. He saw an opportunity to rip off a senior citizen and took advantage. I would NEVER do business with this man again for any reason.

Desired Settlement: I need to have a PROFESSIONAL person inspect and repair the drip lines on my back yard slope. That person must be knowledgable about the irrigation system. Plants need to be replaced in the spring. I need to see the EXACT charges for all the extra charges on the final billing. All need to be ITEMIZED.

Business Response: I am sorry that our customer is unhappy however the statements she has made are unfounded. She has stated that the most important part of the job was to fully examine and repair wherever necessary, the drip line system (sprinkler).                           The cost for sprinkler work was not itemized in her signed bid (attached) and as the bid clearly states any sprinkler work will be charged time and materials, specifically $57.75 for the first 45 minutes per worker plus parts           
and $12.00 for each 15 minutes after per worker plus parts. Any extra charges, as well as all of the other work done for her, was clearly itemized in the statement (attached) she received, which includes charges for the drip line (sprinkler) work,             extra plants she wanted installed as well as the labor to do so. Also, I never claimed to be a landscape designer only a landscaper, I suggested that she have a landscape designer draw up plans (additional charge) and she choose to go with plans she
had drawn (attached). The work requested per her signed bid was completed within a three day period 08/20, 08/21 and 08/22 as she was told, however some of the extra work she requested was done on 08/27. While we were there completing
the job I noticed that the drip line was not working correctly, so while my team was fixing the problem I hand watered the plants for an hour free of charge. When the entire job was completed, which included installing every plant outlined in the bid
as well as extra plants requested, and the drip line was in working order, I asked that she please call us back if she had any problems with the drip system or plants. I also told her to hand water plants as needed if she saw any kind of water starvation since the temperature had been fluctuating anywhere between 100-105 degrees, also due to her plans, half of the plants were in the sun and the other half were not. After I left we did not hear anything from the customer until October 15th when she
called to complain about the charges she had received, which she had already sent payment for. When I tried to talk to and go over the charges with her she hung up after she stated that her dog had passed away and she didn't want to talk.

We completed all of the specific services detailed in the contract for the prices listed in the contract. She was charged time and material for all sprinkler work done, which is also stated on the contract. The extra charges she received were for items she requested that went beyond what was stated in her bid/contract. All charges were completely itemized for the customer whether they were extra or contained in the bid/contract.

Sincerely,

**** ***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Unfortunatly, *** ***** has lied numerous times in his response. Obviously, I cannot prove that statement as it is a 'he said, she said' problem 1. **** NEVER suggested I confer with a landscape designer, instead he IMPLIED he was. 2. His plants were NEVER itemized on his bill. 3. **** spent NO MORE than 10 minutes FLAT 'hand watering' on the slope. He SHOULD have told me to water them UNTIL THEY WERE ESTABLISHED, I say that because I had a PROFESSIONAL landscaper here who informed me that the drip lines would NOT put out enough water to keep the plants going until they were established. **** did NOT help or inform me of anything REMOTELY resembling this. He did NOT call back, did not ask ME to call back and it took months before they were visibly dead. The flowers that were planted on the south west side (in the sun) were dead/dying PRIOR to **** 'checking out' the last day. He didn't send me the final bill until late OCTOBER! His statments here are patently FALSE and he is lying aboout the entire project. Again, I have no proof and he is an adept liar, so I'm in a dead end position. I made a VERY bad decision in hiring him and am disgusted with him beyond description. He ripped me off royally.....KNEW what he was doing all along. I'm VERY surprised he is still in business as surely, I'm not the first homeowner he has cheated so badly. Now, this spring, I have to have ALL the plants pulled out and replaced which will cost me plenty. I'm nearly 75 years old, fractured my back in 2 places 4 years ago and cannot do any of the physical work myself. **** knows this. I treated him with kindness and respect which has not been reciprocated from his end. I saved carefully for this project for over 2+ years, knowing that it had to be done well and I TRUSTED ****. He's good at his con job. I have wept over this many times and I know that I have to accept what has transpired and move on as best I can. When **** called to talk about my email, he LAUGHED at my pain and THAT is why I hung up on him. He is cruel beyond belief. Frankly, I've never in my life been treated by ANYONE as badly as **** has treated me. There are so many lies in his response that I am foolish to spend the time in debating this. ********** ***** ** ****


Business Response: I have been in business for almost 30 years and have never
claimed to be a landscape designer, when I suggested that she have a landscape
designer draw up plans she decided she did not want to spend the extra $500.00
dollars to have that done. Every plant that we installed at the customers
residence was itemized on the bill, it shows how many of each plant we
installed along with the cost for the plants. In regards to hand watering the plants,
I advised that because of the heat 100-105 degrees and where she had chosen to
have them planted, she would need to pay close attention to them as well as hand
water them until they were rooted. I also asked that she call me on my cell if
there were any issues because I was leaving the next morning on vacation. The billing
for her project, completely itemized, was sent out on Monday September 8th
in which she called to pay on October 17th. When she called to pay
the bill she spoke with our office manager saying she was unhappy with some of
the charges, the office manager offered to have **** call her before we took
the payment to resolve any issues. The customer stated that “it’s already done”
and that she wanted to continue with the credit card payment. Once I returned
to the office, that same day, I called her back to see what if I could help
with her concerns. This call was in response to the comments she made to my
office manager, there was no email correspondence. When I called her she
advised that her dog had passed away and that she did not want to discuss it,
then promptly hung up. At no time did I laugh at her or treat her in a
disrespectful manner.  We completed all
of the work she asked for, bidded and extra items/work she requested. Her
billing was completely itemized, including: the names of and times for each
worker, delivery fees, amount and cost of plants and any extra items the
customer wanted. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.
In reply to **** ******

1.**** never suggested that I consider a landscape designer, nor did he mention anything about an ‘extra $500’.

2. There was no itemization for any of the plants on the billing. He would need to create a new billing in order to show this statement.

3. His lying continues regarding payment and comments made to his office manager.

4. **** called me on the telephone in response to my email to him expressing my anger, shock and disappointment in his treatment of me and his complete lack of honesty. He states “ there was no email correspondence” which is a total and complete lie.

5. In that telephone call, I reiterated my displeasure with his treatment and expressed my unhappiness. I also told him that my dog ***** was ‘failing’ and that I could not emotionally handle his phone call at that time. HE LAUGHED OUT LOUD and I hung up on him at that very moment. I further blocked his number from calling me in the future.

6. As I have stated previously, **** ***** is a pathological liar and I have no proof that what I say is true. This is obviously a ‘he said, she said’ case and Mr. ***** is very aware of that. He believes he can get away with it knowing full well I cannot prove any of my statements. However, he cannot submit an itemized billing to me unless he creates one for you, myself included. I can only review him online as to the truth and let the public judge for themselves what kind of man he truly is. He did a very good job of ripping me off and I feel certain he is very happy about it. As previously stated, I’m a ‘senior’…….have dealt with hundreds of businesses during my lifetime and can easily state that I’ve never been treated or cheated upon until this dealing with **** *****.

7. I conclude that I am lucky to have never run into such a crook, either here in Boise, or any of the other cities and states I have resided in which includes California, New York and Connecticut. I never thought for a minute that I would find myself in such a position as this and I am so sorry and disappointed it has happened to me here in this beautiful town and state. Crooks reside anywhere and it is a shame. **** ***** is not going to change his stripes and is who he is. I am more than sorry I ever met or called upon him.



Regards,

***** ****




Business Response: We do warranty our work/services and some of the materials we use including plant life when we are at fault for issues that arise and when the customer communicates to us within a timely manner that there is a problem. However, when plant life dies due to negligence by the customer such as lack of watering during hot summer months, we do not warranty them. In regards to this specific circumstance we were not made aware that there was any problem with the plants until November, three months after the project was completed, in a Google review. The customer did not even mention the plants when she called to make the payment for her services on October 17th, she only expressed her dissatisfaction with the total cost of the landscape job.

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service of Sprinkler blow-out was performed by an employee of the company on 10/08/2013. We never asked the company to perform the service. The employee entered the property without permission, and proceeded with the task. My wife was home, albeit alarmed, she stepped out of the house to ask what he was doing. She was informed that this was a scheduled service, by the previous owners,if we did did not want it performed we would have to call in to the office of the company to take our residence off of their list. This conversation occurred after the work was begun. On 11/11/2013 I contacted the office concerning a bill for services rendered. I do not feel obligated to pay this bill as the services were not requested by my family for our residence. In fact I had no intention of using the company the previous owners used as there was water damage from frozen lines that were discovered when we fired the system in the spring.The person with whom i spoke to at the company informed me that they could come back out and turn the water back on. While undoing their mistake seems appropriate we do not desire to have them re-enter the property. There was no mention that if they performed a restart that the bill would be negated. She did state the policy of contacting the owners via the phone to confirm that they wished to have the service performed. Unfortunately they never contacted us because we are the current owners of the property.

Desired Settlement: I request that the bill for services provided on 10/08/13 be considered paid in full by the company.

Business Response:

On 10/07/13 we placed a call advising we would be out to do the sprinkler blow-out on 10/08/13, we did not reach the customer however we did leave a message stating if they did not want the services done to please call back and let us know. We did not receive a call back so we proceeded with the service. We were unaware that the residence was now occupied by someone else. When we were there doing the service we were approached by the customers wife whom wanted to know why we were there and what we were doing, we explained to her what we were doing and that we had called to advise we were coming. At no time were we asked to stop the service or to leave the property, if we had been we would have happily obliged and there would have not been any charge. We then received a call on 11/11/13 concerning the bill for services rendered, in which we were asked to waive the fee since it was not a service that was requested by him but by the previous owner. We advised him that the charges would not be waived because the blow-out was performed however we could come out, turn the water back on and in doing so we would credit the charge. The customer asked why would he want us to come back and turn it on when turning the water off and blowing out the sprinklers was a needed service but that he shouldn’t be charged because he did not ask for the service. We informed him that because the service was done and we were not asked to stop the blow-out when his wife approached us during the service, the charges will not be waived. At that point he was told again that we would be happy to come out and reverse the service and the charge would be credited/negated but he declined.

 

***** ****

Office Manager

***** ******** **** ******** ************************** ************************

 


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As you appreciate, a telephone call to the previous owners was placed on 10/07/13.  It is not there responsibility to contact the current owners.  There was a conversation between the worker who performed the service and a resident.  She made the correct choice, she contacted her husband immediately to discover if he had scheduled the service.At no time during the discussion I had with the representative from Green lawn care concerning the bill was it mentioned that the invoice would be waived if they returned to the property to tun the water back on


Green lawn care sent a representative to my residence to perform a service that I did not ask them to perform.  I see no reason to pay for a service I did not order. 


In a related note, I have been in contact with a separate company that performs annual service to my residence.  They were out last week after I made contact with them for service.  Their policy is to make positive communications in the affirmative that service is requested.  Had Green Lawn Care contacted me concerning sprinkler blow-out I most likely would have gave them the go ahead to perform the service. However they did not, they just showed up one day at a persons house that had never once contacted them for service. 


 

 

Regards,

**** *****

 

 

Business Response: Bill has been written off.

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the second year in a row that this company has come and blown out my sprinklers without my consent, and no prior notification. This year I came home to a notification that my sprinkers had been blown out on 10/8/13. Last year I assumed it was an oversight that I was not called to ask if I wanted the service again (I had, indeed requested the service 3 years ago, but did not sign a contract to continue). When I called the company on 10/10/13 to complain, I was told that "******* had called me ahead of time to discuss blowing out my sprinkers. I told the woman on the phone that I had received no such call, and she assured me that I had. The bill I received says that my sprinklers were blown out by "******** The conversation bothered me because the woman was implying that I was not telling the truth about never receiving a call about the service. I was also bothered because I have a dog, and if my dog had bit ************* when he came (without my knowledge or permission, as I stated), I would have been held liable. I do not feel that I should have to pay for a service I did not request or authorize. I am a single mom and am careful about who I allow on my property, and never consented for ************* to be on my property on 10/8/13.

Desired Settlement: I am not paying my bill, and would like to receive an apology from the company, and a statement showing that I owe no money for a service I did not request or authorize.

Business Response: On 10/07/2013 our sprinkler department ******** ******* called the customers that were scheduled to have their sprinkler systems blown out on 10/08/2013, including the complainant. When we call them to let them know we will be out, we leave them a message if they do not answer. In the message we include the statement "if you do not want the service please call us back at 376-4967 so we may remove you from the blow out list". This customers was scheduled for the annual blow out due to the fact we have been blowing out the sprinklers for her since 2011 with no mention of wanting to be removed from or have this service cancelled. Once a customer has this service done, because we guarantee our work and it is a service that is needed annually because of freezing conditions causing pipes and backflows to rupture, the customer is added to the list of customers that we call and schedule blow outs with annually. Which is what was done in this case and has been done since the first service in 2011. When the customer called in on 10/09/2013 to complain of the service being done this information was given to her as well as that ****** the manager called to let her know we would be out and that Robert was the technician that was out and blew out the system. We also advised her that we could come out, turn the water on and run it through the system. In doing this all charges would be void and there would be no balance on the account. The customer declined and informed us at this time to remove her from the list and to never do service for her again, which has been noted and we will comply.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am disappointed that Green Lawn Care & Landscape, Inc. is not accepting responsibility that ****** *** ******* never actually called and left me a message notifying me that my sprinklers would be blown out.  I received no message stating that I could call a phone # and cancel the service, or I would have done so.  


I was not told, when I called to complain, that ****** was the one who blew out my sprinklers.  I was simply told that ****** called me, which I disagreed with.  The first time I came across the name ****** was when I received a bill for a service I did not request, and did not agree to.


I was not told, when I called to complain, that I could have the company come out to turn my sprinklers back on, and have no charge from the company.  


I am very disappointed that Green Lawn Care & Landscape, Inc. is creating further misinformation.


I completely disagree that a company should feel at liberty to continue a service that was requested once in 2011, with no contract signed. Even if the company had left a message for me prior to this unwanted sprinkler blowout, as they errantly claim to have left, if I had been out of town, or otherwise unable to check messages, I would expect that such a business would not come onto my property without my permission.  


I request an apology and a statement noting that I will not be charged for this service.


Regards,

***** *****

 

 

Business Response: We have been doing this customers blow outs since 2011 with no request to cancel the service. Had she called and requested the service cancelled we would have been happy to remove her from the list. When a customer calls in and complains that they did not want the service that was performed we are more than happy to come out and reverse the service which in turn voids the charges. Green Lawn Care and Landscape is sorry that she feels this way however we have been in service for many years doing our blow outs in the same fashion every year. We schedule the blow out place a call to the customer letting them know when we will be in the area to perform the service and if we do not reach the customer we leave a message letting them know to call us and cancel if they do not want the service done.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ******** and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Green Lawn Care & Landscape continues to defend its business practice of coming onto my property 2 years in a row, without me having signed a contract, and without scheduling an appt., or having my permission to come blow out my sprinkers.  I strongly disagree with this business practice.  When I request a window washer, tree trimmer, or lawn service, and do not sign a contract, they do not return to my property without my permission, and use the excuse that I never "canceled their service."  


As I stated before, I have a large dog, and it is also a personal liability for me to have a person on my property, unscheduled, without my permission, when my dog could bite the person.


Green Lawn Care has incorrectly stated that I had a message left on either of my phones stating that my sprinklers would be blown out on 10/8/13.  I received no such message, and phone records would support that.


Even if I had received a message, I could have been out of town, or otherwise unable to check my messages, and as a rule do not allow people on my property unless I authorize it at a scheduled time.  This is, in fact, the law.


Green Lawn Care incorrectly stated that when I called on 10/9/13 to complain that they had blown out my sprinklers without my permission, that they 1) told me the correct person who had done it (the woman told me ******, not ******), and 2) that they had informed me of my right to have my sprinkler system turned back on and have the charge reversed.  I was never informed of that option.  I was only told that I was in the wrong, as a customer, for questioning their business practice of coming onto my property to perform a service I never consented to, and subsequently billing me.  I was told that because I had requested the service once, in 2011, that I should expect it to occur yearly unless I canceled (although I never signed a contract).


I received a Christmas postcard from Green Lawn and Landscape, Inc. yesterday.  It makes me wonder if I was ever even taken off of their list, as I requested, on 10/9/13.


I expect an apology for this business coming onto my property, not under contract, without my permission, and billing me for a service that I did not request.

Regards,

***** *****

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not accept their offer of paying 1/2 of the bill.  I feel strongly that I should not have to pay anything to Green Lawn Care when I did not request the sprinkler blowout service in 2013, never signed a contract, and they came onto my property without my permission.  

Regards,

***** *****

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Green LawnCare and Landscape
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart