Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Barefoot Lawns

Phone: (208) 323-8002 PO Box 4945, Boise, ID 83711 http://www.barefootlawnsusa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides lawn, tree, fertilizer, weed control, tree spraying, sprinkler repair, and sprinkler start up/blowout services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Barefoot Lawns meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Barefoot Lawns include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Barefoot Lawns
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 10, 2008 Business started: 01/01/1998 in ID Business started locally: 01/01/1998
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jeremiah Long, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeremiah Long, Owner
Business Category

LAWN MAINTENANCE

Service Area
This company serves the Treasure Valley.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Barefoot Lawns has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 4945

    Boise, ID 83711 (208) 323-8002

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BBB:We contacted Barefoot Lawns in June of 2014 to provide service to our vacant property that we have for sale. They performed this service on June 20, 2014 and we paid that associated invoice on July 15, 2014 ($234.00). We only requested this service.On December 5, 2014, unbeknownst to us a specialist from Barefoot Lawns came out to our vacant property (without notice) and provided a Fall Fertilization service. Since no one was in residence at this address no one was available to authorize this service nor did anyone from Barefoot Lawns call to confirm that we wanted or authorized this work (our phone numbers have not changed). In showing this invoice to my wife, since she arranged the initial service, she was upset in that she did not expect this bill nor recall any agreement to an ongoing service. I followed up with ***** at Barefoot Lawns by phone on December 9th and told her that we did not agree to or authorize this service. I told her we we were asking for a credit or for Barefoot Lawns to withdraw this invoice. I told her my wife was upset about it and that was why I was calling. She agreed to look into it.***** called me back on December 11th and informed me that we were loaded into their computer and apparently my wife authorized the service. I asked her why they had not called first (which would have voided this situation) and she told me that this request was not loaded into the computer. At this point the conversation deteriorated and now I am mad. What I am hearing from ***** is that all of this was our fault. I repeated to her our request that we did not feel responsible for Barefoot's unauthorized service visit and we wanted the invoice withdrawn. She told me she was not authorized to make that decision. I asked her to talk to whoever was authorized. She agreed to do so. After 10 days I had not received a follow up from Barefoot lawns so I mailed a formal letter requesting a credit on December 22nd. On December 31st we received an email statement from them requesting payment with a new due date of January 17th. This bill is only $79.00 but this has become an issue in principle. How is this company able to claim we have an agreement when neither my wife are I are have consciously agreed to one. How is it that it is our fault that we did not have a call first notice in their computer entry? Barefoot Lawns appears to have no interest in addressing our complaint. That is why we have come to you.We await your response.*************** * **** ************* ***** ************

Desired Settlement: We have made 3 request so far to have them credit or cancel this invoice.We did not request or agree to this recent service or allow them free access to our property beyond the initial service in June 2014.They also need to re-evaluate their practice of assuming that on client service visit is an authorization to an ongoing agreement.We are still insisting on a credit/cancellation.

Business Response: As explained to*** and **** ******,

    On 6/19/2014 we received a request for a quote for services at their property that was for sale. The owner spoke with **** ****** about what services she was wanting and would be needing in the future. At the time she mention that the house was for sale and did not want to spend a lot of money in the property but knew that there were some issues that needed to be addressed at the time and in the future. She new she had billbugs and needed a fertilizer. The owner also suggested that a fall fertilizer would be best to help the lawn recover and look good in the Spring of 2015 to help the curb appeal of the home and possibly help sell the home faster. **** ****** at that time agreed to the three services. Two were provided on 6/20/2014 and the last on 12/05/2014. On 12/11/2014 *** ****** called on behalf of **** ******  complaining that the service was done with no authorization. The office informed him at that time that if the request for us to call before any services were done had been made, that would have been noted on the account and would have been done. However, **** ****** did not request a call before services. 

     In the computer program we use, the services are entered in a package or bundled with other services. On **** ******s' account, each service that she did not want had to be manually skipped in order for them not to be done. At the time **** ****** agreed to have the services preformed at the property, there were still three additional services in the program that could have been done but were not because she did not request them. Just the final fall fertilizer.

    The reason *** ****** did not receive a response to his inquiry is simple. He is not on the account. ***** gave him as much information as she could. Upon receipt of the statement, again *** ****** emailed to inform us of the complaint filed with the BBB. At that time, the owner responded to inform *** ****** why he had no contact in regards to the account. On Jan. 3, 2015 we received a call from **** ****** stating that she did not remember signing up for the service. 

    Had **** ****** informed the owner that she wanted a called prior to any further services at the time she agreed, she would have been called. However, she did not. As a company, we will now be asking each and every customer if that is something that they want. So an  issue like this can be avoided in the future.

     Unfortunately, we will not be crediting the account or writing off the amount that is due. A service was done that was requested. Product, labor and fuel were used.

             

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I feel that Barefoot Lawns should have contacted me before doing anymore fertilization.  By doing so it would not have gotten to the point of bringing BBB into the situation.  I do not feel that it was my fault because contrary to what the man said that I spoke to on the phone and never had any person to person contact with I did not know that they would apply another fertilization treatment to the yard.  Also he told me over the phone that he would fertilize the front yard too.  The back yard looked great but I did not see any improvement to the grass in the front although the price I was quoted on the phone after he measured the property included the front yard too which I paid for in full.  I am tired of hassling with Barefoot Lawns.  They do use a good fertilization product but in my opinion have lousy customer service since the man did not explain things to me.  In closing I did pay the bill to be done with the whole situation although I did not agree to the second fertilization considering the cost of the first one was a financial struggle to do.
To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.

******** **** ******




Business Response:

    In response to ******* last statement about our service and the additional complaint about seeing no change in the front lawn.

 

                The front lawn was treated at the same time as the back, which is why I find it interesting that we are just now hearing about the front lawn not looking as good as the back. We do our best to provide the best customer service we can. **** called on 6/19/2014 for a quote, upon which the owner went out that same day to provide her with the quote. We were then out the very next day to perform the services. That cost is based off the square footage and it is a large property which translate to a larger cost. We heard nothing about the lawn not looking good until now and there could have been many factors as to why. All that was needed from her was a phone call from her and the owner would have gone out at no charge to investigate. This is done for all customers regardless of how many services they have.

               

                The fact that we did not call her about the final service being done has nothing to do with a lack of customer service. It was not requested that we call before the service was done at the property, **** had signed up for the three services, there was nothing else to explain. We try to meet the needs of our customers; some require or ask us to call so they know we are coming, others have no interest in knowing prior to a service being done. If the request had been made at the time **** had signed up for the services, a call would have been made. It is not poor customer service to not respond to someone who is not an authorized user on the account.

 

               

               

 

Jeremiah, Owner

Barefoot Lawns

************

jeremiah@barefootlawnsusa.com

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable