BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
The Snake River Region
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Backyard Living Source?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Backyard Living Source meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Backyard Living Source include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 4
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Backyard Living Source
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 04, 2006 Business started: 03/07/2005 in ID Business started locally: 03/07/2005 Business incorporated: 03/07/2006 in ID
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bryan Herrera, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryan Herrera, Owner
Business Category

GARDEN & LAWN EQUIPMENT & SUPPLIES


Additional Locations

  • 9543 W Emerald St., Suite 101

    Boise, ID 83704

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

Complaint Detail(s)

10/23/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/7/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Four years ago we purchased two kits *** **** ****** Sunroom/Greenhouses. One was a 20' one costing nearly $4000 & the other is a 10' one. We planned on using the large one for a sunroom/exercise room, which would hold our exercise pool. We built a new, very sturdy, very level deck for the room and built it as per their directions. These sunrooms are warranted for 7 years. This past January, when the sunroom was only 3 1/2 years old, during the middle of the night, it collapsed. We cleared off the snow from the roof, plus we had covered it with a solar blanket in an attempt to keep the cold out of it, because the sunroom had gaps all over it. For the most part, the snow just slid off the blanket. It wasn't from snow accumulation that caused the collapse. It appears that it was the frame itself. It looked like it just shattered in key points, allowing the entire top to come crumbling down, breaking some of the frame in a zillion pieces & crushing our belongings inside. We had a bitter cold winter, and our best guess is that the frame just simple shattered from the cold. We contacted Backyard Living Source immediately and sent them many pictures. Our first contact was with *** ****** who said he was working with the manager on the problem. It took weeks before he told us the issue had been sent to ******** ******* at Backyard Living Source, 866-448-8229 *** ****. She said she'd sent a claim in to ******, the manufacturer, who would be in touch with us. We waited months, no one contacted us. I wrote ******** back and was told the claim was sent to **** ******* ** ****** ******** and to Ofer from ****** Applications, and that is basically all they planned to do. It's now been 6 months, no one has contacted us about this. I finally went to the ****** website and sent a message through their contact page stating we were very angry that it's been 6 months & no one has contacted us or done anything to make this right. They simply sent an email stating our issue isn't covered under the warranty.

Desired Settlement: We want a refund for the remaining 3 1/2 years left on the warranty. Backyard Living Source took our money, they should cover the loss. We didn't buy this from ******, we purchased it from Backyard Living Source. They should cover the warranty, & then they can go after ****** to get their money back. It's not fair to us, as the consumer, to be expected to just accept that this company we knew nothing about, decides our "issue isn't covered by their warranty", & be expected to absorb the loss.

Business Response:

While we certainly feel very badly that this happened to the customer, we also feel that we have done all we can as the retailer to help resolve the issue for them.  They did in fact order two **** ***** sunroom kits (************ ** ******** ** ******* from our website back on 5/18/10.  They then also ordered a sunroom extension kit a couple weeks after that on 6/4/10.  We have a fair and reasonable 30 day return policy, and if at the time they were unsure of the quality they had ample time to return the units for a full refund back in 2010.  After that point if there are problems or failures with the kits, then it is the responsibility of the manufacturer to research / investigate problems and potentially offer a refund or a replacement kit if it is deemed that the failure of the kits was due to a manufacturer's defect.  As the retailer we have no say in that part of the process and can simply pass along information and make sure the customer and manufacturer are in contact.  We did that and as customer stated they have been working with ****** to try to resolve the issue.  Apparently the customer did eventually get a response from ****** stating that the issue wasn't covered under the warranty.  This can happen because of a number of reasons, possibly due to weather conditions (such as heavy snow loads) that are not the fault of the manufacturer. Again, that is up to ****** to research and decide, not Backyard Living Source.  
 
The customer states in their desired settlement that they want a refund from Backyard Living Source, but that is unfair to our company.  We can't be expected to give warranty refunds years after purchase for products that we did not manufacture, we did not install (customers put these up themselves) , we did not maintain, etc.  We are simply the retailer, and the issue after nearly 4 years is between the customer and ******.  We fulfilled our part of the purchase process and delivered in a timely manner the items they selected and they ordered.  

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

There has been an interesting turn of events.. I was contacted by a rep from PolyTec, a division of ******.. He explained to me what the problem is.. He explained that ****** purchased *** **** brand a couple of years ago, and reinvented the brand because the old brand (like ours) had so many issues and problems..They are now selling the new, improved style with the name of ****** rather than ****.  He explained that ****** didn't actually make our sunroom, it was manufactured before they purchased the brand.. He also explained that Backyard Living Source bought out the old styles of these sunrooms/greenhouse's before ****** took over the name and that they became the supplier for those kits, and that, in realty, there aren't a lot of them left. I have noticed the Backyard Living has them all on sale with messages saying " limited supplies".. 


So, I'm wondering why Backyard Living Source is insisting that this is a manufacturers warranted issue, when they must realize it wasn't even manufactured by ******.  When Backyard Living Source first told me they had sent a claim to Omer at ****** of Israel, I was very much taken aback, because I never heard of this company, nothing in our kit had them listed as the manufacturer, there was no warranty information included, especially nothing from that company, there was no information on the website I purchased them from mentioning ****** and quite frankly, if I remember correctly, the way these things were advertised when we purchased them, I was under the impression that they were manufactured in Canada.. Again, this is why I've been so surprised and confused by Backyard Living Source insisting it was manufactured in Israel by ******.. I felt like they were either not being truthful with me now, or they weren't truthful with me when I purchased the kits.. Either way, this does shine some light on this situation and explain why ****** has just been ignoring us... 


I guess my question here is, if Backyard Living Source bought out all the old greenhouse and sunroom kits from the real manufacturer, and I assume that manufacturer is no longer in business since they sold out to ******, doesn't that make them responsible for the problems customers experience with them? Since Backyard Living Source bought out these discontinued kits, would they not then be responsible for any problems associated with kits they are selling, kits that can only be purchased from them exclusively, since they bought all of the discontinued models? When we purchased these kits, no where on their site did it say, by the way, the company that manufactured them has sold out to ****** of Israel and is no longer manufacturing them, so if you have a warranty issue, good luck to you. We also were not aware that they were a discontinued model. I mean, isn't Backyard Living Source, in fact, passing the buck on to a company they KNOW did not manufacturer this product? And in fact, treating us like we're just not understanding the situation when actually, we're just the innocent customers who happen to be stuck between two company's and had absolutely no knowledge of any of this, and still wouldn't if I hadn't contacted ****** myself through their website, and someone from the Israel office forwarded this information on to a rep in America.. So, isn't this kind of like hiding the real truth from us, the innocent customers who's only mistake was trusting that what Backyard Living Source Reps told us and what was written on their website was the truth? 


Since Backyard Living Source bought out these kits to sell, I'm sure at a nice profit, didn't they in fact, also take on the responsibility of covering any problems associated with them? They have the kits, not ******.. They sent us these kits, not ******... They have them in their warehouse, not ******.. ****** didn't even build it!!!!

******** ***** **********

 

 

Business Response:

I am writing in response to the latest update from *** ********** about her **** Sunroom.  She has some facts partially correct but somewhat mixed up.  The history of the ****/****** greenhouses is this:  **** is an Israel brand greenhouse that has been and always was manufactured in Israel by a kibbutz.  We (Backyard Living Source) have sold **** greenhouses since 2005 or so.  We purchased inventory directly from **** and had the kits shipped to us and then we sold retail to customers.  At the time of ** *********** purchase in 2010, she got CURRENT, LATEST MODEL inventory.  What she was buying at the time was not discontinued, nor old, nor anything of the sort. It was current inventory and had a warranty that was offered by the manufacturer (**** at the time).  Two years ago ******, another Israel company that manufactures some of their own greenhouse kits, bought out the **** brand and took over ownership of that brand of greenhouses/sunrooms.  They continued to use the same kibbutz to manufacture and used the same molds and processes, etc.  Since then and over the last 2 years, ****** has started to make some model changes, as is their prerogative as the new owner.  They have altered some components, redesigned the roof somewhat, and discontinued some models.  They still make and sell (now distributed through a separate, independent U.S company Poly-Tex, inc.) **** greenhouses that are quite similar to what they made 4 years ago, but they have updated the greenhouses somewhat.  We continued to purchase **** greenhouses from ****** up until this last winter - always getting the latest inventory they offered.  We made a business decision for ourselves to stop buying **** greenhouses and have since sold through virtually all of the inventory that we last purchased.  As I've stated before, ****** of Israel owns the **** brand and now controls the manufacturing and distribution.  They bought out the company and as such took on the responsibility of servicing and warrantying both old and new ****s.  We have tried to have ****** help out this customer with her sunroom issues, but if ****** won't take action we can't force them.
 
I also want to reiterate for her that at no point have we done anything approaching the insinuations she is making.  We did not buy "discontinued" models from some defunct company and pass it off as something else.  What she bought was current stock.  If in the time since she bought her sunrooms the company makes produt changes or sells out their business, that does not mean that she got tricked somehow.  It would be no different than if she had bought a **** ******** **** **** * ****** ***** ***** ******** gets bought out by ***** *** **** **** ***** **** ***** ******* ** ******* ***** ****.  You wouldn't say that anything untruthful or shady was perpetrated - you would understand that companies get bought and sold, and new versions of products get made.  You also wouldn't expect a local car dealer to be held responsible if *** **** ******** has a problem and **** refused to fix it.  The issue would be with the new owner/manufacturer who took on the responsibility of ownership of the brand.  This is the scenario that we are dealing with - ****** owns **** now and as such has the final responsibility of warranty/service issues.  We don't appreciate the disparaging comments that we have been "hiding the real truth."  We have done no such thing and have only tried to help the customer to this point.
 
******** ***** ****

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/31/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a ********* ****** ** ****** **** ********** ******* **** * Green" from ******************* on 8/8/13. The greenhouse was assembled using the provided stakes from the manufacturer, ****** ******** ***.On November the 23rd the Greenhouse was blown over and destroyed. I immediately contacted the retailer and was instructed to submit pictures of the damage and a warranty claim form. I took around 75 photos of the damage that I sent in that same afternoon along with the warranty claim form. On December 27th I received an email saying that the manufacturer was not willing to cover the damage claiming and that "the stakes we used were not adequate for holding the greenhouse to the ground and the base kit was also needed to support the greenhouse during high winds."The anchor kit used to anchor and secure the greenhouse to the ground was the one provided by the manufacturer. I actually attempted to purchase an extra ground anchoring kit with my order that was offered on the website for an extra $100. However, *****, a live chat representative with *******************, assured me that it was not necessary for the area that we lived in and that we would be just fine with the anchors and base kit provided. He also informed me that the best way to assemble the greenhouse was to have it anchored to the ground with the provide stakes set into a gravel base. This was not our original plan but since this was what was recommended, we did just that, following the provided assembly instructions from Palram.The Greenhouse was destroyed less than 3 months into its life. We immediately contacted the retailer.At this point it has been 7 weeks. The retailer is trying to push this on the manufacturer but no progress has been made.

Desired Settlement: I would accept a full refund or full replacement to be delivered within the next 2 weeks. As I have stressed to the retailer through this entire process, time is of the essence.

Business Response:

This email is in response to a complaint we received *** ******** for customer ****** *******  As she stated in the letter she purchased a greenhouse kit from us last summer and unfortunately it was destroyed due to winds blowing it off it's base.  One of my customer service reps was trying to work with the greenhouse manufacturer to get them to warranty the unit since that is generally up to them to do.  After going back and forth with them for a while and forwarding documentation and photos and such, they denied the claim and stated that it was not a defect and thus wouldn't warranty the unit.  I was made aware of this case last week and looked over the emails and decided to go ahead and send a brand new unit to the customer to replace the damaged one even though the manufacturer will not reimburse us for the unit.  It has been shipped already via UPS and here is the tracking information:  ****************** ****************** *******************  It should arrive within a few days to the customer and hopefully that will resolve the complaint.  She is also getting an anchoring kit to use this time and that should keep the wind damage problem from happening again.

If there are any further questions or concerns feel free to contact me at the info below.  Thanks,  
 
 
***** ***** ** ******** ****** ******* **** ***** ************ ****************

9/3/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a RION greenhouse from Backyard Living Source,Inc. Spoke to ****** ******, on 10-5-2012. Delivery was to be completed withing 2-weeks. Since we wanted to erect the greenhouse before the Michigan cold weather set in I called Backyard Living Source,Inc. back on 11-12-2012 inquiring about not receiving product which was charged to our credit card. Reason given by Backyard Living Source, Inc. was a warehouse problem. We finally received greenhouse packages on 12-7-2012 (2-months after order). Upon inspecting boxes received, the front panel box was the wrong color (we ordered all green, front panel was white color). Invoice with delivery showed ALL GREEN descriptions. Called Backyard Living Source,Inc. back on December 13, 2012 requesting replacement with correct color panel as ordered. White panel was sent back and we received replacement panel on 12-26-2012. Replacement panel was also white. Called Backyard Living Source,Inc. again requesting correct colored panel. This time we were told correct green panel would be sent from the Boise, Idaho location. I spoke to **** who said because of the inconvenience we had encountered, she would credit us for the added vent panel which we ordered in addition to the greenhouse package. We did receive the correct colored panel 3-weeks later. After not receiving any credits for several months from Backyard Living Source,Inc. I called back, spoke to ********, who said she had no information about said credit and **** no longer worked for the company. I was told I had to speak to ***** @ ex.5496 about any credits. ******** transferred me to *****, no answer, so I left voice mail. NO call back from *****, so I called him directly @************* ******** Again no answer, left another message. Another 2-weeks and still no call back from *****, called him direct again to PLEASE call me back. No call back, so I talked to ******** on 5-15-13, she will have ***** call. NO CALL from ***** Called again 8-12-13, no answer, no call back. HELP

Desired Settlement: Would like the $129.00 credit promised from Backyard Living Source,Inc. employee **** for the many mix ups and inconveniences encountered.Thanks, ****** *****

Business Response:

I am writing to you in response to complaint ID ******* that we received from customer ****** *****.  I read through the customer's statement and called him to discuss the issue.  I let him know that we did in fact have a few shipping and customer service issues with this order, and then over the winter we had both ****** *** ***** (who made up our entire customer service team at the time) quit within 2 weeks of each other.  That set us back for a while and we had a few issues slip through the cracks while we transitioned to new employees, apparently including this one for *** ******  I was unable to find a record that ***** ** ****** had promised a partial refund, but it is likely that one of them did state that and so I let the customer know that I would go ahead and honor that request and have sent him a check for $129.  It went out in the mail today and he should have it shortly.  Attached is a scanned copy of the check he is receiving. Hopefully this will satisfactorily resolve this issue.
 
Thanks,

1/6/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues