This business is not BBB accredited.

Whispering Heights Landscape, Inc.

Phone: (208) 463-8529 Un-Published, Nampa, ID 83686


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides landscaping services, sprinker installation and maintainance, fencing and concrete work.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Whispering Heights Landscape, Inc. include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Whispering Heights Landscape, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Whispering Heights Landscape, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 04, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1998 in ID Business incorporated 01/07/1998 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Contractors Registration Board
Idaho Bureau of Occupational License, Boise ID 83702
https://secure.ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/Home.aspx
Phone Number: (208) 334-3233

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Blacker, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Blacker, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Lawn & Garden Sprinkler Systems Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday: 8AM-5PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Cards, Checks
Service Area
Treasure Valley

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Un-Published

    Nampa, ID 83686

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Whispering Heights built a retaining/terrace wall in my back yard when my house was built in 2007. The wall was built in a hurry due to rainy weather and the fear that the hill behind my house was going to slide into my yard. Due to the rush the wall was built incorrectly without the proper drainage and compacting needed to ensure the integrity of the wall. Approximately 2 years after the wall was built I had to have Whispering Heights rebuild approximately a 25' section of the upper wall that was sinking and falling forward. They rebuilt it but now the upper and lower section of the same area are sinking and falling forward. I contacted the business owner, **** Blacker about the problem in May of this year. **** came out to look at the wall. When he was looking at the wall I advised him that his company had built the wall and then rebuilt a section of it. At that time he claimed he would do some research on how to fix the problem. I continued to try to contact him with no response from ****. Finally, I resorted to calling from a different number, his tone of voice implied that he wished he hadn't answered when I told him who I was. During that call he said he would be checking into what liability his company had and where to go from here. At that time he assured me he would call me back. As of today this was the last time I have been able to get him to answer my call and he will not return my messages. This wall is potentially dangerous. I spoke to the city engineering dept and discovered the wall is built against city code, any wall that is more than 3.5' tall has to be engineered per city code. My wall is 6' tall. I never demanded that he fix the wall for free, he would not even discuss any options with me. This is the worst customer service I've ever experienced. I have left **** numerous voice mails asking him to call me back so that we can discuss the wall but he will no longer answer or return my calls. Thank you in advance for any assistance.

Desired Settlement: Wall rebuilt properly to ensure safety and replacement of any landscaping that is lost during rebuild.

Business Response:

Dear BBB,

This is in response to the ********* ********* regarding a retaining wall that was installed.  Initially we installed a retaining wall in 2007 for the customer.   The owner states that due to rainy weather we were in a hurry to complete the wall so there would not be any erosion.  In my eyes there is a difference in efficency and cutting corners on a project that may make it appear that the project was rushed through and and not being installed correctly.  The wall at this time was installed per the manufactures recommendations.  Two years later the customer called and said there was settling in the upper section of the wall about a 25' section as stated in his complaint.  At this time we returned and completely removed and rebuilt the wall in this section and also at this time we reinforced the drainage and compaction of the base of the wall.  Again everything was done according to the recommendation of the manufacture.  In May of this year the customer called and was concerned that the wall was settling again.  I met him to look at it and again the wall was settling in this exact location.  I don't deny the settling of the wall.  The issue I have in that the property where the wall is built is on a extremely steep incline with a home immediatly above this property.  I stated that there was run off coming from the home above either from rain,  the sprinklers running to much, or a sprinkler line or head broken on the property above which over the years is causing erosion and ultimatly settling of the wall.  Again when the wall was installed everything was installed to the manufactures recommendations and we did make a return trip to rebuild it two years after the initial install.  In my opinion there is a underlying factor for the failure of the wall coming from the property above this one with excess water ultimatly coming down towards this home.  The water coming down is subsurface water so it will erode from beneath the top layer of the soil upward.  To redo the wall again,  a couple years down the road it will be the same until the issue above is taken care of.

Thanks,

****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

First,  **** was not present at all during the rebuild of the upper section, so he really has no idea if the ground was repacked.  I was there and I can tell you that it was not.  It was leveled by adding road mix then re-stacked.  When the wall was installed **** should have been aware of the neighbors yard sloping down toward mine (the slope is a minimal decline toward ours, not "an extremely steep slope") and added the proper drainage to avoid any run off problems from the property above mine as this is why they needed to build the wall so quickly in the first place.  I'm not sure how **** knows that the wall was built to manufacturers specs when he had no idea that his company even built my wall until I told him they did.  **** never even offered to fix the wall at a cost, he just started avoiding me entirley as soon as it was pointed out that his company put out a faulty product that is dangerous.  **** also did not respond to the fact that the wall did not get engineered (per city code) due to the height.  Per city engineers a wall this size should have had a cement footer poured and the wall built on top.  Also the only section of the wall that has any vapor barrier (to help prevent any further erosion) is the section that they had to rebuild.  They did not put any vapor barrier any where else on the wall.  

**** states in his response that it is his belief that the rain or irrigation water from the property above is causing the erosion.  This should have been foreseen prior to the wall being built and the proper drainage should have been planned for when building the wall.    

We are not satisfied with his response as no steps have been taken toward remedying the problem and continues to be dangerous.    
Regards,

****** ******* **

 

 <

Business Response:

I am not sure how to proceed from here.  Give me a detailed break down of what you are expecting from me.  Obviously I don't know anything about any of it.  Let me know what you want from me and I will see what we can work out.  Thanks

Consumer Response: ****** ******** ****** * *****

To reply to ***** last response. We are expecting our wall
to be rebuilt with proper drainage to allow for any runoff from the adjacent
property to be properly compensated for.  We also
expect the wall to be built with proper ground compacting preparation to insure
the stability and safety of the wall.  We
would also like any landscaping that is destroyed during reconstruction to be
replaced.   


Regards,

****** ******* **





Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Whispering Heights Landscape, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)