This business is not BBB accredited.

Jon C. Irby Landscaping, LLC

Phone: (208) 887-1456 Fax: (208) 898-0632 5415 W Chinden Blvd, Meridian, ID 83646

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company provides nursery, landscaping, lawn maintenance and tree care services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Jon C. Irby Landscaping, LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Jon C. Irby Landscaping, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 15, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1992 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Division of Building Safety
1090 E. Watertower Street, Suite 150, Meridian ID 83642
Phone Number: 800-955-3044
Fax Number: 877-810-2840

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jon Irby, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jon Irby, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Lawn Maintenance Tree Service Nurseries - Plants, Trees

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday: 8AM-5PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Cards, Checks
Refund and Exchange Policy
1 year warranty with installation.
Service Area
Treasure Valley, McCall, Payette and Fruitland area.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Jon C. Irby Landscaping, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    5415 W Chinden Blvd

    Meridian, ID 83646 (208) 887-1456


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Irby Landscaping delivered three trees to us in the first week of November 2015. We wanted to buy trees in the fall so we could see what colors they would be. After winter and within their six month warranty period, we realised that the smallest tree we'd bought, a blue spruce, was dying. It was spindly, stunted and ugly. The tree was not suitable and did not meet expectations. It was in such ill-health we had to remove it from our lawn and put it into a separate barrel. It still survives and they can have it back. We drove to Irby landscaping and spoke to an employee who flat out denied we even had a six month warranty. We pointed out that when Irby landscaping deliver and plant the trees themselves, it carries a six month warranty. He shrugged and then said "Call this number" and refused to say anything else or help us further. He simply stood there indicating we should leave. We both felt intimidated and drove back home. In short, we called several times and each time it went to voicemail. There was just no way to get in touch with the owner/manager or get resolution. We just wanted a refund on this one tree. We were within our warranty period ( we called the first week of April) The employees body language and demeanor indicated he was not interested in coming to a resolution. We feel that if they offer a six month warranty/guarantee, it should be honored. We felt tricked and angered that were were given the runaround and their only response was to give us a voicemail # which was never returned.

Desired Settlement: The business had a responsibility to honor any warranty they offer. We were within the time period. We are simply pursuing a refund of the cost of the tree and delivery.

9/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased 3 trees from this nursery, and all 3 trees are dead. Purchased 2 Karl fush cedars at $199.99 and a Lelandi Cypress at $279.99. We spent with tax $720.76. On March 13 , 2015 The delivery of our trees was set for Friday March 20 at 2pm. My husband took off work early and was supposed to rerun to work after delivery, but they never showed up. I called and called. Finally to get a response an hour later at 6pm saying they lost our paper work with no apology and would deliver the next am. Not seeing any problem with their non-arrival. Which was not very convenient for us to move our schedule around, again. When they arrived with our trees, the Cypress was the smaller Cypress and we paid about $80 more to get the bigger one, about 12 inches taller, I mentioned this and they told me this was the tree I purchased. I was not pleased. Our trees were all disconnected at the root ball with very loose soil in the bag. They all started to die right away, I nursed them to as much health as I could, and I lost the Cypress first. I then called a couple times a week for almost 4 weeks until I received a call back from ****, the nursery manager, he said nothing about how long it took to get a call back, and said he had problems with the Lelandi Cypress trees himself and he offered to replace the tree. It had died before May. They followed through with this after going to pick up the tree and searching for someone who works there for 40 min before finding someone to help. A few weeks later I lost both of my Cedars. Dead. Dead. Dead. All the trees and we purchased were dead and we wasted $720. That's a lot of money to us and a lot of money to other people. Almost 3 months of trying to contact them and only one time speaking to **** saying that he would have to talk to Jon, the owner, and would return my phone call the next business day before 5pm. Of course there was no phone call. I called and called. Voicemails and messages in the office with a gal who finally returned my phone call the next business day saying she spoke with Jon and he said they don't guarantee or have a warranty on their trees unless they plant them. The cost they charge to plant them was 50% of the cost of the trees. When they delivered the trees, they placed the trees in the holes we dug with the help of my husband. We mentioned at the time of the delivery that the root ***** were disconnected from the trunks of the trees. They also agreed with that and said if wet have anything wrong with them to contact them right away. In which we did. 4 and a half moths later they finally get back to us with very unprofessional business. I live in a developing subdivision and they are missing out on lot of business.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund. I do not want to exchange the trees for new ones because if they die again, I'm left tree-less. I will be more than happy to return all three dead trees.

Business Response:

In regards to a letter received by you referencing the above noted ID #, we are responding as follows: 

Trees were purchased March 13, 2015, with the customer being instructed that the purchase didn't include any warranty. If they wanted warranty, they needed to pay for us to install the trees. They chose not to pay for us to install the trees. They chose not to pay for the service. We have printed on the bottom of our sales tickets a disclaimer that reads "Due to the fact it's a live product we cannot guarantee our product after it leaves the nursery." A copy of the credit card receipt which the customer signed is attached to that sales receipt. 

We always change a delivery fee for any materials that we deliver for the customer. This purchase did not include a delivery fee. 

Out of courtesy to the customer, we carried the trees and set the threes in the holes that they dug. It is their responsibility to back-fill and water and care for the trees. 

7/17/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 6/16/2015, I purchased a tree for $249.99, $124.99 for delivery and installation, $25 for dead tree removal, $22.49 in tax for a total of $422.47. I was assured by the landscaping supervisor, ****, that I would have my tree delivered on Tuesday the 23rd. Nobody came or called. I called several times, only to get voicemail. I did reach the receptionist ******* once, who told me she look into it and she never called me back. After countless calls to the office I reached ******* again who gave me the phone number to their supervisor ****. I left several messages for ****, he didn't call me back for a day. He then assured me that delivery would be done today by 8am today, 6/25/2015. Again, no call, no show. I texted **** 2 hours after he was supposed to arrive, he texted back that he is out of state and call the office, he failed to mention the out of state business trip the day before. I called the Office and the receptionist ******* had no excuses and couldn't even find my receipt. After I told her I wanted my money back she strangely found my receipt. I told her I wanted I refund anyway. I have no confidence in their company or workmanship. She said she consulted the owner to authorize my refund. She took down my credit card information and promised a speedy refund. How ever with the terrible service and lies I've been told by this company I have no trust that I will receive a refund as promised. I made daycare arrangements and moved my work schedule around to accommodate this company and they outright disrespected me and lied to me over and over. I lost more in financial loss than just the price of the tree.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full and speedy refund of $ 422.47 However, I feel entitled to more for the losses I suffered at the hands of the companies negligence of costing me additional daycare cost of moving my work schedule twice, and they no call, no show, and claim to have no record of my purchase until I demand a refund and it magically appears.

Business Response:

In regards to your recent complaint made by you to the BBB, I would like to respond to your complaint. 

I have reviewed all of the information you disclosed and have talked to my employees to gain a better understanding of the events that took place during the time period that you stated.

Although you stated that the tree was to be delivered on June 23, 2015, there isn't a record of that schedule date on any of our paperwork when you phoned the office and spoke to ******, she relayed your message to **** who would have set a delivery date. We were also concerned about when we could install the tree because of the heat that week. 

When you called the office the second time, June 25, 2015, and spoke to ******, she thought you said your name as **** ******* and couldn't find your invoice and in that conversation she apologized for that mistake. she found your invoice and said that our crew was loaded and ready to deliver the tree. You said you were frustrated and wanted your money back. ****** said she would give you the refund that you requested. A copy of that credit card transaction was mailed to you that same day. 

When you were talking to **** at the time of your purchase about your schedule, you mentioned that you work a night shift and would be home during the daytime hours. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, we would like to know your view on the matter.]


**** ********

Your employees are not being honest. I did have an appointment for the 23rd. I stayed up all day waiting for your crew to show up and they never did. With my loss of sleep waiting  for your company to arrive I didn't make it to work that evening. Nobody called and nobody showed. I called multiple times on the 23rd. ****** picked up once and wrote down my number and promised to call me back and never did. Why would I say my name is Johnson??? Thats an outright lie. Besides, I gave,her my address to for reference, if your employees cannot spell simple common names perhaps she should ask the spelling of every customer in the future. She told me to talk to **** and gave me his cell. I got voice mail and it took him half a day to call me back. He told me that he could come out the 25th. First thing in the morning 8 am. I waited all day again and getting no sleep again for work waiting for your employees that never showed again. I waited til approximately noon to call ****. His voice mail stating he was in Portland on business. I called ****** again. She then changed her story to she thought my tree was already delivered with 3 other delivery scheduled for the 23rd. When I told ******  I wanted a refund she told me she had to get owner approval. Then she tried to sale me another delivery day. Why should I have trusted you for a 3rd time when your employees totally screwed  me the last two times? I do appreciate the refund. The service was absolutely terrible and wasted a significant amount of my time and out of pocket expenses. 

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Jon C. Irby Landscaping, LLC
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart