Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Aldape Sprinkler Landscape & More LLC

Phone: (208) 841-8901 3835 E. Sweet Pea Ct., Boise, ID 83716 http://www.aldapesprinklers.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Aldape Sprinkler Landscape & More provides installation, repair, and maintenance of sprinkler systems.

 


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aldape Sprinkler Landscape & More LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aldape Sprinkler Landscape & More LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on Aldape Sprinkler Landscape & More LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 5
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2008 Business started: 10/14/2008 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Contractors Registration Board
Idaho Bureau of Occupational License, Boise ID 83702
https://secure.ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/Home.aspx
Phone Number: (208) 334-3233

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Cindy Knight, Owner Mr. Michael McDonald, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cindy Knight, Owner
Principal: Mr. Michael McDonald, Owner
Business Category

LANDSCAPE CONTRACTORS LANDSCAPE DESIGNERS GARDEN & LAWN SPRINKLER SYSTEMS LANDSCAPE LIGHTING HARDSCAPES

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday: 8AM-5PM
Method(s) of Payment
Check, Cash, Credit Cards
Service Area
Boise

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Aldape Sprinkler Landscape & More LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3835 E. Sweet Pea Ct.

    Boise, ID 83716 (208) 841-8901

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They were terrible to work with!! I would never recommend this company to anyone!! He was supposed to fix a valve on my sprinkling system. He came out and tried to fix my old valve, after a few hours on the phone asking for help, he decided to replace the old valve. He also rewired the entire system, which didn't need to be done, and then didn't check to see if it was working. I called him when I got home because the new valve he installed was leaking. He told me to try tightening it by myself. I also told him three of the zones were not kicking on when I turned on my sprinkling system that previously worked before he came out. I called the office and she told me she would call me back, which she never did.Meanwhile my grass is dying since the sprinkling system did not work. I had to call another company to come fix his work. They had to completely rewire all the "new" wiring he just did, and fix the valve he installed. It was leaking because he installed the valve incorrectly and the "new" wiring he did wasn't correct. It didn't have a solid ground and had to be completely redone. I called the office back and told her all of this information. She again told me she would call me back. Which she never did.I then got a very large bill in which they only took off $58. He did not fix anything, in fact he made it worse and I had to pay another company to come fix what he had done. They will not deduct anymore due to his lack of knowledge and laziness. The part he installed was only a $20 part, and the rest of the original $300 is untrained labor.

Desired Settlement: I do not want to pay for bad labor. I will pay for the parts that were installed (the valve), but I had to pay another company to come fix it.

Business Response: Our Tech called the customer on the way over to her home per her request.  Customer told Tech that she had ordered the parts to fix her valve on-line and that they were at her home waiting for him.  Upon arrival our tech discovered that customer had ordered the wrong parts. Tech then called customer again to let her know this.  Customer was indignant with our Tech insisting that here parts were correct, and went on and on about the valve and her parts. Eventually Our Tech was able to convince this customer that her parts were incorrect, at which point she had him rebuild the old valve with our parts. Once the valve was rebuilt our Tech went through the system to test it. At this point he discovered that some of the stations in the front yard weren't coming on. He again called her and left a message letting her know what he discovered. Later this customer took it upon herself to call our Tech on his unlisted number, at which point she told him that the valve he worked on was weeping, and asked "what can I do to fix it myself, so I don't have to wait for you to come back out?"  At which point our Tech told her to twist the top of the valve by hand.  She said nothing about any other zones not working. 

 
1/. Our rate for service calls is $65 for the first hour and $58 for each hour thereafter billed in 15 minute increments + any materials used. That time runs the whole time we are working on your job. It doesn't matter whether we are physically working on your problem or whether we are discussing the wrong parts you purchased online to save money. The price is the same. As to his experience, our Tech has over 21 years of experience and is very well trained in sprinkler repair. When he diagnosis that pre-purchased valve parts are incorrect, they are. 
 
2/. Our Tech did not rewire your entire system. He simply wired in your valve that he repaired and an additional valve that was missing a connector. In-fact he even called you to tell you that some of the zones in front were not working. He could have fixed this, had you answered the phone when he called.
 
3/. You admit that when you discovered an issue, rather than calling our office, at the listed and advertised phone number,  you chose to call our Tech directly on a unlisted, unadvertised number.  You then asked him how you could fix your problem yourself, and explained how to you. Had you called the office we could have had someone come out to take care of the problem.  It is unknown if you tried to fix the problem yourself of not, You claim that you called another company to come out, and you admit that you didn't call our office about the problem prior to calling the other company.  Only about the bill.  Which we adjusted, deducting an hour of labor, taking the bill from $218.39 (NOT $300 as mis-stated in your complaint) down to $160.39 Furthermore, our office called you back 3 times, and you never answered the phone. The bill was the result of your job and you not wanting to listen to an experienced Sprinkler Technician when he clearly told you what was wrong with your internet parts. As such I don't think it should have been adjusted at all, let alone adjusted more. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

 

Their response is a lie. 


1.  Their tech did not call me and tell me my zones weren't working.  In fact, I told him to do what ever needed to be done to get my sprinkling system working since my grass was dying.  Why would I hire them to do a job and then not complete it?

He said he had a hard time replacing my valve and didn't want to charge me anymore money.  He said everything was working, and asked if I wanted him to program my sprinkling system at the timer.  I told him, "No if it's all the zones are working, I can program it myself."  He also said he wasn't going to rebury my box in order to save me money.  I was also fine with this.  What I wasn't fine with was him leaving my house without fixing my sprinkling system.  It didn't work!  He spent a long time on the phone trying to figure out how to fix it.  A professional would not charge me time for his inexperience.  I called a "professional" company to fix my issue in which he did not do. 


2.  I called the tech to tell him the valve was leaking.  I also called the office.  I never received a return phone call.  This is a flat out lie.  You told me you would check with the tech and get back to me.  In fact I had someone else call to speak with you regarding the "fixed" valve and you never returned that phone call either.  I did call your published phone number and had no resolution.


3.  I have before and after photos of the valve.  The entire box was rewired.  I also have a person from A-1 plumbing who I had to rehire to come out and fix what your tech did in order to get my sprinklers working.  He is willing to testify to the issues. 


******** ****** *****

 

 

Business Response: 1 - Our tech did call you.  Originally  was under the impression that he had to leave a message.  However, under further investigation, I have learned that he actually spoke to you. And yes he did tell you about the front zones.  You originally hires us to fix a valve, not your front zones.  When he spoke to you, you told him you would take care of that.  As to the time it took to fix the valve... Some valves are more of a pain than others to repair.  Regardless, the cost of repairing them is time and materials.  The only thing he did wrong was allow you to tie up his time on the phone.  That goes to the fact that he may be overly polite.  Trust me, he needs no help repairing a valve. 

 
2- You were called back.  By me personally.  I was interrupted while doing a job in the field by our office.  Long story short, they told me a customer called and had an issue with some work our tech had did. Subsequently I called you when I finished my work with the customer I was currently helping.  I tried twice and neither time did I get a person.  Note my phone that I use in the field comes up as blocked, restricted, etc.  On another occasion I was interrupted by our office while working in the field.  Again I called and,  the same thing.
 
3- Again, Our tech did not rewire your entire system, just the valves he worked on.
 
We already discounted your bill.  You didn't call our office until after you had someone else come out.  Had you called before to get the problem resolved, we would have taken care of it.  

6/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I just spoke with an incredibly RUDE woman on the phone named *****. I paid them for a sprinkler blow out last fall and im not even sure if they did it. I never recieved an invoice or a receipt. I just turned my sprinklers on and there are breaks everywhere all the way back to the main. ***** didn't even care that because of her negligence it is costing me thousands. She didn't even offer an apology. I will never do business with them again and incourage everyone else to do the same.

Desired Settlement: A good faith effort to at least replace what they negligently did not do that caused failure in my system.

Business Response: After a straight week of freezing and below freezing temperatures, and while snow was falling, *** ********* realized that he had better join the party and get his sprinkler system blown out. That’s right; on November 18th he finally decided to call for a sprinkler blowout. Our scheduler informed him that the next available day we had open for a winterization in his area, was November 26th (we schedule on a first come, first serve basis. Based on where you are located). After some time trying to push his way to the front of the line, in front of the customers who scheduled before him, he accepted his scheduled service date, and went on with his life’s priorities. Notwithstanding the temperature being 17 ° (well below freezing), on November 26th, our tech performed the blowout as contracted. When performing the service our tech noted that the backflow and drain valve had both cracked due to the current and previous freezing temperatures. Our tech had to spend extra time thawing out the valves and backflow, so he could save the rest of *** *********’s Sprinkler System. The visible existing damage was noted on the schedule and on December 4th a Paid Invoice/Receipt with the damage noted was mailed to *** *********. April 28, 2014 – *** ********* calls our office in a tirade, because his Backflow is broken and his pipes are leaking and demands that we reimburse him. Notwithstanding his condescending attitude and snide comments. Cindy, the woman who answers our phone, took the time to research our blowout schedule, phone log and quick books and found that, as stated above, *** ********* called in on November 18th and scheduled his blowout for November 26th. When she explained this to him, he had more snide comments to make, going on and on about having to wait a week to get the blowout done. She then reiterated that he was scheduled for the next available day, which he was ok with at the time he made the appointment, and that he should have called sooner. At which time he hung up on her and went on to bash us on the internet. The moral to this story is as follows: 1st, don’t wait until the last minute to call to schedule your appointment for a sprinkler blowout. It makes absolutely no sense to put this off once you stop watering; 2nd, if for some reason you do wait until late November, don’t expect next day service, your not the only one who has hasn’t had this done yet. The slots for this service fill up quickly, and the waiting line grows as a result. We do our best to accommodate people however; there are only so many hours in a day. And finally 3rd, if you are late, in getting this service done, bear in mind: It is your responsibility to take the steps necessary to make sure you get your sprinklers winterized before it freezes. Don’t blame the sprinkler blowout company for your failure to schedule before it freezes. 

5/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Aldape Sprinklers to blow out our sprinkler system in the Fall 2012. Aldape Sprinklers found a leak in our turn off valve at that time. However, they did not tell us that we had a leak in our system. This spring we discovered a split pipe below our backflow valve that was caused by the slow leak in the turn off valve. The leaking turn off valve allowed water to get into our system and then froze and split the backflow device. When we alerted Aldape about the problem they admitted to us that they had failed to tell us about the leak. Not only did they refuse to take any responsibility for the damage, the refused to even come out and look at the problem. Aldape did not take responsibility for failing to properly blow out our sprinkler system. Because of their negligence we had to spend an additional $230 to get the backflow valve replaced.

Desired Settlement: We are seeking a refund for the cost of replacing the backflow device in the amount of $233.57.

Business Response:

**** ***** goes on and on and on in her complaint. The crux of it is as follows:

"We hired Aldape Sprinklers to blow out our sprinkler system in the Fall of 2012. Aldape Sprinklers found a leak in our turn off calve at that time. However they did not tell us we had a leak in our system.  This spring we discovered a split pipe below our backflow valve that was caused by a slow leak in the turn off valve.  The leaking turn off valve allowed water to get into our system and then froze [sic] and split the backflow device. When we alerted Aldape to the problem they admitted to us that they had failed to tell us about the leak."
 
** ******* claim that they hired us to blow out your sprinklers in the Fall of 2012 is correct. To be exact they had us blow out their system out on November 16th. The date is relevant as there were several consecutive days of freezing temperatures starting around October 25th. In-fact, during the week leading up to the blowing out of their system the temperature was consecutively in the teens and twenties. This explains why we noticed that their above ground backflow device (not their turn off valve) was leaking, when we arrived to do their blowout.
 
** ******* claim that we admitted that, “we had seen a leak in the turn off valve” is Not True! I informed the Vondes that we noticed that their backflow device was leaking (not their turn off valve). This was resolved when we shut down their system using their turn-off valve, (the main sprinkler valve in the ground). No more water to the system = no more leak.
 
Bottom line ** ******* backflow device was damaged prior to us blowing out their system. Most likely as a result of the below freezing temperatures that took place between October 25th and their scheduled blowout in the middle of November.  As such we will not be taking any responsibility for, or paying for the repairs of their pre-existing damage.