Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.


Phone: (208) 624-0374 Fax: (208) 642-0373 View Additional Phone Numbers 343 E. 4th N., Ste. 209, Rexburg, ID 83440

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company provides hotel/lodging system services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for OpenBook include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on OpenBook
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 29, 2013 Business started: 05/01/2003 in ID Business incorporated 03/07/2008 in ID
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Kristy Overson, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kristy Overson, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Zachary Paul, President
Business Category


Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday: 8AM-5PM
Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Credit Cards, Checks
Service Area
Alternate Business Names
Yellowstone Hotel Systems, Inc.

Additional Locations


    343 E. 4th N., Ste. 209

    Rexburg, ID 83440 (866) 342-6099 (208) 624-0374

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** ******, OpenBook Reservation Service, stole 2 domain names from us. OpenBook deceived us and was not suppossed to remove the domain names from our account. We lost 4 years worth of domain registration and 4 years of hosting expense AND also lost ownership of our 2 domain names.*********************************************** tried to get OpenBook to transfer OUR domain names back into OUR account but they refused.I tried to get OpenBook to transfer OUR domain names back into OUR account and they refuse.Not only are they a dishonest company, but they did not get any new business like they claimed.

Desired Settlement: It seems like a very simple thing to do....... but OpenBook has fought with us for over 6 months about this matter.Give our domain names (2) BACK to us and STOP doing business with us!Transfer ********************* AND ******************* to ******* Account #********It seems OpenBook ****** ****** wants us to file a lawsuit to get our domains back which we will do if we have to!!!!Warning to other motels / hotels wanting on line reservations: DON'T use OpenBook, Rexburg, Idaho

Consumer Response: Yes, Thank You for responding so quickly,....

The company OpenBook, was hired by ***** ******** and ******** *** to provide on-line reservations.

They were told that *** ***** is the IT manager for both motels and they would need to go through him
to make arrangements for the on-line reservation programs.

I was sent an email from them demanding that I turn over ownership to them in order for them to manage the
on line reservations program.

I told them that they did not need to take ownership away from us in a return email, and refused to comply.

Openbook than went directly to the owner, *** *****, and tricked him into giving permission to transfer all
ownership rights to OpenBook. (*** clearly states he was not aware they were taking ownership away from him)

When I told *** ***** what had happened, he was disappointed and told me to get ownership of those
sites back ASAP, which I've been doing ever since.

That was last July and OpenBook has flat refused to cooperate and instead tried to lure *** ***** into
"upgrading" and "extending" his contract with them (which has expired),......

OpenBook was notified by email in July that *** ***** demands his domain name ownership be restored
and we are still waiting.

******* attempted to help resolve the dispute but OpenBook refused to cooperate.
Both *** ***** and OpenBook use ******* for our Internet Service Provider.

It is a very simple thing to transfer the domain names back to us according to *******.

Again today, OpenBook was sent an email stating that their services are to be stopped and the domain names returned
yet they refuse.

I have contacted 3 other on-line reservation companies and EACH of them said it is a very low handed trick
to take ownership of a clients domain name(s) AND is totally 100% unnecessary to set up on-line reservations.


*** had paid for the domain names through 2019 along with the associated hosting plans through 2015.

*** states that he would have NEVER knowingly authorized the OpenBook people to take the domain name ownership and
lose his investment (which he has lost)......

If *** wasn't from India and understood better English language, OpenBook would have NOT been able to take advantage of him.....

Now there is no excuse to delay any longer.


*** *****

Business Response: To Whom it May Concern,

Due to the nature of company policy, we are unable to supply account information or services to unauthorized account holders, namely *** *****.  Any alleged claims against OpenBook by an unauthorized account holder are unrecognized as it is our policy to only provide services for OpenBook customers. We have made contact with the account holder and the appropriate actions have been taken. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that while my complaint is resolved, the words used by Mr. ****** are totally inaccurate.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have been the IT Manager for *** ***** since 2008 AND I am the Account Manager for *** *****'s ******* Account. I am also the person who built the websites, registered the domain names and originally established the services in 2009, before Mr. ****** stole the domain names from *** ***** without any reason to do so other then to trick, deceive and make it difficult for Mr. ***** to stop Mr. ****** and OpenBook from parting ways. Mr. ****** not only stole the domain names, but he unnecessarily transfered the email accounts into his control as well without any reason to do so other then to keep the "big fish" on "the hook"!

I have contacted 3 other major Hotel / Motel On-line Reservation Services and NONE of them uses the deceptive practices of Mr. ****** and OpenBook. ALL 3 claimed that is totally 100% unnecessary to remove ownership of the domain names and that OpenBook only does that to make it difficult for their clients to leave them.

My name (*** *****) was listed on all documents that Mr. ****** received from the very first day he took our domain names without proper authorization (he conned / tricked the owner, who is from India).

*** ***** instructed me to get back his domain names AND get rid of the corrupt business OpenBook since July 1, 2015*, and Mr. ****** waited until January 5, 205????  *see attached email

Only AFTER we filed a claim with BBB did Mr. ****** start to pay attention, and even then he tried one more time (unsuccessfully) to get *** ***** to continue with OpenBook's corrupt services, but *** was onto this con man and refused, telling Mr. ****** he will need to work with *** ***** (me) on all future matters, ..... which obviously didn't set well with Mr. ****** because of his refusal to cooperate in the transfer of the domain names.

I did EVERYTHING Mr. ****** requested, including having *** ***** directly communicate with him and pay the ridiculous amount of $100 to do a 5 minute transfer!

Mr. ****** took 6 months to do a 5 minute job, after he was told numerous times to return the domain names that he tricked Mr. ***** out of taking!

Mr. ****** and / or OpenBook uses predatory tactics in getting and maintaining clients.

These statements are proved by the attached file Customer Support Services which was not provided to my client until December 23, 2014, almost
6 full months after our original request to do so,......?

Mr. ****** and OpenBook provided a substandard service which did not come close to their marketing claims,
and now after intentionally delaying the return of our domain names by over 6 months, Mr. ***** and his
colleagues will never do business with OpenBook again and will tell EVERYONE they know of this situation.

We encourage any and all Businesses to NOT do business with OpenBook because of the aforementioned statements
and also encourage the BBB to warn such businesses about what has happened to us in this matter!


*** *****    ***** ********     *****************
representing *** *****
***** ******** / ******** *** / ******* *** ***** ***** ****** / **** ****** ***** / ********* **** **** * *** ** / ***** * **** /
******* **** **** / ***** ****** ***** / Many Other Properties owned by other family members.