BBB Accredited Business since

Wolverton Homes

Additional Locations

Phone: (208) 736-9294 Fax: (208) 737-9780 752 Addison Ave., Twin Falls, ID 83301 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.wolvertonhomes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wolverton Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wolverton Homes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wolverton Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 09, 2004 Business started: 05/01/1994 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Contractors Registration Board
Idaho Bureau of Occupational License, Boise ID 83702
https://secure.ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/Home.aspx
Phone Number: (208) 334-3233

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Gary Wolverton Jr., President Mr. Jackie Metzer, Office Manager Ms. Kay Wolverton, Secretary
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jackie Metzer, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. Gary Wolverton Jr., President
Business Category

Home Builders Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
Wolverton Development & Construction, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 752 Addison Ave.

    Twin Falls, ID 83301 (208) 736-9294

  • PO Box 5179

    Twin Falls, ID 83303

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/14/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I met with **** ****** to discuss buying my first home. When we were touring through multiple homes, along with my girlfriend, we were told multiple untruth statements that were not found out until we began the process of choosing "upgrades" with ****** and after signing the contract. *** ****** told us we could buy blinds for $40 each, which was untrue. He gave us a quote for the sod and sprinkler system in the backyard, which was untrue. He told us we could get the counters to feel and look like granite, by putting a sealant on it, for no extra cost. We brought all of this up at the time we were making our Amenities List but were told we did not need to include them, because they were all standard and not "upgrades". Now we are being charged for these things. Not only was that not true, but when ******, our project manager, asked him about it - he had no idea what we were talking about. He was the one who told us. But more than any of that, he knew I was using a VA Home Loan through USAA in order to mortgage my home. He told me that Wolverton has done numerous VA Home Loans and he understands how they work. I now find out from my realtor that I would have never been given a VA Home Loan through USAA, because I would have moved into the home in February - without any grass in the yard - and I would have never been granted the loan. He said the grass would not have gone into the yard until June or July, 4 to 5 months after moving in. I am a 100% disabled veteran, which **** knew from Day 1 and he took full advantage of me. He put me in a situation, which I could not have gotten myself out of.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund of my $2000 I put down in earnest money. I put $2000 down on a home that when completed, I would have never been able to get a loan for. I gave Mr. Walker a copy of my Pre-Qualification for a loan. It clearly states on there that it was for a VA Home Loan from USAA.

Business Response: I think *** ******* filed his complaint rather quickly based on high emotions because myself and **** didn’t know it was that bad until we received his certified letter one day and the BBB complaint a day or two later, so we hadn’t even have time to address his concerns or make it right. However, *** ****** just left our office. His concerns were addressed and we’ve agreed to refund his Earnest Money of $2000. See the attached cancellation agreement. We will still give *** ******* the first option to purchase the home after it is completed, as the home has been customized for him. We feel he will still end up purchasing the home, however with this cancelation agreement he has no responsibility to purchase it.
 
When people decide to build homes, The buyer and the salesman’s go over hundreds of items and talk about hundreds of options. However, when it comes time to write the contract and get a final price, **** will then go over the specifics of what he has included in their contract and what they could afford. Then they review the contract and sign it.  Ultimately it is up to the buyer to make sure everything they wanted is in the contract before they sign it because the paragraph pictured below is in every contract including *** *******.   We don’t include this paragraph in the contract so that we can mislead, lie or over promise and under deliver during the building process, we do it because we build 100 homes a year and **** can’t possibly remember every little thing that was discussed during each appointment, as he is human.
 

 
I hate to rehash *** ******* complaints as he seemed satisfied when he left today, but I understand I have too.
               
Upgrades: When ******** decided to proceed with the build and write up a contract, he’d told **** he wanted to duplicate a house he had toured.  **** thought he had all of the items from that house included but without his knowledge, as he isn’t the designer, there were upgrades in that house that **** didn’t know to include in ********’s contract.  When Nicolas brought this to our attention we rectified it and included the items that were addressed as a courtesy at no additional cost to make the home buyer happy. The items he received were: upgraded laminate flooring, pendant lighting over the kitchen island, exterior shutters and an upgraded front door.  
Blinds:  Blinds were not included in his contract and they were not installed on the house he toured.  We don’t know if **** did miss-quote and tell him $40 a window or if he said $40-60 a window depending on size but the buyer only remembers $40 Either way, blinds are not included in his contract he can purchase them from elsewhere after he closes on the house.  With that said because we do such a large volume with our suppliers we are able to pass on excellent pricing onto our homeowners.
Back Landscaping:   ******** insisted that **** quoted him $1500 for back sod and sprinkler.  We think this might have been a misunderstanding as **** knows what it cost and wouldn’t have said that, he isn’t that type of salesman.  We pay $1600 for a front yard package and $1600-$1800 for back sprinklers only. But for back sprinklers and sod on average we pay $3000-$4000 depending on the size of the back and side yards and all back and side landscaping is always sent out for quotes, due to they vary in size. To show ******** we weren’t trying to take advantage of him, we asked three 3rd party independent landscapers to go out and quote it for us so he could see 3 different opinions.  Ultimately, back landscaping was not included, he does not have to have it and can purchase it elsewhere after closing.
Laminate countertop sealant: We have no idea where this idea would come from. Nowadays Laminate countertops depending on the style chosen can look very similar to granite. However, as far as I am aware there is no such thing as a sealant you could put over the laminate material. During the selections appointment, our designer, Linsey did show him all of our laminate countertop samples. They do come in a wide variety of patterns and sheens from High Def or Glossy to flat.   If the buyer wants Granite, it would have increased his purchase price and it would have been included in his contract.
VA and USAA loans:  We do in fact do several VA and USAA loans every year.  *** ******* was misinformed by his real estate agent when he was told he couldn’t close on that type of loan without grass.  Every lender has different requirements with regards to contracts and landscaping during the winter months when landscaping cannot be installed.   Most lenders will do what is called an Escrow holdback, where they hold back the value of the missing landscaping until the work is completed in the spring. Other lenders like USAA require that everything included in the contract is installed on the home before closing. So our options with *** ******* would have been 1. Remove all the landscaping from his contract and reduce the price of his home or 2. Remove the landscaping from his contract, keeping the price the same and doing a separate contract stating that we will install landscaping on his home in the spring. My point is there are options, he just didn’t give us a chance to talk about them before filing his complaint.  We would have never force *** ******* into a loan or home he couldn’t afford.
 
Ultimately, everything above has been resolved. *** ******* is getting his earnest money as he’s requested in his complaint.  We will finish the home with the chosen finishes that *** ******* selected. At that time we will give him the opportunity to enter back into a contract and purchase the finished home or not.   We strive to provide a well built home with happy homeowners. However, building a house can be stressful for people and emotions can run high at times. However, we will always include something in a home if it is on the contract, even if we had to knock it down or start over on a new lot we always try to make it right.  These are real homes, being manufactured by humans, out of wood products, things are bound to happen.
 
*** ** **** ** * **** ** ** ******** *****   ******   ****** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Wolverton Homes
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)