Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

TKO Custom Homes

Phone: (208) 733-2088 Fax: (208) 733-2133 1166 Eastland Drive N, Ste. B, Twin Falls, ID 83301 http://www.tkohomes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that TKO Custom Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for TKO Custom Homes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on TKO Custom Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 16, 2004 Business started: 06/01/2001 in ID Business started locally: 06/01/2001 Business incorporated 06/01/2001 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Contractors Registration Board
Idaho Bureau of Occupational License, Boise ID 83702
https://secure.ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/Home.aspx
Phone Number: (208) 334-3233

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Todd Ostrom, Owner Mr. Jared Hunt, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jared Hunt, General Manager
Principal: Mr. Todd Ostrom, Owner
Business Category

HOME BUILDERS BUILDING CONTRACTORS CONTRACTORS-GENERAL

Hours of Operation
M: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
S: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Su: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM
H: Closed

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

TKO Custom Homes has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1166 Eastland Drive N, Ste. B

    Twin Falls, ID 83301

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information
X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have contacted TKO custom homes several times about one of there subs. ******* * *********** about a few flooring issues that have not been taken care of, via email and phone. 2/18/2015,2/25,3/23,4/2 and 4/21.

Desired Settlement: I want these issues resolved and my warranty to be honored.

Business Response:

 

TKO Custom Homes has made attempts to address the flooring concerns listed in complaint number ******** and the subcontractor ******* * *********** and are happy to revisit the issue again.  On the date of the complaint was received by the BBB (5/6/2015), TKO Custom Homes emailed the homeowner, to which there was no reply.  A detailed voice message was left for the homeowner on 5/12/15 requesting specific details of the said flooring issues.  (The homeowner had sent photos via email previously, but one photo required further explanation).  The phone call was followed up with an email asking the same questions, also on 5/12/15. 

 

Thank you,

Consumer Response: At this point I am rejecting TKO response for the following reasons; TKO Custom Homes has not made attempts to address the flooring concerns listed in ********* ****** *******7.

1/28 ****** **** ******* * came out to replace piece in Living room (which did not fix problem) He said he was  going to get a piece from another sub ****) to fix hole in kitchen.

 2/18 emailed **** *** in regards to issues (Which was forwarded to ****** which I was CC, No Response)

 2/25 emailed **** TKO again.  (Again Forwarded No Response)

 3/23 called ** TKO about same issues ( No Response)

 3/25 ****** ******* *, left mesg. ( No Response )

 4/2 Called ** again. (No Response)

4/21 called ** again He asked me to forward email to TKO that I sent to ****** ******* * on 4/15 (No Response)

5/6 Filed complaint with BBB against TKO Custom Homes and ******* *.

5/6 received this Email from TKO: As you can see below, I had also forwarded this message onto ******.  I have recently been notified by the BBB of your formal complaint.  I do apologize that the issue has gone on this long and has come to that.  I have contacted ****** once again today (via text, as he did not answer), and asked him to contact you and make sure this is taken care of!  **** has since moved on to another place of employment, but I will keep bugging ****** until he makes you happy!  Please let me know if he contacts you to set
an appointment.   (NO RESPONSE)

5/13 Received email & phone call from ******* with TKO
wanting details on flooring issues.

5/14 Responded via phone Talked with *******(TKO) explained issues yet again. She Supposable was lining something/someone out to get issues fixed.  (No phone call or email setting up appointment to get issues rectified)

5/18 Received TKO response which I feel is less than mediocre.

5/20 Rejecting TKO Response They have yet to make any effort in rectifying these issues, I have been trying to get this fixed since 1/28/2015 ******* is the 3rd employee at TKO that I have had to explain and deal with to get my Warranty work handled.  I have a one year warranty on labor and here we are 7 months later trying to get the same simple things resolved.  Until they make something tangible happen I have a hard time taking their word. I have completely lost faith, in my dream home!

Business Response: *** ****** ** ******** ******** ****  ********* *******
I have arranged a flooring contractor to address the 3 laminate flooring issues indicated in the BBB report  and our phone correspondence.
The installer can address these on issues on Thursday, May 20th.  I have provided him with your address.  I will speak with him on Tuesday, May 26th to confirm.

Additionally, I have contacted **** ******* ** ************ ******** to address vinyl flooring issues (in the laundry & hall bath), as well as the formica countertop issue in the kitchen - per our discussion.
I have provided *** ******* with your phone number, property address, etc. and asked him to contact you directly to set a time and day.


Thank you,

*******

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my house built in June of 2013 buy December 2013 TKO Custom Homes the builder of my home had been out twice for repairs on a couple of walls that hade cracked, they claim " settling " was the cause. They have been out 4 other times since then to repair the walls and they keep cracking. I am tired of the poor work they have done and I would like my new home to look new not 80 to 100 years old with all the cracks. I would like the issue to be corrected buy someone other than TKO or the contrcters they use to insure it is done correctly without costing me anything due to my extended warranty .

Desired Settlement: I had my house built in June of 2013 buy December 2013 TKO Custom Homes the builder of my home had been out twice for repairs on a couple of walls that hade cracked, they claim " settling " was the cause. They have been out 4 other times since then to repair the walls and they keep cracking. I am tired of the poor work they have done and I would like my new home to look new not 80 to 100 years old with all the cracks. I would like the issue to be corrected buy someone other than TKO or the contrcters they use to insure it is done correctly without costing me anything due to my extended warranty .

Business Response: We responded to some sheetrock cracking that occurred during the winter months of 2013/2014 and repairs were made at that time.  We agreed to extend our standard 1 year warranty through April 2015 so we could evaluate any cracking that occurred during the winter months of 2014/2015. 

This customer contacted my foreman over this past weekend and made him aware of the sheetrock cracking again.  We responded timely and the customer indicated that he was working this week and we needed to contact his wife to schedule a time to come and evaluate the issue.  This communication was all handled prior to receiving the complaint from the BBB.  We handle our warranty internally and are confident we can address the sheetrock cracking effectively.  If the customer would prefer to hire another contractor to solve the issue, this would be their responsibility.  

11/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Besides the price of building my home going up due to no fault of my own, we have had 4 irragation pipes break in 5 months. I spoke with the landscaper that did the instalation and he told me that he informed the builder that because of all the river rock in the ground, if they didnt mix in top soil, I would have continuous problems which we have had. I have left 6 messages with the builder * **** ****** * and he has refused to return my call and in fact, his secratary informed me that, and I quote "did not do myself any favors with **** because after leaving many messages, I called one of TKO's other offices to try and get ahold of **** " and he did not like this. I have been trying to get ahold of **** to discuss him giving me an extended warranty on the sprinkler system through next summer. As mentioned, **** will not return my calls.

Desired Settlement: Extended warranty on the sprinkler system.

Business Response:

I will respond to the issues *** ****** has mentioned to the best of my ability. I was not involved in the day to day correspondence but I worked with **** in his dealing with **** and believe I understand the situation. **** was not involved in this transaction until after it closed so I will work with **** to bring about the best resolution possible.

When the deal was put together, there were certain ammenities agreed to. The customer requested upgrades that included changes to flooring, plumbing, electrical, appliances, custom blinds etc that increased the purchase price of the home. There was also a $3,500 landscaping allowance specifiacally reflected in the contract. When the home neared completion, **** (customer) and **** (foreman) discussed landscaping and determined that the allowance would not be sufficient and an $8,000 bid was obtained from ********* ****** * ***********. This was reviewed between **** and **** and the decision was made to accept the bid and go with ********* ****** * ***********. This also contributed to the increase in purchase price as **** is aware.

I spoke to **** about the landscaper and there was never a discussion that was had regarding mixing top soil due to the river rock.  If this option would have been selected, I'm sure the landscaping bid would have increased which would have increased the landscaping overage.  We did our best to help **** find a landscaper that would do a good job within ****'s budget requirements.  We have stayed involved in getting the landscaper back to ****'s home to address the issues **** is having.  **** called the landscaper again today to help **** resolve the issue.  We will do our best to work with the landscaper to stand behind the work he did.  We can inquire if the landscaper is willing to extend his warranty on the landscaping until next summer.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID*******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

In regards to the response from TKO on this complaint I will first say that they are correct that **** was not involved in the day to day of building my home. He was however involved before the closing as where He, **** and myself had a meeting because things were dragging very slow towards the end and apparently those things were out of ****** control. I specifically asked **** if I should continue dealing with **** or if I was to deal with himself, he stated absolutely to deal with himself, which I have. I have not spoke to **** concerning my home since back in January of 2012.

I do not know who wrote the reply to my complaint, but it certainly is not someone that really knew how things went during the planning and execution of building my home. I am not complaining about the price of my home, I realize that any changes that I made need to be adjusted for, however as far as the landscaping goes, TKO had a copy of the requirements by the sub division as to what the minimum expectations were. TKO knew that I was to have the minimum requirements to start ( as far as shrubs’ and trees ) and that the rest of the property was to be all lawn ( we had discussions about either hydro seed or sod ) TKO also knew that I wanted sprinklers and drip throughout the property. THEY KNEW ALL THIS BEFORE THEY BID THE HOME. When the bid came in at $3500, I assumed this was for the minimum that we had discussed. As it turned out, $3500 did not even cover the cost of the irrigation. **** called me one day while I was out of town and informed me that to do what was required, it would be $8000. I was absolutely shocked, but because **** was a friend, I didn’t make a big deal about it and said to go forward. ( in my opinion only, there was never any homework done by TKO before they did the bid as to what the minimum that we discussed would cost. ) Again, in my opinion only.....and actually another landscape company that I have had over to look at things......the landscaper used very cheap materials to install my irrigation. As far as the top soil goes....... I have testimony from **** the owner of the landscape company stating that when he was prepping the yard for the irrigation and lawn... he told TKO, that it needed top soil mixed in, otherwise we would have continuing problems with pipes and fittings breaking ( which we have ) The other issue he said he told TKO was that without top soil, we would not have good growth with the lawn. I have had 6 treatments with ******* **** ******* who guarantees a green lawn. Our lawn has been yellow all summer and according to ****, it’s because there is no top soil. I believe that when **** told TKO about needing to bring in top soil, TKO did not want to come to me with another additional cost as they had already blown the landscape bid, and they also did not to spend the money out of their pocket to bring it in, so they told **** not to bring in top soil.......and this is what I was told by ****. With all this said, the bottom line is: we have had 4 breaks already and the sprinklers were not even hooked up until late April and were shut off in mid October. There is cause for concern that we will again have issues next year. One reason that I purchased a new home is to not have these continuing problems that an older home has. It is interesting to me that I have left a minimum of 6 messages for **** ( who again told me to deal with him ) and he has not returned a call.......this is what has forced me to make my complaint. What I am asking for is: an extended warranty on the irrigation through the end of next summer....let’s say October 15th, 2013 I do not want the warranty from the landscaper, he did not build my home. I would like the warranty from TKO and I would like it in writing. If I do get this, I will drop my complaint.

 

Regards,

 

******* ******

 

 

Business Response:

TKO will honor the customers request for an extended warranty on the underground portion of his sprinkler system until 10/15/13.  This should give the customer peace of mind as it relates to the pipes and fittings that he has had prior problems with.  This extended warranty is subject to the following requirements:

1)  Customer properly winterizes sprinkler system this fall/winter and takes whatever steps are necessary in the spring to get system running properly to prevent problems unrelated to original installation

2)  The sprinkler system was not installed to accomodate the weight of vehicles or heavy equipment.  The customer agrees that the use of such equipment on the landscaped area would void extended warranty.