Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Fall Creek Homes

Phone: (208) 522-4505 282 N. Pointe Dr., Idaho Falls, ID 83401 http://fallcreekhomes.net/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides residential home building services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fall Creek Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Fall Creek Homes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fall Creek Homes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 22, 2011 Business started: 05/22/2009 in ID Business started locally: 05/22/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Contractors Registration Board
Idaho Bureau of Occupational License, Boise ID 83702
https://secure.ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/Home.aspx
Phone Number: (208) 334-3233

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Bryson Higley, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bryson Higley, Owner
Business Category

Home Builders Building Contractors Contractors - General

Hours of Operation
10am-6pm - Monday-Saturday
Service Area
Southeast Idaho

Additional Locations

  • 282 N. Pointe Dr.

    Idaho Falls, ID 83401 (208) 522-4505

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a "custom" home from Bryson H***** in 2009. The home comes with a one year warranty and in 2010 I opened a warranty claim on a leak in one of the showers. It had caused damage to a baseboard and so the baseboard was replaced, painted and some caulking was adjusted. After a few weeks, though, it turned out that the leak wasn't fixed. Nick W***** (who originally laid the tile) came and fixed the issue under the original claim, but his work stretched out for months and through 2011. He removed some of the tile around the dam and adjusted the shower pan there. He expressed gratitude for my patience. Some time after that I noticed there was still a leak. I was never able to get it fixed. By 2014, when I talked to Aseneth K***** in the office, she had me contact Andre (who was then doing the tile installation as Nick had left). I had every other Friday off, so once a month Andre and I arranged to meet on Friday, and he never came. This went on for several months. Eventually I got tired of that and stopped calling. In 2015, I started feeling like Fall Creek Homes wasn't able to do the work and I started asking around for reputable contractors. I never did have anyone come out though. In 2016 I called the office again and spoke to Michael H******. He said the warranty would have been up in 2010 and claimed to have no information on the matter. Later, he called me back and instead of saying 'I'm sorry it's taking so long to get fixed' suggested the claim was closed. The behavior of Fall Creek Homes is that they just want the matter to disappear. I have to doubt the matter was even disclosed Bryson. I can't imagine he would tell his employees to not finish the job. When I was purchasing the house he told me it was the employees' wives that cleaned the buildings, it was his wife's turn, and she wasn't in the mood to clean. No problem, my family cleaned instead (which took all-day). I think if he was aware of it, he would take action.

Desired Settlement: The job should be completed in a timely manner.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ****,
Thank you so much for contacting Fall Creek Homes in regards to complaint #********. The
entire Fall Creek Homes team and I consider it a great honor to serve our clients and
homebuyers. We very much appreciate the roll that the BBB plays in helping in that great
honor.
Please allow me to address the issue at hand with Mr. *****. The home Mr. ***** purchased is
located at **** ****** ****** ***** ** ***** *****. The date Mr. ***** closed on the home was
November 30, 2009. As Mr. ***** stated, Fall Creek Homes includes a one-year warranty that
is agreed to via signature by both Fall Creek Homes and the buyer. This is the industry
standard for Idaho and generally required by law. Fall Creek Homes fulfilled that which was
agreed to and addressed all warranty requests within that time frame.
Warranty repairs, while never desirable, are a crucial part of building homes. Homes are one of
the few remaining items that are built completely by hand. With the human and the material
factor combined there are bound to be items we will gladly address as part of the warranty that
is agreed to. However, warranty repairs do not extend warranty coverage. Mr. ***** must be
aware that noticing "some time after," which in this case is years, the initial repair does not
obligate us to further service or work. Of course Fall Creek Homes may supersede our warranty
and perform work outside of warranty time periods, but again this does not obligate us to
perform further work.
By the time Mr. ***** contacted our office worker Aseneth in 2014 he had already been out of
warranty for four years. As Mr. ***** stated, Aseneth "had [Mr. *****] contact Andre" who was
then and still is our tile contractor. Warranty matters are handled in house. Aseneth, I'm sure,
was just giving Mr. ***** contact information for someone he could call as a homeowner and
contract with on his own. Fall Creek Homes did not make a warranty work order at this point.
Contact with Mr. ***** again ceased, with no contact at all from Mr. ***** in 2015, until May of
2016. In May of 2016 Mr. ***** called and spoke with our office manager Mike H******.
Knowing our standard practice, Mr. H****** did say "the warranty would have been up in
2010," and while Mr. H****** had no direct knowledge of Mr. *****, his house purchase, or his
warranty history of more than six years ago he did seek further information from office staff.
After his investigation Mr. H****** did return Mr. *****'s call and informed him that Fall
Creek Homes would not be addressing anything further in his home, the warranty period has
lapsed, service was completed, and any item Mr. ***** would like addressed he should do so as
a homeowner.
Mr. ****, I would have the BBB and all consumers know that we are happy to address our
contractual obligations. Fall Creek Homes is under no obligation to service a home built and
closed on in 2009.
Best regards,
Bryson *. H*****
Fall Creek Homes
President

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I cannot consider this matter closed, but I can add some more information. Julianne contacted me on June 14, 2016 and indicated that they wanted Mike W****** and Andre to and perform an inspection. Those two did come today (6/17/2016) and took pictures. They spent about 20-25 minutes here. Mike recognized that the leak was not a good thing. Andre pointed out there is no hard water around the drain and the grout there was intact. They discussed a new drain pan system that they were starting to use.


Mr. H***** states in his letter dated June 16 that the issue was noted years after the the repair or home construction. Neither would be correct. The issue was noted in the first year. The repairs stretched out for months and well past 12 months from the house purchase, and the continued issue with the leak was noted shortly (weeks) after the last repair, not years as he stated. In this case a shower should be able to be used without it leaking water and it is still covered by implied warranties unless the product is marked "as is," or the seller otherwise indicates in writing that no warranty is given. I probably didn't press Nick as hard as I could have at the time between repairs, but Nick told me he was very busy with other projects.

It is not clear as to whether Mr. H***** was uninformed as to when the issues with the last repair were reported or he simply based his information on my last letter, but there is something fishy here: Mr. H***** produced and dated his letter yesterday, but still wanted his employees/subcontractors to enter my home and photograph the shower today. It sounds like he wishes to say their sluggishness at performing repairs would be enough to remove their obligation to perform repairs.

I should point out that this shower has not been used for the last 4 years due to the obvious consequences.

Sincerely,

******* *****

Business Response: Dear Mr. ****,
I wish to write again in response to Mr. *****'s complaint number ********. Thank you for
facilitating such a response.
Mr. ***** is correct that when we learned of his formal complaint we did ask for and were
granted permission to inspect his home and his master bathroom's shower. Mike W*****, Fall
Creek Homes' Warranty Foreman, and Andre, our current tile contractor, visited Mr. *****'s
home on June 17, 2016. Neither Mike nor Andre diagnosed a current leak, as Mr. ***** hasn't
used his master shower at all recently. Mike said in passing, "a leak is never a good thing," but
upon inspection couldn't confirm that a leak was even present, and Mr. ***** stated that he has
not used the shower for four years. The question remains if the "leak" isn't anything more than
shrunken caulking, which is a yearly homeowner maintenance item, or even the opening of the
shower door.
We retain the position that the home was built in 2009; repairs that were requested in the oneyear
warranty period were preformed and completed. In this case the product of the shower
was covered by the one-year warranty for the home itself. We, Fall Creek Homes, are no longer
liable or responsible for any product, assembled or manufactured, in Mr. *****'s home. Mr.
*****, as with any homeowner, has the responsibility to keep his home in good repair.
Sometimes those responsibilities require hiring competent help. We would suggest Mr. *****
seek help on the open market and handle things as any homeowner would.
Best regards,
Bryson *. H*****
Fall Creek Homes
President

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

It is obvious that Fall Creek Homes has neglected and intends to neglect and postpone their responsibilities as they have since 2010-2011. Consumers deserve to be warned against companies like that.

Sincerely,

*******

11/23/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/17/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fall Creek Homes
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)