This business is not BBB accredited.

Coleman Homes, LLC

Phone: (208) 424-0020 Fax: (208) 424-0030 3103 W Sheryl Dr Ste 100, Meridian, ID 83642 http://www.mycolemanhome.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides home building and land developing services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Coleman Homes, LLC include:

  • 15 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Failure to honor commitment to arbitrate or mediate disputes
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 15 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 15

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Coleman Homes, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 07, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1972 in ID Business started locally: 03/23/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Contractors Registration Board
Idaho Bureau of Occupational License, Boise ID 83702
https://secure.ibol.idaho.gov/IBOL/Home.aspx
Phone Number: (208) 334-3233

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Thomas Coleman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Thomas Coleman, Owner
Business Category

Home Builders


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Coleman Homes, LLC has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of F.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3103 W Sheryl Dr Ste 100

    Meridian, ID 83642

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we purchased our home with Coleman Homes in 2012 we were promised irrigation water and pay for it through our association dues. The service provided has been absolutely horrible. The irrigation was turned on April 15th and has already been down 12 times. Coleman homes claims that too many people are on the system at the same time which shuts the pumps down. We are a growing development with an additional 126 homes going in with no plans to correct this or build additional pump houses to support not only the existing homes but the new ones as well. Their current solution is the following: 1- Monday-Wednesday-Friday Even addresses water 2- Tuesday-Thursday-Saturday Odd addresses water 3- If this does not meet their satisfaction they will be telling us the times of day we can water 4- If this doesn't meet their satisfaction they will institute a fine system This is totally unacceptable and false advertising as having irrigation water. Unless there is a drought and the residents are told to ration water by the state or county officials we should get the service we pay for.

Desired Settlement: I want Coleman Homes to address their shortcomings with the infrastructure we have and correct the problem. I want a detailed explanation as to the time frame in which this will be fixed and how it will be fixed. I also want a prorated credit from the homeowners dues of $25.00 for each homeowner who has been paying for a service that hasn't been received.

Business Response:

The West Highlands community is not unique in its irrigation water situation and does have a system in place that is similar to other irrigation systems used throughout the Treasure Valley. The system does require that community residents cooperate in how they use the pressurized irrigation system. Cooperation and compliance by all residents is essential in order to provide irrigation water for all.

 

The West Highlands Community has two different pressurized irrigation systems. One for the Estates portion of the community which uses the pump station located just north of Meadow Park Boulevard on the east side of Cemetery Road. The other portion of the community located south of Willis Road between Hartley Lane and Cemetery Road gets its pressurized irrigation from the pump station located on the west side of Cemetery Road south of Willis Road.

 

All irrigation water is delivered through the Black Canyon Irrigation District (BCID) canals and ditches to the pump stations. The BCID allots irrigation water based on the number of irrigable acres and does not, unlike other irrigation districts, subtract out land used for homes, roads and other non-irrigated surfaces. This amount will not ever be more, but may be less, depending upon the amount of water in the reservoir for each season. This amount of water is more than should typically be needed for a residential subdivision – even after all homes are completed so long as it is managed correctly.

 

Managing the allotted irrigation water is done as follows:  We “call” for water to be delivered to the two different pump stations by placing a card in the ditch rider’s box. This call for water requests that a specific amount of water be delivered for a specific amount of time. The ditch rider -his name is Toby - picks up the cards we leave in his box by 2 o’clock in the afternoon and schedules the appropriate amount of water to be released from the Black Canyon Reservoir. It generally takes until the next morning for that water to be delivered and made available for use. We cannot adjust the flow of water into the system more than once per day so there are implications that need to be considered:

 

1.    BCID counts all water flowing through our “gate” against the community yearly water allowance, whether it is pumped through the irrigation system onto lawns or is allowed to flow through to the drainage ditch because there is no demand for it.

2.    Given a finite amount of water for the season, we manage the flow into the system in an attempt to provide pressurized irrigation water for as many days as possible throughout the season.

3.    As we are only able to adjust the flow into the system once per day, it only makes sense for us to spread the demand for pressurized irrigation throughout the day in order to best use the water we are provided. 

4.    Adding pumps to the system will allow for more people to irrigate at the same time but would also necessitate an increase in flow to the pumps. This increase in flow would then increase the rate that we use the allotted amount of water available to the community for the season which would then reduce the number of days in the season that pressurized irrigation is available.

 

If homeowners can begin to follow a more stringent irrigation schedule, we believe this will help solve the problem. Here is an analogy to explain why this schedule should help: Suppose all the landscaping within the community, common areas and homeowners combined, require 24 units of water per day to stay healthy. And let’s suppose that we have 150 days of irrigation available per season. We would need a total of 3600 units of water for the season. That is the ideal and assumes that water is being applied to some area of landscaping 24 hours a day. Ideally that would mean that we can call for 24 units of water per day, or 1 unit per hour. This will only work if we are able to evenly distribute the demand, or use of water throughout the whole day.

If we try and water everything between 3:00 and 9:00 in the morning – which is what is happening now and why the pumps shut off in the morning hours and not during the day -- we would need to call for 4 units of water per hour (6 hours of watering for 24 needed units of water). This would then take the total units of water counted against the yearly allotment to 96 units of water per day. This then would require that we have a total allotment of 14,400 units of water for the year, four times the amount of water actually needed.

 

That scenario is where we are currently. We do have plenty of water for the needs of the landscaping within the West Highlands community. The pump is capable of pumping enough water to nourish all the landscaped areas currently existing, as well as those to be added with new common areas and home sales. While it may seem “logical” that with more homes a larger pump is necessary that is simply not true. The reality is that we have been sending an extraordinary amount of water through the drainage ditch over the past years because we have not had a watering schedule that makes good use of the resources that are available to us. If we add a larger pump and continue to provide irrigation without regard to a schedule, we will be wasting a tremendous amount of water each day when no one is irrigating and will run out of our allotted water well before the end of the season, or be forced to purchase extra water – if that extra water should even be available to us. We want to be good stewards both of our community assets and our natural resources; we hope you recognize that a watering schedule is the best way to accomplish that goal.

 

Please follow the following schedule.

Odd addresses water Monday, Wednesday or Friday

If your address ends in a:

“1” water between 1:00 and 3:00 AM or PM

“3” water between 3:00 and 5:00 AM or PM

“5” water between 5:00 and 7:00 AM or PM

“7” water between 7:00 and 9:00 AM or PM

“9” water between 9:00 and 11:00 AM or PM

 

Even addresses water Tuesday, Thursday or Saturday

“0” water between 12:00 and 2:00 AM or PM

“2” water between 2:00 and 4:00 AM or PM

“4” water between 4:00 and 6:00 AM or PM

“6” water between 6:00 and 8:00 AM or PM

“8” water between 8:00 and 10:00 AM or PM

 

If you can water during the day please do, so that those who will be home and using their yards during the day can do so without having to worry about irrigation. The better we can spread out the use the better we will be able to manage the water.

 

Long term the plan is to add a pond to the development north of Willis Road and tie it into the existing system. This will provide a bit of a buffer and allow for a more flexible watering schedule; however a schedule will still be used to continue to try and balance the use of the water made available. I don’t know when that pond will be constructed. We had many discussions this winter about it and looked at several options. The planning, design, and construction of such a pond requires much more than simply digging a hole and putting water in it. Please continue to be patient as we work to manage the system that is available. With your cooperation, we can provide adequate water for your homes and ensure that the community is a place for all to enjoy.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the irrigation system we have is insufficient. We do not need a larger pump, we need more than one for the number of houses we have. We need each pump to take care of a specific number of homes. Of course when you have 1 pump servicing hundreds of homes the pump will go down. Separate the systems, add pumps and not put all of your planning failures on the homeowners of this community. Take ownership and fix the problem!!

Sincerely,

****** ****

Business Response:

Determining the number and size of pumps required, as well as the overall design of the irrigation system for the community, was done by an engineer who specializes in irrigation systems in coordination with Black Canyon Irrigation District.   The system is designed to handle all the homes we plan on building.  The issue is managing the water allotted to us by the irrigation district. 

 

We could add more pumps and make is so that everyone in the community could water at the same time.  If we did this, we would need to increase the flow of water from the irrigation district.  However, most of the water wouldn’t be used, and we would run out of water early to mid-summer.  If we manage our water, using the watering schedule, we have enough water for everyone for the whole irrigation season.

 

Most communities have a watering schedule set up.  Settlers Irrigation for example, maintains a watering schedule for all the communities it serves.  Their schedule denotes not only which days you can water, but what time you can water.  The watering schedule we implemented is neither unusual nor very restrictive.  By following the schedule, each homeowner will have all the water they need.

 

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Just because other subdivisions or developers do the same thing doesn't make it right for the homeowners. There is a correct way to do it which allows homeowners to water their lawns when they see fit. There are also builders who cut corners and do not install the proper infrastructure to support the number of homes that are built. Coleman homes cuts many corners, period and this is just one of them. When we bought our home we were never told of a water schedule or restrictions. The way out for Coleman Homes is to blame the homeowners for watering at the same time instead of putting up the money to make it right. I highly doubt this will happen as their continued approach is to put the responsibility on the homeowners in the communities he builds. It's only a matter of time before Coleman Homes will be chased out of Idaho like he was in Bakersfield and Las Vegas. 

Sincerely,

****** ****

5/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 17, 2016 we closed on a Coleman Home in the ********** Subdivision. On that date there were several items that were not completed. The title company took out money for those hold back items that they would once pay Coleman when they completed the work. In our closing documents provided by our title company it states that all hold back items must be completed no later than 4/22/2016. We have still been waiting for landscaping (sprinklers, bushes, bark, trees and sod). As the date approached several times we contacted the Assistant Builder asking what the progress was and reminded him of the 4/22/2016 deadline. During this time several landscaping crews have been in our subdivision installing sprinklers and adding landscaping in the common areas. Coleman homes will have a home in the Parade of Homes and all the houses on this side of the subdivision have landscaping (owners that have moved in a full month or more after us or even vacant homes). On April 21, 2016 I contacted the Assistant Builder and asked why they were installing lawns on vacant property but not ours when we have a contracted date in our closing documents. Shortly after I sent him a message he came over personally to tell me he talked to the landscaper and it would be done on April 22nd as promised. Today on April 22nd they installed the sprinklers. Also today, the landscaper himself told me they would not be able to complete our landscaping until the 25th or 26th. The landscaping crew is gone for the day and we are still without our landscaping as stated in the contract (bushes, trees, bark and sod). We have been living in our house for over two months with a dog and two young boys without a yard while watching landscaping crews work round the clock on vacant homes. I was patient with the Assistant Builder when he showed up at my home. Now he has lied to my face and will not return mine or my husband's phone calls.

Desired Settlement: Coleman failed to hold their end of the contract. We want the hold back money for the incomplete landscaping (bushes, bark, trees and sod) so we can do it ourselves. The hold back for the landscaping was $2,848 including the cost of sprinklers.

Business Response:

The items noted in the complaint were not completed at the time of close because of the time of year.  We are unfortunately unable to landscape in the winter.  As a policy, Coleman Homes waits until the irrigation water is turned on before we will landscape any home.  This allows us to make sure the sprinkler system is working properly and allows the homeowner to water their new landscaping.  Being able to water new grass and plants increases their chances of survival dramatically.  We could have put the landscaping in sooner, but the homeowner would have had to hand water everything using the city water system resulting in a significant cost to the homeowner.

Irrigation water was turned on 4/14/16.  Since then we have been busy installing landscaping on all homes that closed over the winter.  Our landscaper works from street to street, this allows them to complete more homes in a shorter period of time.  Unfortunately, the complainant doesn't live on one of the first streets to be completed.  We are getting to her home as soon as we can and it should be completed by Wednesday the 27th, just 9 business days from the date the irrigation water was made available.  All of this information was relayed to the homeowner.

I am not aware of any guaranteed date of completion.  The attached contract addendum only states that funds will be withheld from Coleman Homes until the work has been completed. We don't guarantee completion dates because we don't know the exact date irrigation water will become available or when the weather will allow us to complete the landscaping.

The title company held funds on this home for other items that weren't able to be completed because of the weather, in addition to the landscaping, at 150% of our cost.  The title company currently holds more than $10,000 for this home.  Despite having most of the items completed, we don't get any fund released until all of the items are complete.  It's in our best interest to get the landscaping done as soon as possible.


Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

First of all, all of those statements are highly inaccurate. The majority of work has been done on common areas NOTresidences. Four homes on my street have full landscaping finished, two of which are vacant. We were the third homeowners to close in ********** and nearly the last to receive a lawn. Landscaping crews have been here for months landscaping there is zero reason why our lawn could not have been completed on time.

Second, We were never once told,by anyone, our yard would possibly not be completed until the 27th. The assistant builder himself came to my house and told me in person on April 22, 2016 that he talked to the landscaper and promised me it would be completed by April 23, 2016 night.

Third, we reminded Tyler several times of our contracted date of April 22, 2016. We have documentation signed by both us and Coleman Homes. I am more than happy to provide this document. Coleman Homes violated the contract. They had both the time and resources to complete the work and the failed. The hold back amount was $7,662.20 not $10,000. It might help them to keep accurate records.

Sincerely,

****** *****

Business Response: Thank you for sending over the form, I do see it said the work would be completed by the 22nd.  It should not have been signed by our staff and we will take this as a chance to educate our team so that it doesn't happen again.  I apologize for not meeting the date you wanted, but the work was completed just three business days later.  We have no control over the weather and the availability of irrigation water, all of which contributed to us not meeting that date.  I feel that we communicated with you throughout the process and gave you continuous updates on an estimated completion date.  I don't think we lied or intentionally misled you, we relayed the information we were given by our landscaper on estimated completion dates, which changes continuously as work is completed out in the field.  We did not feel that we should skip other homeowners, who had been waiting just as long or longer, to get to your house sooner.

Once again, I apologize for not hitting the date you wanted.  The work is now done, I'm not sure what your asking us to do at this point since the complaint is seeking us to refund the money for the landscaping so that you could complete it on your own.


Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regardless of whether you should or should not have signed a form the bottom line is you did.  We have talked to several homeowners and they all have completion dates signed by you.  This is not our first contract you have failed to meet the requirements on.  This seems to be a continuous problem throughout the process.  One that you make no effort to fix.

Once again, we were the THIRD homeowners to move into the neighborhood.  Four houses on our street were fully landscaped before our own (all of which moved in AFTER us, 2 of those houses were unoccupied).  This also does not include the entire Garden side of the subdivision where several homes were landscaped due to your precious Parade home.  Again all of those homeowners moved in after us.  So whatever point you are trying to make is invalid and entirely false.  Clearly our lawn could have been done on time had you actually tried to abide the contract.  

I think you fail to see the reason we are upset.  You were given ample time and resources to complete our lawn on time and failed.  You violated the contract and that is when we requested a refund.  Instead of discussing our request with us you went ahead and did the work anyway.  We asked for a refund in advance.  It is not our problem you have zero ability to discuss matters with homeowners.  This clearly is not an issue you are willing to fix considering once again we were given a date for other work to be completed on our home and yet again that date has come and past without the work done.  Nor have we been given a date it will be completed.  It seems the only time Coleman communicates with us is to give us false information and empty promises.


Sincerely,

****** *****

5/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had such a great experience from the staff while buying our home. Selecting the items and customer service was great. Then our year walk through came up and during this we pointed out our flooring downstairs. You could see a huge difference in our floor on being level and seams coming up. After a couple visits from them, trying to figure out what was going on, we have been told that they would sand down seams and try to even out the flooring as best as they could. We were given the option to put Laminate down instead of the Vinyl we currently have as long as we paid the difference. That we have no issue with. It understandable. Be we were also told we would not have to pay for the labor fee because "they would have to come out and do it anyway" . We choose the floor we wanted to upgrade to and after almost 2 weeks of trying to get an idea of cost we final get numbers and then told we have to cover the labor which is double the price of the flooring. Are you kidding. So we questioned this, got a " we will have another meeting" a couple days later we are told" Mike will call you" and haven't heard a thing. I have asked for a paper trail from the beginning and that was not done, and now they took our work order off. This all began in March and here we are in May with nothing. We tried being understanding, we are not the only home that is in need of repairs, but it is as if they dont care anymore because we bought the house and our warranty is now over.

Desired Settlement: We want our floors done. We want a phone call. So that we can be done with this and try to enjoy our home, instead of being blown off and ignored.

Business Response:

We have spoken to the homeowners and are working with them to resolve their concerns.  This was simply a case of miscommunication and misunderstanding.  We, Coleman Homes, were waiting for the homeowners to select and purchase an optional flooring through one of our trade partners before we could schedule the work to be completed.  The homeowners however, have now decided that they would like to simply have the flooring replaced with the same product as they currently have.  Therefore, we are now in the process of working with the homeowners in getting this repair scheduled and completed as quickly as we can.  We apologize for any misunderstanding that has delayed this repair from being completed in a more timely manner.   

Consumer Response: .  There was more than miscommunication, more like lack of and false statements, yet it was made clear in the phone conversation that it doesn't matter and I got the feeling that no matter what was said I was the liar.  That being said, I am glad that this will finally be finished so that we can in the near future, fix it correctly and get what we want while saving money.    I do appreciate the quick phone call. And hope for future customers, the communication skills are better.  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,
******* ******

5/6/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a lot to build in the West Highlands Sub in Middleton. We were never told that our lot would end up having an intrusion that would obstruct our vision out the front of our home. We sent them a cancelation after seeing how our house and fence ended up looking when it was complete. They threatened us with either paying $16,000 additional costs to terminate or more if it went to litigation. All of which would be handled by a choose group by Coleman Homes. Knowing that the outcome would not be in our favor, we planned a meeting with Coleman representatives to discuss the situation and what can or could happen with the lot next to ours (Lot 6). Ben M***** and Mike L****** bought a worst case scenario with them to the meeting and showed us that since the lot did not have much depth but a lot of width that they bought a "worst case scenario" with a plot with the larges house they could put on that lot with the placement of that house and the "proposed" fencing for that lot. They assured us they would have us and the potential buyers of that lot get together as we had discussed resurveying that lot and purchasing a slice of that lot to make the lot pie shaped like a NORMAL culdesac lot. They said they would do that. WE have not had any conversations since that meeting on August 18, 2015 and they came in yesterday and very quickly laid out (with paint marking) a home and first thing this morning (before 8 a.m.) they unloaded a piece of equipment and started to dig. NOT ONE WORD from Coleman or it's representatives about the layout of this lot. They told our next door neighbor who has the same lot layout the EXACT same thing. They did not disclose an "ADVERSE MATERIAL FACT" about the property when we were going into this process. They have their own set of Purchase and Sale paperwork to protect themselves from having to disclose those items to potential buyers. This seems criminal and just morally wrong on every level. Any help would be great!

Desired Settlement: That they go back and place a house on the lot so that the house sits on the lot like a normal house, like the one they brought to the meeting.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regarding case #********, I would like to withdraw this complaint at this time.  


Sincerely,

**** ******

Business Response:

Please know that upon deciding to purchase and build a Coleman Home at West Highlands, the ******* had the opportunity to choose their own lot from a variety of home-sites available. At the time, this cul-de-sac area was mostly empty from any other homes and the lots were newly released to sell. Buyers have the opportunity to build the home they want on the lot they choose and we, in turn, build according to the municipality codes, covenants, restrictions and standards.

A few weeks into the process, the ******’ made us very aware of their concern regarding the empty lots next to where they were building and the placement of homes and how it would affect their view. The construction schedule was put on hold in order to have a face-to-face meeting regarding their concerns. We gave them the opportunity to cancel their contract and after the meeting they decided to move forward. Notes from our customer service manager are below regarding that conversation:

We met with the ******’ at their home site on August 18th and showed them a site plan of the worst case scenario for the neighboring lot, as they have stated.  At that time it was explained to them that we couldn’t guarantee how the neighboring home would be oriented on the lot.  They were made aware of how the home next door could possibly be oriented and decided to move forward with their purchase. 

Mike L****** | Customer Service Manager

**************************

************ ****

We stand behind our position that the ******* concerns were addressed, there were reasonable solutions offered and their choice was to move forward.  The purchase and sales agreement states the following:

Views.  We make no representations about any particular view the community or your lot may enjoy currently or in the future. The evaluation of any such view is highly subjective and a personal matter. Any view may be partially, materially or completely obstructed by a variety of factors, such as (a) the planting of trees, shrubs, plants or other landscaping, (b) the growth and propagation of landscaping existing or to be planted in the future, and (c) current and future construction within and outside the community, including, without limitation, the construction fences, walls, roof tops, buildings, decks and other improvements. We make no statements or assurance with respect to the construction and future improvements and landscaping that may have an impact upon the view from the community and your lot.

Municipality building codes and covenants are in place for this reason. Next door neighbors are not given the right to dictate the placement and construction of property they do not own. We comply one-hundred percent to municipality development codes and covenants and maintain our position to continue building on Lot 6 Block 10 in West Highlands. Attached are documents from the ******* purchase including the Purchase & Sales Agreement, Maps & Site Plans and other supporting documents.

SUSAN S****** | Executive Vice President

p: 208.424.0020 ext. *** | ********@mycolemanhome.com

mycolemanhome.com

 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

4/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My family decided to build a home with Coleman Homes in the Preserve neighborhood in Eagle, Idaho. We currently live in this neighborhood and decided to build again with Coleman Homes. The first building experience we had with them wasn't wonderful, but it wasn't terrible either. This time has been so awful, we decided to pull our earnest money out of the contract, sell our home and build outside of this neighborhood. We signed our initial paperwork on January 19, 2016 and were told that after 10 days, Thomas C****** would have a "buy back" (trade up) offer on our current home in the event that our home would not sell privately, he would buy the home back for a price. We waited for that number for 5 weeks and NEVER received that number, or paperwork. Our realtor was diligent in calling, and every time she did, the representative said that he was calling the brokerage company and they did not have it done yet. Not only was the process painfully slow, the representative in the office lacked major communication skills, he took over 2 weeks to answer emails and gave very different information than other Coleman representatives we had talked to throughout this process. He personally attacked our realtor representative's integrity after we emailed saying we were cancelling our contract and build process due to the terrible customer service. The fastest responses we received from the Coleman team throughout this process was when we cancelled, our email was answered within 11 minutes and we even received a phone call. Within 2 days, the sign on our lot had been removed (when we initially signed with them, we had to go put our own sign out on the lot 10 days post signing). There were several email exchanges after we said we were cancelling and the Coleman representative was so rude, I couldn't believe it. After cancelling, we see that Coleman Homes has an F rating with the BBB, and its no wonder. Shotty building and bad help...AVOID them at all cost!

Desired Settlement: Coleman Homes, and Thomas Coleman need to take a serious look at how they treat customers and their building process overall. There is a lack of training, standards and care.

Business Response:

Regarding Mr. ******** remarks, the frustration seems to stem from the timeline for receiving a Buy Back Offer. Our company policy regarding buy back offers states they should be received within 10 business days of an accepted contract. Due to market conditions, these buy back offers are taking a bit longer. The ******** contract was not fully executed and signed by the seller until 2/1/2016.  Please keep in mind a fully executed contract with all the necessary pieces in place did not happen until February 1st as you will see by the attached.

Our investigation of the timelines and paperwork looks like this: 

·         Purchase & Sale Agreement (PSA) Contract Submitted & signed by buyers:   1/20/2016

·         PSA signed by seller/Coleman Homes:     2/1/2016

·         Outside Realtor notified of Buy Back on ******** existing home:       2/3/2016

·         Buyer sent email notice of cancellation on:     2/24/2016

·         Trade up offer received on:     2/25/2016

·        

I would be more than happy to answer questions or provide more information if needed. Please don't hesitate to contact me at:

 

SUSAN S****** | Executive Vice President

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Although the initial paperwork was signed on the 20th of January, the agent at Coleman forgot several papers for us to sign.  This is why the paperwork was NOT submitted until the 1st of February.  It took Coleman homes 12 days to get the paperwork together, that's two weeks.  Unacceptable.  THEN, the agent refused to answer our questions (regarding different pricing options, so we could figure out our final budget) within even a week via email.  We were never told that Coleman had a "surge" of buy backs, thus it was taking the broker longer than anticipated to get the buy back offer complete (we were told this after we cancelled our contract).  This is NOT our agent's fault, she kept us very included in what the Coleman Agent was telling her (which was, he "didn't know" and he "would call").  The 10 business day timeline, turned into 27 days (after we cancelled our contract, Coleman contacted us via email to say that the buy back offer was completed 3/8/16).  So even though they were very slow and disorganized in getting our paperwork together (finally) on 2/1/16, it still took them 27 days to complete the "10 day" buy back offer.  This is why we are frustrated and cancelled our contact.  Lack of communication, disorganization and inconsistent information.  

Sincerely,

*********** ********

1/7/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We bought a home in October 2015 from Coleman Homes. When the temperature got cold several areas of our house were about 10 degrees colder than the rest of the house. This includes a master bedroom, a master bath, master closet, and another full bath. We have tried to get them to fix the issue but they are telling us that the house is fine and we should just seek another contractor and spend our money to have it fixed on our own. If we have a problem. They offer a year warranty.

Desired Settlement: We have spoken to several HVAC companies that tell us that they would need to replace the gas furnace with a larger unit.

Business Response:

*** ******* contacted us because he felt that a downstairs bathroom, along with the master bedroom and master bathroom were colder than the rest of the house.  We had Arctic Air, the HVAC subcontractor who installed the system, inspect the home and review the sizing of the furnace and the design of the system.  They determined that the furnace size and design was correct.  They also found a closed damper in the master bedroom, which they opened and added a heat run to the master bathroom to improve airflow in hopes of satisfying *** *******.  It was determined that the downstairs bathroom was working properly since it was within one degree of the thermostat despite it being 28 degrees outside on the day of inspection.

We also had another HVAC company* ******* *******, review the sizing of the furnace and the design of the system.  In their opinion, the furnace was properly sized and that the system was properly designed.

*** ******* continued to express concern about the temperature in those locations.  We had Arctic Air use their thermal imaging camera, which is accurate to within 1/10 of a degree, to determine whether there was heat loss occurring due to lack of insulation.  The technician turned off the space heaters that were running and waited an appropriate amount of time for the effect of the space heaters to wear off.  The camera found that all locations measured within 1-2 degrees of the thermostat.

Based on the information we have obtained, we feel that the HVAC system is working properly and there is nothing wrong with the heating and cooling system in the home.   We will continue to monitor the situation.  If *** ******* obtains any information that contradicts the current findings we will reevaluate they issue at that time.

thank you,

**** *******

VP Coleman Homes

10/22/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is that Coleman salesperson sold me a house and stated "You have 30 days to write down everything you see is wrong and we correct it." This was a false sense of security to make a sale. He also said I had to use Pioneer Title Co when I had my own. He picked his friend from Pioneer who made many errors that almost cost us our property tax exemption. We bought our house Apr. 9, 2015 in an exclusively built subdivision built by Coleman. Our house sits below the house to the right which Star Landscaping did the grading of that house and our house. Star put her grass higher then mine and put her rock a**** the side of her home at an angle. Star also put her backyard higher then ours. Star did not grade our property correctly. They have the total perimeter of the back yard higher then the middle of the grass; therefore, when it rains the water pools in the backyard and has no where to go. The house on the right waters her rock garden which pours through the vinyl fence and is on automatic sprinkler. When it rains I get the rains I get the rain water and her water. This water accumulation has destroyed part of my grass and killed my trees. I have addressed this with **** ******* and **** ********. Ms. ******* first said "there is noting we can do about it." Then she said "I will have **** ******** look at it." **** ******** looked at it and said "I don't think **** (from **** ***********) can do anything." I also told **** ******** that the plastic they put around my home and has stones on it is holding water from the house next to mine and when it rains. My front gets flooded from her sprinklers as my grass is lower. Her sprinklers water my side of my house. I had to put up a fence to stop that. I also had to remove about $200.00 of my heavy bark as her watering caused me to have earwiqqlers all over. I have spent countless hours with my son laying cement, putting in decorative rock, river rock to block her water. I can not plant a**** my back fence as her water keeps coming through and destroying my property. My second contention with Coleman is that when I purchased this house there were no spots on my driveway. On the day I moved in I noticed spots all over the driveway. **** ******** said it was from "fertilizer". I had not even been there to fertilize. Idaho Cement said "it is from irrigation water." No. When I moved in the irrigation water was not even on. The spots are all over my driveway . The final contention with Coleman is that after the 30 day walk through I told **** ******** "There are big blotches on my living room wall and son's bedroom." He gave me paint to "match" the blotches. The paint does nothing for the blotches. The paint is bleeding through in many places. Upon touching up, the paint does not match. whatsoever. I bought this home new and Ms. ******* told me "you bought a spec house." I have asked them in many emails about these issues. I have many photos showing the next home over with her gutters running into my yard, her sprinklers in front draining into my yard and her backyard pouring into my yard. I do not want to seek legal action but I am tired of asking for a remedy for these problems.

Desired Settlement: Drain pipes from back to the front of street as the entire front/back lies below the house to right and water is from back and front. Paint the downstairs over again as it is bleeding through and touch up paint leaves it blotchy. Remedy the spots all over the driveway.

Business Response:

******,

 

I am writing you in response to Complaint ID ********.

 

In order to respond to each issue of the complaint, I have attempted to itemize each individual issue and provided a response. 

-The Customers’ statement that she was told that, "You have 30 days to write down everything you see is wrong and we correct it."

There is a 30 day review we do with all of our homeowners, but the home has a full year warranty.  This was explained to her multiple times and is also clearly detailed in her paperwork.

 

-She was required to use Pioneer Title Co

Pioneer Title has been in business more than 60 years and has an A+ rating with the BBB.  We use Pioneer Title because they are a well-respected company and, in our experience, provide excellent customer service.  We believe any issues she had during her closing were addressed by Pioneer Title.

 

-Grading and draining issues with her lot

Grading was done per the specifics of our engineers and inspected by city officials.  Coleman Homes’ employees have also been out to the Customers’ home many times since to verify it was done correctly and have found no problems.  Some yards will be higher than others so that water will drain properly over the whole neighborhood.  Our primary concern is that water is not draining in to her home.  It is normal for some water to pool in the middle of the yard during a heavy rainstorm.  Also during a heavy rainstorm, water may also travel from her neighbor’s yard to hers.  If water is pouring through her fence on a regular basis then her neighbor is overwatering her yard.  We have no control over her neighbor’s watering habits.

 

- Water accumulation has destroyed part of The Customers’ grass and killed her trees.

Any issues with dead grass and trees were due to an improper watering schedule.  The Customer has repeatedly refused to let us help her set her sprinkler timer.  She told us that she likes to manually water because she has to pick up dog poop in her yard.  Despite not watering properly, we did replace one of her trees.  There is also dead grass in her back yard from dog pee spots.  She has two German Shepherds.

 

-Her neighbor’s sprinklers water the side of her house. “I had to put up a fence to stop that. I also had to remove about $200.00 of my heavy bark as her watering caused me to have earwiqqlers all over. “

We have talked to the neighbor and helped them adjust their sprinklers.  We believe this problem has been corrected. 

 

-Concrete Spot Concerns

We’ve had numerous meetings her and even brought in the concrete installer and concrete supplier to meet with her and inspect the driveway.  There aren’t any spots other than the natural variations in color in the concrete during its cure process.  Our warranty representative walked her though the neighborhood and showed her that the color of her driveway is consistent with most of the driveways in the neighborhood. Our warranty representative never told her it was spots from fertilizer.  He showed her pictures of what it would look like if it were spots caused by fertilizer to point out that it wasn’t from Fertilizer.

 

-"There are big blotches on my living room wall and son's bedroom." He gave me paint to "match" the blotches. The paint does nothing for the blotches. The paint is bleeding through in many places. Upon touching up, the paint does not match. whatsoever. “

We have no idea what she’s talking about, this is not something she has ever discussed with us.  We re-painted the entire living room and dining room walls at her request prior to her closing on her home and she signed off on the work. If she is doing some paint touch-ups on her own, the color won’t exactly match the existing paint.  Walls that were painted months ago will fade slightly from exposure to sunlight.

 

If I missed addressing any of her concerns please let me know.  We will continue to work with the Customer on any other warranty issues, but we feel we have addressed the above issues properly.

 

 

Thank you,

 

 

 

**** ******** **** *********

Consumer Response:

Hi ******,
I am sorry but could not get the computer to respond to the following info.
In regards to Mr. **** ******** statements:
1. Pioneer title could have cost me thousands of dollars on my taxes.
   Again, the title person ****** picked had to be told to refigure my
   dues as well. She ADVISED ME and my son was there, "you have 30 days to
   file for your property tax exemption. This was on April 9, 2015. A friend
   of mine told me "you must do it by April 15, 2015." which was the TRUTH.
   If I had to use Pioneer Title then I should have been able to go to the
   one I wanted not ******* pick. THIS WAS MY RIGHT.
   I don't care about what he said A+ rating. I have done my own investigation
   on Pioneer. They DID ME wrong so it is moot what he said.
 2.There are HUGE spots all over my driveway.  ******** blamed
   it on "fertilizer". I had these spots on the first day I moved in. This is
   NOT FERTILIZER. Then, Mr. ****, from Idaho Concrete blamed it on "irrigation"
   water. Like I said, Mr. ********, my irrigation water was not even on when
   I moved in. Another lie. ******** said "it is from fertilizer." My son heard
   him and saw the pictures he showed us of "supposedly" his driveway.
 3.Water accumulation is due to THE LANDSCAPING BEING PUT IN INCORRECTLY. Email
   from ******* says "she will send ******** over to look at it." THE GRASS SINKS
   DOWN IN BACK AND WHEN IT RAINS IT turns into a pool. I HAVE HAD professional
   landscapers over and they said it needs to be relandscaped or underground
   pipes put in. It doesn't matter about two German Shepherds that pee in the
   yard, Mr. *******. I am not talking about this. I am talking about
    WHEN IT RAINS AND SWAMPS MY BACKYARD.
   IT HAS NOTHING TO DO MR. ******* ABOUT my timers. I don't run my water that
   much in the back. FURTHER WHEN IT RAINS, MR. *******, THE person next to me
   has sprinklers right next to my grass which ******** said were a mistake and
   you were going to pull. My grass sinks in FROM YOU and her water ACCUMULATES
   on my front. I CAN NOT BEGIN TO PUT ANYTHING ON A TIMER in front as you have
   excess sprinklers in her front yard. IN FACT, I have had to put rock to stop
   it and a FENCE so the water does not hit my foundation. HER landscaping is
   up higher then mine WHICH INCLUDES HER SIDE AND HER GUTTERS THAT you have
   not piped out so it comes on my property. YOU HAVE NOT LANDSCAPED MY FRONT
   OR BACK CORRECTLY. I HAVE ALL PICTURES SHOWING THIS WHICH I WILL SEND TO
   THE BBB. There would be no way I could even put on timers as her water
   from her grass swamps my front and you made my backyard into a muddy mess.
4. Another lie is that you painted the entire dining room and living room at
   my request! There were two big blotches in the living room and my son's room
   where you came in and LEFT. The reason is that your paint is not covering
   blotches and when you do touch up your paint leaves THESE BLOTCHES ALL OVER.
   NOTHING MATCHES.
5. Another lie is that the "TREE IN FRONT WAS DEAD during escrow." ***** *******
   told us he would replace it when I moved in. It took into June to replace the
   tree in my front yard. Yes, Mr. ********, the tree was dead when I moved in.
6. I DID NOT BUY A HOME FULL OF MUD IN THE BACK YARD WHEN IT RAINS MR. *******.
   WHAT DO YOU MEAN YOU ARE JUST CONCERNED WITH MY FOUNDATION? I AM SURE
   YOUR YARD IS USEABLE AND NOT FULL OF MUD, MR. *******!!!! OR DO YOU LIVE
   LIKE THIS IN YOUR HOUSE???
7. I put in a work order with ******** to remove the paint on my cement left by
   your workers. This was in May 2015. The paint is still on there.
8. My upstairs window has not yet been addressed. It has moisture in it.
   Regards,
   ***** ********

 

 

 

May I add to his concern over
my dogs "pee spots" in my back yard. First, that is of no concern to him. Many of
the spots are caused by fungus from standing water from the rain which does not
drain off my property. I am sorry he hates dogs. His friend who bought next to me
told me the same thing when she moved in. Yes, I have two quiet rescued dogs and an inside rescued cat. They are family, Mr. *******. They do not bark and are
well taken care of.
Mr. **** ****** said he came yesterday with a Coleman rep, to talk to me. Not. Did not happen. He refused to give me a day and time when he could come and see the yard. He is very angry that I told him about the grading problem and hung up on me. He is from zoning. My son was home all day even when I went out for awhile
yesterday.


 

Business Response: At this point we feel we have done everything we can to address Mrs. ********** concerns.  We’ve had landscape and concrete professionals evaluate her home.  Their determination is that there is nothing wrong with the concrete and any water problems are related to her own watering schedule and yard maintenance.

We encourage Mrs. ******** to have her concerns evaluated by an independent third party.  We will happily review any information she obtains from an independent third party and feel confident that their findings will be consistent with ours.

We will continue to address any other warranty items Mrs. ******** has throughout the duration of her warranty period.

Sincerely,

**** *******
Vice President
Coleman Homes

12/3/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had the worst home building experience ever. We built a home on West Highlands last Year we closed in July 2013.Since day one we have had issues vinyl and laminate flooring,carpet, back yard drainage,fire place,no insulation above a bedroom,sprinkler system,cooling system,Back door leaking water damage, window wiggles,stair rails fell out of the wall, wall around stairs has holes I can put my fingers through just to name a few problems. I have been trying to get them fixed over a year now very slow at responding. Then when someone comes to fix things they try and blame me for what is wrong not happy about that. I have been home countless times and had no shows or late contractors. My kitchen floor has been buckling since day one and is getting worse I dont use water on my floor nor get water all over my floor they are saying its water damage and wont fix it. I so frustrated and down right angry my floor has never looked new I wanted a new house so I did not have to worry about repairs and now im stuck with a ugly floor that catches my feet everytime I cook or wash dishes.They replaced a few slats a month or 2 after we moved in and made it look worse then originally. My first complaint was about it popping as we walked on it now its worse and ugly. My power bill is $400 trying to cool the house when it wont ever reach 69 when its only 80 degrees outside it is to small off a unit for this sizeof house,someone came out to explian it but it was total nonsense. My house is uncomfortable to be in in the summer and outrageously expensive.I want my stuff to work and look good,is that to much to ask.

Desired Settlement: would like my crappy products and workmanship replaced or fixed right.

Business Response:

In response to complaint ID********: Coleman Homes has addressed numerous and repeat service requests throughout the homeowner(s) warranty period. We have completed several service requests as a courtesy that are excluded from the warranty coverage and have had difficulty contacting and scheduling repair work. The homeowner requested that the flooring in the kitchen be replaced and the decision not to repair this area was based on care and maintenance of the flooring. Coleman Homes and the trade partner have determined the kitchen floor area that is buckling was caused by water damage and will not be held accountable for water damage on the flooring material. The HVAC trade partner has made numerous appointments with the homeowner and has confirmed the equipment / system to be running efficiently and performing accurately.

 

We are currently in the process of completing the final items we have agreed to repair and will fulfill our commitment to the homeowner until such items have been completed.

Consumer Response:

 The flooring in the Kitchen has been a issue since the day we mived in I have email and Pictures to prove it. I use Bona on my floor like they reccomened at closing. So that is false. I had Two guys come in and also told me its not water damage its poor installation who puts nails and takes out the faom backing on a floating floor really. As for the hard to get ahold of comment is false I return every call. I also text the warranty guy and never get replies. I was emailing my eepairs but had to contact others to even get anyone out here. I think you should go back through your repair and emails to see when the floor was a problem and has always been. I have emails and texts of all my times trying to contact to get it taken care of.

11/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to you to ask for help in regards to a drainage issue I believe Coleman Homes has been unwilling to address in a timely manner. In 2013, we purchased a Coleman Home in an exclusively built Coleman Home subdivision named *********** *******. Our home is next door to a flag lot that is approximately one half acre, the lot is predominately all behind the fence and it mostly grass. Coleman Homes, subcontractor for the landscaping was Power Enterprises, Power graded the lot and placed the grass for Coleman Homes.Our issue began and has continued prior to us moving in and has continued to current day. The issue is water from our neighbor at **** * ********* ***, draining toward our home and ending in our crawl space. My neighbor, *** *** ******** ******* have also contacted Coleman Homes to remedy the issue with little result.Over the past year and one half I have addressed the drainage issue with former employees***** ********* ***** a Construction Superintendent that was our contact during building, current employees, ****** ******** and **** ******* with very sporadic responses. Coleman Homes did install a French type drain on the neighbors property, but it has not controlled the water as designed. Due to the lack of response and action from Coleman Homes, I have spent countless hours and my own money to dig a drainage window, redirect the water, placed only rock on area affected, moved rain gutters. I am at a loss and feel legal action will be my last course of action if you are unable to help. Please see attached photos that I hope illustrate the issue. Please contact me with any questions

Desired Settlement: Drainage toward street or elimination of water running toward our property

Business Response: Coleman Homes has reviewed this complaint with the homeowner by email, phone, and in person. At which time a solution that was satisfactory to both sides was found. Even though this situation was resolved, Coleman Homes would prefer to handle these issues internally. We would also like to add that posting concerns on the BBB will not expedite requests. Coleman Homes has resolved this complaint.

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to get Coleman Homes from April 2013- February 2014 to fix my drainage issues in the backyard without fail. I was constantly getting flooded from the berm facing ******** ***** the neighbors yards east and west of my property. Coleman Homes installed a yard drain on the berm side of the fence which didn't work as my yard got flooded again in February 2014. Because of their refusal to fix my drainage issues, I ended up hiring another contractor to correct Coleman Homes issues. I would like to be reimbursed for the following items from Coleman Homes; drains $650, berms $1200, sod & grading $1650, curbing $350, and sprinklers $600 for a total of $4450 (my out of pocket expenses)plus the original landscaping work (failure to landscape the yard correctly) that was included in my loan at closing $2805 for a total of $7255. If Coleman Homes can correct drainage issues for 6 homes ****** ** ***** * **** **** ** *** ****** I don't see why I can't get reimbursed for fixing the issues in my backyard as I too complained about it for a year. Lastly, I have driveway that's pitting and flaking badly with sidewalk breaking. Coleman Homes is trying to state that I used ice melt this past winter but I didn't either. I have been waiting on the sidewalk repair for 2 months. I would like the concrete issues (driveway and sidewalk) to be repaired at Coleman Homes expense. Irrigation and rain water is making the concrete issues worse.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed within 14 business days for the drainage issues and the concrete driveway/sidewalk replaced within 14 business days.

Business Response: We have reviewed this complaint and we are sorry to hear that this customer is having drainage issues. We understand that this can been a frustrating issue, and hope that it is resolved quickly. However, we did not install the landscaping in this customers rear yard, and consequently their rear yard drainage does not fall under our warranty, once it has been modified by another contractor. We attempted to help with the customer's drainage by installing drains at our expense, but we simply cannot warranty someone else's work. We do appreciate being made aware of the issue though and hope that the problem is resolved. Thank you.

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:
 

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference** ********* ** ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Unfortunately,  I beg to differ on the business response to my complaint, I have included in another attachment that supports the business installing my rear yard landscaping package at the cost of $2805 in late November/December 2012 time frame as part of my signed contract with the builder and myself.  The drain that was installed on the berm side of the fence facing ********* didn't resolve the problem recently as of February 2014 when I got flooded from all three sides into the backyard which ended up ankle deep water and unusable. 

I am not asking the business to warranty the new contractor's work in the rear yard, I am just asking to be reimbursed for the original landscaping that I am paying  interest on for 30 years, plus all the repair work that I had to pay out of pocket expenses to correct the drainage issues that the builder failed to correct the first place.  I simply don't understand why the builder corrected issues in the 6 homes located across the street****** ** ***** * **** ***** *** ******  from my house for their drainage issues regardless of whether the homeowner installed their own rear yard landscaping or accepted the rear yead landscaping package as part of the building process.

Furthermore,  when the new contractor tore up the yard it was discovered that ***** *********** contractors, didn't put down topsoil first to level out the yard prior to installing the sod. So therefore, my yard wasn't landscaped properly to begin with and that caused issues with drainage in my rear yard.

The business should reimburse me for my out of pocket expenses for the fixing all rear yard landscaping issues ($4450.00)  and the original landscaping rear yard package ($2805.00) within 14 business days June 19, 2014.

 

******** **** *****

 

 

Business Response: The customer is correct, I inaccurately stated that we did not install their rear yard landscaping. However, the situation is as I indicated: this customer had another company work on their yard after we completed the home. It is very clear in our warranty that we cannot warranty the work of other contractors. I have attached our warranty, signed by this customer, for reference.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have reviewed the one year home builder's limited new home warranty.  I closed on the house on February 4, 2013 and was able to pick up the keys on February 5, 2013.  My warranty ended on February 5, 2014. I had my one warranty review on January 20, 2014 with a Coleman Home Rep.  Once again, I am not asking for the builder to warranty the new landscaping as I have a one year warranty with the new contractor.  I am simply asking to be reimbursed for poor landscaping done by the previous contractor(builder refused to fix in the first place)  and all the repair work that was out of pocket expenses correct the issues.  Since the new landscaping has been installed in March 2014, with all the storms that we have had this spring, I have not had any problems with severe flooding or drainage issues.  New landscaping was completed after the original builder's limited new home warranty expired and the builder failed to correct issues within the appropriate time frame of February 5, 2013-February 5, 2014.  Homeowners living in ***** ** ***** * **** **** ** *** ***** had their backyard drainage issues corrected within one year of their limited new home warranty. One of the homeowners completed the sale of their home in late 2012 and this would be well after their limited new home warranty expired and their backyard drainage issues were corrected in April 2014. 

This is what I need to happen;

1) Business reimburse me for out of pocket expenses for correcting all rear yard landscaping issues in the amount of $4450.

2) Business reimburse me for original landscaping  rear yard package in the amount of $2805.

3) Receive all compensation for the landscaping issues by June 19, 2014.

 

******** **** *****

 

 

Business Response: Unfortunately the number of times the customer restates what they want does not change the reality of their situation. It is unfortunate that they are having an issue with drainage in their yard, but we have done everything we are willing to do.

Consumer Response:

 

Better Business Bureau:
 

 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference ** ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Builder had plenty of opportunities to correct the issues with the drainage in the rear yard landscaping package that was added to sales contract within the one year limited new home warranty.  I submitted numerous emails to customer service for warranty work on fixing the drainage issues. Customer service always blamed everyone else rather than to accept responsibility for their mistakes on the proper drainage and landscaped yard.   I waited as long as I could to have the builder and agents, to correct issues in the rear yard landscaping package that I paid for in the original contract.  Builder has not done everything possible to correct the issues with the drainage and rear yard landscaping. 

The issues have been corrected with the assistance of another contractor and I no longer have drainage issues. If I had known at the time of the selection process about the issues with the drainage etc, I would have never spent money twice on my rear yard landscaping package.  So therefore, I don't accept the response of the business has done everything that they are willing to do in this circumstance.

******** **** *****

 

 

5/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I discovered Coleman Homes through our real estate agent. We were initially impressed with their design center and the different home options marketed to consumers. We have young kids and wanted a larger lot so they would have room to play. ** was the real estate agent that introduced us to the lot that we now own. It was marketed and sold to us as "a premium large flat lot that your kids can enjoy for years". We were charged an extra $5500 dollars for this "premium lot". Construction began in December 2012. We received a phone call in January of 2013 that the lot needed to be built up "a little bit". This little bit turned out to be 4-5 feet. Throughout our home construction we voiced our concerns to many different people within the labyrinth of Coleman Homes in regards to our backyard. Again and again we were ensured that dirt would be brought into the backyard and landscaped appropriately. In April we asked our real estate agent to formally complain about the backyard. Coleman Homes ignored our request until May when ** asked us, "we need to know exactly what you want". We drew up a plan for a retaining wall and got a personal third party bid and submitted it to Coleman. Again we had to wait a month for any type of response. We also requested to meet with ** and ****** ******* (the supposed owner of the company)to discuss options for our backyard. They refused stating that "Coleman Homes does not negotiate". ** called us in June and said that our only option was to walk away from the house and to accept the lot in it's changed state. We formally asked for our lot premium back, or a refund on the rear yard package, or to apply the rear yard package toward a retaining wall. We were again told no. It is surprising and disappointing that *** ******* was unwilling to even talk with us regarding options for our backyard, especially since it changed after we signed a contract. I find his behavior extremely unprofessional and will not be satisfied until this matter is resolved.

Desired Settlement: 1- A refund of $5500 for our "premium lot" that was changed after our contract was signed.or2- Coleman Homes to extend patio and install a retaining wall to restore the functionality of our lot.

Business Response: This customer filed almost the exact same complaint with our ******** *********** ***********, which has a process for holding its members accountable. We were found to have correctly, and ethically with these customers. In fact, we offered them a full refund if they were not satisfied with their home. If you would like additional information on this matter please contact the ******** *********** *********** ** ********* ******

Business Response:

I think the photos demonstrate pretty well that the lot has always sloped away from the street. Regarding the premium, that was related to the large size of the lot, and the fact that it is adjacent to common area. It had nothing to do with the grade. Additionally, the********** reflection that the only solution we presented was to refund their money is inaccurate. We proposed to build a large patio and hardscape area at our cost, but they rejected that offer because they wanted it for significantly less.

Thank you,

 

****** ****** ******* * ********* ** ************ *****************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:
 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

As I suspected, ****** ******* **** continues to avoid trying to resolve this issue. Thankfully, I've kept a very detailed email/paper trail of all communication between the labyrinth of Coleman Homes representatives, myself, and our real estate agent. ** failed to mention that we got a third part bid for extending the concrete patio, a retaining wall, and several different options with pillars and steps. On May 3rd 2013, the third party bid came in at $10k (for basic patio and retaining wall) up to $15k (with pillars, upgraded stone, and steps). I can provide you this bid upon request. It took approximately 1 month for Coleman Homes to obtain a bid, and unfortunately Coleman Homes was unwilling to show their itemized bid to me or our real estate agent and stated that it would be $19k for a patio expansion and retaining wall. We were told that "Coleman Homes does not negotiate", and that they were unwilling to meet with us to discuss any options. As you can imagine my wife and I were very frustrated and discouraged through much of this drawn out process. Why would we pay up to $9k more so Coleman Homes could do it? We also asked for our rear yard package to be refunded so that we could landscape the backyard on our own time frame, and were told that was not an option. (Why?)

 

By this time it was June 2013. Per recommendations of ***** ****** (the real estate agent representing Coleman Homes who conveniently disappeared the week we refused their landscaping "offer"), and ***** ******* (the superintendent), we made arrangements to close in the beginning of June. Because of **'s lack of  communication and refusal to talk about options, our closing was moved until the middle/end of June. It was during this time period that ** recommended that we walk away from the house with our earnest money. (The base price of our home and the "lot premium" had both gone up significantly since the time that we signed a contract). Why would we walk away from a house that we helped design? Why would we walk away from a house that already gained equity? Why would we want to wait another 7 months for another home to be built? Why was ** not interested in satisfying a customer with a very simple and relatively inexpensive concern? 

 

Bottom line:

1- Coleman Homes marketed and sold us a "large premium flat lot" (stated ** *****. Verifiable by our real estate agent who was present) under contract and charged us $5500 extra for it.

   -- Having a large flat backyard was our #1 priority when choosing a lot.

2-  The lot was changed after being in contract.

   -- Coleman Homes did not adhere to the grade requirements as shown on their site plan. (I sent this to the BBB previously)

   -- Why is Coleman Homes selling lots that are below street level without telling the customer?

   -- The only communication that we received (**** ****** is that the lot would be built up "a little bit" (4 feet is more than "a little bit")

3- Coleman Homes was unwilling to discuss options or even talk with us face to face about it.

4- Coleman Homes was unwilling to let us landscape the backyard on our own time frame. (why?)

4- ****** ******* tried to bully us out of our house by asking us to walk away right before closing rather than resolving a very simple issue.

 

I will not be satisfied, nor will I ever recommend Coleman Homes, if ****** ******* continues to ignore me. This is the worst experience in customer service that I have ever encountered, and am truly disappointed that ****** ******* was unwilling to meet with me face to face even after a formal request. Unfortunately, we are well past the point of closing. I find it interesting that Thomas has no interest in satisfying a customer.

 

To ****** *******:

Where should I put the playset for my 4 kids?

Where should I put the trampoline?

Where should I plant my garden?

 

Because my entire backyard and side yards are one giant hill. Making, my "large flat lot" nearly impossible to utilize.

 

 

******** ***** ********

 

 

4/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have a house in the *** ***** ***********. During the one year guarantee time we had the foreperson inspect the granite breakfast bar that cracked in the middle and is falling on one corner. We used a level and look at the bar and he agreed that it was a problem and said he would contact the contractor so they can stop the crack and level the whole thing. That was about 4 months ago, and after many emails to the quality manager and the foreperson, we are still waiting to at least get and answer to the emails. The crack keeps propagating and the whole breakfast bar is worse now. This is so frustrating considering the substantial investment we made.

Desired Settlement: We want to be contacted by Coleman in the next 30 days. We also want to talk to the contractor that installs the counter-tops and study options to fix the problem, including replacing the whole breakfast bar.

Business Response: Until receiving this complaint we were unaware of this issue. We have since contacted and met with the homeowner and are in the process of resolving the matter.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Coleman Homes has misrepresented the fact that they were not aware of the issue as shown in the attached document, dating back to June of 2013, which is a copy of the guarantee requests as entered in their system. Contact was also attempted by means of telephone and two different email accounts. The recent meeting with the representative from Coleman and their sub-contractors have not produce a satisfactory resolution.

******** ***** ***********

 

 

Business Response: We have been in contact and are replacing the countertop.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ******** I met with the contractor yesterday to discuss the replacement of the breakfast bar, and I'm waiting to see a sample of the product and set a date for the installation.  There is still not a definitive time line for completion of the repair.

 

******** ***** ***********

 

 

 

 

12/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sales Process When I first started working with Coleman Homes, I had been warned by others that had built custom homes about the extra costs that are never disclosed at the beginning of the process. Because I was forewarned and am naturally very detailed oriented, I would not sign on any dotted line until their sales dept. walked me through every possible option in the sales process, in an attempt to finalize the cost of building a home with Coleman. The sales person did say that there would be an estimated dollar amount on the flooring. Otherwise, she stated that the dollar amount she was quoting me would not change unless I initiated changes after signing. This turned out to be far from the truth. Within days of signing the contract, Coleman informed me that the sales representative had underestimated the flooring cost by $7,000. She had also forgotten to add in the cost for the extra bay on the garage. She added a gas stove, without a gas line. Missed the upgraded doorknobs. Misrepresented the size of the trim above the cabinets. They did not notify that I had selected a drainage lot, which caused me to have to pay an additional $10,000 dollars in drainage areas in my backyard to avoid the mounds that made my backyard look like it had gullies. To add insult to injury, after my assigned sales representative had so thoroughly ruined the sales process, I requested to speak with someone else in the company, and I was told it would “take an act of God” to meet with a different person. Soon after, I was told by the Coleman Homes Sales Rep that Thomas Coleman, who usually attends the final meeting to welcome the client home, would not meet with me because he would not do anything for me and “didn’t want to listen to me vent” to him about the headache of working with his team. I was informed if I didn’t like it I could walk away without my earnest money. I would have backed out had I not already invested a lot of time and money. All of these errors turned in to thousands of dollars that I had to pay above and beyond the original quoted cost for the home. If the sales representative did not understand how to price all of the selections for the sales appointments that were made prior to signing, she should not have continued with the process. However, even when I was informed of all of the price discrepancies quoted by their sales person, Coleman Homes did not even pretend to care. Building Process A contractor also stained the garage floor leaving a big brown mark in the cement in the garage that Coleman Homes would not fix. On a crawl space access I asked a Colman homes representative if they could make it larger so that a normal adult could fit through it to gain access to the crawl space, the representative stated that would not be a problem. Later during the building process, they recanted, saying that they only needed to make it big enough for someone to access the water shut off valve. I was informed that a 10 foot single sided gate was not a possibility on a side of my house by Coleman homes representative, and later have been informed by numerous reputable fencing contractors that it is a simple modification. Their representative also promised me a copy of the blue print of my house, which they did not deliver. Warranty Process I Notified Coleman of dented and poorly attached mailbox, The mail box was attached better, but the mailbox still was dented up and now has rusting. I also notified them of multiple areas inside the home that needed paint touch ups, after a couple months of waiting; I just took care of it myself. Colman left paint over spray on the white vinyl fencing that never was fixed, I had to clean myself. I notified Coleman representative that gas oven was somewhere leaking gas when oven was turned on which he confirmed, and have yet to hear back from Coleman and that was two weeks ago. This in my opinion is a safety risk. I have spoken with Coleman numerous times about a pavement crack in entry way to front door and representatives have yet to do anything in 8 months which has caused the crack to go from 2 feet in length to 9 feet. I notified Coleman of vinyl bubbling in two different areas of house and still waiting on repair. Fence cap was blown off on windy day that Coleman has stated that they would replace but have yet to do so. (The Final Straw) Coleman also had a contractor that installed an inadequate heating and cooling system. I informed Colman of the issue numerous times that the system was greatly underperforming in the heating and cooling of the home. It was not till I spoke with numerous neighbors that Coleman was replacing multiple houses systems in the neighborhood that I called again and they decided to re-inspect. Upon inspection Coleman decided that they were only going to replace the furnace unit, install dampers up size the coil in the system. A neighbor a couple houses away with the exact same model and floor plan with the exact same old system got his condenser changed out as well. I then contacted two independent reputable contractors and had them come out and give me an assessment of what they would suggest. Each Contractor stated that a new condenser was also needed to bring the system up to adequate levels of cooling. Coleman still decided that they would not replace the undersized condensing unit. I am shocked about the lack of respect that Coleman Homes has shown me throughout every step of the process with them.

Desired Settlement: The resolution that I am seeking is to have a fair and reasonable compensation for all the mistakes that I have had to pay additional amounts for, along with the repair or replacement of all the issues that have yet to be addressed.

Business Response:

*** ********** * *** ********* ********

 

*We stopped by and reviewed the mailbox today, December 16th and we will replace the mailbox even though mailboxes aren’t covered by your warranty.

 

*We have taken care of multiple paint touch-up requests over the course of *** ************ warranty period. At one point the painters had to make (2) trips to finish the paint touch-up due to no backyard access.

 

*The stain on the concrete was caused from sawdust and we put forth our best efforts to remove the stain with chemicals and pressure washing.

 

*We don’t have any record of this request, but we will get a vendor out to help him.

****** reviewed the concrete concerns with *** ********** originally, but the concrete cracks are not separating far enough apart per the NAHB standards and the concrete is not heaving. We reviewed the concrete today, December 16th and the cracks are still not warrantable. We go by the NAHB standards and the concrete crack doesn’t fall within the guidelines.

 

*We completed the vinyl repair in the utility room and I have emails from *** ********** confirming. The additional vinyl repairs can be reviewed.

 

*We can’t control the weather or the damages it creates, but we will get a new cap for your fence post.

 

 *We received an email from *** ********** on 10.21.13 asking us to call because he had been doing some research on his HVAC system, and had discussed with neighbors on their results on dealing with Coleman Homes. We called and had a reputable vendor review the HVAC equipment and give us their feedback based on the calculations specific to their home. The review indicated the blower and coil was in need of an upgrade and the condenser was the adequate size for his home. We didn’t have to install dampers because per code dampers are not a building code for the **** ** ********. We went above replacing the necessary equipment. We installed the dampers so we could balance the air flow throughout his home. There are several variables calculated for each home and the equipment installed is based off the calculations for the specific home. Homes can be of the same model and size, but require smaller or larger equipment. All homes have their own calculations for specific reasons.

  

*Our contract is not with the independent contractors whom evaluated your equipment and we can only use the information given to us by our reputable vendor. Based on the review the upgraded equipment is adequate and we went above the protocol and added dampers and balanced home to ensure all equipment and home is properly heating and cooling.

 

*We have stood behind our warranty and gone above and beyond from the construction stages through warranty. We are offering to replace your mailbox and fence cap even though these requests are not covered under warranty. In addition to your HVAC concerns, we offered to add dampers and balance your home to ensure your home is functioning at its fullest potential. We will review the additional vinyl concerns and the gas smell by the oven. The HVAC equipment has been replaced to meet the specs of your home and the concrete cracks don’t fall within the national association of home builder guidelines. Therefore, the concrete will not be replaced.

 

 

* While building *** ********** s home we noticed some inconsistencies in the color of the granite tile on the island counter top. Myself and ****** ******* called *** ********** to the house to show him the issue, we then laid out over 20 new pieces of granite tile for him to chose from so we could find the best possible match to replace the pieces that we thought did not quite match. *** ********** was glad that we brought this to his attention and was also happy that we let him chose the replacement pieces. This was at no cost to *** **********.

 Just before we closed on *** ********** home he was worried about his back yard, Coleman homes had ***** *********** come in and regrade his back yard and leave dirt for backfilling a retaining wall that he was going to be installing at a later time. ** ********** did not pay for any backyard landscaping. Coleman homes went above and beyond to help *** ********** in his landscape plan.

 The stain on the concrete was caused from sawdust, and yes we did try extensively to remove it with chemicals and pressure washing. The crawl access was large enough that the building inspector could fit thru (he was 6'2" and 230lbs) The gate, we don't offer a 10" gate. Yes *** ********** asked me for a set of plans, I told him that I could not give him any. The onsite plans from another home just like his disappeared shortly after it was framed.

 Paint- *** ***** ******** went back to *** *********** several times for paint touch up, one of which was after he moved in.

 These are the issues I am aware of. All others I have no knowledge of.

 

 

 

***** ******* ******** ** ***** * ********* ************************** ** ************ *** *** ** ************ ** ************ **** ***** ***** **** ***** *** ********* ** *****

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau: 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below. 

** ********* *** ** ******

The mailbox was not installed at the time of my move in and was noted on the final walk, and was not installed until well after I had moved into the home. This made any type of quality control on my part impossible and I had no way to prevent Coleman Homes from installing poor quality mailbox, that was dented, and poorly attached. 

 Why would a painter need access into the back yard of the house if the paint touch ups were inside?  The inside paint touch up were requested on the final walk before move in and any type of painter did not show until 6/12/13 (to fix outside paint issues).  I moved into the home in January 2013.  I have had
no locks installed on the gates and use the same latching systems that Coleman Homes installed.  I have no idea why their painters would not have been able to gain access to the back yard.   

Coleman’s response does not pertain to the issue discussed.  

This item was brought to ******* ****** ******** ***** ********) on 10/30/13 at meeting at my house during a HVAC system walk.  I mentioned it to him and he turned on and inspected and agreed with issue with oven and stated he would have vendor right out to fix it.    

I was made aware of the fact that the crack needed a ¼ inch separation or lift or fall for any safety concerns or repair.  I am concerned about the fact that crack that was 2 foot in length is now 9 due to Coleman Homes not being proactive.  Coleman Homes has an exclusion in their Warranty that reads, minor settlement cracks in concrete typical to settling will be excluded from Warranty.  I assumed that moving from a 2 foot crack to a 9 foot would make in no longer minor.   

 That repair was right after move in and was for a tear in the linoleum flooring in the utility room. This again is different issue.  I spoke with ****** ******** on 9/11/13 about the vinyl bubbling along with showing ******* ****** on 10/30/13, where he took pictures.  Both employees stated that they would send a vendor out for repair.  It still has not been addressed.   

 This was not the whole case.  I had also made calls and met with Coleman Homes and one of their vendors on 1/9/13, 1/23/13, 7/1/13.  Each time they stated the system was working properly and that the balancing of the house and inadequate temperatures in the house were normal and should be expected.  The airflow is still inadequate the temperature still varies by 10 degrees from one side of the house to the other.  The vendor they had come out has addressed the problem with a partial new system but has still not fixed the HVAC problems that continue to raise concern.   

 As far as the dampers to balance the home, the home still has a 10-degree difference from one side of the house to the other.  So the above protocol to add dampers has not balanced the home.  As far as reputable vendors the first vendor that Coleman Homes had contracted that installed the system has received an A- on the BBB website.  Not to mention the fact that every vendor has agreed that they installed a completely inadequate HVAC system in not only my home but also a majority of others in the neighborhood.  The second vendor they sent out has 380 complaints issued against them on the BBB website, where the two vendors I called out have had 2 complaints apiece.  Coleman Homes has no right to say that they have addressed the problem and fixed it.  The fact is that they have not fixed the issue and their track record on vendor selection has not been effective. 

  The simple fact is that Coleman homes has not gone above and beyond on the warranty on any stages of the process.  I still have numerous issues not fixed that they stated they would.  Numerous issues that I have had to fix myself, and multiple ones that have been repaired only after months of waiting.  As far as the mailbox refer to previously mentioned paragraph above.  The HVAC System is still not functioning properly and do not meet the specs of the home according to two real reputable contractors.   

 THESE NOTES ARE FROM BRUCE (A WARRANTY & CONSTRUCTION REPRESENATTIVE): 

What does the granite tile have anything to do with the issues raised other then the grout on the tile is breaking apart and cracking, which I notified Coleman Homes on Nov 21st and still have yet to see a repair done.  As far as no cost to me, why would I have paid for granite tile that was completely different coloring?   

This is again a response to a colossal misrepresentation that Coleman had when they sold me the house.  The whole reason for this poor attempt at appeasement was due to the fact that I was not informed by the sales person that I would be in a drainage lot where some of the homes around me would be a total of 4 feet higher then mine creating a issue of either have a back yard that was nothing but hills or have one that was flat with a drainage system to compensate to keep a backyard that was reasonably flat.   The dirt that was left was supposed to be about 5 yards according to ***** on 12/11/12.  They left over three times that which caused me to have to 3 extra dump truck loads taken removed from the property.  This supposed help cost me more money then it would have been without it.   

***** stated on 12/6/12, that he would have the access panel on the west side of the house cut to make it easier access for to the crawl space of the home.  He then later recanted on 12/11/12.  The inspector did not go down that access he went down another.  The fact is that ***** stated he would have them enlarge the access to not only grant access to the water supply shut off but also to the crawl space on that side of the house, he did not deliver that promise.   

 
As far as the plans go I find that this shows the level of caliber of company I am dealing with. I find the last line in their previous paragraph is inflammatory and slanderous.  Insinuating that I took plans that showed up missing at another home that matched mine, is horrible and wrong!  Why would I take those plans when each home is custom built (a fact that Coleman Homes stresses in excess) and has different contractors placing items and laying electrical and plumbing lines in varying different locations.  Why would I take someone else’s plans when I could just submit a request to the city of meridian for them?   

All these were for external paint and caulking issues and had nothing to do with my complaint of inside painting issues that I had to correct myself.    

The other issues were in my complaint.   

1.      Under estimated flooring by $7,000 

2.      Missed added cost of 4 bay on garage. 

3.      Missed added cost of gas line for gas stove. 

4.      Misrepresented trim size on cabinets. 

5.      Missed added cost for upgraded door trim. 

6.      Miss represented that lot I had chosen was a drainage lot causing around $10,000 dollars in drain field modifications 

I appreciate the replacement of the mailbox and fence cap, but these are the least expensive of all issues I have brought to your attention.  Please replace, repair, or compensate me fairly for the other issues previously discussed.   

Regards,

*** **********

 

Business Response: ********* ***** *** *** ************ *** ************ **** *** **********. We appreciate the opportunity to address his concerns. I have read his latest response and I do not believe we have anything new to add. Although he continues to refer to it, *** ********** received exactly what he paid for, and was never charged for anything that was not included in his home. I understand that there some challenges while he went through the process of selecting what to include in his home, but in the end we built precisely the home specified in our contract with him. As stated in our initial response to his complaint, we have and will continue to evaluate and address any warranty concerns he has. However, our warranty is not limitless and we must stay within the bounds of what we promise and contract to do, or we will be out of business. I regret that *** ********** is not satisfied and feels that he is owed some sort of settlement, but I see no basis for that. It is our company philosophy to work diligently to satisfy our customers and to deliver on the promises we make. We do not endeavor to appease discontented customers by paying them off. We will continue to hold up our end of the bargain and provide *** ********** with the top of the line new home warranty he received when he purchased his home from us. ***** *** ***** *** **** **** ** **** ******* *** ****** *** ** **** ** *** **** *** ********** ****** ******* ****** ******* ******* ***** **** ** ***** **** ***** *** ********* ***** ***** ** ***** *** * **** ** ************************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Coleman Homes, LLC
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart