Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new home construction services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • 1977 E Overland Rd

    Meridian, ID 83642

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are in the process of having CBH Homes build a house for us in Meridian, Idaho. There have been numerous issues throughout the building process that if I hadn’t been checking on the progress regularly would have been done incorrectly, though most were corrected. Though after pouring the foundation the side of the house along the sidewalk had a 45-degree slope about 5 feet wide, which I advised needed to be more level in order for the side to be usable and to install the gate as agreed. There was no response until two weeks prior to the date I was told the house would be completely finished. We paid for, and they agreed originally, to put a fence and gate along that side of the house. But two weeks before completion, came back and said because of the slope they would be unable to put the gate where they agreed, and wanted us to move the gate to the back of the property. Where we would have to leave our property and walk down the sidewalk to enter, and the entire side of our house would be unusable. They are unwilling to build a small (18” x 45’) retaining wall to support the dirt and make the ground along the side level enough to have a gate and make the ground walkable. They later came back with an offer not to build the fence at all and discount the price of the house for the amount we agreed to pay for the fence. Though in researching the Community Standards, we should not have been charged for the fence in the first place, since it states that the builder (CBH Homes) will install the fence and landscape along the side of corner lots. So in essence what they asked was to give us back the money we weren’t supposed to pay in the first place, and not build a fence that their own standards said that they should build. They have failed to stand by the contract we originally signed with them, and are failing to abide by their own HOA standards.

Desired Settlement: I would like CBH Homes to build a small retaining wall along the west side of the property to level the ground to minimum drainage standards from the front of the house to the rear, so that entry to the back yard can be gained directly from the front yard; install the fence as per their standards require, with the gate along the southwest side of the property as originally agreed; and discount the purchase price of the house for the cost of the fence ($1,362.00), that we should not have been charged for. If they are unwilling to build the retaining wall, then they should discount the purchase price of the house by the cost of the fence ($1,362.00) that we should not have been charged for, and provide us with a $2,000 escrow at closing to be utilized for a fence once we are able to install a retaining wall.

Business Response:

Contract was negotiated by both buyer and seller.

Contract was accepted and both buyer and seller and closed.

 

 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Though we closed on the house CBH Homes refused to honor the initial terms of the agreement, or their own community standards. The contract was closed on because CBH Homes refused to negotiate further and we were at the end of our lease and were not able to find another place to rent on such short notice to continue addressing this issue.  CBH Homes went so far as to issue another addendum, and deleted the NHO when it was signed stating that contractural and  community standard obligations were not met. 

Sincerely,

****** ********

Consumer Response:

Attached is the diagram of the originally agreed upon fence (denoted as "x"), with gate next to house. Document signed by myself and dated April 11th, 2016 during sales meeting with CBH sales staff. 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Business Response:

Addendum # 8  to Contract Signed by both buyer, seller date 7-29-16. Item # 3 with reference to Attachment "E". Fence gate is installed as per this Attachment E signed and agreed to by both buyer and seller.

Previous attachment by Mr ******** is not signed/agree by seller and/or makes no attachment to any contract and there is not mutually agreed to nor apart of any contract with reference to this property.  

Thank you,

 

 

8/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we purchased our home from CBH, sod was included and installed by CBH. During the the summer months, the sod in the front yard died, no matter what we tried. Last fall we discovered that the ground directly below the sod was covered in caliche, a fact that should have been discovered and dealt with prior to laying the sod. I first contacted CBH about the problem in Oct 2015. After inspection, CBH proposed to replace the dead sod. After consulting with landscape professionals, I determined this was not a viable solution, as the new sod would simply die during the next summer. I presented other possible solutions and requested CBH to review and respond. Jammie R***** in the warranty department, answered every email requesting a follow up with "I will check on it and get back to you" which he has failed to do, even once.

Desired Settlement: It is my desire that CBH review my follow-up request, make a determination as to what action CBH is willing and able to do, and make arrangements with me to complete actions for a solution to a problem that, again, should have been resolved prior to closing on the house.

Business Response: The affected part of the yard has been regraded, sod replaced and is completed

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ****

6/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I chose to have my home built on a lot where my backyard would be looking at trees. I also paid quite a bit of money to have my house pushed back so that an RV would fit on the side. And the drawing that they gave me, you could not tell that the house was going to be sitting slightly sideways. Not only does it look ridiculous from the front, but also a very big beautiful window upstairs that we love is now looking straight at the house next door. When you look out the backyard, since the house is sitting at that funny angle and points to where the street turns behind our house, cars are coming head-on towards our backyard looking right into our master bedroom, living room, and kitchen windows. I picked this lot specifically for the view, and now I have to keep my blinds closed at all times because of the angle that it is sitting at. To top it off, nobody told me that my house would be raised to three feet higher than whers the original ground was at, and so their Back Fence gives us zero privacy, which also gives us a large slope in our backyard. A gas meter was placed right where we need to park our RV, and we were given a gift card to compensate for the amount that it is going to cost to move the gas meter. But now that we have closed we found out that we also have to pay a plumber around $900 to also add some pipes to be able to move the gas meter. What I thought was a perfect lot was turned into a nightmare. I would never have chosen this lot if I had known it was going to be like this. I did talk to them at cbh homes, but all they did is say that it was a mistake on their part and that they apologize. I also sent Corey B***** himself and email but got no response. Literally every single person that comes over to my house mentions how the house is crooked and asks why it's like that, and also comments on the cars that are coming head-on towards our backyard. Because the house was elevated so far, there is literally no privacy from the fence.

Desired Settlement: Since all my complaints have to do with the lot, and I never would have chose for the house to be like this, I think crediting me back for the price of the lot would be fair. I do not want my Realtor contacted regarding this. She did a lot of work on a lot of other issues with the builder.

Business Response:

This was a Build Job CBH Homes built specifically for ******* *******. In this process CBH Homes owns a home site that Ms. ******* selected along with her desired CBH Homes 2 story home plan.

The selected home plan was drawn using auto-cad computer design by a professional home designer of the specific home plan on the desired home site. Ms ******* did indeed select to have the home pushed further back on the lot at an agreed price. The work to be done to push the home back on the lot is extensive as all of the utilities and city sidewalk are at the front of the lot. This work would include ALL utilities (water, sewer,power) separate trenching for each utility, compacting of all trenches,inspections, concrete labor prep, 3/4" sub-base,compaction of sub-base, concrete labor, concrete and haul-off. 

The plan was redrawn with the home pushed back on the lot as desired. This plan was reviewed Ms. ******* and approved in writing by Ms. ******* on 12-2-2015 (buyer copy available if needed). The rest of home selections were made and approved by buyer and CBH Homes proceed into construction of the home to completion. 

The home is built exactly as the plan shows on the the plan approved by Ms.*******.  No refund will be given.

 

Thank you,

 

CBH Homes 

 

 

 

6/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: About 3 weeks ago we noticed that our tower garden had been leaking water onto the floor and was causing the floor to warp around the garden. We contacted CBH warranty and were told that this did not fall under warranty. Fair enough this was in fact our fault. We contacted our home owners insurance and started a claim. We had a company called ***** *** out to our home to check and they tore up our floor all along where the back door is up the to the cabinet because they detected water from their monitor along the whole back wall. They placed fans and a dehumidifier to dry things out. We had the fans running 3 whole days. Then a big storm comes and we notice more water coming from under the back door and it is dripping in and making everything wet and getting under the cabinet. Nick from ***** *** came out and verified all of this and a guy from CBH warranty verified and took pictures. This is a major problem for mold if not fixed properly. There should not be any problem with water coming in thru the back door. So what started out as us thinking it was out fault because of the tower garden turns out to be partially true. There is also a problem with CBH construction. Who knows how long this has been going on for. Whenever a storm has past through the area, the back door has leaked water and it has been there for months underneath our floor boards collecting and warping our floor. ***** *** documented that there were two sources of water that caused the damage and CBH fails to take responsibility and cover their side to repair and fix the damage that has already been done. I believe that this should have been covered under warranty but CBH does not see it that way. They have refused to help pay for the cost of repairing the damage.

Desired Settlement: We did file a claim with our homeowners insurance and they are covering the total cost of fixing everything but this is not right. Our home owners insurance should not be responsible for all the damage. CBH should be responsible for fixing the damage that their faulty backdoor construction caused. I desire that CBH compensate us for the long dragged out problem this has been. We have been living with our kitchen floor torn up for approaching a month now. I want that CBH refund to me the cost that it would have been if they had taken responsibility and fixed their part of the problem. I am seeking money for home insurance deductible and mitigation costs and a further money for putting us through suffering, stress, and being treated extremely poorly.

Business Response:

CBH Homes has reviewed and made adjustments to the exterior door to help improve the performance and is committed to this. With all exterior doors it is not uncommon to experience some moisture at this point as the door is opened/closed and person(s) entering or exiting with wet shoes or weather potentially entering during this act. Owner is responsible to maintain this and prevent damage and not let water collect or sit for prolonged amount of time. This area also has additional caulking/sealing to help prevent any damage from occurring should some moisture to be present. 

 

As admitted in fact by the owner in the complaint and to CBH in person. The Owners Tower Garden was placed in the corner and had been leaking and caused the damage to the floor and made it bubble.  

 

The tower garden leaked so much it went under the baseboard in the corner behind the tower garden and it soaked into the particle board sub-floor and caused the all damage or bubbling to the flooring. You could see that water/moisture had been in the corner on the framing members for a prolonged amount of time. The exterior door did not cause any of the damage incurred to the *******'s home nor did it cause for an insurance claim to be filed by the *******'s. Therefore no refund will be given. 

 

Thank you,

 

CBH Homes

 

 

 

5/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live on a cul de sac in ******** ****, where CBH has built two homes adjoining mine, in their *** ***** sub-division. During the building process, my yard has been damaged. To gain access to the transformer serving the homes on my street, my front flower bed and yard were dug up, and to work on the other side, a bull dozer was driven across my yard. I'm missing a large patch of sod on one side of the front yard,and some soil from my flower bed. On the other side of the front yard where work was done I have bull dozer tracks and torn up sod. I was promised in January that when "it gets warmer" that my yard would be repaired. Today prep work to lay sod at one of the houses was done and my yard was untouched. I called both the main office and their rep in ******** **** (Nick C*******) at the beginning of April, and several times previously, asking for a schedule or plan of action so that I may plan around any repairs that might be done, and have yet to receive any information. CBH has also been uncooperative earlier in the construction process, cutting off my utilities to hook up the other houses without notice, and has allowed work crews to park vehicles in the street, completely blocking it, and on several occasions making me late to work or medical appointments. My mail and packages have been delivered late as well. They have blamed these issues on subcontractors, especially the problem of trash left in my yard. I have severe tobacco allergies, and my yard has been littered with cigarette butts during construction, with workers even smoking on MY front porch during rain showers. On two occasions WHILE I WAS HOME, I have found workers using MY garden hose to bring water to the work areas.

Desired Settlement: My yard and flower bed need to be fixed. It is unacceptable that CBH building homes next to me should cost me money to repair damage caused by their actions. I've already lost work hours and paid fees to reschedule medical visits Landscaping costs shouldn't be added to that.

Business Response:

CBH Homes would be happy to repair the yard where damaged in the power easement and are truly sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused during construction nearby. We would like to have work completed by 5-10-16.

Thank you,

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, as long as in addition to the power easement damage, the bull dozer track damage is also repaired.

Sincerely,

***** ****

Business Response:

Our commitment to complete the items needed. We are having difficulties with some of landscaping partner and getting all work completed on time as desired. 

 

Please bare with us as we will see the item through to completion.

 

Thank you for your patients.

 

CBH Homes

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,
***** ****

12/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CBH is building a house next to me and they put a bunch of really big heavy tarps on the ground when they were done to cover the front yard and did not tie them down. It became really windy last night and the tarps blew off their property all over the road and one of them landed on my car. I went out in the street and picked up about five tarps including some on my yard and the one on my car. I emailed a lot of people at CBH including the owner and nobody cared to get back to me.

Desired Settlement: If there any scratches or chips on my car because of the tarp I want them repaired

Business Response:

There was an large wind storm (Act of God). 

The concrete blanket was picked up and removed the very next morning of the storm. 

We are unaware of any damage as of the date of this reply. If there is any such damage. This should be reported to the homeowners insurance. 

Thank you for your help,

 

 

Consumer Response:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This was not an act of God it was a lack of judgement on the builders behalf. How do you put tarps down and not think to put something on them at night? I emailed numerous times and nobody cared to get back to me with that shows me it's a lack of responsibility when you do something wrong and don't care to even follow up to see if the victim is OK or not. This was the only way somebody would even acknowledge me. This should stay on their permanent record so other people can see how they are at customer service
******** **** *****




12/10/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased our home in Aug 2014. Upon our walk through the sod was being laid. The Superintendent ***** noticed that there was not sufficient water pressure to adequately water the lawn and stated that they would need to come back out in the next few days to replace all the sprinkler heads to compensate. So then we moved in and the it was 100 degrees and the air conditioner did not work. I called the CBH customer service number and was told to file a claim for it through the customer portal for repair and also for the sprinkler issues! The air conditioner was fixed a few miserably hot days later but nobody came for the sprinklers. So over the next several weeks I continued to call and complain and finally AFTER irrigation water was shut off a CBH representative showed up at the house and dropped off a bag of sprinkler heads and said we would need to change them ourselves in the spring as landscaping is not their issue but rather a maintenance issue for homeowners. Over the next few months there were several issues that I had to file claims on such as: the photo cell lights on the exterior of the home, a door stop that was not installed correctly that resulted in the door handle putting a whole in the wall, the soft close feature on the cabinets not working properly and most recently the photo cell lights AGAIN and the wall chase for the TV cords was not installed correctly. I do give credit to the cabinet people because that was fixed the next day. the whole in the wall was half a**ed repaired and then I was told to let it dry and repaint myself. As for powerhouse electric, well they came out in early spring and simply replaced the sensor. Shortly after we began having the same issues, the lights would randomly turn on during a bright sunny day or shut off when it was dark outside. I tried several times to contact ****** * at CHB but was always told she was not in and offered her voicemail. She would not return phone calls but rather IF she responded it was through email. So with much frustrationation I filed another claim through the customer portal for the lights. I again had no reponse so i checked the status of the claim online and it said closed! I was furious so I began calling twice a day until I was finally allowed to speak to ******. She said she would reopen the claim. So still by this point we were into October 2015 and no electrician. Around this time we purchased a new TV and tried to mount it on the wall and use the chase for the cords. As we began to feed the wires into the opening none of the wires were making it to the bottom opening so we had to open the wall covers and discovered that the chase tube was not connected to the wall cover at either end allowing the cords to dangle freely in the wall space and they also used a ribbed tube making it near impossible to get cords down the tube even with the wall covers off. So I again called ****** at CBH and she stated she would let the electrician know. Again a week passed with no contact so I called ****** again and was given voicemail. She responded a couple days later through email giving me the phone number to powerhouse electric and said it would expedite my claim to call them myself. At this point I was at my whits end but I did call them. I asked about my claim and was instructed to call the technician to find out the status. I did try several times to reach the technician again with no avail. I reverted back to calling ****** at CBH. I received another email from her stating she would see what she could do. I finally received a call from Powerhouse and he said he would be in this area sometime in the next week or so to look at the photo cell lights. I explained that the same issue keeps continuing and would prefer they disconnect the sensor and install a manual switch so we can control our own lights. He seemed irritated at the request and said he could install a switch but it would be located in the garage next to the control panel which happens to be the absolute furthest point from the door to the house! Now today I received another email from ****** saying she spoke with powerhouse and they told her that they already replaced the light sensor once and the issue was just the position of our house (we're not the only house on the south side of the street). And also that they installed the chase correctly or it wouldn't have passed inspection and it would be up to a cable company to connect the ends of the chase. I have spoken to several inspectors and they have told me they do not open chase wall coverings because they do not have electrical power to them. So why did CBH sell me the upgrade of a chase if it wasn't going to be completed, now they're telling me it's going to cost additional money to be correct!!! not to mention I have lights on the exterior of my own home that I can not control so there are some days when the lights run 24/7 so I'm also paying for extra electricity! While all of this chaos was going on cbh began construction on the lot in front of ours, our driveway is shared by four lots. The construction crews were so inconsiderate. On numerous occasions we were blocked from leaving or entering our own driveway! When we would ask them to move or to park on the street they told us no to go around them through the other empty dirt lot that is full of nails and construction debris! One such day my son needed to leave for school and they again refused to move so he had no option but to go around resulting in two tires with nails in them! Later the same day I was leaving for an appointment and was also blocked by contractors of cbh, i asked them to move and was told to go around, I refused stating I have the right to use my own driveway the girl that was working began cursing and through her hands up in the air and finally moved. I called CBH the next day because the incident happened after hours. I told the receptionist the whole story and said I wanted someone to call me back because now I have two flat tires that need replaced because the damage was not repairable. Now here we are three weeks later and still no response, not even an apology.

Desired Settlement: I would like the photo cell lights to run on the same switch as my porch light or a switch conveniently placed with access from inside the home, reimbursement for the chase, settlement for the tire damage.

Business Response:

CBH Homes has spoke with ***. ***** by phone. We are having our Superintendant ***** ***** stop by ***. ***** home later this afternoon to trouble shoot the photo-cell issue on the front exterior garage lights. We will also be sending a credit to ***. ***** for the TV Chase Conduit that was incorrectly attached. 

 

Thank you for your help,

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hello I am **** ***** I live in Star Idaho, I was retired from **** in ********* * ***** **** ** **** ** **** *** ** *** *** ******** * ******* *** *** ********* ** *** ***** **** ***** *** ******* ** **** ** ** ******** **** * *** ** ****** ** * **** ** ** ***. I found that I could make house payments for less than renting so looked for a home close by my parents in ********. After a few disappointment’s in the housing markets. I was thinking that a new Structure and Mechanical aspect was the way to go. I found a lot in Star, to build my first new home. I used a large portion of my savings and took advantage of the first time home buyers tax incentive. In 2010 I moved into my dream home of sorts, Since then My new structure home has failed, after living in the home about 2 years I noticed cracking in the floor in front of the patio sliding door, Called CBH Homes and I was told that my home was out of Warranty and settling was normal, Well presently that normal has included the entire rear of my home, north side, 34 feet has settled at least 1 inch. The interior walls re falling from the ceiling, there are gaps in the floor plate, cabinets, are pulling from the walls, My home owners ******** says that Poor Workmanship is not covered. I have had Mr. Corey Barton visit the home on 3 occasions, he verbalizes that he is working on finding a contractor to fix the Problem. I don’t believe that Mr. Barton has my best interest in resolving the problems. in addition I would like a reliable contractor to assess the current conditions and a resolution to repair. I am retired and income & resources are limited I can’t continue being lied to and deceived. **** ***** ***** ** ******** *** ***** ***** ******************* ************

Desired Settlement: The perfect remedy to this problem would be CBH Homes purchase the Home at Appraised Value therefore can look for another home in the area,

Business Response: We have met with ** ***** and are working through a resolution.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference ** ********* ** ********* *nd find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 

We have a resolution to my ********* *********. CBH Homes has assembled the perfect resolution to my Complaint, they have a delivered a signed purchase agreement on 11/17/15.   I am impressed with the offer, from Mr. Corey Barton, (CBH Homes) and accept the offer as written.
**** *****


10/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We live in the P*****T*** subdivision. Since the subdivision is not completely built, we don't have an official HOA board, and it is managed my *** ******** *********** but a woman at CBH is the one who makes all the decisions, and only sometimes she tells *** about them. I am writing in hopes to resolve the irrigation water issue that they have failed to get back to me on after numerous attempts via email and phone calls over the past few months. The first is that this woman decided to have our water shut off 4 days a week. Those days to have it turned back on have changed without notification several times. This is one of the very few subdivisions in the County that have their water shut off, and it has been a huge inconvenience for us who like to garden / clean and do other things that require water in the yards. I have just about broke my back pulling weeds/ dead grass and laying down new sod and grass seed only for half of it to die because the water was shut off. Today when our water didnt get turned on, and after 4 phone calls, I learn that she had or water shut off for the season. WHY??? We pay the same for this water as everyone else, why is this person at CBH having our water shut off!! I have been dealing with this all season and am fed up! I cant get an answer from our HOA or anyone, because they don't know, and I am pissed!!!! This BS makes us regret ever buying a CBH home here because of the stress, money, work and inconvenience this thoughtless decision has caused us and other neighbors. I demand the water be turned back on now for the rest of the season, as we are still having weather in the 80;s, and I ask that she not f*ck with our water next season! We pay the same as everyone else to have access to the irrigation water for the full season and its not right or fair for her to decide to shut it off in our subdivision, while everyone else has water 24/7. Many times they didn't even turn it back on when they were supposed to, and more stress, waiting and phone calls had to be made on the days we were supposed to have water. How would she like it if someone thoughtlessly decides when her water should be turned off, or shut off early for the season without warning, when she was in the middle of gardening projects, that are now dying because of lack of needed water, or if she wanted to use her garden hose in her yard and there is no water because someone thoughtlessly decided her subdivision will have their water shut off. I want answers!! and I want my water turned on and left on!!! **** ** ************

Desired Settlement: Turn our irrigation water back on for the season, and do not mess with it next year. Allow us to have 24/7 access to our irrigation water that we pay for, just like everyone else. No body else I know in this county has their irrigation water shut off on specific days, or shut off early. These people at CBH don't think or care about how that affects us and our lives here, and they need to. They don't provide reasons why or any answers either. If they want to have the water shut off to conserve, then it should be city or county wide, not just a few small select subdivisions. That's not fair! Id like to know what good reason she had to make that decision for our subdivision, and ask that her/ their customer service greatly improve. She never replies to any emails that I know *** had forwarded to her. This is extremely frustrating!! *** ******** ********** doesn't have answers either because she doesn't keep them updated on what she decides to do.

Business Response: Peppertree Community in Boise was developed 2005 and constructed to have preasurized irrigation water to each home site. The seasonal and sometime spuratic watering times from this supplimental water should be NO SURPRISE after 10 years later.
This preasurized irrigation was made available be used as a supplimental lower cost water supply for each owner and IS A priviledge. Once the community has used all of its water shares during the course of the irrigation season there IS NO MORE IRRIGATION WATER FOR THAT SEASON. Its gone. Once that water is gone each must use their exterior hose bibs and (the higher cost metered water from United water) water their yards. Pulling weeds, protecting grass, trees and other landscaping from dying IS the owners normal responsibility as the owner.   The property manager has been turning the irrigation pump off certain days and times to help make the irrigation water last as long as possible FOR ALL OWNERS & COMMON AREAS up until the irrigation water is turned off for the season which should happen with-in the next 7 days.  *** ***** will need to use the hose bid on the home and hoses to water or irrigate.

The common areas in the ********** community look AMAZING using the same irrigation water as all owners. 

8/20/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved into a newly built CBH Homes house at the beginning of August 2014. When we did out walkthrough before closing, we noticed there was standing water in the backyard. The CBH representative assured us it was due to over watering of the yard and that they would come back in three weeks to check on the sod that had been ruined. No one ever came back or called to check on that issue. In September 2014 I emailed a warranty representative to ask them if someone could come look at our backyard, because it was still flooding even though we turned down our sprinklers. She informed me it was due to over watering and we should ask the neighbors to turn their sprinklers down also (I had no neighbors so my sprinklers were the only ones affecting my yard). After months of back and forth, they finally sent someone out to put in a little tube with a drain cap on the top in my yard. That hasn't worked. The water just sits on the top of the drain and doesn't go anywhere. I've contacted CBH again and told them my problem has not been resolved. The superintendent came out and took pictures of my yard in May 2015. I have contacted them since several times and have been getting "We will get back to you." It is now July 10, 2015 and I have no news on when or if they are going to do anything more to fix my problem. I have standing water in my backyard that sits above the grass a couple inches and fills my irrigation boxes. There are hundreds or more mosquitos spawning in the water and mold growing. I worry for my pets' health and safety and I cannot let my small child play in the backyard for fear for his health and safety as well. Our grass is dying and we cannot mow that area of the yard. We water our yard for 3 minutes once a day in over 90 degree summer weather, just so the rest of our grass doesn't burn up and die. We are most definitely not over watering.

Desired Settlement: I want CBH to redo our backyard how it should have been done in the first place, and so that it is functional. I also want them to check the fence for water damage and replace if necessary and replace the grass that has been ruined.

Business Response: I review the home and the back yard issue on July 15th, 2015. 

Back yard did have standing water approx 70'x12'.  

CBH Homes recommends a sprinkler water schedule of

Watering 6 days a week MAX 
Watering 2x a day MAX (once 8 to 9 am & 6 to 7pm)
5 Minutes on pop-up sprinker heads - MAX
10 Minutes on gear driven sprinkler heads - MAX. 

At buyer home walk through before closing CBH Homes reviews this with buyer and has the buyer sign an agreeing to this schedule. We can supply the signed buyer document if needed. 

Owner was watering 4 times a day 7 days a week with minutes at or above MAXIMUM. Buyer set these watering times and is responsible for OVER WATERING of 2 and half times the MAXIMUM watering agreed to in writing. 

CBH Homes set time to recommened times on 7-15-15. In a little over 1 week and the area has dried and is now maintainable. 

With time and regular scheduled maintenance, fertilization and proper watering the grass should return to it healthy stage. at last review it looked to be recovering well.  The fencing is vinyl fencing and did not appear to be damaged. No replacement of the items by CBH Homes due to buyers over watering.  

Thank you,


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference t* ********* ** ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do not accept the response from CBH. They have not addressed the rain issue. Our yard has not fully dried up and we have not come to a resolution with Corey Barton.

Thank you
******* ******




Business Response: Good afternoon

See Document attached. 

If the yard is still wet in certain areas. It is the owners responsibility to adjust the amount of water being supplied by the sprinkler system and or the sprinkler heads (all sprinkler heads have adjustments) as the weather and temperature change throughout the seasons. 

Thank you and have a great day,

8/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Warranty issues filed and ignored. it has been 7 weeks since i filed my warranty claims and they have been disregarded. there were dying trees planted when home was built, this was notated at my walk through and they have continued to struggle and are bug infested. nothing is being done because there is "new leaf" on the trees. meaning, it will take more time to die, than there is in the one year warranty. sprinklers run for hours when the system is turned off. i have mushrooms, and dead spots within feet of each other. i am getting notices from HOA. in the past i had ungrouted tiles for a month, unpainted walls, defective furnace for over a month and many other things that were handled poorly. i was offered an appointment a week and a half away for a furnace issue. i had someone come to grout ties that showed up with no grout. some one came to paint without paint. it really goes on and on. it's exhausting. they should stand behind their products and workmanship. and 7 weeks is not acceptable. neighbors complain about people who "run their sprinklers" excessively. i am not, they are broken.

Desired Settlement: i want it repaired. and i have to say, any decent business that screwed up as bad as cbh homes has, would have compensated for it in some way. but instead cbh homes operates in the opposite direction, shirking responsibility and blaming the owner for having "unreasonable expectations".. i have never ever heard of such a thing. blaming the purchaser for not being satisfied with poor workmanship and poor customer service.

Business Response: CBH Homes has met with owner and reviewed the sprinkler system, yard and trees. See attached agreement CBH Homes reviewed this document with buyer and buyer agreed to prior to closing. Owner was OVER watering all landscaping. 4 times a day when our suggested is 2 x a day is the MAXIMUM suggested. Sprinkler system is not broken. It was adjusted and set incorrectly by owner. CBH Homes set sprinkler system times correctly for buyer as a good starting point and as a courtesy. Buyer is responsible for all landscaping and water management and must adjust as the seasons change. 

The property is lacking of overall regular maintenance by owner and must improve acceptable leaves to appease the HOA and avoid fines and potential lien to said property. 

Thank you,

8/4/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We moved into our brand new home on 7/7/2015, 7 days later on the night of 7/14/2015 we had a major water leak that has ruined parts my new home. The cause of water damage is unknown. We have determined that the water was not due to my washing machine. However, the plumber found no leaks. Sections in the drywall in the utility room will need to be replaced, re-textured and painted. The baseboards will need to be replaced along that wall. There were 2 closet carpets that were soaked with water. The carpet and pads will need to be replaced. Finally, the utility room vinyl will need to be replaced it has bubbled up and torn in places. Also within one closet we were storing crib pieces and they have sustained water damage, this was an item I had no intentions of replacing. The cause of the damage is unknown, however, CBH representatives have eluded that it was our washing machine. It did have a slow drip from the hot water line, however, the amount of water collected from that drip from 1 load fit into a 1 teaspoon. I had done 4 loads of laundry that day. That slow leak wouldn't of caused that much damage. Since then, I have personally tested my washing machine with 10 loads of laundry or more with paper towels under to quickly identify if water was leaking. It has demonstrated no leaks.

Desired Settlement: Considering the short amount of time we have lived in our new home, we expect CBH to stand behind their 1 year warranty for homeowners. We expect CBH to pay for the damages to our new home.

Business Response: CBH Homes responded to claim immediately. As homeowner stated there are has been no plumbing leaks from the new home before damage or after the damage was done. and confirmed by the original plumbing contractor. Claim is denied as warrantable by builder.  

Buyer had after closing moved in and installed their own washing machine in the laundry where damage occured. 2 Water supply lines and a drain line are involved with this install. It was discussed with buyer that this could be where the problem occured since no leaks on the new home were found before or after. 

Thank you,


8/4/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My newly purchased home is still under the 1yr warrenty and I have been having sprinkler issues since March of 2015. After reading up on it and looking online on ways to fix it myself with no luck I decided to file a claim with the builder (CBH Homes). I filed my claim on the May 6th and have yet to hear from anyone at all. I've called twice and communicated via their sites messenger service once. All three times I was told the same thing "Jamie will be informed and will be in contact with you." I was not allowed to speak to ******* directly and they declined allowing me to pay a local contractor to fix my system and be reimbursed. At this point I am going to find a company to fix this issue and pay out of pocket so that my lawn doesn't die.

Desired Settlement: 1. To be reimbursed for all damages to my lawn, home, and sprinkler system. 2. My home warranty to be extended for a year past the cutoff point.

Business Response: We just now made contact to resolve. Owner had already hired someone to repair. 

No replacement or repair cost will be reimbursed.

No extended warranty will be available.  

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  
They have yet to honor the warranty with any sense of integrity only showing up when prompted by the BBB.
I want my warranty extended until 2016. 

******* *****




7/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a CBH home in last year. They are currently building abother hone behind mine. I do not have a fence in my back yard and the builders have been trespassing on my property and urinating on my home. My neighbor witnessed this and called to complain on Tuesday and I called CBH to complain on Wednesday. All I was asked was what subdivision and my name. The lady did not inquire any other information. It is now Thursday and while I was home with the my young child, a worker again trespassed on my property and urinated.

Desired Settlement: I need CBH to address the issue and take it seriously. I need them to take matters of this nature seriously. It not only violates my rights but there are children present that do not need to see such behavior. I would like to be contacted about the matter and informed about what action they are taking to ensure that their employees are not defacing the property of other CBH customers and homeowners.

Business Response: CBH Homes does not approve and will not condone of this behavior. In fact we go to great lengths and cost to provide toilets for all worker to use as needed through construction in all communities. 

There are many workers that come and go as work starts and finish from day to day. The contractor on site have been contacted and warned. 

Sorry for the hassle,

CBH Homes

5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased our house, new, in September 2009. Starting in the fall of 2014 the paint on the exterior of the house started to blister and peel. On January 26, 2015 we filed an issue warranty with CBH because we believe that the paint that they applied to the house was not adequately and properly applied. After 10 days, I send a follow up email asking for a response, which I received the following day. In my claim I mentioned that most of the areas of concern were in the back of the house. The response from CBH was "We did come out to evaluate the paint and this is what we found, they are small areas and they are really homeowner maintenance." I send a response asking for clarification and that someone come by and knock on our door so that we could show them the areas. After another 8 days, I received a response that the warranty superintendent would be coming by. On February 17, the superintendent came by and looked at the paint. He said that he would refer us to the paint rep. I asked the superintendent to ask that the paint rep knock on our door so that we can show him the back of the house. On February 20 I received an email back: "We looked at the house in Ventana. Paint appears to be ok for 5 1/2 years. Actually I was surprised it was that old and had no abnormal fading like some of the others we have seen. We looked at as much of the house as we could and it looked fine. The sun exposure sides will definitely show more fading as time goes." At this point I called the local paint store, who supplied the brand of paint used on the house. The paint store rep said that they expect paint to last 10 years and not show fading until 7, if adequately applied. On March 14, I emailed the superintendent back asking if they had received more information from the paint rep about how long they expect their paint to last and I included what I learned from calling the store directly. On March 17, I received the following reply: “I'm not sure what else I would tell him in person. There are so many factors that go into an exterior repaint that effect how long it will last. The color, the siding, the weather when it was applied, the exposure to the sun, how heavy or light was it put on. IF it were totally a paint failure it would be on the entire house and it probably would have appeared after the first year. I responded back asking what CBH expects from their paint and how long they expect it to last. On April 8, I received the following response: We warrant paint for 1 year. You can expect to repaint every 4-7 years or so depending on the elements that is normal for our weather. My complaint is that they are not up front with their customers that after spending a significant amount of money on a new home that they are doing sup-par work in painting the houses and that they expect their customers to have to paint again in 4 years!

Desired Settlement: We would like CBH to acknowledge that they did a poor job in painting the house and to come out and fix the paint. This could be done by either just painting the single wall or by painting all of the walls.

Business Response: The home is 6 years old. 

The manufactures rep has reviewed and found no claim of warranty after 6 years and was happy that it looked as good as it did. 

The paint was applied correctly.

The exterior of the home is not maintenance free and depending on exposure to more weather -i.e. rain, wind, snow, hail and direct sunlight 
in addition to certain trim/siding ledges may experience additional weathering and will require maintained by the owners. The homebuilder has left a small paint touch-up kit (paint & caulking)with the home at closing specifically just for these types of small (non-warranty) home-owner maintenance areas. 

Thank you and have a wonderful day.

5/7/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have chosen to submit information to the BBB due to the lack of responsibility taken by Corey Barton Homes (CBH) involving product quality, warranty and overall poor customer service. In April 2014 I purchased a CBH home, during the walk through inspection I pointed out nails sticking out of the concrete, paint spilt on side walk, a very thin/poor exterior paint job and a nail pop. The nail pop was repaired that day by being painted over and I was informed the other items could be repaired by submitting online warranty claims as they are covered under my 1 year home warranty plan, I did this. After a couple of months and a few emails reminding CBH the fencing, sod and sprinklers had been included in the loan the company had them installed. The landscaping crew did not prepare the ground prior to laying sod and after installing sprinklers, they also installed the fencing in 8 ft sections instead of 6. As a result, my backyard has soggy marsh sections, dry sections, spots that do not get water at all, more thistle than an unmaintained pasture, rocks the size of softballs and weak fencing. During these first few months the baseboards started showing areas where the nail heads appeared to be coming out, more than 50 more nail pops develop and a crack in the entry walk developed. After submitting multiple claims CBH sent out Dana (a warranty representative) and he suggested I dig out the large rocks from the backyard, it was also stated that landscaping is as is. I then pointed out the terrible landscaping job was completed after my walk through. After an afternoon of removing rocks and making threats of contacting an attorney Corey Barton came to the house and requested that I stop submitting claims and allow the nail pops to develop then allow them to repair them all at once in the spring. Corey agreed the sod was poorly placed and requested that I allow him to fertilize the sod and adjust the sprinklers to see if that helped and then reevaluate the situation in the fall of 2014. I agreed and after a few visits I never heard from him again. In the fall I had such an abundance of thistle and marsh grounds that I took out roughly 25% of my sod in the backyard and replaced them with flower beds and an additional patio. With much persistence the fencing has been reinstalled correctly last month. During the winter the baseboards shrank (according to CBH representative) and now appear to be cut too short in areas, the areas where they nailed them into the wall are incredibly visible and appears cheaply done. The kitchen and dining room flooring was an upgrade and it leaves indentions at a drop of a plastic cup or spatula, it has multiple areas where the product appears to be coming up or forming a bubble appearance. CBH requested the manufacture to replace the flooring and the manufacture has refused. Earlier this spring I had plumbing issues and a CBH employee came to investigate the issue and found the clean out pipe was secured with stryrofoam instead of a plastic cap. The following day rotor rooter came with a camera and found that large rocks and a caulking tube was causing a blockage, it took 4000 lbs of pressure to remove the problem. I had a warping appearance on the side of my house that I had CBH look at. The first visit a group of men came and spent an hour repairing the siding, when I looked out there to check on their completed work it was unchanged. I contacted CBH and they sent out another individual and he discovered 2 studs had been placed incorrectly, one was of an inch off and the other of an inch causing the siding to twist. When I went to sign off on the employees finished product I asked why the other side had not been done, he stated CBH had not approved that section. I had to submit yet another work order requesting to get the rest of the job done. They painted one of the repaired sections and it is very obvious that the side of the house has had work done. The second area they repaired still has not been painted. After threatening to contact an attorney and demanding to meet with Corey Barton they sent out Dana and his boss on March 31st. I requested the entire side of the house be painted so that a repair wasnt obvious, then requested the house get repainted completely because the recent inspection I had done reported that there are multiple thin spots and that will cause water damage with time. The nail pops or bubble appearance at the nail inserts get repaired on the base boards, the back yard have the rest of the rocks removed and holes repaired, sprinklers correctly installed so that things are watered evenly, kitchen and dining room floor either get replaced or they reimburse me for the additional costs so that I can pay to have it done and due to the incredibly excessive amount of nail pops (300+ easily) an additional year warranty covering nail pops. The boss of Dana stated he could have answers for me by April 3rd, I emailed CBH today and still have no response.I have not listed all of the issues I have encountered with the home I spent $245,000 on. I have lived in 2 other CBH homes and 1 other Hubble home in the last 12 years and have never experienced anything like this. Over the last year I have had strangers in my house, around my children, repairing items and re repairing items from early morning to late hours into the evening (830pm). Constant repairs are why my family chose to purchase a new home instead of an older house. I have had to be abrupt and pushy to get the service I have received and am still left standing with a list of issues that cause worry for the future. I have many photos of these issues and the repair work they have done if anybody cares to contact me prior to buying a CBH home. I have a $245,000 lemon for my family to live in and would not wish this on my enemy. Submitting this information to the BBB is my last stich effort prior to making a contract with my attorney.

Desired Settlement: * House repainted* Base boards nail inserts corrected* Additional year warranty on nail pops (due to large amount over last year). Current nail pops fixed* Kitchen and dining room flooring redone or I get reimbursed the difference for the "upgrade"* Sod and sprinklers installed correctly

Business Response:


**** ************ **** ***** ***** *** ******* ** *****  *****


Thank you for your time to address final items.  

Below are the items of concern and direction to be taken.

Nail holes in two pieces of base on either side of the entrance into the dining room/kitchen area and the master bath. Nails to be set and painting to be touched up at nail areas only.
     
Drywall nail pops one last time and paint touched up at nail areas only. Additional 1year warranty on drywall nail pops will not be included.
       
Paint the exterior siding that was replaced on the South/West side of the home (caused by studs that bowed during the 1st year). We will paint the S/E exterior panel from vertical 1”x 4” trim board to 1”x
4”  SE vertical corner trim board  (aprox 15’ wide x 17’ high area) .
       
Sod & Sprinklers are complete - CBH will raise one sprinkler head and make sure it is not leaking on the south-east side of the backyard.
        
Kitchen & Dining room Laminate flooring warranty claim was submitted to the manufacture “Mannington” and claim was denied.  No repair/replacement / will be completed by CBH.

Please make contact to schedule appointment for completion of the items at your earliest convenience.

Thank you,

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I rejected are found below CBH response.

·Nail holes in two pieces of base on either side of the entrance into the dining room/kitchen area and the master bath. Nails to be set and painting to be touched up at nail areas only.

This is accepting responsibility for only part of the problem.  There are nail hole blemishes in every single room .  I am a costumer that paid full price for this house and I will only accept a job that is done properly.  

Drywall nail pops one last time and paint touched up at nail areas only. Additional 1year warranty on drywall nail pops will not be included. 

When nail pops initially developed I was informed by CBH that a few nail pops are “normal” and that they would soon subside.  The house has had a few hundred and a year after construction it is still developing more. 

Paint the exterior siding that was replaced on the South/West side of the home (caused by studs that bowed during the 1st year). We will paint the S/E exterior panel from vertical 1”x 4” trim board to 1”x 4”  SE vertical corner trim
board  (aprox 15’ wide x 17’ high area) . 

The studs and sides bowing is an issue developed by lack of observation of CBH employees.  Painting the portion that required repair leaves the side of the house with multiple tones, I should not have to deal with an eye sore because of their employees. The entire house has a poor paint job, skimpy and thin in many areas.  I addressed that in the initial complaint and am requesting the house get properly painted so that the thin areas do not allow water to get into the wood and cause damage.  This problem has been documented by an inspector, not just myself.  

Sod & Sprinklers are complete - CBH will raise one sprinkler head and make sure it is not leaking on the south-east side of the backyard.

Sod & Sprinklers need to be fixed.  This was an additional upgrade and CBH did not disclose that they had zero intention of preparing the ground.  There are multiple areas where the sprinkler heads are sinking, rocks are sticking out, holes are present,
pools of water and dry patches are developing.  CBH had informed me that they “fired” the company originally hired for the landscaping, that does not fix the errors CBH allowed them to do. 
   
Kitchen & Dining room Laminate flooring warranty claim was submitted to the manufacture “Mannington” and claim was denied.  No repair/replacement / will be completed by CBH.

The flooring is yet another disappointing “upgrade” by CBH.  The top of the laminate flooring is coming up causing a bubble appearance and it chips/cracks from plastic falling onto it.  One of CBH representatives, Danas boss, came and said it looks like moisture is the cause of the bubble appearance.  I informed him that we dry mop only the flooring and perhaps there was moisture on the floor prior to the installation. The kitchen and the dining room are the only areas with this problem, it is obviously not home owner error and I should not have to pay more to fix a problem CBH has created.


******** **** ******* ****



Business Response: See attached documents from New Homeowner Orientation (NHO). This is a final walk though with the owner(s), construction manager and a detail person to correct or note any issues prior to closing and well how to use an d maintain certain parts of the home.
Exterior Painting - Sellers offer to paint SW corner still stands. Yes the paint in this area will be new but it will be the same brand and color match. Painting the area fom 1x4 to 1x4 and top to bottom will also help as the paint cures and matches with the rest of the home. 
No blemishes to base trim are noted on NHO-  The areas offered to repair still stands. Homeowner damage and normal wear and tear are not covered in 1 year warranty.
Sprinkler system was professionally adjusted and had excellent coverage in summer of 2014. Sprinkler system was also adjusted for owners change of additional planters, shed, trampoline and garden. Sod was fertilized 2x and in very good health summer of 2014 after final adjustments were made minus areas that might have died from pet waste. If there are overly dry or saturated spots in the yard it is the owners responsibility to make adjustment to the system. These are easy to do at the individual sprinkler heads and or the sprinkler timer and adjust the watering times or minutes as needed. 
Laminet Flooring in kitchen and dining - The manufacture has denied this claim. The area in question appears to be small bubbling area at the surface that could be caused from some type of liquid spill and other areas from owner damage or wear and tear.  We have made contact with the local supplier and they have a few extra sqft in their inventory they would deliver to the owner at no cost if they would like. 






Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I do have dogs yes, but their existence does not effect the sprinkler placement or rocks under the sod.  I have stated my case clearly, sent photos to CBH and given ample opportunity to correctly resolve the issues at hand.  My attorney will be in to be in touch with the company. 

******** **** ******* ****




10/30/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: CBH Homes used an irresponsible subcontractor to re-do my concrete in my driveway and garage. This contractor hit my gas line and never contacted me and ran over my lawn with their equipment, damaging my sod, sprinkler system, and killing a tree. CBH responded they would take care of these issues and have since refused to replace my tree, and put in nearly dead sod to replace my lawn. Their representative has even admitted the sod was "stressed" at the time of replacement. I have pictures and witness testimonies.

Desired Settlement: I would like my tree replaced and my lawn serviced until the replacement sod is green.

Business Response: Driveway concrete was replaced through warranty. The contractor is respectable did a good job however process of breaking out the concrete takes jack hammering and large construction equipment to remove the heavy chunks of concrete.  

 
There were only 6 rolls of sod that were replaced. ONLY BRAND NEW SOD WAS SUPPLIED AND USED. The term"Stressed" used means the sod was just cut fresh out of a sod farm and laid in 100 degree heat while in the middle of summer at the end July.  It is VERY normal and to be expected for it to go through this process with the intense heat from the summer sun and will recover as is starts to take root into its new soil and environment. It is the owners responsibility to care and maintain their yard not not the contractor. No maintenance will be supplied by CBH Homes or its contractors. 
 
The Tree - is a good 10'- 0" plus out the are of the work that was performed. It's possible that the tree could have been bumped although the tree does not show signs of any impact. The tree is very unhealthy and shows all the signs mold, dry rot on the trunk of the tree and the roots did not go very deep and likely may die but the cause would be from over watering for the past 12 months.  The owners have been advised verbally and in writing to proper water times of maximum watering of 2 times a day. Copies of agreement can be made available in desired.  When the sprinkler timer was reviewed the watering times were set to 6 times and day and in the area of tree in question soil was completely saturated to the point of standing water all day. Tree will not be replaced by CBH Homes or its contractors.
 
CBH Homes did meet with **** **** and was allowed to adjust sprinkler times into acceptable watering times 2 weeks ago. However as the weather changes the amount of water applied to the yard will change as the weather does. It is the responsibility of the owner to adjust this on their own.  Sod replaced in July looked to be doing very well. 
 
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to ********* ** ********* and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I reject *** ******'s claim based on the following:


1.)  It has not been determined that my tree has dry rot. The following two links describe dry rot, including pictures, and do not resemble my tree.  In the attached image, you can also see that the wood underneath the top of the scrape was healthy.  Also, I contest that the tree was killed through over watering because as you can see in this picture, taken August 11th, the leaves are not yellow in any way.  


LINK: http://www.wisepropertycare.com/dry-rot/what-is-dry-rot/

LINK: http://www.safeguardeurope.com/applications/dry_rot.php


2.)  *** ****** did visit my home and revise our watering schedule, however, the side of my yard containing my dead tree was being watered less than the side of my yard which has a live tree.  Specifically, the lawn on the right side when facing the road was being water for 4 minutes at a time and the lawn on the left was being watered for two minutes at time.  The dead tree in question is on the left side of my yard when facing the road.  To me, the claim of over watering is insufficient when ALL of the facts are stated.


3.)  Please see attached image where there are tire tracks leading up to the tree.  The tree was obviously scraped and the root ball is probably broken due to being hit by a skid steer during the concrete removal.  I would also like to note that *** ****** and his company have taken up a severe amount of my time throughout this process, both in responding to these claims and in emails/phone calls and the most recent meeting.  My time is valuable and I do not appreciate the constant back and forth.  


I again request the replacement of the tree that was damaged.

******** *** ****

 

 

Business Response: CBH Homes agrees to disagree with **** **** on view of the tree due to their lack of proper care and maintenance and will not replace. 

 
Simply replacing the tree will not resolve the issue. The next tree will likely die again under the same poor care and maintenance . The east side of the yard (where said tree is ) has large weeds (a form of Crab-grass from over watering), daily standing water and standing mold from the daily standing water and saturated soil that does not and will not produce a healthy environment for lawn, shrub or tree growth. **** ****'s east side and back yard does not resemble neighbors yards healthier lush greener yards. We do recommend products and education provided at Zamzow's for additional info and support. 
 
Thank you for your help,
 
 
 
 
 

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/15/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we purchased our home in July 2014, we put in our addendum in June 2014 to have the standing water and drainage issue addressed by CBH home, which was agreed upon by them. Since then we have seen the landscaper once, Aug 10, 2014, who turned down the sprinklers to the bare minimum and said he would be back at teh end of the week to see if this resolved the problem. It has not and it is now September 11, 2014, I have called and seen nothing and heard nothing back with multiple calls to super of neighborhood and messages to **** *********** who is suppose to be handling this issue. There is 4 inches of standing water on a over 40 ft x 10ft section of our yard. And parts of our yard is now dying due to the sprinklers being so low. I have also emailed the president and vice president of the company along with submitting a item on the warrenty site without any contact from the subcontractor. We bought this house knowing that this needed to be fixed because of the weather and grounds in Idaho. I feel like we are just getting a giant run around and nobody wants to fix the issue which was already agreed upon by CBH home 2 and a half months ago.

Desired Settlement: I would like this issue resolved and fixed as is it a hazard to my children with standing water in the yard on the biggest part of our yard. Along with this I would like this addressed by a company locally who will get the work done right away and done is a timely fashion who can return phone calls and complete the work. I do think that 2 and a half months is a long time for this to be dragging out especially with winter right around the corner.

Business Response: ********** * **** was at the home today and added dirt and re-seeded to help and CBH Homes will follow up as well 

 
The neighbor has been over watering their yard so much there is mossy standing water 1"-2" deep and flooded into the ******** side yard. 
 
CBH Homes has made contact with ******** ****** and has made contact with neighbor to east as well where flooding is coming from. CBH Homes has watering maximums agreed to in writing by each buyer prior to closing and will not be held responsible for over watering or misuse of their sprinkler on any property.  
 
In the future. Owners and neighbors will need to communicate and work together to properly water as to not waste water and or cause damage to each others property. Each owner has full control of their sprinklers and the amount of water applied to their property via sprinkler timer located in the garage and not CBH Homes.  
 
Note - This home was completed on 8-7-2013 and used as finished model home until the ******** purchased and moved in. We had no issues like this at anytime. 
 
Thank you for your help, 
 
 

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During construction I observed that one bedroom did not receive attic insulation. I contacted Superintendent and he assured me that it had been insulated. I explained that it had not and asked him to check. He did not check and a week later I raised the issue again. He still would not believe me and asked that I send him a photo which I did. The attic was then insulated. During our walk-through of the home at closing, we listed items that still needed repairs completed. Two of those items have not been addressed, broken utility boxes in our front yard and exterior painting. We have contacted them on these issues and they won't tell us or find out who is responsible to replace the utility boxes and lids. As far as the exterior paint they say they need the weather to warm up meanwhile they have painted the exterior of three other homes in our neighborhood.We have had an upstairs bathtub leak twice in 3 months from faulty plumbing work. We have had to fight them to get them to even make the necessary repairs. The rest of these details are too long for this submission.At the completion of construction of the home they built wooden steps for an entry step at the front door and the garage walk-in door. Wooden steps on a home worth a quarter of a million. We raised this issue with them and they stated that it was an upgrade to have concrete steps. We told them that no one had ever told us that and if that was the case we would have gladly made the upgrade but no one offered or explained that to us. They just gave us wooden steps. After the superintendent chewed my wife out over the issue, they relinquished and provided wood steps.Our dishwasher went out after 4 months of use. We never heard from the service technician after notifying the builder so we asked for the technician's number. After calling him, he stated that our number (the only number we have) was nothing like the phone number the builder had given him.It has been non-stop hassles with this builder and a true lack of integrity.

Desired Settlement: We are requesting a second year warranty because of all of the issues we have had and the headache we have gone through to deal with our house being torn up twice because of a tub leak. At this time they cannot even guarantee they have found the plumbing problem and they guaranteed that they had the first time. If we had gone several weeks without issues at our home we would be content but things continue to occur and they still have not even addressed all of the original issues.

Business Response:

There have been some issues happen with the home that are unaceptable that have been corrected or replaced. We will not be including a 2 year warranty on the home but do feel the home for ** * *** **** is very well built.  There have  issues that needed resolved that must done correctly and that took a process that took more time than all desired. CBH Homes will be attentive and accountable to all items that are covered under the Included 1 year warranty in addition there are few manufacture warranties that go longer than the Builders Standard 1 Year Warranty. See the owners manuals for for more info.

Thank you for your help,

*****

   

6/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We built a home with CBH Homes. We were told a number of misleading things by the staff of CBH We were lead to believe that we would be informed ahead of time of subcontractor work. We so far have been lucky to be home when subcontractors have arrived to finish services held in escrow. Several times subcontractors have tried to do services out of order due to lack of communication and failure on CBH Home's part to keep services scheduled properly. When services have been done, they have been rushed and poorly done leaving our home in disarray as subcontractors carelessly handle our home and possessions as they do their work. We have tried to be in contract with CBH about giving us a heads up to when contractors will be arriving so we can be prepared and have our possessions out of the way to prevent damage. Yesterday when sprinklers were installed. The subcontractors destroyed flowers in the front flower bed when they put the sprinklers in contrary to how we wanted. And left our garage in disarray after completing poor work on our lawn. We now fear that the landscapers will arrive when we are not present before we are able to do the work to truly level the front yard. We also are concerned about them planting unwanted plants, a concern that has been expressed to CBH on several occasions. We were also mislead and lied to about paint colors for the exterior of our home by a design a studio employee who filled out our contract incorrectly to our wishes. When we produced a photo of a house we liked the colors of, and asked for those exact colors their staff filled out our contract contrary to what we asked for and included Black Facia trim. When we asked about that and asked the house pictured had black facia trim she said it did, she lied, it did not. Out house has been painted per contract; however, not to our wishes as we were lied to in the first place. CBH has not communicated with us on how this issue will be resolved.

Desired Settlement: We would like CBH to correct the Facia Trim. We were quoted $465 to fix it. CBH Homes should bare that cost and correct their mistake. We would like compensation of $50 to replace flowers killed by CBH subcontractors when installing sprinklers. We were not able to communicate with subcontractors (language barrier) and they installed sprinklers contrary to how we wished them done, resulting in damaged property.

Business Response:

I have personally met with the homeowner and discussed items of concern. We have found resolution and we will be repainting the facia as quickly as we can get it scheduled through the painter.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10048599, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Corey Barton made a personal visit to discuss the issues at hand has had the paint fixed as of today. We have appreciated that he was willing to discuss the issues and find a resolution to the problem. 

 

Regards,

 

 

 

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)