Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Brite Electric

Phone: (208) 854-1700 3910 N. Kingswood Dr., Boise, ID 83704 http://www.briteelectricco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides residential and commercial electrical service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Brite Electric meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Brite Electric include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Brite Electric
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 27, 2006 Business started: 06/01/2004 in ID Business incorporated 06/04/2004 in ID
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Idaho Division of Building Safety
1090 E Watertower St., Meridian ID 83642
www.dbs.idaho.gov
Phone Number: (208) 334-3950
jrayne@dbs.idaho.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Andy Derrick, Owner Ms. Perri Derrick, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andy Derrick, Owner
Business Category

Electricians

Service Area
Boise Idaho and the surrounding area.
Alternate Business Names
Brite Electric Company

Additional Locations

  • 3910 N. Kingswood Dr.

    Boise, ID 83704

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Brite Electric over charged my wife for a job that was not completed. Their hourly rate was significantly above market rate - $86/hour which is about $30 to $40 above market. Brite Electric did not finish the job and was not honest with us about their capabilities. This project was above their skill level, but this was not mentioned until after they were dismissed.

Desired Settlement: We are looking for a reasonable amount to be refunded to us. My expectation would be a refund of $30/hr x 8hrs, paying you $56/hr which is above 10 state average.

Business Response: 1st - we were not hired by this man, we were hired by his wife. Pricing was discussed before doing any work. 2nd - before doing any work it was explained that we don't usually get involved in this size of a job, but she was in need of someone to help quickly. 3rd - after discussing pricing and timing, we agreed to help. 4th - After starting the job, she was able to find some crew that could work all weekend to finish. Summary - we did exactly what was agreed upon from the beginning and 3 months later is not the time to complain about what it costs.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this does not resolve my complaint. 

Confirmed my wife hired Brite. As Brite will recall, I worked side by side with them to cut ceilings as they labeled wires even taking a vacation day to chip in. No hourly rate was discussed at all - a total bid was given for job (verbal) but this job was not completed and then we get charged above market rate which is not fair to us. Brite took advantage of my wife who did not have market rate knowledge. Agreed that Brite did not have the skill set to finish the job, so we had to hire another contractor, not because of project timing but because they do not have the skill set as advertised (see link: http://www.briteelectricco.com/services/remodels). Correct a different contractor did work all weekend at a significant lower hourly rate, even on a Sunday, than Brite charged us. I am not aware of any statute of limitations in Idaho in dealing with contractors, so I disagree that 3 months is too long. As well I wrote to Brite on 12/31 which I never received a response (attached for the records). We have been treated unfairly by Brite as they were not honest and upfront with us.

Regards,


*** ******** 

 

Business Response:
My response is simple. I discussed the entire job with *** ******* over the phone. She gave me a description of the job while I asked questions to clarify. I agreed to help and met with her the next day. Over night the job description grew. I then revised my estimate and she agreed for me to start. I sorted out the mess that was left from a previous electrician and planned on coming back the following Monday. Over the weekend she hired other electricians to finish and was done by Monday. I came back and retrieved my tools, went over what they had done and told her it looks good. I thought all went well for her and she was able to meet her schedule. She then paid me for my part.

** ******* was not involved in any of this. This is a bogus complain from someone who knows only what his wife might have told him. From my point of view he is trying to extort money from me.

I did the same thing I do for all my customers and when you look at my record you will see thousands of satisfied customers with less than 5 of these type of complaints. When this happens about 1 out of 1000 customers you have to ask yourself who is the real problem here?

Sincerely,

**** *******
Brite Electric


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Brite Electric
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)