Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Merlins TV

Additional Locations

Phone: (208) 232-1655 Fax: (208) 542-6048 View Additional Phone Numbers 2489 S. 25th E, Ammon, ID 83406 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company provides satellite equipment & supplies, high speed internet service, home theatre/televison installation and retail furniture sales.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Merlins TV meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Merlins TV include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Industry Ratings Comparison | Chart

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Merlins TV
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 20, 1993 Business started: 11/01/1992 Business started locally: 11/01/1992 Business incorporated 03/01/1994 in ID
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Joe Worrell, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Worrell, President
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
JHW Merlins TV & Satellite Service

Additional Locations

  • 150 E Quinn # D

    Pocatello, ID 83201 (208) 232-1655

  • 2489 S. 25th E

    Ammon, ID 83406 (208) 542-6170

This survey does not collect personally identifiable information

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Merlin's about a TV repair and they asked for me credit card number right away. They said I had to provide it right then. I asked why and they said it was their policy. I later learned that they did this so they could charge me a $100 transportation fee from my house and back. They DID NOT disclose this to me and I did not agree to it. I would have had my family bring in the television in that case.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of the $100 they wrongfully charged to me.

Business Response: On 2-5-2013 Merlins Tv talked to *** ***** **** about a service call for a Soyo tv that was in need of repair. At that time our office quoted *** **** our service call rate of $68 pickup and delivery and a technician check out fee of $40. We expained multiple times that the $40 check out fee would go toward the price of the repair if she approved the estimate, and that the $68 fee was pickup delivery . On 2-5-2013 our technician went out and picked up *** ***** tv to be brought in for repair.  At this time the rates were explained in detail again to *** **** and at this time *** **** chose to use her credit card for the service call pick up delivery fee of $68 and the tv check out fee of $40. On 2-8-2013 our tv technician called *** **** at about 6:43 pm and gave her the estimate for her tv repair. At this time the technician went over the charges again in detail. Her estimate was $250 the $40 check out fee was applied making the estimate $210. *** **** approved the estimate at this time. On 2-18-13 *** ***** tv was delivered back and installed in good condition. We appreciate *** **** as a costumer and feel we have explained the charges many times to her and feel they are fair service charges that we have had in place for many years. *** **** did have and opportunity over the phone and before we took the tv at the house to discuss any concerns about rates or fees. Thank You